expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Lake Ogemaw Lakefront House

West Branch, MI, USA
  • House1800 sqft
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay7 nights

Lake Ogemaw is located in Northern Michigan, nestled between West Branch and Tawas. It's only a 12 minute drive to West Branch (and I75) and Tanger Outlet Stores provide hours of shopping enjoyment. The town of West Branch has several restaurants, quaint shops and a movie theater for your enjoyment. The lake flows into the Rifle River. Canoeing and tubeing rental is available 5 miles away.

Lake Ogemaw is an all sports, private lake, over 600 acres, with 7 islands. Marina and party store conveniently located on the lake. Enjoy a walk to the local store or take your boat for some ice cream. Dock available to dock your own boat.

Sandy beach with a gradual depth.

A gorgeous lake house with a wrap around deck, sun porch, tiki bar, and large sandy beach. A boater's, fisherman's, cross country skier's and snowmobiler's paradise. End your days by enjoying a bonfire by the lake.

Roomy 1800 sq.ft. main floor, with large kitchen. Lower level walkout is 1800 sq. ft. containing 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, bar, and rec room.

The Rifle River is within walking distance for canoeing and tubing.


Bill Smarsty

Member Since 2014
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few days
Calendar last updated:
Jan 17, 2018


    • Internet
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen, 1 bunk bed
      • Bedroom 3
        1 queen, 1 bunk bed
      • Bedroom 4
        1 queen, 1 bunk bed


        • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
        • Bathroom 1
        • Bathroom 2
          toilet, shower
        • Bathroom 3
          toilet, combination tub/shower

          Location Type

            • Beach View
            • Beachfront
            • Lake View
            • Lakefront
            • Water View
            • Waterfront


                • Guests provide their own meals


                    • Clothes Dryer
                    • Fireplace
                    • Internet
                    • Telephone
                    • Washing Machine


                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Kitchen
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                        • Stove
                        • Toaster


                            • Dining
                              8 at the island and 12 at the table
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 12 people


                                • Foosball
                                • Game Room
                                  Shuffle board, air hockey, bumper pool, and poker table
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                • Television


                                    • Deck / Patio
                                      Tiki bar Pirate ship play structure Tree house
                                    • Outdoor Grill


                                        • wheelchair inaccessible


                                            • churches
                                            • cinemas
                                            • marina
                                            • restaurants

                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                • fishing
                                                • freshwater fishing
                                                • hiking
                                                • ice skating
                                                • snowmobiling
                                                • swimming

                                                  House Rules

                                                  Check-in: 2:00 PM

                                                  Check-out: 12:00 PM

                                                  Cancellation Policy

                                                  100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                  6 Reviews


                                                  Latest reviews

                                                  Fantastic lake house getaway!

                                                  Christine M.

                                                  We thoroughly enjoyed our 12 night stay at this wonderful lake house rental. There were endless activities for the kids......both outdoors and indoors. I loved having my coffee on the deck overlooking the peaceful mornings on the lake. In the evenings our family gathered to watch the Olympics on their very large living room television. I love that their house is very well thought out. Every corner of their home is designed for large gatherings. I definitely look forward to returning next summer!

                                                  What a GEM!

                                                  Tanya R.

                                                  Perfect set up inside and out for our three families with 6 children ranging in age from 2 to 8! Our week at this lovely home included fishing, swimming, watersports, and campfires. Kids and adults took advantage of all the amenities available. Although the weather was perfect, had we needed to, we would have had plenty to do indoors as well. We have been renting cottages for several summers. This one exceeded our expectations in every area -- super clean sandy beach and swimming, high-quality deck with a ton of seating for dinner and lounging, great set up for sleeping, and a tiki for the adults and pirate ship for the kids. Too fun! The owner was so very welcoming and attentive -- even firewood was provided for us. This has been our best rental experience yet!

                                                  An A++++

                                                  Alena H.

                                                  This was our second time staying at the Smartsy house, and again, it did not disappoint! We had 5 kids, 1 infant, and 8 adults and we all were very comfortable. The rooms are clean and well spaced apart so the kids could sleep well without hearing each other. :) The lake and outdoor amenities are amazing. The kids caught fish right off the dock, enjoyed the pirate ship, played with all of the beach toys, and especially loved the tire swing. We did some shopping at the outlet malls, ate at G's Pizzeria, and made daily visits to Ka-Jacs the little party store at the marina.

                                                  Overall, it was another perfect up north vacation. The right mix of quiet and peaceful and fun and games. We will FOR SURE be back again next year!

                                                  Unfortunate Experience

                                                  Marilyn W.Eaton Rapids

                                                  I am disappointed to have to write a poor review of this beautiful rental property because our actual stay could have easily earned a good review. Our family has rented properties with both Homeaway and VRBO for over 5 years, and have NEVER had a security deposit held. We thought that our stay at the lake house resulted in a wonderful vacation for our family, and I’m so sorry that it will be remembered this way. We are responsible people who treat others fairly but I feel that we have been taken advantage of here.

                                                  After waiting a full month to receive our security deposit, we contacted “Homeaway” to inquire about it. Within a couple hours of contacting “Homeaway”, we got our first email from the owners simply stating that we would not be getting a security deposit for the following reasons:

                                                  1) a cable was broken on the water trampoline;

                                                  2) extra time was needed to clean up after us;

                                                  3) we somehow neglected to pay our cleaning fee, at which time the owner added that apparently several previous renters neglected to pay a cleaning fee also, and now they are out $600.00.

                                                  We were shocked to get this feedback email from the owners, and we called them immediate thinking surely they have us mixed up with the renters who stayed after us.

                                                  I’d like to address each issue separately:

                                                  1) The broken trampoline cable: We are finding it very hard to believe the breakage of the trampoline cable could have happened without us even being aware of it and the only two children who used it were ages 9 and 11. They aren’t strong enough to break the cable, even if they wanted to. We suspect that if the children did break the cable, it was ready to break and now we are being charged to repair it. If it truly was broken during our week’s stay, we would have no problem paying for it if it was broken because of our negligence. All the children did was to play on this toy, and you are making it sound like they did something malicious with it. Again, we are not convinced that it broke during our stay;

                                                  2) Extra Cleaning time was needed: I’d like to state up front that we found the house in beautiful condition, and we proceeded to take gentle care of the home as if it were our own. Extra time was taken to put the dishes away in their proper cupboards, etc., we swept floors, vacuumed carpets, cleaned the grill, and even raked the beach so it would look like it did when we arrived. On the final day,

                                                  Owner's Response:

                                                  In response to the negative review on our property. We have never had to hold back a deposit. This deposit was $300 and was not returned because the water trampoline was in good condition when you got there and when you left, it was broken. The cost to replace it is $400. As far as the cleaning fee, 4 other people did no pay this and there deposit was not held. The deposit had nothing to do with the fee.

                                                  Excellent vacation!

                                                  Alena H.

                                                  The week we spent in this home was amazing. The house is gorgeous, with all of the extra touches to make your stay perfect. The bedrooms are all extremely clean with nice sheets and blankets. The bathrooms all had plenty of towels and were also very clean.

                                                  The house is perfect for large families with kids. The beach is sandy and the lake is sandy all the way out, no need for water shoes. We caught many fish right off of the dock!

                                                  We had one cold windy day so we headed to west branch for shopping and then ate dinner at the local pizzeria.

                                                  Overall, we were very pleased! We will certainly be coming back!

                                                  Excellent lake house

                                                  brettInverness, il

                                                  One of the best lake houses I've ever rented. Well organized, beautifully decorated, very comfortable. The lake and the people on it are very nice. Pier, sandy beach, water trampoline, and your own pirate ship - my 4yr old was in heaven. Gas available at the marina. The lake is no wake till 11:00am. It is wide open during the week and fairly crowded on the weekend. Nice owners. Will definitely consider coming back.


                                                  West Branch, MI, USA

                                                  Rates & Availability

                                                  Additional information about rental rates

                                                  Cleaning Fee
                                                  Damage Deposit
                                                  Tax Rate

                                                  $500 security deposit returned within 14 days of checkout. Tax not included.

                                                  6 Reviews
                                                  Excellent 4.3/5
                                                  Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                  For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                  Property # 610176