Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 Bedroom House In Northside Of Richmond

Bedrooms 5
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

5 Bedroom, 3 full Bathroom, 9 beds 4 sofas/futons, for athletic teams/families

Located to the north of Richmond city, the 3000 sf brick house has a lot size of 0.5 acre of land and offers privacy. The neighborhood is in a quiet and nice sub-division where big lots and big houses are a typical. It is 2.5 miles to Lewis Ginter Botanical Garden, 15 miles to Richmond International Airport, 4 miles to Richmond International Raceway, 7 miles to Greater Richmond Convention Center and Coliseum downtown area. . Walmart, Lowe's, Restaurant Depot, cinema and Virginia Center Commons shopping mall are within 4 miles of reach. New kitchen and new appliances throughout the house. High speed Verizon Fios Internet, wifi and TV. For reservations, I will contribute $30 out of $59 damage protection insurance coverage that you buy when you make a booking here. My contribution of the $30 is in the form of refund after your departure. But if there is a damage, there will be no refund of my contribution.

Property Manager/Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 24, 2018

About Property Manager/Owner

I am self-employed. I take care of international students under the age of 18. I provide homestay to them - that is why I need a house to accommodate the students over the weekend and during major holiday breaks.

Property Manager/Owner purchased this house in 2015

Why Property Manager/Owner chose Richmond

I have a clean and tidy house, not luxurious. It is a comfortable stay just like home. Please don't confuse it with a full service hotel.

What makes this house unique

Big spaces

Guestbook comments from the owner

The property has a two night minimum, we are so lucky because Charmaine allowed us to stay for one night because a previous guest cancellation. The house is large and clean, the house is an old brick house, we are impressed how much renovation has been done to improve the looks of the house.
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 1


Richmond House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 5 - Dorm - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 2 bunk bed , Two bunkers: top are twins, bottom are doubles
    Bedroom 1 - Master bedroom - 1 queen , Second floor master room with its own shower
    Bedroom 2 - SW - 1 double , On the second floor south west corner
    Bedroom 3 - SM - 1 double , 2nd floor south middle , opposite to hall bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - NW - 1 queen , First floor next to bedroom 5 --Dorm
  • Books ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
5 Bedroom House In Northside Of Richmond
average rating of 4.25 based on 13 reviews

good stay for a big group

  • 5 of 5

Nice and big house. Quiet neighborhood. good location to downtown and Kroger is 5 minutes away. We had a 13 people in our group so this is a good lodging for a big group.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Love to see you back again next year. Your group of college students were really lovely -- reminding me of my youthful times. You will see a better house - more cosmetics detailing. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hilton Head Island SC


  • 2 of 5

Technically the house was as advertised.....but the accommodations were sparsely furnished, and two of the bedrooms were really not bedrooms but large rooms. one of which held two bunk beds that were rickety and one had a day bed in a downstairs family room that had a dining room table in it. There was only one TV. The oven was full of ashes that we had to clean out to use. There was only one shower that really worked. There were several signs that warned of dire consequences and loss of the damage deposit, which made everyone nervous. How can you forbid smoking outside the house. Would never rent here again or recommend.

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I listed 5 bedrooms but you counted 6 bedrooms including the living room with a day bed. Again, let me repeat my listing title: 5 bedroom house in North of Richmond! 3 bedrooms upstairs, 2 bedrooms downstairs, each floor has 1 living room. The downstairs has a queen bed bedroom and a dorm room which has 2 bunkers, which accommodate teenagers. You never mentioned about showers when you called me twice after check-in. 1 shower faucet was installed 8 months ago for $800. This fancy faucet is tricky and it takes a smart person a moment to figure out how to use it. 2 regular shower faucets were installed two years ago. So I do not know why you think they do not work. Upon arrival you didn't see there was a fourth bedroom downstairs so you called me to demand that I came to meet you immediately and accused me lying about my listing. The downstairs living room is never listed as a bedroom but you thought it was a bedroom. Then you called me again because you said the oven was dirty. I appreciate that you cleaned out the ashes because the previous group didn't clean out the ashes. I did mention in the house rule that users should clean out the grill. Upon departure, you mentioned to me that you had a good stay. And 30 days later you reviewed as not a good stay for you. I am so sorry that our 7 hour cleaning brought you a tough life here in Richmond stay. Hope you come back next time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

This property met all of our needs!! It's located in a nice section of the city, has a fenced in yard....great for the kids, and has plenty of room and sleeping area. It is also within walking distance to stores. We rented this as a place for a large part of our family to stay as my daughter was getting married in Richmond. it was great to have everyone together for meals and to have a "home base" to work from. No stuffy hotel rooms for us!! The kids had lots of room to play. The house is incredibly clean, and it's clear the owner takes pride in her property. She is easy to work with, responds to messages, and is very helpful. I highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to stay in the Richmond area, and if you are a large group, this is a great place! We would definitely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kelly for your praise which shows that there are indeed decent people out there.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Will not stay there again

  • 1 of 5

After driving almost 14 hours we arrived at a dirty house. We didn't know if the house was being renovated or what was going on. House needs a ton of work done to it. Owner does not seem interested in doing any maintenance to the home any time soon. Children could not play in the yard due to poison ivy. Garbage was full when we arrived and was not taken the entire time we were there. The bedroom where my sick father and brother stayed was not functioning properly. The main bathroom had mold on the curtain and the curtain would not close all the way so water would get on the floor during our showers. We were unable to adjust temp on AC because thermostat was under lock and key. The list goes on and on. I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jose, thanks for informing me that you did not write this review and someone else in your group did it. I feel so sorry that your crew member felt that way -- I informed you in advance that I bought 2 new sofa futons and 1 day bed because this was the first time I had over 18 people in my house. Perhaps that person has different standards than most guests who stayed in my house. It's tough to please everyone but I did wonder if you as the only booking contact online here ever briefed your relatives beforehand of the property rules. When house rules are ignored, your large group as a whole brought a chaotic experience of your own to the environment, such as neglecting the garbage collection schedule. I also gifted your daughter a pair of fresh water pearl earrings from my China trip to show my appreciation. The thermostat is mentioned in the rental agreement which you failed to inform your relatives. I greeted your first batch of relatives when I was still cleaning the house, I let them in because they were standing outside in a hot summer. I told an adult person where to retrieve the key to the thermostat and also consulted with you if 72 degrees was OK. I even told that person a previous group turned the temperature to 40 degrees in a hot summer and thus busted the entire unit last summer! I resealed the shower room floor and asked you to test it if there was water leakage to downstairs, you said no. If you own a property you know there is always repair here and there to prevent large repair later on. You also told me that if you tucked in the curtain, the water shall not be leaking to downstairs. I cleaned the mold of a shower curtain but failed to see a mold spot on the reverse side, I have to compliment that person got sharp eyes. I don't see any poison ivy--- you were advised not to use my yard for letting your kids loose because my listing mentions that I am renting the house, not the yard. I specifically mentioned this again in my previous email. As per the property rules, you were supposed to pull the garbage can to the curbside for collection but you left me tons of garbage and I had to take a few of them in my sedan trunk and dumped them in the county's waste center. And a few of them to my own house garbage can. I didn't complain to you. Everyday I sent you a text to find if anything was okay, you replied okay. I even paid for your damage insurance premium...We agree that this person is not welcome to use our property in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


  • 4 of 5

This is a great place if you have a big family/group that needs to put their heads down at night. Two long community-style tables - one on first floor, and one on second floor.

It was June when we went, and the outside vegetation was quite too untamed - but then we had just had a big week of rains so... EVERYTHING ELSE - nice!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for weekend in Richmond

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect location to visit the city of Richmond without staying in the city. The house was clean and neat. It is a bit dated, but that is just cosmetic. It is a nice house for a family to share at a very reasonable price.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Richmond International Airport
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Amtrak Staples Mill Station
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
100 Miles
Virginia Beach
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $110
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 1.0%

1. The rate is good for maximum 10 people. If your actual number of people staying in the house is more than the number that you have paid for, please pay for the extra persons. The nightly charge for each extra person is $30 if not paid in advance. I will share your cost of purchase the accidental damage protection insurance coverage, which is $59.
2. This is not a party house, the neighborhood is quiet and decent. My neighbors told me to ask my guests to keep a low profile during their stay. No party noises after 10:00pm.
3. This is not an event venue, if you host a dinner/event for your guests, you are responsible for any injuries/risks/consequences incurred and damages in this location.
4. Please do not throw a large amount of toilet paper into the toilet balls - - a trash can is next to each toilet ball.
5. Pets are not allowed within the boundaries of this property, if you do bring a pet, there will be a $200 pet fee to be deducted from your security deposit.
6. This property is not child proof. It is the responsibilities of the parents to tell children what not to do or touch.
7. Please clean up the grill set after use. Please clean dishes upon your departure. You may be refunded the partial cleaning fee if you keep the house reasonably clean.
8. Please recycle bottles and package papers into the green bins, bottle lids are removed.
9. When you leave, please remove top sheets/fitted sheets, pillow cases and towels, place them in the utilities room. Please do not remove the quilts/blankets/duvet covers.
10. Please do not move my furniture around. I like the way it is.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties