Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Courtenay Walk-On Waterfront Cottage (B) At Udina Bay in the Comox Valley

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 790 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

790 Sq. Ft., 2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom Cottage Built in 2014. Sleeps 4, Hot Tub, etc

2 Bedroom, walk on waterfront cottage, fully furnished, open floor plan, hot tub, parking, BBQ, year round accommodation located 10 minutes from the Comox Airport and 15 minutes from downtown Courtenay and Comox shopping. Built in 2014, modern, with TV, DVD, internet and wi-fi. Watch the ocean from the front patio with cruise ships passing by and all the wildlife the Comox Valley has to offer. Bates Beach is close by with boat and kayak rentals, boat launch and fishing opportunities. Mount Washington ski and recreation resort is 45 minutes away. Centrally located on Vancouver Island in the heart of recreation and culture with many possibilities close at hand.

The cottage also offers full laundry facilities, outside shower, wood burning fireplace/stove, the ocean facing bedroom has one queen bed, the second bedroom has 2 single beds. patio furniture and a kitchen with all appliances and utensils necessary to make your stay a pleasant one.

PLEASE NOTE base rental rate quoted is for 2 guests. There is an additional charge for each guest (including children) beyond 2.

We are pet friendly (a fee for each pet applies).

See our other cottage, listing # 503518 here on VRBO

NOTE: we will consider a 3 night stay. If you see a date on the calendar that is open for only 3 nights, please inquire .

More Details

Property Manager
Rosalie Crofford
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2018

About Rosalie Crofford

We have lived in the Comox Valley most of our lives and owned this property since the early 1960's. In 2012 the cottage was rebuilt from the foundation up so it is new, modern, comfortable and a great place to relax and unwind. We wanted to share it's beauty.

Rosalie Crofford purchased this cottage in 1960

Why Rosalie Crofford chose Courtenay

We love and appreciate nature, quiet, the ocean, the mountain views and above all privacy therefore this was the perfect property for us, which we now wish to share with others.

What makes this cottage unique

The views, sound of the ocean lapping on the shore, watching the wildlife and cruise ships (in season) go by along with the peace and serenity make this an enjoyable place to kick back, relax and enjoy life.

Amenities

Courtenay Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 790 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Wood Supply - the cottage is stocked with a supply of wood for your stay. Should you require more wood it will be supplied for a fee.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower , Dual sinks
  • Large bathroom with twin sinks, tub/shower combo, toilet and apartment size washer and dryer with heated tile floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Facing the Ocean Front
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
  • Master Bedroom with good quality Queen bed faces the ocean front. Bedroom 2 with quality twin beds is comfortable with large window for light and privacy
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski lift privileges
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Courtenay Walk-On Waterfront Cottage (B) At Udina Bay in the Comox Valley
average rating of 4.76 based on 25 reviews
4

peaceful and great views

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We appreciate it and are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will be able to rerun one day. All the best, Rosalie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome Property, Had a wonderful time

  • 5 of 5

Overall experience was great clean, quiet, I will look at this place again. The place is actually nicer then the pictures.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words, we would be pleased to have you as guests again,.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Our Stay

  • 3 of 5

My husband, 2 month old, and myself stayed at this cottage for nearly 3 weeks. The cottage is beautiful. It has everything you could need for your stay, they did a really good job building this cottage. Our stay was amazing, the neighbors staying in the cottage next door were awesome and also had a 3 month old. We got along great and spent a lot of time together. The trip was amazing. There is a bit of a smell from the bay, it is from the seaweed washing up on the rocks and baking in the sun all day. Some days were worse than others but it was bearable. It didn't effect our trip. What effected our trip was the treatment we received after we left. We received an email from VRBO that we were not getting our damage deposit back because the host claimed we had tents set up in the yard and had people staying in them, and that the entire 3 weeks there were multiple adults and babies at the cottage. This was just not true. We had a 10x10 pop up tent in the yard for shade for our baby, but we did not have any sleeping tents of any other people staying at the cottage. The multiple adults and babies they saw were the neighbors who also rent a cabin from these hosts. When I contacted her to explain this she said that the real reason they were keeping the damage deposit was because the fridge was dirty and they were missing a large pot and pillows, We never had a large pot and we know this as the second night we were there we tried to make spaghetti and had to cook the noodles in 2 batches in the small pot provided. Also we brought our own pillows, we did not steal any of theirs. And finally we stayed there for nearly three weeks. They did not leave instructions to clean the fridge so we didn't. We also got charged a cleaning fee which should have covered any cleaning after we left. When I explained this to the host she then changed the story again. Saying the reason we didn't get the damage deposit back was because we spilled something sticky on the patio and on the hot tub lid. Again these are all cleaning things we did not DAMAGE anything. There were no cleaning supplies provided and there were no instructions left to clean the cottage before we left. The fact that they kept changing the reason why they were keeping our fee made us feel like we were being scammed. We didn't get our deposit back until I filed a complaint with VRBO. The host immediately refunded our damage deposit. Great Cottage, Terrible Hosts.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you had this experience. Sadly this is the first time we have ever felt it necessary to even so much as raise a concern about a guest. We have had over 150 guests at the cottage over the past couple of years and not one time have we felt it necessary to as you put it 'scam someone out of their damage deposit'. Thee are two sides and we choose to only say thank you for choosing the cottage for your vacation. Rosalie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

A cozy and beautifully renovated oceanview cottage

  • 4 of 5

The kitchen was well stocked and it was great having a dishwasher but there was no dish soap for washing dishes by hand. Also the chef knives were very dull.

A hair dryer would have been nice in the bathroom.

It would have been helpful if it had been mentioned that beach access from the cottage was difficult, very large, flat rocks that you had to jump or climb down. It was not doable for my elderly mother, but luckily there was access up the road a bit (within walking distance). It was also not mentioned that there is another cottage right next door, nor is it in any of the photos.

Loved the wood stove and appreciated how well insulated the cottage was as the weather wasn't as warm as we had hoped, however the view was stunning with the ever changing clouds turning grey/black/blue/purple with intermittent blue sky and almost every evening we were dazzled by a beautiful rainbow arcing out of Powell River. We loved watching the Eagles, Kingfishers and Herons catching fish directly in front and explored nearby Kin Beach Provincial Park, Comox, Courtenay and Campbell River. It was a wonderful getaway.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lorraine for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have noted your concerns and recommendations. We will take action to correct what we can. Thank you for choosing our cottage. Rosalie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a wonderful little corner of heaven!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely LOVED our stay. The hosts we wonderful and kept our wood supply full. Can't wait to go back

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet location. Great views over the sea. Good facilities inside this cottage.

  • 5 of 5

Very clean inside. Full kitchen and laundry facilities. The focus is the sea, you can see amazing sea life yards from the patio door. Hot tub a great addition. Parking for at least two cars next to the property. Loved the views, the cottage and our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Kilometres
Comox International YQQ
Nearest Barpub
12 Kilometres
Crown Isle
Nearest Ferry
110 Kilometres
Nanaimo / Departure Bay / Duke Point
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Crown Isle / Sunnydale/Comox
Nearest Motorway
20 Kilometres
Inland Island Highway HWY 97
Nearest Restaurant
15 Kilometres
Many in Courtenay & Comox
Nearest Ski
50 Kilometres
Mt Washington Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.5 Kilometres
Bates Beach
Car: necessary

Located a short walk from Bates Beach with a boat launch, boat and kayak rentals, fishing and hiking nearby forests

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Out Cleaning Fee $38.71
Refundable damage deposit $154.85
Pet Fee $15.48

Children 12 months and older qualify as a guest and should be included in the reservation request.
Transportation is necessary to gain access
Check-in time is 4 p.m. and check-out time is 11 a.m. unless expressly agreed to at least 48 hours prior to your rental date. Please note early check-in and check-out will be accommodated to the best of our ability but is not guaranteed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.