Entire home

Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay

Photo gallery for Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay

A dining area with a long table set for six, surrounded by wicker chairs with cushioned seats.
A covered patio area with a sectional sofa, a small table, and a patterned rug.
A two-story brick house with a front porch, a visible front door, and a small front yard with white flowering plants.
A marina with multiple boats docked, wooden piers, and a calm water surface.
A brick house with a well-maintained garden featuring hydrangeas and other plants.

Reviews

9.4 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Top rated beach location
    Discover paradise at this top rated beach location.
  • Beach equipment
    A rare find — beach equipment ready to go for your days by the sea.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Lake Michigan

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Kitchenette
  • Barbecue grill
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Racine, WI
  • Place, Racine Zoological Gardens
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, North Beach Park
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, Racine Zoo Beach
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Airport, Milwaukee, WI (MKE-General Mitchell Intl.)
    ‪31 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed

Bedroom 3

2 Single Beds

Living Room 1

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Bathroom 2

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchenette
Office
Separate dining area
Number of living rooms
Outdoor play area
Garden

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Racine

Racine is home to this holiday home. Regency Mall and South Milwaukee Downtown Market are worth checking out if shopping is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Lake Michigan and River Bend Nature Center. Racine Zoological Gardens and Wind Meadows Leisure Center are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking, power boating and swimming nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking/biking trails.
Map
Racine, WI

What's nearby

  • Racine Zoological Gardens - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • North Beach Park - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Racine Zoo Beach - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Reef Point Marina - 4 min drive - 2.2 km
  • Racine Art Museum - 5 min drive - 2.5 km

Getting around

  • Sturtevant Station - 19 min drive
  • Kenosha, WI (ENW-Kenosha Regional) - 37 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Mi Jacalito Restaurant - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪Santa Fe Liquors - ‬7 min walk
  • ‪Dog's & Cream - ‬2 min drive
  • ‪Gus's Gyros - ‬15 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay?

As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay on 29 Oct 2026 start from £1,063, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Family Retreat Near Lake Michigan | Extended Work Stay located?

Situated in Racine, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Racine Zoological Gardens and Lake Michigan. North Beach Park and Racine Zoo Beach are also within 5 minutes.

Reviews

9.4

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 13 out of 15 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 15 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 15 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 15 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 15 reviews

9.6/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We really enjoyed our stay! It's really hard to find a place that has a separate bed for 5 people, so we were really happy to find this one. It is in a great location; we have a brother who lives in Racine, and it seemed everywhere we went was no longer than 5 minutes away. We experienced some really good restaurants too! We especially loved Asiana! Will definitely be back!
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Aug 2026
It was a pleasure hosting you, and I would be happy to welcome you back anytime you’re visiting your brother and Racine again and I hope to host you again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This home was the perfect location for our long weekend. Close to the lake, zoo, and downtown- we were able to get anywhere we needed to in minutes. The outdoor patio area was comfortable and private. The bedrooms were cozy. Fans in every room!Everything was clean and we had plenty of space. We would definitely stay here again!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Jul 2026
Thank you so much, Erin! I’m happy to hear the home was a perfect location for your long weekend and that you enjoyed being close to the lake, zoo, and downtown. I’m also glad the patio and extra space helped make your stay comfortable. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I would be delighted to welcome you back anytime!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Overall, the property was excellent. Only reason I didn’t give a five stars because of the problems with some air-conditioning issues the last couple of days.
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Jul 2026
Thank you, Dwight, for your review. I sincerely apologize for the air-conditioning issues during the last couple of days of your stay. I contacted an HVAC technician to inspect the system. We also experienced unusually high temperatures toward the end of your visit, which made it more difficult for the system to keep up. I did my best to stay on top of the situation and keep everyone as comfortable as possible. I truly appreciate your understanding and am glad that, overall, you had an excellent stay. It was a pleasure hosting you, and I would be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Enjoyed our time here
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We had a very nice stay. The house was nicely decorated for Christmas and had all the amenities that anyone could possibly need. Our host was very prompt and helpful
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Dec 2025
I’m glad you a good stay and enjoyed the Christmas decorations. I like to provide my guests all the comforts of being home and having all the amenities available is essential.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great spot

Perfect walking distance to the zoo and beach. Lovely property with outdoor patio seating.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 19 Dec 2025
Yes, I recommend Christina and would welcome her and her group anytime
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Lovely property and location cannot be beat. This is an older home but has been updated nicely. Check-in was no problem. The heat/air was not running when we arrived and guests are not allowed to change settings. One quick text to the host and it was resolved. Property was clean and well appointed. It was chilly when we stayed so did not have a chance to use outside amenities but there is a nice seating area. Just steps away from the zoo and short walk to the beach. We will definitely look to stay here again when in the area.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jun 2026
Thank you, Kaylee! I really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to take care of the temperature issue right away. I’d be happy to host you again anytime you’re back in the area! Janine
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect vacation

Every thing was wonderful. The owner was exceptional. I had friends and family coming and going,all enjoyed their time with me at this delightful home.
Stayed 30 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Aug 2025
Thank you Kate- It was a pleasure hosting you and your friends. So glad you enjoyed your visit with family and friends. You’re welcome back anytime. Janine
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

90th birthday vacation

This house was perfect for the 3 of us on our vacation “back home” to celebrate my dad’s 90th birthday with family and close friends. Centrally located near Lake Michigan, downtown shops, the Racine zoo, and delicious restaurants, this was a great find.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Oct 2024
Thank you Stephanie, and what a great milestone to reach 90 years young, I'm happy I was able to provide you with a home to share your celebration.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Weekend Getaway

The house was very charming and had everything we needed. It was fully stocked and very clean. A short walk to the beach, which was clean and beautiful too! We had a great girls weekend!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Zoo with Lake views

Excellent location for visiting the Racine Zoo and Zoo beach. Nice Park with tennis courts and basketball hoops across the street. A view of the park and lake from backyard. Good size rooms.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jul 2024
It was a pleasure hosting you. Thank you
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful property in a convenient location.

This rental was perfect for our family group of 6 and was very nicely remodeled. While the bedroom configuration changed from when we booked, we were able to make it work. The convenient location did mean that one of the bedrooms faced a busy street and could be an issue for light sleepers. The host very responsive in replacing the coffeemaker when we found it not to be working.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jul 2024
It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Thank you
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Made several complaints to Vrbo

She came in the house when ever she felt like it during my stay i moved early due to lack of privacy
Stayed 31 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Apr 2025
Before Bryan checked in, I sent him a welcome email letting him know I was available if he had any questions or needed anything during his stay. His first response was to ask why the master bedroom — referring to the room with twin beds — was locked. He also mentioned he was supposed to have access to three bedrooms. I explained that the third bedroom was available, but since he hadn’t requested it in advance, I hadn’t prepared it. I offered to stop by to make the beds and open the room for use. I also noted that his reservation was for one person, and there was no mention of additional guests. He replied that although it was just him on the reservation, he had managers who might want to "crash for the night" so they didn’t have to drive back to Waukesha. I told him that was no problem and confirmed I would stop by the next day to prepare the room. When I arrived — and to be clear, this was the one and only time I was at the property during his stay — I immediately notified Bryan that I was there to open and set up the third bedroom. He asked me to wait because he had left in a rush and had items out. I reassured him it was no issue and that I only needed a few minutes to make the beds and open the room. I was in and out within 30 minutes. At that point, it was already day three of his stay, and during that visit I noticed a strong smell of cigarette smoke throughout the house, especially in the first-floor bathroom. There was a pack of cigarettes on the counter — despite the house being clearly listed as non-smoking. Additionally, cigarette butts were left in both the front and back yards. Throughout the reservation, Bryan had at least one guest and his dog stay with him for the duration of his booking. At no point did he provide the name or contact details of this individual, which is required for safety and insurance purposes. On top of that, there was also a dog on the property. The dog’s waste was left in the backyard and never picked up, which is a violation of the pet policy and basic courtesy for the home. Following my visit, I emailed Bryan again with a copy of the house rules, pointing out the multiple violations. I also reported the conduct to VRBO on three separate occasions with supporting documentation, including photos. To summarize: • I was only at the home once, and only to prepare the third bedroom. • I clearly communicated all steps and respected the guest's space. • House rules were violated, including unauthorized guests, indoor smoking, failure to clean up after a pet, and lack of communication and his guests charged his electric van without permission as don’t have EV outlets. I take pride in maintaining a respectful, clean, and private environment for my guests. While I understand that every guest has different expectations, it’s also important to respect the home and the agreed-upon policies.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cute house, great location

We were in town for a music festival and stayed at this house. We had 7 total and there was plenty of room for everyone. The location was very safe feeling and in a quiet neighborhood. We sat out side by the fire pit every night. We also were able to walk to the beach. There were great dinner and brunch spots within 10 minutes ride. Also there are beach toys in the house if you have kids. We didn’t this time but just to note for those heading with kiddos. Only cons were the microwave didn’t really heat well. Not a big deal for us as we were just trying to warm up left overs. Also we were unable to control the temp of the house. Which was set at 70 so not terrible but our preference is cooler. Overall would recommend and would return!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Extended weekend getaway

Very nice historic house with an excellent location a couple of blocks from the lake, which was our primary reason for the trip. Our 4 yr old granddaughter wanted to go to the beach & this was the ideal roadtrip from St. Louis. The house was as described with 3 bedrooms & 2 full baths which comfortably accommodated our family of 5. Nice living & dining room & fully stocked kitchen. Patio with comfortable lawn furniture & a crate full of beach toys which my granddaughter enjoyed. Convenient off-street parking off the alley behind the house. The host was very quick to respond when contacted about an issue with the security code for the door locks, resolving the problem in minutes. On the downside, the microwave didn’t work at all so we weren’t able to enjoy our leftovers from the great restaurants we visited. All 3 bedrooms are located up very narrow, steep stairs, which could be a little difficult for anyone with mobility issues. Overall, very pleasant house in an excellent location.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Aug 2024
It was my pleasure hosting you and your family Patricia. My apologies for the microwave not heating your leftovers, I’ll make sure to replace.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback