Entire home

Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC

Photo gallery for Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC

A stone building with a waterfall in front, surrounded by trees.
A living room with a stone wall, a fireplace, a sofa, and a cowhide rug.
A cozy living room with a stone wall, a fireplace, a piano, and a leather armchair.
A cozy living room with a stone fireplace, a sofa, a coffee table, and a bookshelf.
A cozy living room with a stone fireplace, cushioned seating, and a wooden coffee table.

Reviews

9.6 out of 10
Exceptional

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue grill
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet

Explore the area

View in a map
Salt Point, NY
  • Place, Stanford Town Hall
    ‪8 min drive‬
  • Place, Orvis Sandanona Shooting Grounds
    ‪9 min drive‬
  • Place, Millbrook Vineyards and Winery
    ‪11 min drive‬
  • Airport, Newburgh, NY (SWF-Stewart Intl.)
    ‪55 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom 2

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 3

2 Single Beds and 1 Double Futon

Bedroom 4

1 Double Bed

Master bedroom

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 2

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Master bath

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Powder room

Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Salt Point

Located in Salt Point, this holiday home is in a rural area and on the waterfront. Clinton Vineyards and Millbrook Vineyards and Winery are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those looking for area attractions can visit Innisfree Garden and Trevor Zoo. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at McCann Ice Arena or Tenney Stadium at Leonidoff Field. Enjoy the area's slopes with skiing, and don't miss out on the ice skating.
Map
Salt Point, NY

What's nearby

  • Stanford Town Hall - 8 min drive - 11.0 km
  • Orvis Sandanona Shooting Grounds - 9 min drive - 8.9 km
  • Clinton Vineyards - 9 min drive - 8.4 km
  • Innisfree Garden - 9 min drive - 7.8 km
  • Millbrook Vineyards and Winery - 11 min drive - 10.7 km

Getting around

  • Poughkeepsie Station - 20 min drive
  • Newburgh, NY (SWF-Stewart Intl.) - 49 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Stewart's Shops - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪The Iron Furnace - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Millbrook Diner - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Historic, Converted Mill w/Beautiful Waterfall & Stream, 2 hr drive from NYC located?

Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is 2.8 mi (4.4 km) from Institute of Ecosystem Studies and within 6 miles (10 km) of Innisfree Garden and Clinton Vineyards. Stanford Recreation Park and Millbrook Vineyards and Winery are also within 6 miles (10 km).

Reviews

9.6

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 14 out of 15 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 15 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 15 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 15 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 15 reviews

10/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

10/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Amazing property. Fascinating history, stunning design, and a wonderful place to stay while enjoying upstate NY.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2026
Archival

2/10 Terrible

Beautiful setting but MAJOR drawbacks. Beware!

My husband and I rented the Mill House in September 2009 for what we hoped would be a restful week's vacation with our son and daughter-in-law. We knew the house would be somewhat rustic, but never imagined it would have the serious problems we encountered. Staying in the house turned out to be such an unpleasant experience that we left after two days, even though we had prepaid for a week. Here are some of the issues we faced: The water had such a strong sulfur (rotten egg) odor that we could not drink it, and did not even want to wash or shower in it. The entire house had a musty, moldy smell and feel, causing two of us to have an allergic reaction. When we arrived, we were told we might encounter bats in the house, and were given instructions on how to get rid of them in case they should appear. Truck traffic noise all night was so loud that we could not sleep in the master bedroom that faced the road. Despite our requests, the owners were unwilling to offer us any kind of refund. In the past, we have rented vacation homes online many times -- in Hawaii, New Hampshire, Vermont, Cape Cod, Culebra, Vieques, Jamaica, Costa Rica and Mexico. We thoroughly enjoyed all of those rentals; none of them had problems anything like those we encountered at the Mill House. This region of New York state is beautiful, and there are a lot of interesting things to do in the area. However, we definitely would NOT recommend staying at the Mill House.
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Apr, 2020
We always strive to ensure that our tenants enjoy their stay. We take pains to fully disclose information about the house so that we do not end up with tenants who do not appreciate its quirks and charms. We recognize that the house is not for everyone- and that all parties are happier when it is a good match. We’d rather rent the house to the ‘right’ tenants or not at all. This house is a very special place, built by hand and upkept with love, passed down from father to daughter, and we prefer to fill it with people who can enjoy the experience that it offers. Prior to arrival, tenants are emailed a comprehensive guide. It clearly states that the water is from a well, which sometimes runs ‘soft’. The house is regularly and thoroughly cleaned. We’ve had a full season of renters, none of whom complained of mold. These tenants DID NOT encounter any bats; they were simply informed that it is important to keep the doors shut at dusk, or risk letting a bat in (or mosquitoes, squirrels, raccoons, etc...the house is on an 11 acre wooded lot and is next to water). The implication of excess noise is stunning- we have had many, many tenants over the years who fall in love with the house for the peaceful retreat that it offers. The lease is written in straightforward, fair and clear language that outlines our rules and policies. In the past, we’ve been willing to operate outside of the lease to rectify a complaint or to let tenants out of a lease in emergency situations. We’ve offered money back in situations that we felt that it was appropriate. We are more than happy to work toward a reasonable resolution, when approached respectfully, with problems or complaints. For whatever reason, these tenants did not mention any of their complaints, such as the smell of mold or excess noise, while I personally showed them around the house and grounds for over an hour upon their arrival. After their arrival on a Friday afternoon, we simply got an email at 10pm on Tuesday night, stating that they have gone home and are demanding their money back. I'm not clear on how they believe that they only stayed for two days (?) or that this aggressive email is the way to approach us about a refund.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fantastic property

A truly wonderful property. Open fires, waterfalls, dinners with family and friends. A perfect gathering spot.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful country setting, amazing rushing waterfalls, cool stone house and mid century furnishings.

Our party of 4 had a terrific time at Salvato Mill. It's really a great place for photography, so incredibly rustic yet has all the amenities. The stone structure, the amazing mid-century touches, and the location are all exactly how a vacation rental should be in the NY Hudson Valley. Michele was super helpful with suggestions and responsive to our questions when we needed advice on restaurants, etc.. Would definitely recommend it for adults especially - who want to sample local vineyards, antique hunt in nearby towns, eat at great restaurants in Rhinebeck / Hudson or just enjoy relaxing on the property and admiring the roaring stream.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2018
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Amazing and special place!!

The mill is a historical gem. The building is dramatic, with a river rushing through it, and yet peaceful and cozy, with many wood stoves, comfortable living spaces, and beautiful collections of stoneware and ceramics. This is a unique and special place, and one to which we would love to return! Thank you for a delightful weekend.
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Mar, 2020
Thanks so much, Zander! Please do come again!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Magical Mill

This was our second stay at this gorgeous home and it was just as magical as the first time. We love everything about it and look forward to next year!!
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2017
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Magical Mill Inside And Out!

This property was absolutely gorgeous. The falls are stunning, the water cool and clear. The upper patio was perfect for relaxing with a book. It was private while still within easy driving distance to great restaurants and scenic areas for hiking and exploring. The inside of the house was so roomy and airy. With two adults and two teens everyone had plenty of space. The upstairs bedrooms were comfortable and the sound of the falls lulled us to sleep. Michele was excellent to work with and we were provided with extensive information about the home and surrounding area. The mill had everything we needed and then some. It was our very best HomeAway experience and we would LOVE to return.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2017
Archival

10/10 Excellent

A Wonderful Stay

We are a group of friends who enjoyed the Mill for New Year's Eve and it couldn't have been better. The Mill itself is such a unique and beautiful place. Set in a wooded lot with the rushing water of the stream under it provided peacefulness yet with a positive energy to the house. We took full advantage of the fireplaces and wood stoves throughout the weekend. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen fully equipped. The location is perfect as well. It is close to farmstands and supermarkets and also for day trips to local wineries and hiking, which we took advantage of. Overall a wonderful stay and we can't wait to make it back again.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2016
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Perfect Getaway

We needed a brief respite from a very hectic summer. The mill provided us with an idyllic setting and facility. The house is roomy, with lots of rustic charm combined with modern conveniences. We had planned eat out but the well equipped kitchen and multiple neighborhood farm-stands had us eating in the whole stay. We felt revived and refreshed and will definitely be back.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2016
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Mar, 2020
Dear Thomas, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review! It makes us happy to know that the Mill can be such a respite for people. I'm so glad you enjoyed the local farm stands and had the opportunity to stay in and take it easy at home. Please do come again--anytime you need a break or to get away from it all!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Simply Beautiful!

We loved our stay, great family time with our daughter whose attending Vassar. Peaceful, thoughtful, beautiful. The house is more spectacular live than in the photos. We will definitely be returning. Thank you!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2016
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Mar, 2020
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, Tom! We're so happy that you were able to relax, enjoy and share the Mill with your daughter. Please do come again!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful and Well Equipped

I spent a long weekend in November at Salvato Mill with seven friends and the house was even more beautiful and comfortable than I was led to expect from the photos. Aside from the very comfortable beds and common areas, the best surprise was the really well-equipped and perfectly organized kitchen - so nice if you plan to do any cooking. The three indoor woodstoves and thoughtfully placed stacks of firewood were wonderful. There is some traffic noise in the master bedroom, but the sound of the river and overall beauty of the property more than made up for that. Dawn was so easy to arrange everything with, and she provided a lot of useful information about the area. We can't wait to go back!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Weekend Retreat

I just spent a magical, birthday weekend with friends and family at The Mill. Sleeping with the rushing water underneath us made for restful dreams. Waking up and dipping in the private swimming hole and sitting under the waterfall. Enough space to accommodate a large party of people with plenty of little knooks to get away and have a moment to oneself to nap or read or meditate. I can't wait to go back.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Excellent

I had read a couple of bad reviews on the property and i have no idea where they are coming from (smell of sulfur, etc.) - the place is beautiful, an absolute hidden gym. We had no problems, it was lovely, it's an amazing and convenient escape from new york city, and I will be heading back. I don't typically write reviews, but the mill provided for an amazing weekend. thank you
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Gorgeous!

We rented this mill for a weekend in the country last fall. Simply stunning! The kitchen needs updating and the stairs between the main floor and the bedroom floor are STEEP, but otherwise it is an amazing find! Will go back again and again for our fall getaways! A fantastic retreat from the city.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback