Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

"Honeymoon" type retreat on the lake

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 900 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

An intimate native log sided cabin on the lake with great decks and views.

This is brand new 2 bedroom 2 bath log sided cabin on the lake. It has a cathedral ceiling and high beams in the living room. It has wonderful covered deck complete with an out door kitchen. It has natural gas (not propane) grill with plenty of counter space for food preparation. There are stainless steel kitchen appliances and granite counter tops. The bedrooms are large each with a private bath and tiled showers.


Owner
Jim Woodward
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Jim Woodward

(Picture to the left is a Spring atv ride on one many of scenic roads)

My wife, Mary, and I enjoy outdoor activities, meeting people, and sharing our place. We love the Flint Hills and Lake Wabaunsee.

Jim Woodward purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Jim Woodward chose Kansas

I bought this lot in 1977 because of the beautiful view. I'm glad to finally build such a beautiful place on it!

What makes this cabin unique

The whole feel of the place is special. It is warm and cosy. It is on a steep lot and looking down at the lake through the hard wood trees. It has an almost "tree house feel" to it. It has a stairway down to a private dock on a no wake cove.

Amenities

Alma Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

"Honeymoon" type retreat on the lake
average rating of 4.6923075 based on 26 reviews
5

Treehouse Getaway - So fun!

  • 5 of 5

This is our first VRBO experience and we absolutely loved it! This particular cabin was perfect for our mini weekend getaway. It is even large enough that we plan to return with our two teenagers. We loved the detail and craftsmanship and that the two bedrooms were like suites on each floor. The deck and view are amazing and this cabin as well as the others owned by the owner each have their own private dock. Next time we will remember the lawn chairs and hopefully it will be warmer to enjoy the outdoors more. We enjoyed watching the ducks on the lake and the squirrel hopping through the tree during the early evening hours. Jim is very friendly and welcoming (via phone prior to our stay) and although it might be nice to meet him someday, we were never bothered by anyone during our stay. Highly recommended, and you won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, I'm glad you had a good time! Appreciate your kind words & the great review! Jim Woodward
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome property

  • 5 of 5

Super clean, great view and location. Everything that we where expecting for our stay. Fully equiped kitchen and a private deck to the lake!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a great stay on the lake!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Romantic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this cabin for a couple of weekdays in April to getaway and recharge. It was wonderful! The cabin was clean and cozy. Very few other people around given the time of year and week that we went so we felt like we had the lake to ourselves. The cabin had everything we needed. We cooked breakfast and lunch and ate at the Lodge at Lake Wabaunsee bar and grill which is just across the lake for dinner. Good bar food and the locals were welcoming. I would highly recommend this rental and anticipate that we will go back.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I loved hearing about your time on the lake,. It was very well written. I almost feel like we went to the lake after reading your comments. jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice cabin right on the lake! Made for a wonderful weekend getaway.

  • 5 of 5

Nice cabin right on the lake! Made for a wonderful weekend getaway. We are looking forward to staying there again someday.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful getaway!!!!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely Beautiful and Relaxing. If the lake wasn't frozen, there would have been some fishing.

  • Submitted: Dec 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good time on your anniversary! Glad you came to the lake. Hope you come back. Thanks for the kind words. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Topeka Ks
5

Perfect fall getaway with friends!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was beautiful and the view tranquil. We spent most of our time sitting on the dock and kayaking due to the perfect fall weather. Jim was very accommodating and did all he could to make our stay enjoyable. We will be back:)

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
100 Miles
kci
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
the Lodge
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Wabaunsee Pines
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
K4
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
the Lodge
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
free swim beach

Mainly, people enjoy their loved ones and the quietness of the lake and the scenic rural flint hills.There is a local rodeo, gravel road bike races, yearly burning of the tall grass and real cattle drives. There is a lot of wild life, there have been as many as 13 bald eagles have been seen in the air at one time. People come in several times a year for both deer and turkey hunting. Paxico is near and has many antique shops as does Alma.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Alma Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 1 2017 - Jun 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$185
Fri,Sat
 
 
Fourth of July
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 4 2017
4 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
summer
Jul 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$160
From
$185
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$160
From
$185
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Maintenance $60
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable