Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hot-Tub, Fire-Pit, 3 fireplaces, Fenced yard, Dogs allowed, Pool Table, Canoes

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 3,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Lakefront Log Cabin offers hot-tub, privacy, 3 fireplaces, pool table, fenced yd

Lakefront Log Cabin with mountain and lake Views From nearly Every Room & over 280 feet of lakefront on Smith Mountain Lake. Deep Water dock, allows use of boat slip and jump off the party deck to deep green water. Steps into the lake - both natural and man- made for those pups or people. 2 canoes on site for those paddling moments, and a paddle board.. Plenty of lounge chairs- 6 loungers, plus a ton of outdoor furniture on every deck for sunning or slip under the umbrella. ,

Lots of decks cascading down to the lake , with lots of seating everywhere.

This home offers a pool table, ping pong, canoes, wifi- unlimited-( so you are not charged extra. ) Home also is the only full solar established home on Smith Mountain Lake, offering you a green solution vacation if this is important to you. Also endless hot-water with a propane tankless system.

The owner has made the Log Cabin on the inside, in the living spaces yet still bright on the interior with lots of glass and doors to the outside. The outside of the home reflects a camp style lakefront home, with all the luxury.

Stone fireplaces, 1 wood ( wood provided ) and 2 propane fireplaces,make this home warm and fun anytime of year. The kitchen with bear Paw Prints inside ( hep the bear got in during renovation) make the renovated kitchen charming and fun. Propane stovetop and oven for excellent cooking .

Outdoor cooking area is located in the screened in porch overlooking the lake and large fenced in yard. The fence goes into the woods and around the home - which allows all your pups to place chase around the house - as well as the kids and adults. There are wooden steps off the dock into the water to enter and for some older dogs- we have natural stone steps into the water, so they do not slide as much.. Either way, lots of ways to enter the water and get back out without difficulty. We do allow multiple dogs ( since we own several ourselves).. .. so just let us know. We also offer a large dog bed, so you do not have to bring those in- we only have one currently- if you need another please let us know, so we can try to obtain what you need.

The entire home has been renovated with wood floors, tiled baths, stone counters in the kitchen, kitchen with custom cabinetry, plentiful porches & decks with unobstructed mountain and lake scenery, hot-tub under the screened porch, fenced landscaped yard area offers relaxing atmosphere for outdoor living, cathedral ceilings with beams. The attention to rustic detail is reflected in cedar ceilings and more. This fabulously furnished home with deep pillow mattresses, antiques, handmade furniture also includes bath soaps, dishwasher and laundry soap.

Paved roads in this small, wildlife refuge community, offers trails, and spectacular views. Generous approx 2 acre tract provides ultimate privacy for mountain retreat....very well established rental - perfect for much needed getaway or for a corporate retreat!!

Pontoon boats for rent - delivered to your dock and picked up

www.SmithMountainLakeProperties.org - for all your real estate needs while on vacation

Please note: One of the owners is VA realtor - this is owned by Log Cabin LLC.

also min age is 25 years.

Please call owner for any reservation or questions, do not call the 888 (homeaway /vrbo) number - they do not know my home.

More Details

Owner
Leslie
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

Why Leslie chose Huddleston

The Privacy- and the spectacular views! beautiful area

What makes this house unique

Private, no one across from you- but the Mountain and wildlife

Guestbook comments from the owner

House was better than the on line pictures, bedrooms are spacious, grounds are gorgeous, setting is picture perfect, house has a very comfortable feel to it; furnishings and items provided by the host were more than expected, and much better than you would find in a competing hotel or motel setting. For our family this house was five stars ... Thank you !
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • More than 6 occupants including children, can result in eviction as well no refunds once booked. The Commonwealth has a fine as well.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , On Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , On lower level
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Deep Pillow Mattress, Great Serta Pillows
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , On Main Level, Deep Pillow
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Long Mattresses, New Mattresses
  • Master Bedroom -King Deep Pillow with Serta Pillows, overlooking the lake - on main level Second Bedroom- King Bed- Deep Pillow, with Serta Pillows,on main level Downstairs- 2 long twins -new matresses
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Love to have you, fire pit , and just a great spot to be any time of year.., 2 canoes, 2 kayaks and 3 paddle boards , and 1 kayak.. we live and play here and work here, One Owner is a Virginia / Broker ...for all your real estate needs.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(53 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Hot-Tub, Fire-Pit, 3 fireplaces, Fenced yard, Dogs allowed, Pool Table, Canoes
average rating of 4.90566 based on 55 reviews
5

A sliver of heaven amidst the summer swelter

  • 5 of 5

Yet again, this place did not disappoint.

Really enjoyed getting to experience a warm summer stay (...and the benefits the lake offers for that weather reality!). Can't wait to book the next trip - hopefully this fall.

Thanks again...next time we'll coordinate for a longer stay to immerse ourselves more fully into the SML state of mind.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying again ! Look forward to next year or another time sooner. Thanks for taking such great care of the home as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home, with plentiful amenities and wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

Overall we had an amazing stay at this home. It is located in a very quiet development where you can go for walks, runs, or bike ride without worrying about traffic. Note, however, that you will get a workout as the development is hilly. The home itself is a charming cottage with very good amenities and all the toys one needs to play in the lake. Beds were very comfortable, furniture cozy and everything worked as it should. Couple notes for consideration to future renters; the house sits on a slope which makes one feel like they are in a tree house overlooking the lake, however, that also means that it is a challenge to walk up and down the hill from the house to the docks, carrying all the water essentials, food, or other items. Think of it as a great leg workout. The home has plenty of deck space by the house and on the lake, with plentiful seating and various nooks and crannies for relaxation. The fenced in yard is appreciated if one has a dog that can freely run around. The fire pit is perfect for roasting s’mores and enjoying a glass of wine in the evening. The owner is very responsive and ensures that your vacation will be a stress free one. The house is stocked with everything needed to cook and the homeowner even provides starting provisions and other items. Nice touch was the bottle of wine. If you are looking for a home where you can disconnect, be located in a quiet neighborhood, enjoy. a country cottage feel with all the water toys.....this rental is for you.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful, relaxing

  • 5 of 5

great fenced in yard- very relaxing - home owner has gone over and beyond- last year we were here as well - this year 2 kayaks were added ! great surprise - plus the cleaning and lawn are better than ever !! Last year the lawn was cut during our dinner - last day- this year a gentleman came up and asked during the day mid week - and the crew was in and out in 30 minutes - so thank you Leslie for switching- they are doing a much better job, ( you should know) and not interrupting our last day time !

Cleaning was superb as well ! thank you again - we already signed up for next year..

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying again ! I am sorry the other lawn people interrupted you the year before .. yes this crew tries to get the job done and not disturb your stay as much - they even pull weeds - instead of chemicals .. Thank you for taking such great care of the home and more - I am glad you enjoyed the kayaks .. Thanks again for coming back and we look forward to seeing you next year !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Douglas Georgia
4

Fun time.

  • 4 of 5

This home is absolutely beautiful. The location Is beautiful also. The only downside to this home is having to bring your own linens. We have stayed in VRBOs in Maine, Georgia, Bahamas, California, even Lynchburg Virginia and several other states and have never had to bring our own linens. I understand that you can rent the linens but they we expensive and had to be ordered a month in advance. Other than this, there were no other complaints.

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying ! Yes sorry you have to rent or bring them - they must be sterile by the laws in the Commonwealth! so for the less expensive nightly options - you could pay more or just bring them .. or pay the $200 from the sterile company to deliver them.. ( I just want to be a linen company!) We used to provide them till the laws changed - this is for your protection as well.. according to the Commonwealth state of VA Thank you for staying, - we do hope you come back sometime !
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful cabin, great location and view. Stayed 10/16-21/2017

  • 5 of 5

We totally enjoyed our stay. The cabin had all the amenities you could need. The weather was perfect. Some of us even got out on the water for a kayak ride. Our dogs loved the large fenced in yard. It made our trip seeing them enjoy running around and playing together. It was so peaceful, we enjoyed sitting out at night and star gazing. Couldn't have asked for a better week away from all the madness. Thank you so much for sharing your amazing home with us. Jean, Jim, Woodrow and Brandy

  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous ! Incredible Views, tons of extras

  • 5 of 5

Best spot on the lake , great home , we just loved it ... especially the pups

we have stayed at the lake many times and this is the best spot around..

thank you for taking our dogs as well ! loved the large fire-pit, and the blankets that we could wrap up in ... also loved the dog bed and the wine as well as the beach towels... this home goes way beyond the basic, with all the touches ... we are looking at the calendars now to come back.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Roanoke or Lynchburg
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Mitchells Marina
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mariners Landing
Nearest Train
30 Miles
LYnchburg - Bullet train to DC
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Heaths Waterfront Grill, Kings Pub
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Smith Mountain Lake State Park
Car: necessary

Smith Mountain Lake, State Park, D Day Memorial, Book T Washington Site, Thomas Jefferson Homestead, Blue Ridge Parkway

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $245
Pet Fee $125
Property Damage Insurance $79

Notes all payments due 90 days before. No refunds within 90 days.
350 fee non refundable once booked

Guests responsibility to purchase travel insurance. Owner has nor owns any interest in any insurance companies.
Each dog is $125 per dog. Please email us correct total.
Home is for 6 occupants total over the age of 2, in accordance with the county laws. You can be evicted , by the county, if exceeded and face a $10,000 fine.
Sheets and towels are $150

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund