Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Perfect for a large family or two families

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3.0 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Large Viceroy Muskoka Home on Private Family Friendly Bay. Separate living areas perfect for 2 families. 

Located on Silver Lake, a spring feed lake whose deepest point is 65 feet, 1 km from Rocky Crest Golf Course. The entrance is on the Main Floor level & features a Media Room with breathtaking views of the lake through massive windows with 24 foot cathedral ceilings. Open concept Kitchen with modern stainless steel appliances is fully equipped for the chef amongst you. The large indoor dining area gathered around hand-made wooden table seats up to 12. From the kitchen there is a walkout to the balcony with a shade structure for comfortable outdoor dining overlooking the lake. A washroom and laundry are available on this level as well. 3 separate living areas make this cottage ideal for 2 families or a multi-generational gathering. On the lower level the guest bedroom is set up hotel style with one queen and one double bed and can sleep up to 4 people. There is also a 3 pc washroom on this level. The recreation room has a wood burning stove and games area with ping pong table, dart boards etc. On the Main Floor there is a huge Family/Media Room with breathtaking views of the lake through massive windows plus 24 foot cathedral ceilings, a 4 piece washroom, plus two guest bedrooms each with 2 twin beds and a pull out sofa. The open concept Kitchen has modern stainless steel appliances plus a large indoor dining area gathered around hand-made wooden table that seats up to 12. From the kitchen walk out to the balcony with a shade structure for comfortable outdoor dining overlooking the lake. On the upper level the master features a Queen bed plus a single futon. and a 4 piece washroom. See photos. The cottage comes with 2 - 3 person canoes as well as a sit upon kayak.

Sleeping configuration: The Lower level features a guest bedroom with a  queen bed & a double bed  plus it's own 3 pc washroom. Main Floor has a 4 piece washroom & 2 guest bedrooms each with 2 twins beds. The upper level features a 4 piece washroom , Queen Master Bedroom with a single futon style sofa that sleeps one. 

Muskoka District Rentals Email Newsletter

name:

email:

More Details

Property Manager
Muskoka District Rentals Inc.
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About Muskoka District Rentals Inc.

Property Advocate for cottage owners. A lock box is provided for access to property. A ground host, onsite chef and boat captain are also available for an extra fee if desired.

Why Muskoka District Rentals Inc. chose Ontario

Large ���A�� style Viceroy Muskoka Home on Private Family Friendly Bay. Separate living areas that are perfect for 2 families.safe haven for families with small children who still want to be close to Lake Joseph and other fun activities offered in Muskoka. The cottage backs against a 50 foot Granite Rock Waterfall with night lights and a koi pond below. A roughly hewn stone staircase with hand-made tree branch handrails descends from the upper parking pad (4 cars) and winds its way down to the lower grounds and cottage. There is separate road access to the lower area for unloading of gear plus parking for 3-4 additional cars.There is a short forest path to dock with shade structure and shallow water entry to private bay. Enjoy cottage memories that will last a lifetime live on Silver Lake

Located on Silver Lake, a spring feed lake whose deepest point is 65 feet, and only 1km from Rocky Crest Golf Course and Hamer Bay Marine.The Cottage is located on a private bay that is on a quiet lake ideally situated 5 minutes from the North end of Lake Joseph.

Guestbook comments from the manager

A fabulous stay in a wonderful property. Ross was excellent at providing feedback, and all the necessary details on how to find the property and gain entry. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Silver Lake Retreat. The instructions to find the house were very easy to follow and it was easy to find our way around the house. A nice letter welcoming us to the property was left, which also explained how to find things around the house and some hints and tips etc., The kitchen is extremely well equipped, with all utensils and cooking appliances that you could ever need. There is also good entertainment options within the lodge, including wifi if you need to go online. The views from the upper floor kitchen and living were utterly spectacular and seeing the various photographs of the construction of the property left you appreciating just how much work had gone into its construction. Our sons loved the basement come games room which was a great place for them to retreat to. I would happily stay again.
Oct 2015
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Parry Sound House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
Outside:
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Private Chef
Leisure Activities:
  • boating

Reviews

3.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

40% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
20% Complete
Perfect for a large family or two families
average rating of 3.4 based on 7 reviews
Ontario
1

Nightmare Holiday

  • 1 of 5

The pictures and write up are not a true representation of this property. The condition it was in when we stayed in Aug was filthy dirty, no appliances working, no way to cook food or keep it cold as refrigerator was warm and BBQ was well worn out. As you see in pictures the lovely canopy over the dock area. What!! Not there and the dock was a sunken unusable mess. Paid the deposit for towels and only had four until more arrived two days later. after sending in our complaints via email. Will not discuss problems over the phone. Plumbing was ridiculous. Could not flush toilets. Had to use a plunger even for a pee. No water pressure or hot water. Our list goes on and on. Was disgusting and no service. We were accused of lying even after we submitted pictures. Did not even recognize the pictures of the basement. It was a horrible mess with broken glass and furniture in bad shape. Beware of the snakes and snapping turtles.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Roxy, I am sorry you felt the cottage was not up to par but I am very surprised at your review. We sent a brand new BBQ as soon as you let us know there was an issue with the existing one. We sent the cleaners back same day despite the fact that they had cleaned already arrival. We sent extra towels. You never asked to be relocated and in fact stayed the entire week. Clearly no good deed goes unpunished. I did not appreciate your group's threats to post bad reviews if we did not refund you money and clearly you have lived up to this extortion threat with patently false statements too numerous to list. To anyone reading this, note that these guests stayed the entire week despite what they have stated here in their review. I welcome you to speak with us directly if you want clarification and I invite readers to look at the other reviews posted here this summer which are excellent as clearly this group had their own agenda. Hosts beware.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Beware! Not as it seems

  • 2 of 5

The property looks lovely in photos but...

The lake is landlocked so you can't get a boat in if you rent one.

The basement is not exactly habitable if you thought you would share it with a large group or multiple families as advertised - its unfinished and a bare concrete floor, roughed in steps to main floor, it was filthy when we arrived and one of the kids stepped on broken glass. We found broken glass shards all over :-/

Beds weren't great, broken springs in the mattresses, obviously old and broke down throw aways, one couch is broken and the bbq was completely unusable . The pull out bed was broken so thank goodness we had an air mattress. We had to ask for a BBQ to cook on.

When we reported our issues with the management company they were quite rude and accused us of lying right off the start. I sent photos. They have been quite unpleasant to deal with constantly accusing us of lying even after the photos and i offered to have them come on site as well. They did send a bbq and the guys from Broil King were great! Even gave us some fishing tips!

Plumbing isn't great - basement bath had to be plunged to flush, upstairs shower doesn't drain so you're standing in dirty water, all the bathrooms were less than clean upon arrival. Cleaners had to be brought back which was ok as we had no towels on site upon arrival. One bed had grass and dirt in it so thank goodness we had our own linens. The management company refused to refund the cleaning and linens fee even though we had to clean for over two hours on arrival. Again we were accused of lying.

The main living area and kitchen was nice although we did have issues with both fridges in the beginning.

Concierge service was non existent as I asked about several amenities and activities near by... i was given a website to find a boat rental. They didn't respond to anything else I asked about.

I'd start by finding a different rental agency. The property is ok, definitely not 5*, just ok but dealing with the management company was worse. Their Director of Client Services is like wow... I don't think I've ever been treated so poorly before in my whole life and accused of anything they could dream up. We're normal, honest people and very respectful. I felt like we should get a lawyer or something after all the allegations and accusations. It was not a good experience that still lingers today

BUYER BEWARE!!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kari, as I stated to your guest Roxy, I am sorry you felt the cottage was not up to par but I am very surprised at your review. We sent a brand new BBQ as soon as you let us know there was an issue with the existing one. We sent the cleaners back same day despite the fact that they had cleaned prior to your arrival. We sent extra towels. You never asked to be relocated and in fact stayed the entire week. Clearly no good deed goes unpunished. To other hosts, beware. This is clearly a strategy these people use to get a discount with threats of bad reviews. They posted patently false statements too numerous to list. To anyone reading this, please read the other excellent reviews from the same month these guests stayed at Silver Lake Retreat and note that these guests stayed the entire week despite what they have stated here in their review. I welcome you to speak with us directly if you want clarification.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful place in the heart of Muskoka

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay on silver lake. The accommodations were amazing for our two families with many kids and a dog. What a view from the deck of house where we ate dinner every night. Weather was fantastic too!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at Silver Lake Malika! Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cottage which was very well stocked. The rooms were very clean and neatly laid out. My family and I had a great stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Neisha, We are thrilled you had a great time at Silver Lake and that you enjoyed the cottage and all Muskoka has to offer. Come back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property, fantastic location and all the amenities you would need

  • 5 of 5

Great extended stay over the May long weekend. Plenty of things to do for both kids and adults.

The main living space is fantastic for larger groups to share and be together, just as the pictures show. The kitchen had everything you needed and the bbq was top notch.

The lake was quiet and the stay was very relaxing.

The cottage is very close to Rocky Crest golf and spa which we all took advantage of.

Ross and Maryrose were fantastic to deal with, they answered any questions very quickly and the booking process was simple.

Great stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Silver Lake is a spring fed lake whose deepest point is 65 feet, and only 1km from Rocky Crest Golf Course and Hamer Bay Marine. The Cottage is located on a private bay that is on a quiet lake ideally situated 5 minutes from the North end of Lake Joseph.

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Notes

  • House rules include: Owner must approve all applicants and you will be asked to complete an application & once approved to sign a rental agreement. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Linen, beach & bath towels included. Water activity’s, including boating, are inherently dangerous. You indemnify the owners and their agents for any and all activities related to water. Pets must be approved by owner. No smoking inside the cottage. Open fires in fire pit only. Music or loud noise of any kind not permitted after 10pm. Please leave the cottage as you found it.

    Required Fees

    * Cleaning & Linen: CA$339.00 (Flat Rate Per Stay)
    * Online Booking Fee: %4.00 (Percentage of Rent)

  • Damage deposit: CAD1,500.00

You might like these similar properties