check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Secluded & Romantic: 'Pine Cone Drive'

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
4 - 5 nights

Description

Skytop House Rental Photos and Description

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

“Pine Cone Drive” is a beautifully cozy and comfortable West Indies style home located in quiet Skytop, Fish Bay St John. The six very large concrete Pine Cones that sit on the right side of the driveway inspired the house name. The house offers a very airy & open view to our majestic mountains and lowly valley. It also provides an average ocean view on the west side. One can sit in the covered deck and just enjoy the boats pass by. Occasionally, even a cruise ship can be seen. The house has a full kitchen, living and indoor dining area, open dining at the covered deck and full laundry. For the BBQ Master enthusiast, take command of the BBQ coop at the front yard.

There are two air conditioned bedrooms; each has its own bathroom. The master bedroom is very airy. It has several windows and a door that allows the guest to step directly into the covered deck and enjoy the natural environment. The bathroom is wonderful with sliding glass shower doors that sits on nicely crafted island style stonework. Guests have the choice of lining their outfits in either an armoire or a built in closet. The second bedroom is smaller but just as cozy, with its own sliding glass shower doors and island stonework. Each bedroom also has a fan and individual lamps for reading.

Kitchen utensils and appliances are provided. Bedroom linen, shower and beach towels are provided. Small coolers and beach chairs are provided. Guests may soak away all their worries as they relax in the beautiful 6 person hot tub; or just sun bathe on the lounge chairs at the hot tub deck as they sip a cold ice tea. You will be visited by several birds as you enjoy the view of the majestic mountain range.

Fish Bay is a very quiet neighborhood that has an active association, which enforces its rules and regulations. Peace of mind and relaxation is a trademark of this neighborhood.

Keywords: Away from it all, quiet, comfortable, peace of mind, clean and affordable

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 10, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

My husband and I have lived on St John for approximately 30 years. We have one young son.

We love St John because it is very quiet and very natural due to the National Park. We also enjoy the crystal clear waters that surround the island. I am a Certified Residential Appraiser by profession and my husband works at Caneel Bay Resort. We both love people regardless of what race, religious belief or nationality. Our family enjoys meeting people because it is a chance to learn something new about different cultures. We are both Christian who love God.

Help save this very good school /SavingStJohnChristianAcad ]

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Why The Owner chose Fish Bay

We choose to buy in Fish Bay because it is a very clean, quiet and an uplift neighborhood. Also, because of the association that controls what can and cannot be done there. It helps up keep the neighborhood. Fish Bay is away from the main town area and the public roads. As a result, there is not as much traffic and noise that you may find in some other neighborhoods.

What makes this house unique

Some of the unique benefits of staying at Pine Cone Drive are Peace of mind, quietness and relaxation. It offers a chance to enjoy a combination of beautiful mountains and water view at the same time. Those who love nature can enjoy the natural surroundings that nature offers. The house is also very clean and the environment is inviting. For the hiking enthusiast, there is a hiking trail just a few yards from the house.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(37 traveler reviews)

Secluded & Romantic: 'Pine Cone Drive'
average rating of 4.864865 based on 37 reviews
3

Nice place, a few surprises

  • 3 of 5

We had a very nice time staying at PCD. Specifically, the view from the deck was wonderful and we saw several beautiful double rainbows. The hot tub was also terrific. Catherine was very responsive when we had a problem with the hot water and it was fixed quickly. There are a few things visitors should be aware of, however. The water at PCD is not potable so you have go into town and buy water to drink and brush teeth. Also, be careful not to break anything. I broke a wine glass - a simple, inexpensive glass - and was charged an amount that could pay for 4 sets of glasses. I was told that things are really expensive on the island, which is true, but still. Finally, the road to PCD has several very deep dips. Although we have rented a car in St John before and it was just fine, you will need to rent a jeep (which is much more expensive).

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shelley, Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation time with us at PCD. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will come again. However, there are three things that you mentioned that need absolute clarification. 1. The entire Virgin Islands gets its water from one main source-rainfall. Every house must be built with a cistern or has suitable water tanks. That includes the downtown area where portable water is available. Most of the portable are also collected from the rain. The water at PCD is no different from any other house on the island. It is safe to drink once its boiled. the water is safe to make coffee/tea, brush teeth, bathe, etc. ABSOLUTELY NO ONE WHO LIVES OR VISIT HERE HAD TO PURCHASE WATER TO BRUSH THEIR TEETH. If anyone chooses to do so, it is a matter of choice; not necessity. 2. $50 was charged to replace not only a wine glass, but also a ceramic soap dispenser that were broken. The pair of dispensers alone cost $75. Unlike the states which has vast amount of thrift stores or dollar stores where single items can be purchased; it is not so here. To replace one wine glass, an entire set has to be purchased, which is very costly. 3. St John is an extremely hilly island; for this very reason the 26 car rental agencies on the island do not rent low vehicles. These very low car are not equip to handle the St. John terrain and some roads. When a customer rents one of these very low vehicle from St Thomas and transport is to St John, he/she is not just violating the law, but is setting up his/her self to be held responsible for car damage. Yes, I said violating the law. There is a law which clearly states that each rental vehicle has to be use on the island it was rented on and should not be transported to anther islands.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tecumseh, OK, USA
5

Can't wait to return!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our 13 days at Pine Cone Drive. The location was perfect for daily visits to the different beaches. We even made the longer drive twice to Vie’s Beach. It was easy to drop by for groceries and water on our return each evening. We enjoyed meals with a view on the beautiful deck each day. As mentioned by others, the villa was spotless upon arrival. Having drinking water available when we arrived was a thoughtful treat. The beach chairs and 2 coolers came in handy for lunches on the beach. The air conditioning in bedrooms was appreciated. Catherine called to check on us after a few days and was quick to return our calls. PCD offers good value. We look forward to future trips to St. John and would enjoy staying at PCD again.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sherill & family We are delighted that you enjoyed yours stay at PCD and that you would consider returning. Thank you for choosing to spend your vacation with us; and thanks for the vote of confidence. We do try to make each stay at the house memorable. We wish you good health and wealth for the reminder of the year and beyond.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Stay here!

  • 5 of 5

Other reviews have touched on all the great aspects already so I'll be brief. If you want to stay on St. John for a few days and have a rental vehicle, I can't envision a place better than Pine Cone Drive. The combination of price + view + amenities + customer service is a knockout.

Side note: the beach chairs and cooler provided at the house were such a convenience. You can tell Catherine thinks about how her guests could have a great stay and goes the extra mile to provide it ahead of time.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

As described and more!!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently stayed at Pine Cone Drive Villa for our honeymoon. Catherine was a great host and the villa was exactly as described in the listing. Catherine waited while we got a few groceries and led us to the villa, which was helpful after a long day of travel to get to St. Johns. Also, a fresh water cooler was provided just for our stay!

The villa is a good mixture of nice & secluded but only a 10 minute drive in the Jeep to Cruz Bay. We recommend Morgan's Mango for lobster dinner, Scoops homemade ice cream stand, and we liked Trunk Bay with its awesome beach & snorkeling trail! Thanks again Catherine!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

2nd Honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at Pine Cone Drive and couldn't have chosen a better place. We loved the deck for breakfasts and dinners, and the hot tub for evening relaxation. The house and setting were everything we expected; perfectly described in numerous past reviews and as depicted in the description and photographs. Other bonuses were a water cooler in the kitchen and some cool pillowed beach mats Catherine has stowed away which really came in handy for rocky beaches. Thank you Catherine for your hospitality!

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mr. Darrell S. thank you for taking the time to tell others of your great experience at PCD. We know that you had many choices when it comes to villa rental on St John. We are honored that you chose PCD and that you enjoyed your second honeymoon there. We hope that you and your wife will stay with us again when you revisit the VI. Please do enjoy the rest of the year in strength and health. Catherine & Leonard. owners
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Loved It!!!

  • 4 of 5

The Pine Cone Cottage was great. Clean and comfortable. Modern with a cabin feel. Great place to relax after days of sun and activities. Large deck with an ocean view. WIFI, cable, TV's, books, stereo, washer/dryer and fully equipped kitchen. Air conditioned bedrooms. Catherine was kind and professional. She had great suggestions for things to do and knowledgeable about St. John's history. Also rented a Jeep from her and her husband. Newer model in good condition, and gave us no trouble at all. Thank you Catherine and Leo.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jan for your vote of confidence. I indeed hope to see you again. Hope all is well with you and you family.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Skytop House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Christmas
Dec 1 2016 - Dec 31 2016
5 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
In Season/Winter
Jan 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
5 night minimum stay
$230
$1,610
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
Off Season/Summer
May 1 2017 - Nov 18 2017
4 night minimum stay
$150
$1,050
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $40 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Partial Cleaning fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation has be confirmed.

Guests are required to pay/deposit no less than 50% of the total amount within 7 days of the signed and dated rental agreement. The balance plus hotel tax and security deposit is due and payable prior to the arrival date.

Guests can also pay full amount should they wish to do such.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Skytop House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , sliding glass doors and west Indian stone work in both
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (2) Each bedroom has a king size bed and its own bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties