Entire home

Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach

Photo gallery for Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach

A wooden deck with wicker furniture overlooking a beach.
A spacious dining area with a long table and white chairs, large windows with wooden frames, and a view of the ocean.
A wooden deck with a swimming pool, a hot tub, and outdoor furniture.
A large, multi-story house with a prominent balcony and a covered outdoor area.
A coastal property with multiple houses, a swimming pool, and a beach access road.

Reviews

9.4 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • Top rated beach location
    Discover paradise at this top rated beach location.
  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Balcony
  • Hot tub on site
  • Private pool
  • Dog-friendly
  • Barbecue grill

Explore the area

View in a map
Corolla, NC

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

2nd Floor double Bunkbed

4 Single Bunk Beds

2nd Floor Queen

1 Queen Bed

2nd Floor Queen

1 Queen Bed

2nd Floor Queen

1 Queen Bed

3rd Floor Master King

1 King Bed

4 bathrooms, 2 half bathrooms

1st Floor Half

Toilet

2nd Floor Private Bath

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

2nd Floor Private Bath

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

2nd Floor Shared bedroom/hallway bath

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

3rd Floor Half

Toilet

3rd Floor Master

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Balcony
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Corolla

Located in Corolla, this holiday home is on the beach. Corolla Beach and Currituck National Wildlife Refuge reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Outer Banks Center for Wildlife Education and Corolla Adventure Golf and Bumper Cars. Corolla Raceway and Digger's Dungeon - Home of Grave Digger are also worth visiting.
Map
Corolla, NC

Getting around

  • Norfolk, VA (ORF-Norfolk Intl.) - 157 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Salty Rim - ‬26 min drive
  • ‪The Kind Cup - ‬26 min drive
  • ‪The Beer Garden - ‬26 min drive
  • ‪Cosmo's Pizzeria - ‬27 min drive
  • ‪Uncle Ike's Sandbar & Grill - ‬27 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Does Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach have a pool?

Yes, this property has a pool.

Is Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.

How much is parking at Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Lightly Salted OBX, Beach front Luxury, Wild Horses, Pool, Hot Tub, 4x4 Beach located?

Nestled on the beach, this Corolla holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Carova Beach, Currituck National Wildlife Refuge and Estuarine Nature Walk. Carova Beach and Currituck Beach are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.4

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 103 out of 139 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 24 out of 139 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 10 out of 139 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 139 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 139 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.8/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
This property is located in an awesome location on the beach! Great views and access to wild horse watching. However, the property is a bit run down. Many things need repair and the photos showed are not accurate anymore.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We loved our week at this beautiful place! The best parts were the spectacular ocean views, the uniqueness of the wild horses, the quick walk to the uncrowded beach, and the spaciousness of the house with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for our large family.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Overall a little disappointed based on the price we paid. Ad did mention no supplies are provided but we assumed some basics like TP or paper towels would be there. Most fans didn't work, hot tub couldn't be used because the cover kept blowing away, buckles are broken. Random lights didn't work, smoke detector upstairs not connected, fridge lock broken so have to remember to close it right, back door very hard to move. house is in need of updating and repairs basically across the board for the price.We liked the pool and house location.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
A wonderful relaxing beach house with a perfect location. Horses visit daily, easy walk to beach (do not cross the dunes!!), great pool, and our favorite of all - the top deck facing the beach with more Adirondack chairs than you can ever use!! Pure chill. Great hosts too, communicative and friendly.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Host and house were amazing! Highly recommend 4WD vehicles we saw a few people stuck on the beach!
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Exceptional week, everything about our stay was perfect!Hosts were extremely responsive any time we had questions, highly recommend this location.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jan 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’re so happy you had a great stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful location. Owners were great to deal with!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jan 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’re so happy you had a great stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great property if you like nature and a little privacy. Family had a great time and we would do it again.Recommend in earnest. Go, get off the blacktop and get your 4x4 some beach exercise.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

One the most relaxing vacation

Great place
Stayed 7 nights in May 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Amazing location, fantastic pool and hot tub, house could use some TLC to bring it up to luxury
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jan 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a review. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’re so happy you had a great stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
House/property was everything we needed. Check in process was very easy, location was perfect. We saw the wild horses every day, which was fantastic! We had no issues, so did not need to contact the owner during our stay, but prior to the stay, owner was very responsive.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jan 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’re so happy you had a great stay!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very good beats my expectations
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jan 2026
Thank you for taking to review us. It was a pleasure hosting you.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family get away

This property and location exceeded our expectations! the views, amenities and the daily horse visits made for a memorable and enjoyable vacation. I have already recommended this home to several people and plan to come back in the future!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Vacation Adventure

We stayed at Lightly Salted last week; my family of five [2 adults, 3 kids (11, 5, 1)]and out close friends family of three [2 adults, 1 kid (3)].
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Our first time in the Northern Banks / 4WD section of OBX. We are hooked, we’ll definitely be back. We went in the off-season which was quite nice. The property itself is as advertised and very comfortable and spacious, and well appointed. The owner was extremely responsive and a breeze to deal with. I thought it was very good value for the money and appropriately priced. Highly recommend but hopefully YOU don’t book MY Thanksgiving holiday next year! :)
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jan 2026
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful review. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’re so happy you had a great stay!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location, listing accuracy
The sulfer smell from the water was so bad my family became physically ill (headache, dizzy, nausea), and had to check out of the property early after just a few days. I own a property on a well and have stayed at several others, and i have never experienced anything like that.Im sure that can be fixed by treating the water, but its also pretty disappointing the owner did not offer any kind of consideration for us having to leave our vacation early. We have rented on vrbo many times and never had an experience like this.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Apr 2026
Hi Bill, We were disappointed to see your recent review and would like to address your concerns. The issue you noted regarding the water system does not align with our maintenance records, as the system is serviced weekly and was inspected on the day of your arrival. Had we been made aware of any concerns during your stay, we would have promptly dispatched our emergency maintenance team to investigate and, if needed, offered to relocate you to one of our nearby properties. Following your departure, we had the water treatment system inspected again, and no issues were identified. Based on these findings, we respectfully disagree with the feedback provided. Sincerely, Salted Properties
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful!

Beautiful house, fantastic location. Loved the adventure of getting to the house
Stayed 7 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 12 Jul 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5-STAR review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the adventure of staying on the 4x4 beach, it really is unique.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

50th Birthday

First time here to celebrate my 50th birthday Amazing location on the beach.House and host where amazing seeing the wild horses was a dream come true we will return thank you
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Summer vacation.

Everything was very nice. The pool and hottub was very clean and the house was exactly as described. Access to the beach was easy, just load you vehicle up and drive about a minute to your spot. We definitely recommend this property.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Comfortable

It just felt comfortable staying there.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jun 2020
Jenna, we are so happy you and your family had a good stay with us. We hope to have you back next season!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Corolla Visit

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Excellent location, and greatly appreciated their keeping the hot tub open for our use during our was used every night!
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
Greg, We are so happy that you had a great time! We look forward to having you back next year. We have made a few changes that I think you will love!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Awesome family vacation!

Great responsive hosts, especially during the pandemic. The property was beautiful, clean and well maintained. Swimming pool and hot tub were clean and in great condition. Easy access to the beach. Horses wondered through the property 2 or 3 times during our week long stay. MUST HAVE 4 WHEEL DRIVE TO ACCESS!
Stayed 7 nights in May 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 30 Jun 2020
David, we are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you back next season!
From a partner site

8/10 Good

MacDonald

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was very clean. I was very happy with the location. I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: We had a great experience here. Laura was fantastic to work with and went out of her way to accommodate us.
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
So glad you enjoyed your stay. The house is so comfortable.. and the outside is as inviting as the inside. Please come again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Absolutely wonderful!!

The property was 100 percent as advertised. Kitchen was the best stocked we have ever stayed in. Home was spacious and beautiful. Host was responsive and helpful when we were stuck on the beach. Recommended a towing company that was fast, easy, and awesome people. Note: tire pressure is best at 12 to 14 pounds.Would recommend 100 percent!!
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
For the amount we spent for one week, you would have expected a premium experience. The property is in need of quite a bit of maintenance. Here is a list of some of the items . . . Upstairs refrigerator doesn't stay cold, master bedroom ceiling fan didn't work, broken door handle, the sliding door is incredibly difficult to open/close, broken chairs, torn screens. Vents and ceiling fans that did work were covered in dust. The pictures on the listing have some discrepancies such as there isn't front loading washing machines, which is not a big deal at all but when combined with all the other issues it points to pictures being outdated. The hot tub is missing two head rests exposing some sharp pieces, also only 2 of the 4 jets work. While you do drive almost 4 miles on the beach, it's definitely not secluded. Since it is on the 4x4 beach there are a lot of parked vehicles on the beach as well as a considerable amount of traffic passing through. You have to keep a very close eye on your children and to cross the beach you have to "look both ways", not exactly nature. I did reach out to the host and was told I should have reported it in the first 24 hours. For the price you don't want to spend time dealing with these issues nor could these have all gotten fixed in a week. But . . . There are horses.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Aug 2026
Hi Aaron, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We certainly appreciate hearing from our guests and always want to address any concerns that arise during a stay. That said, when you contacted us after checkout and indicated that you were considering leaving a negative review based on several of the items mentioned above, we did explain that concerns need to be reported during the first 24 hours of the stay whenever possible. This gives us the opportunity to promptly address and resolve any issues while guests are still at the property. Regarding the door handle and rocking chairs, these items were not damaged prior to your arrival. Had we been notified during your stay that they had broken or were not functioning properly, we would have been happy to have our maintenance team address them. Unfortunately, because we were not made aware of these concerns until after checkout, we were unable to assist at the time. With regard to the refrigerator, after you contacted us following your departure, we proactively had an appliance repair company inspect and diagnose the unit. They found no issues and confirmed that the approximately one-year-old refrigerator was functioning properly. As for the porch screens and spa headrests, these are also items we would have gladly addressed had we been notified during your stay. We could have arranged for replacements or repairs as quickly as possible to ensure you were able to fully enjoy the property. Lastly, regarding the photos you referenced as being outdated, we would like to clarify that the listing photos do not reflect some of the recent upgrades made to the home, including our brand-new living room furniture and the new washer and dryer set. The washer and dryer were replaced just last week after a leak was identified with the front-load washer. Given the potential for continued water damage to the flooring and the possibility of leaving the appliance unusable for a future guest, we felt replacing the set promptly was the best course of action. The new matching set was installed during a guest’s stay, and that guest was very appreciative that we were able to address the issue quickly after they properly reported it to us. We genuinely want our guests to have a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and we are always willing to address concerns when they are brought to our attention. Prompt communication allows us the opportunity to resolve issues rather than having guests leave with unresolved concerns that we were never given the opportunity to correct. Thank you again for your feedback.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback