Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface

Photo gallery for Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface

A dining area with a wooden table, white chairs, a vase with flowers, and a hanging light fixture.
A modern living room with a flat-screen TV, a ceiling fan, a green sofa, and a bookshelf.
A forested landscape with a view of a distant hill or mountain, and a wooden deck in the foreground.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a white refrigerator, a bar stool, and a dining area with blue chairs.
A bedroom with a bed, pillows, a nightstand, a dresser, a window with curtains, and a plant.

Reviews

8.6 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Arcade/game room
    A rare find - fun for all ages with on-site arcade/game room.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Ausable River

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue grill
  • Street parking available
  • Free internet
  • Pet-friendly
  • Kitchen

Explore the area

View in a map
Jay, NY
  • Place, Ausable River
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, Historic Jay Covered Bridge
    ‪11 min walk‬
  • Place, Whiteface Mountain
    ‪16 min drive‬
  • Airport, Plattsburgh, NY (PBG-Plattsburgh Intl.)
    ‪43 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 12)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Double Bed

Living Room 1

2 Double Sofa Beds

Living Room 2

1 Single Futon

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Bathroom 2

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo

Spaces

Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Jay

Jay is home to this holiday home. Ausable River and Wilmington Town Beach reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Tahawus Cultural Center and Santa's Workshop. Travelling with kids? Consider Dartbrook Rustic Goods and Adirondack Reflections.
Map
Jay, NY

What's nearby

  • Ausable River - 5 min walk - 0.5 km
  • Historic Jay Covered Bridge - 11 min walk - 1.0 km
  • Santa's Workshop - 13 min drive - 15.3 km
  • High Falls Gorge - 16 min drive - 20.7 km
  • Whiteface Mountain - 16 min drive - 18.9 km

Getting around

  • Lake Placid, NY (LKP) - 30 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪A&W Restaurant - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Adirondack Chocolates - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Adirondack Mountain Coffee Cafe - ‬7 min drive
  • ‪Twisted Raven - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Ice Jam Inn & Restaurant - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows pets (limit 2 total).

How much does it cost to stay at Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface?

As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface on 2 Nov 2026 start from £533, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Adirondack Mountain Escape near Whiteface located?

This family-friendly Jay holiday home is within 1 mi (2 km) of Historic Jay Covered Bridge and Ausable River. Wilmington Town Beach and Wells Memorial Library are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

8.6

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 14 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 21 reviews

8.4/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Amenities

9.4/10

Property conditions & facilities

10/10

Check-in

9.2/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

9.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Super clean and well taken care of. Great location if you’re looking to explore upstate NY in the Lake Placid area.Plenty of space and has an awesome finished basement with a full ping pong table. Huge garage with space for multiple vehicles. Host was communicative and accommodating throughout our stay. 5/5 would stay again.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Jul 2026
Thanks so much and welcome back anytime!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
everything was great. perfect ski house and access to whiteface
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Beautiful area with river access.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Host was very responsive, home was clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
House was clean and on a nice quiet road. Not from from places to go and visit
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great!

Nice house perfect getaway at whiteface
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Great place to stay! Quick drive to Lake Placid and Whiteface and all activities. Beautiful covered bridge nearby. Really nicely appointed house. Had absolutely everything we needed kitchen bathroom wise etc and was in great condition.
Stayed 7 nights in Dec 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely accommodations

Very clean home. Great quiet neighborhood in a beautiful location. Plenty of space to unwind.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Excellent Location - Lots of Space

Had a great stay and really appreciated the space for our group. Host was very easy to communicate with and responded quickly. Looking forward to coming back!
Stayed 6 nights in Feb 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great house :)

Beautiful house! We loved the the covered deck, it was perfect for relaxing and getting fresh air. Perfect location for hikes and getting into lake placid. Had such a blast!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Large enough for 12 of us. Several things need to be repaired but didn't affect our stay.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Ski Jumping competition stay

Overall the place was great! Just the outside patio ice could have been salted or broken apart. Just needs more mattresses if the house states it could sleep 12. Could be back next year for Ski Jumping Competition. Thank you.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good holiday in the Adirondacks!

Good and comfortable house, with lots to recommend it. Family loved the ping pong table and plenty of space to relax in. Even in the cold, the screened porch got used. Easily accommodated our 6 adults and 1 grandchild. The Adirondacks are pretty remote and civilization is very spread out. We spent a lot of time in the car. One piece of advice: stop at the grocery store first. It is a long way back to get supplies. Thank you for the use of the house.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Clean and open

We enjoyed our stay. The house was very nice and clean on the inside. Run down on the outside. Though the house was in a neighborhood, it was quiet and private. Nice trail down to the Ausable river from property. Beds were very comfortable. The oven did not work so they were sending someone to fix it and the grill was broke and did not have gas, the owner offered to have us buy a charcoal grill and they would reimburse us. Overall it was a great weekend with our family.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Sept 2024
thank you for the feedback. we replaced the stove and oven with brand new unit. we also replaced the grill with an electric one. we hope that you may return to enjoy the newly updated amenities.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family time

The property and house were spacious and well cared for other than the fact that we could not use the outdoor grill because the connecting line between the propane tank and the grill had a leak and there was no propane to use anyway. also the screen door on the attached deck needs to be repaired because the lower screen sections are coming off and somebody is going to get metal in their foot. I would also suggest salt and pepper shakers and a decent supply of toilet paper. All in all our family really enjoyed being together and the fact that we could go to Whiteface and Wilmington and Lake Placid within a short drive. Shirley Tedford
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great area, nice property, hot during summer

The area is great and the property is beautiful but it does need a little bit more of attention, as it was not as clean as it should've been. It has probably been empty for a while and that's why it is quite dusty all over. We had a small.rodent issue but the owner was great at letting us know where the trap was so we could put it. I wish I would've seen more clearly that there was no AC in the unit. Heat was unbearable even with windows open and all fans on (including personal fans we had) With each summer getting hotter it would be nice to get at least AC units for the rooms if renting over summer. The basement is great size and nicely equipped, but again, it was quite dirty. Overall it wasn't bad but there's room for improvement. Communication was always great! I assume it will be an amazing place for winter rental.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication, listing accuracy
Very unhappy with this place and I have stayed in many Vrbo properties before this by far the worst 1. Arrival the steps were not cleaned I almost broke my neck walking up to the door, I had to shovel the steps myself so everyone in my party didn't break their necks, then salt it myself. 2. I booked this place because it says sleeps 12, with sofa beds, this is a straight up lie. there are no sofa beds in this home. We were only 6 and 1 person had to sleep on the floor or couch.3. People paid cleaning fees but the sheets in the master bedroom were dirty had to wash them before I even slept in them. 4. hall bathroom shower head wasn't working I had to fix it so we can have two operational showers. Luckily I work in construction and do remodels so I was able to fix it, but I am on vacation not working.5. the bifold doors all of them were not connected to the tracks on the room up the stairs to the left of the bathroom the doors fell on my brother could have injured him luckily he is a big guy and nothing happened but could have been a kid.6. the basement was another reason I booked your house we love to play pingpong well we didn't play any since the lights down there did not operate fully not to mention every single paddle was broken and the basement is not heated so it was cold to even play. 7. I usually do some type of cooking when I book a VRBO but the kitchen was not clean it felt dirty and didn't cook anythin
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication

ADK stay

- We tried to cook a pizza on our first night. The oven wasn't working. The next day at 9a we get a knock on the door from a delivery company with a stove. Would of been nice to been told we didn't have a working stove before we arrived. When I spoke with owner they said sorry I was going to tell you they were coming later because they weren't supposed to arrive until the afternoon. That being said we hike in the afternoons while we are up. So, then what would of happened? They said they were aware of the stove not working from a prior guest. That information should of been relayed prior to our arrival not us finding out when we are hungry with kids during dinner time. - The book that goes over everything about the house adn expectations was at the entrance. States please nofify us of bugs, issues etc. I did notfiy them there was about 10-15 bugs upstairs. After we got rid of the ones we could reach, there was another 10-15 the next morning. I get its the adk and bugs are expected but there were a ton! Also, states garbage is to be put in provided garbage totes outside and garbage day is Thursday. States if its overflowing then garbage must be taken to a garbage drop off. We arrived on Thursday at 4p. Garbage cans were full and clearly not taken out that day.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Sept 2024
we apologize for the inconvenience with the stove which we immediately had replaced. we take all concerns seriously and address them promptly. we have a brand new working stove in the home. we also increased our garbage pick up to weekly in the high season. as for insects and pests, we are in the Adirondacks and insects can get into the home if the screens are not closed. we urge guests to keep the screen doors closed to keep insects out.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great family vacay! House accurately described.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Stayed 9 nights in Jan 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback