Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Great Escape A-3BR-30A- Apr 22 to 24 $1193! Beach SVC- Grayton Beach-BeachFT

Bedrooms 3
Space 0 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Bedrooms 3, Bathrooms 3, Sleeps 11

Top Reasons to Book this Beachfront Home:

* Near Bad Ass Coffee, Another Broken Egg Cafe, Hibiscus, and Pandora's

* Beachfront duplex w/beach access, & screened in porches overlooking the Gulf!

* Beach Service! Two Classic Beach Chairs & Umbrella!

* Rent The Great Escape #A and #B together. Both sides together sleep 20 people!

* Only 3.2 Miles to Seaside!

* Near RedFish Village, Red Bar, and Grayton Beach State Park

* Free shuttle via the 30A Sunshine Trolley, May 27-Sept 4

* Professionally Managed; 24/7 Service

*The living room sliding glass door is unavailable for use at this time. Guests can use the adjacent door to access the deck.*

*This property is not available to adults Under the age of 25. No Exceptions.*

The Great Escape #A boasts unbeatable views of the water, while creating a living space to accommodate a small or large group with ample room for cooking and dining together. This home has room on the first floor with a twin-over-full size bunk bed and a full bath that the living area can also access. On the 2nd floor there is a King bedroom with an attached bath and balcony access, and a guest bedroom with 2 full beds and an attached bathroom and balcony access. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room. This home is a duplex and you can rent The Great Escape #A and #B together to accommodate a party of 20.

Spend hours on the beach, playing in the surf, building sandcastles and netting crabs. You'll want to call everyone together in the early evening to enjoy sunsets from one of the decks. You'll have the best of both worlds; enjoy the bustle of Seaside, then retreat to the quiet but unique Grayton Beach area.

*SNOWBIRD / 55+ RENTAL* Snowbird Season is November through February on a monthly basis. The monthly rate is $2500 per month + and taxes/fees. To reserve, please contact us (Property Manager) to give you a quote with this Special Rate. Currently, this can't be booked online.

The bedroom setup:

First Floor: Bunk room w/ Twin-over-Full bunk bed

Sleeper Sofa in the living room

Second Floor: King Bedroom

Second Floor: Two Full Beds

Area Attractions:

If you've never been to Seaside, you're in for a treat. Only 3.2 miles away, it is a picturesque town with unique architecture, picket fences and homes tightly knit to encourage walking and a community feel. Its 'walk-to-anywhere' design includes a gourmet food market, coffee shops, ice cream parlors, restaurants, art galleries, and small boutiques all centered around a town square with an outdoor amphitheater. Seaside was featured in the 1997 motion picture The Truman Show.

There is a 23-mile paved bike path running alongside 30A; if you don't have a bike there are nearby rental shops.

For more shopping and activities you can drive just 12 miles to the SanDestin/Miramar Beach area. There's plenty of shopping and restaurants here with the Grand Boulevard Town Center and Silver Sands Outlets as well as activities at Village of Baytowne Wharf.

Village of Baytowne Wharf is a beautiful 28 acre waterfront town center with a collection of unique shops, charming eateries, lively nightclubs and year-round special events. Find an amazing array of things to do at Baytowne Wharf. Plenty to keep the kids happy - burn off some energy at the Adventure land Playground, test your courage at the Gulf Coast’s only zipline or ropes course at Baytowne Adventure Zone. Go back in time at the Carousel, or head to the future at the Blast Arcade & laser Maze or the Boondocks Arcade. Want to get your shop on?? You’ll find a varied selection of shops right here in the Village, from a surf shop to funky clothing, shoes and accessories and everything in between, a wine shop, toy store, general store, even an old-fashioned candy shop.

Grand Boulevard Town Center is a pedestrian-friendly, shopping and dining complex just off Emerald Coast Parkway, convenient to both Sandestin and Miramar Beach. For the high-end shopper, the center offers everything from Fusion Art Glass Gallery to Brooks Brothers Country Club. A number of boutiques, such as Hello, Sunshine and Magnolia House, carry fare you can't find anywhere else. Dining options include Mitchell's Fish Market, P. F. Chang's China Bistro, and Cantina Laredo Gourmet Mexican Food. In 2013, Walton County’s first movie theater opened at Grand Boulevard’s Town Center - the state-of-the-art Boulevard 10 Movie Theater.

More Details

Property Manager
RealJoy Reservations
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 12 hours
Calendar last updated:
April 23, 2018

About RealJoy Reservations

Real Joy Vacations is a professional property management company located in Destin, Florida. We provide Vacation Rentals in Destin, Okaloosa Island, SanDestin, 30A, and Panama City Beach! Something for everyone! We have Affordable family rentals as well as Beachfront Condos and Luxury Homes with Pools! Grab your Swimsuit and enjoy the spectacular emerald green water and sugar white sands of Northwest Florida! By utilizing the latest technology to provide our guests with timely property updates and having maintenance available 24/7 at the tap of a button, we help to provide you with a stress-free stay. The cleanliness of our properties is a high priority. Providing keyless entries so you don’t have to fumble with keys is for your ultimate security. We price competitively, and above all, want you to enjoy your experience. Let us put the Real Joy into your vacation!

Why RealJoy Reservations chose Grayton Beach

The Emerald Coast of Northwest Florida is an amazing destination for your beach vacation! Sugar white sands and emerald green waters await. Whether your idea of relaxation is people watching on a beachfront balcony or being right in the middle of the action, we can help you find the vacation property that’s right for you. Our maintenance team, on call 24/7, and our friendly staff will help you to have a wonderful trip!

What makes this house unique

Real Joy Vacations manages properties to fit all budgets! Whether you are looking for a beachfront location, a luxury home with a private pool, or would like a budget-friendly, walk to the beach option, we have properties in all shapes and sizes! Most of our properties come with the Real Joy Fun Pass, which gives you one or two free tickets to daily attractions each night of your stay along with unlimited DVD rentals. Our offerings are fantastic for families because they give you room to spread out. With substantially more space than the average hotel room, most of our properties offer separate living areas, full kitchens, and washer/dryers. Our guests can cook their own meals if they wish and launder their things if needed. You can count on the Real Joy team���s extensive property management experience. From our excellent customer service reps to our cleaning crew, we want you to have a wonderful stay.


Grayton Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King Bedroom on Second Floor w/Balcony Access
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , Two Full Beds on Second Floor w/Balcony Access
    Livingroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen sleeper sofa
    Bunk Room - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , First Floor/ Twin-over-full size bunk bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming


3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
The Great Escape A-3BR-30A- Apr 22 to 24 $1193! Beach SVC- Grayton Beach-BeachFT
average rating of 3.0 based on 6 reviews

Perfect location

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed this beach house. Loved the location!

  • Submitted: Feb 21, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Brandi. Thank you for your feedback on your stay at this beachfront home. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed this house and loved the location. We value your referrals and hope you will come back to visit. Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with Real Joy!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Piney Flats, TN

Fun Girls Beach Weekend

  • 4 of 5

If you want to stay plugged in all weekend, this place is not for you. But if you want to enjoy friend or family time without those distractions, go to The Great Escape! Yes, the wifi and Cable TV were on the blink and were not fixed for the duration of our stay, but that gave us more time to walk the beach, float on the blowup doughnuts, lounge in the two free beach chairs set up for us each morning, and enjoy each others company. Great restaurants and shopping were a short distance away. And the State Park near Watercolor had a nice hiking trail through dunes and woods. The house itself was not as upscale as some in the neighborhood but was a good value and about to get a fresh coat of paint after our departure. A call to fix a broken door handle was answered immediately and fixed the same day. There were five women in our group and we all agreed we would love to come back to The Great Escape!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Stephen. Thank you for your feedback on your stay at this beachfront home. We’re happy to hear you had a fun girls weekend and got to enjoy the beach and the local eats and shopping close by. We’re happy to hear your call was answered promptly regarding the broken door handle. We again apologize for the wifi/cable tv being out during your stay. We hope you will come back to visit! Thank you for staying with Real Joy!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

My one star is for the incredible view only! House is zero stars!

  • 1 of 5

My family has stayed in several houses in the Gulf Trace neighborhood over the years and they've all been nice--but this property is not. The first thing I did upon arrival was go the general store to buy cleaning supplies. The walls are filthy, the carpet on the stairs is BEYOND filthy, the kitchen cabinets were dirty. When we arrived there was a chewed-on apple core (gross!!!) on the floor of one of the bedrooms. The bedroom lamps don't work. The air conditioner was on the blink--only cooled to 76 during the day and the air vent leaked water all over the dining table. I called the property managers realjoy about this on our second day there and was told "yeah, the air conditioner goes out a lot in that unit". They sent a repair guy who looked at it and said he would be back the next day, but he never returned. Also, a repair guy came to replace torn screens on the porch and just left all of the old screen in a big pile on the porch.

The clothes dryer tears clothes and leaves black greasy spots on them. The exterior is in bad need of a power wash, and there's a bunch of trash strewn around under the deck--broken chairs, broken umbrellas, pieces of plastic buckets, etc.

The only upside is it's location, and that the view is incredible. However, I would never stay here again. It's a shame that this eyesore is in this wonderful neighborhood and right beside the boardwalk where everyone passes by on their way to the beach.

One more thing--the walls are thin and we were awakened every day before 7 am by the crying baby in unit B.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi David, we wish you had contacted us to get the property recleaned for you. We apologize that it wasn't up to par. The air conditioner has been repaired, and the debris has been hauled away and the dryer has been replaced. We are planning to get both this and the property next door painted. We took over managing these relatively recently and are in the process of getting them upgraded. Again, we apologize for your experience, it is atypical of our property management philosophy.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

In a word...OLD!

  • 1 of 5

Let me start with the positive - it is directly on the beach (AWESOME). Now for the negatives...when we arrived, there was trash everywhere, underneath the condo on the beach, all over the back porch, and in the closets. The toilet in the upstairs bedroom wouldn't flush and the dryer actually tears your clothes. The back deck/porch is screened in, however all the screen was torn making for an extreme eye sore. The down stairs bathroom had a leak in the ceiling directly above the shower (looked like water damage from the upstairs bath). The downstairs room, stairs, and entire upstairs are carpet with nasty stains, crumb,s and sand all in them. We actually refused to walk barefoot for the first few days but then the adult beverages kicked in and gave us more confidence :). The couch is very uneven and very uncomfortable. Some of the plugs in the house didn't work and a lot of the lamps either didn't have working bulbs or just didn't work. Now for the management company - Real Joy Management - no help at all and very poorly run. Upon arrival and inspection of the condo, we call the management company due to all the trash, the torn screen on the back porch, and the water was not working in the unit. The two guys that came out acted pissed that we called and were absolutely zero help. Very unprofessional and would highly recommend never working with Real Roy!

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your honest feedback. We're sorry that you experienced these issues. We recently took over managing this property and are trying to get it updated slowly, the owner has agreed to do more updates this fall. The trash has been hauled away and we replaced the dryer. We were able to get the porch screen repaired/replaced a few weeks after your stay. We will have to check into the cleaning issue as our cleaners usually do an excellent job. We appreciate your feedback, it helps us to grow as a company.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Wonderful place

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time. Location was great. Easy access to beach. Nice bedrooms. You may want to check dryer. It took 3 hours to dry cloths.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Andrew, glad you enjoyed the easy access to the beach, location and bedrooms! We did discover issues with the dryer and are told that it has now been replaced. We have updates in store for this property in the fall, so we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Outstanding location!

  • 4 of 5

2016 was the sixth year my family has stayed in The Great Escape #A. The outstanding location with its beautiful and quiet beach keeps us coming back. The property is very clean and accommodated our family nicely. Updates and maintenance were in the process but management did their very best not to disturb our vacation. I believe the property will continue to improve as additional updates are planned. Along with the great beach, the property is conveniently located close to Seaside, Red Bar and shopping. We hope to return again next year!

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Vicki, glad you love the location and cleanliness of this property, we definitely agree on that! More updates are planned for this fall, we hope to see you back soon-
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
34.3 Miles
Northwest Florida Beaches Int'l Airport (ECP)
Nearest Golf
9.7 Miles
The Links Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
13.5 Miles
Captain Dave's On the Gulf
Nearest Beach
Located ON the Beach
Car: recommended
Other Activities:

Carillon Market Street


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • Varies
  • US Dollars
  • Rates shown are base rates & do not include tax, processing fee and cleaning
  • Nightly minimums range from 2 to 7 nights, depending on the season
  • 30% down at time of booking, non-refundable
  • Balance due 30 days prior to arrival
  • We offer optional trip insurance for an add'l 7%
  • SNOWBIRDS* $2500/mo + taxes & fees - Nov through February