Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Single Family Home, Attached Garage, 2 Blocks Off Main Hwy. In Pender, Nebr.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 960 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6-8 / Check-in 4 pm / check out 11 am

Two bedrooms upstairs and one queen bed in the unfinished, (but clean), basement cottage located just a few blocks from the park, uptown where there is a Subway, Welsh's Pizza, great steaks at 5th Quarter, 3 bars, Main Street Thriftique, Uptown Pix (gifts and more), and Ace Hardware, all on Main Street. We have just totally renovated the 2 bedroom house with new stainless steel appliances, full bathroom, a full bed, dresser, and flat screen TV in one bedroom and a queen bed, dresser, and a flat screen TV in the second bedroom. Both bedrooms also have cedar closets. The living room has a small pub table for dining and a futon couch for extra sleeping space. There is a $20 per person charge for adults over 18 on groups of 4 or more with a maximum occupancy of 6 adults and 2 children. Cleaning fee is $35. On 2 or more nights or with usage of more than one bedroom. Cleaning fee is $50 and up to $75 on stays of 5 days or more. There is a 42' flat screen TV with dvd player and free Wi-Fi. The kitchen has all the utensils and cooking supplies you would need to enjoy your stay. There is a basement, with a 3rd queen bed, you can do your laundry and hide out in case of good ol' Nebraska thunderstorms. You can protect your car in the attached garage. There is an new infrared two burner grill in the garage you can roll out in case your in the mood for a burger or a steak! We supply towels, washcloths, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, toaster, and microwave. If you need something call and I see what I can do! You're located only a block away from the Legion Hall which will soon be replaced by the multi-million dollar Community Center with indoor wellness center and exercise equipment, daycare, and large multi-purpose hall for large events. Pender is a booming little town with an RV park at Blue Ox Manufacturing, city pool, the new Pender Community Hospital, local Chevrolet dealer Janke Auto, Pender Implement, a modern ball field, and PoPo's restaurant for daily family dining.


Owner
Jim Rutar / manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 24, 2017

About Jim Rutar / manager

My parents purchased the house as a rental and after several long term tenants it needed some major updating so after remodeling the entire house the decision was made to try putting it in the nightly rental program since the local motel has closed. The income from the property all goes to my mom who is in the center of the picture with all my siblings. She is on a fixed income so your patronage is highly appreciated!

Jim Rutar / manager purchased this cottage in 2002

What makes this cottage unique

Vs. a Motel you have a full kitchen, three beds, all the comforts of home for the price of a motel room. If you like you can cook or grill your own meal. There is a garage for security of your car and so you don't have to scrape ice in the winter.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Awesome, small town USA place to stay if visiting local, or traveling through. I used to travel often in my job, and I would put this stay right up with any major city I've stayed in.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Pender Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 960 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Newly remodeled bathroom has a tub/shower, medicine cabinet, and solid surface vanity top.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - Full Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 3rd bed is in the unfinished basement
  • Both bedrooms have 24' flat screens, one has a queen bed and one has a full bed. There is a unfinished basement that will sleep two in a queen bed. The futon / couch in the living room will also sleep two children. Bedding is supplied in closet above stairs.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Single Family Home, Attached Garage, 2 Blocks Off Main Hwy. In Pender, Nebr.
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 37 reviews
5

Everything you need for a clean, comfortable stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I recently stayed here for the Fall-i-day craft show in town as we were hosting a booth and wanted to stay nearby and we could not have been happier with our visit! The house is EXTREMELY clean and cozy and has everything you could find in a hotel - dishes and flatware, full kitchen, clean bathroom with shampoos etc, and even a keurig in the kitchen with many types of coffee and cappuccino with creamers in the refrigerator.

My daughter, two sisters, nephew, and myself all slept comfortably between the 3 beds and sofa and had a wonderful evening relaxing and enjoying family time with one of the DVDs provided!

Being able to stay nearby in such comfortable accommodations made our visit to Pender a success! If we are ever in the area, we will definitely be returning! We cannot recommend this location highly enough - thank you for everything!!

- The Ladies from Tinsel + Pine

  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the review! It really makes us feel good to provide a much needed service for exceptional customers like you! Hope to see you come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful first impression and it only got better from there. All the comforts of home. Clean, well organized and stocked. Highly recommend to anyone visiting the Pender NE area, that they consider staying at this VRBO!!

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

REAL NICE AND UPDATED NICE

  • 5 of 5

UP HERE FOR OUR SONS MEMORIAL GOLF OUTING AND LIKE TO STAY HERE AS OFTEN AS WE CAN

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Feels Like Staying at Grandmas house.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I have stayed at this home many times over the years. Every time we stop it seems like the owners have made improvements. This stay was a fire pit in the back yard.

The place is cleaner than any motel or hotel room you will stay anywhere. The owners are extremely accommodating and if you need something they reply promptly.

It is on a very quite street and the beds are super comfortable. Appliances are all modern and dishes/silver etc are all provided.

Stop and try it! You will jot be disappointed!

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words.. We always love having you stay!! We try to think of what we would want if we were staying in a vacation rental. Thanks again! See you soon..
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Small house but very clean and modern

  • 4 of 5

Great choice for the area

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect little house

  • 5 of 5

Lovely town

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
The Other Side / Welsh's Bar / Fifth Quarter
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
3 miles North / Twins Creek
Nearest Restaurant
Po Po's / Subway / Welsh's Pizza
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $35
Tax Rate 11.5%

Sorry no smoking or pets / Any damages incurred will be charged to credit card on file / Once towels and washcloths provided are used it is the occupants responsibility to wash more for their own use / Excessive use of dishes and kitchen utensils that aren't washed= $20 fee. One night or use of more than one bed =$35 cleaning fee, 5 or more nights = $75 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties