expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Beautiful Craftsman home on the Bayou wonderful rental or location for movie

Tarpon Springs, FL, USA
  • House2100 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 nights

3 bedrooom, 2 bathroom house with private pool. Block from bayou.

Beautiful 2,100 square foot craftsman home located minutes from the Whitcomb Bayou - home of the manatee. Fully furnished with a private, lush backyard and pool, this comfortable home has 3 bedrooms, family room with 52' HDTV, fully-stocked eat-in kitchen, formal dining room, and living room. The screened lanai, overlooking the backward, is perfect for cocktails or bbq dinners. You'll be in walking distance to quaint downtown Tarpon for shopping and dining, the Sponge Docks to experience Tarpon's authentic Greek heritage and the Pinellas Trail for walking, jogging, biking and peaceful strolls. In addition, beautiful beaches are within 2 miles, fishing and boating of all types are nearby, tennis courts and golf courses are a few miles away.

Owner

Margo Barnard

Member Since 2015
Response rate:
90%
Response time:
within a few hours
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 18, 2018
About Margo Barnard

We enjoy our time in Tarpon Springs playing tennis, running on the bayou, kayaking and exploring the variety of restaurants. Because of the nature of our work we travel between Tarpon Springs and Southern California. We wanted to share the loveliness of the area with other visitors.

Margo Barnard purchased this House in 2012

Why Margo Barnard chose Tarpon Springs

The authenticity of the home is charming. It's has many original features from when the house was built 100 years ago, but updated to make it a comfortable place for vacationing.

What makes this House unique

We love the proximity to the bayou. It's a relaxing environment that is also perfect for recreational activities. The neighborhood is quiet.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Swimming pool
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
      • Bedroom 1
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 3
        1 sleep sofa /futon, new full-size futon sofa
      • Bedroom 1 and 2 have new beds and very comfortable mattresses. Bedroom 3 is an office/bedroom. It is a comfortable futon full-size bed.

      Bathrooms

      • 2 Bathrooms

          Location Type

            • Downtown
              A short walk to historic downtown Tarpon Springs for shopping, antique treasure hunting, dining and entertainment.
            • Ocean View
              A short walk to the peaceful bayou. Great for fishing, boating, strolling and jogging.
            • Village
              The world-famous Sponge docks are nearby. A fun, interesting place to wonder. The streets are filled with a variety of restaurants from authentic Greek to local seafood. A must try - Greek baklava!

              Theme

                • Adventure
                • Away From It All
                • Family
                • Historic
                • Romantic
                • Sports & Activities
                • Tourist Attractions

                  Meals

                    • Guests provide their own meals

                      General

                        • Air Conditioning
                        • Clothes Dryer
                        • Fireplace
                        • Heating
                        • Internet
                        • Linens Provided
                        • Living Room
                        • Parking
                          In front of house.
                        • Towels Provided
                        • Washing Machine

                          Kitchen

                            • Coffee Maker
                            • Dishes & Utensils
                              A complete set of dishes, utensils, serving pieces and Calphalon cookware.
                            • Dishwasher
                            • Kitchen
                              Remodeled in an arrangement suitable for a chef.
                            • Microwave
                            • Oven
                            • Refrigerator
                              Full size refrigerator with water and ice dispenser
                            • Stove
                              Electric
                            • Toaster

                              Dining

                                • Dining
                                  Formal dining table
                                • Dining Area
                                • comfy seating for 6 people

                                  Entertainment

                                    • Books
                                    • Satellite / Cable
                                    • Television
                                      52' HDTV
                                    • Toys
                                      Pool toys

                                      Outside

                                        • Bicycles
                                          Rentals nearby
                                        • Deck / Patio
                                        • Golf
                                          Public golf courses and PGA course at Innesbrook Country Club within 5 miles
                                        • Kayak / Canoe
                                          Rentals nearby
                                        • Lanai / Gazebo
                                        • Lawn / Garden
                                        • Outdoor Grill
                                          Complete with utensils
                                        • Tennis
                                          A block away are public tennis courts

                                          Suitability

                                            • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                            • wheelchair inaccessible

                                              Pool / Spa

                                                • Private Pool
                                                  Beautiful private pool

                                                  Attractions

                                                    • churches
                                                    • cinemas
                                                    • festivals
                                                    • library
                                                    • marina
                                                    • playground
                                                    • restaurants

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • antiquing
                                                        • beachcombing
                                                        • bird watching
                                                        • boating
                                                        • miniature golf
                                                        • photography
                                                        • scenic drives
                                                        • shopping
                                                        • sight seeing
                                                        • walking

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • fitness center
                                                            • groceries
                                                            • hospital
                                                            • laundromat
                                                            • medical services

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • sailing
                                                                • cycling
                                                                • golf
                                                                • kayaking
                                                                • pier fishing
                                                                • fishing
                                                                • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                                • snorkeling
                                                                • sound/bay fishing
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • tennis

                                                                  Notes

                                                                    • Comfortable home close to Sunset Beach, Clearwater and St. Petersburg. Perfect for relaxing, swimming, boating, fishing, exploring history and shopping. Tarpon Springs is an historic town with a large Greek community and excellent restaurants.

                                                                      House Rules

                                                                      Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                                                      Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                                      100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                                      31 Reviews

                                                                      Very Good4/5

                                                                      Latest reviews

                                                                      old house in need of caring owners

                                                                      Rhonda R.

                                                                      The rental home is in a fabulous location – two blocks from Craig Park and Spring Bayou as well as four blocks from downtown Tarpon Springs. The home itself has potential despite the fact that it was built in 1910. However, the owners don't take adequate care of it. They live in California and the property is, of course, in Florida. Their son lives a few miles away and did come on several occasions to try to fix things. But it is left up to the renters to find the problems.

                                                                      We stayed for two months and in that time we had three days where the plumbing wasn't working. It took the plumbing repair men that amount of time to finally decide that the line needed to be jetted. Before that, they dismantled the toilet and tried to suction any obstructions out. When that didn't work they dug several holes around the property to look for roots in the system. On the second day they declared it fixed. Unfortunately later that week the toilet failed to flush again. This was at midnight so we had to leave and stay in a hotel for a night which the owners did reimburse.

                                                                      In addition, the microwave front door broke and the son had to bring a new microwave. The dishwasher flooded the kitchen because it doesn't drain properly. You have to manually push a button to drain it after the wash cycle. The pool vacuum works only sporadically. The door knob to the bathroom came off in our hands. The downstairs bathtub is disgusting. (see picture) The grout is covered with mold and the drain is completely rusted. We had to buy a bath mat and flip flops in order to take a shower in it.

                                                                      That isn't all but it should give an indication of the problems.

                                                                      Now the owner Margo will say that she did get someone quickly to fix these problems as they cropped up, which is true. But it shouldn't be up to the renters to discover all of the problems.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      In the Vacation Rental business, owners often do not live on or near the property. But we are set up to take care of any problems that arise. The problems these guests experience had not happened with previous guests. It is a lovely old home which means you need to be respectful of the older pipes. They guests put baby wipes and excessive amounts of paper down the toilet which caused the initial blockage. Once we were made aware of the problem we contacted a licensed plumber who did the necessary steps to determine and resolve the problem.

                                                                      We addressed every problem these folks had immediately. We replaced the microwave with a new one and repaired the plumbing problem professionally. The guests used the dishwasher incorrectly causing it to flood. No other guests have had this problem. We brought in a repairman to look at the dishwasher to be sure there was nothing wrong. The guests caused the flood which cost us a repair bill.

                                                                      The downstairs bathtub is an old cast iron tub. We have the house professionally cleaned after every guest. There is no mold, merely grout discoloration which we will take care of. The poolman takes care of the pool cleaning and sets the pump.

                                                                      I'm sorry these guests did not enjoy their visit to our lovely craftsman home. However, as owners, we take care of the property, respond to guests concern immediately and work hard to ensure our guests have a great experience. We are always available to communicate with our guests.

                                                                      Lovely home but feels unloved. Needs lots of TLC

                                                                      David A.Northampton, UK

                                                                      Extremely convenient for the bayou and downtown Tarpon Springs. Lovely location and very friendly neighbors.

                                                                      Communication with owner was excellent.

                                                                      The heating was set to 71 degrees which on chilly nights was great, on warmer nights too hot. We were asked whether temperature was ok and said no problems, but as the weather changed we discovered none of the bedroom windows would open, either broken catches or no screens.

                                                                      Renters are instructed not to alter the heating settings, which we honoured.

                                                                      Washing machine door is heavy and you need to lift this to open. On arrival the machine was half filled with dirty water and cloths inside. Not worth complaining about.

                                                                      On arrival the swimming pool had not been cleaned for some time. It had lots of leaves on the surface and on the Pool bottom. Dead frogs in the pool too. Pool filter clogged with debris. This was mentioned during our stay. The pool guy attended on 10th day of our visit.

                                                                      The only TV on the premises stopped working. We were 4 days without TV, music or news. The owner arranged for a smaller TV to be purchased for the remainder of our stay.

                                                                      We do not think this property suitable for international renters. No cooler box supplied, no beach chairs, no bikes and no beach towels.

                                                                      We enjoyed our stay at this property but it didn’t really live up to our expectations.

                                                                      During our stay we viewed another property to return for the month of June, half the price with everything supplied that international renters would require.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Our goal is to maintain our property with the highest standards. We have professional house cleaners and pool service. I appreciate the feedback and will be sure their schedules are set according to guest accommodations. It was unfortunate the TV stopped working. We had a new TV purchased so the guests wouldn't have to wait for a repair person. As far as coolers, beach chairs, etc., we have supplied them in the past. Unfortunately, guests have taken them home with them, so it becomes very costly to keep replacing without adding additional rate charges. There are beach towels in the house. We have reset the thermostats so guests can set their own temperatures. We want to make the visit enjoyable for our guests and will accommodate to do so. We offer a very reasonable rate for the size of the house, amenities and location. Prices in the area are always lower in June as this guest mentioned.

                                                                      Great Get Away

                                                                      DJ L.

                                                                      The house was spacious and comfortable and the neighborhood was quiet. The property is close to downtown and the bayous which are quite pretty and sometimes have events going on. The parks nearby also have tennis and basketball courts available. There is a lot that is within walking distance and the sponge docks are only a five minute drive away. Lastly, the Fred Howard Park and other beaches are also only a few minutes away. Even though we live here in Florida, this was a great vacation spot close to lots of fun things.

                                                                      Girls weekend away!

                                                                      Kathleen B.Enfield NH

                                                                      Very comfortable home close to downtown and the sponge docks. We enjoyed spending time by the pool and walking around the bayou. We would definitely return when visiting the area again.

                                                                      Would definitely stay here again.

                                                                      Jacqueline A.North Carolina, USA

                                                                      Great stay

                                                                      Nice location and place

                                                                      John A.

                                                                      We had an enjoyable stay there. The house had both children and space. Location is close to most of the good beaches and shopping. Only drawback Was the mosquitoes around the pool we're pretty bad.

                                                                      Location

                                                                      Tarpon Springs, FL, USA

                                                                      The Sponge Docks are a fun, interesting place for a leisurely stroll. Great Greek food and pastries

                                                                      Rates & Availability

                                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                                      Cleaning Fee
                                                                      $150
                                                                      Additional Guest Fee
                                                                      $50
                                                                      Damage Deposit
                                                                      $250

                                                                      Check in is 4 pm. Check out is 10 am.

                                                                      $126avg/night
                                                                      31 Reviews
                                                                      Very Good 4/5
                                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                                      Property # 672510

                                                                      x