Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

The Loft on the Square

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 1,410 sq ft
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

Located on the north side of the square in historic Petersburg and conveniently located near Springfield and many Lincoln sites, The Loft on the Square is a beautifully renovated studio apartment which from its second floor perch overlooks the 1896 Menard County Courthouse and the historic town square. The loft features a mix of charming character and modern amenities. The loft is available for nightly or weekly vacation rentals.

This luxurious 1,400 square foot fully furnished studio apartment offers comfortable, cozy and private accommodations in a quaint, historic setting. Newly renovated in 2015, the space features beautiful exposed brick walls, a walk-in tiled shower, a cozy gas fireplace, outdoor space for fresh air, and a birds-eye view of the lovely Courthouse square.

The loft is equipped with everything you'll need to make your stay memorable. Enjoy a home cooked meal next to the fireplace or dine at one of Petersburg's downtown restaurants, stroll around the square to visit local antique, craft and boutique shops, and don't miss the two nearby wineries and Hand of Fate Brewing Company located right next door to the loft.

Enjoy a day at the beautiful Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site, just two miles away, or drive to Springfield where you'll find several museums and attractions, including the must-see Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum.

Your trip will be relaxing and enjoyable as we've gone above and beyond to ensure that the space is equipped with everything you'll need to make your stay comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with pots, pans, utensils and dishes so that you can prepare a home cooked meal if you'd like, a coffee maker is available and coffee and tea are provided, a washer and dryer are available for your use, and all linens are provided. Complimentary wireless internet, DirecTV, AppleTV and dvd player are included.

*T-Mobile Users May Experience Difficulty With Cell Service in the Petersburg Area.

More Details

Property Manager
Amy
Member since: 2016
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2018

Amenities

Petersburg Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1410 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Newly remodeled bathroom includes beautiful walk-in tiled shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 10
  • Studio Apartment Bedroom is open to the rest of the space. The loft features a queen bed (2), a sofa bed (2), a youth camp bed (1 child), an ottoman that converts to a twin bed (1), and a twin (1) and queen (2) air mattress are available for use during your stay. Plenty of extra pillows and linens are provided.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
Notes:
No guests under the age of 18 are allowed to make a reservation or stay overnight without an adult over the age of 18 present during stay. You must obtain permission from the property manager in order to bring pets. No more than two pets will be allowed per visit. A non-refundable $30 pet fee will be charged if permission to bring pets is granted.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Loft on the Square
average rating of 4.90625 based on 32 reviews
rushville
5

The property is GREAT!

  • 5 of 5

We had four women stay. Each had there own place to sleep!! Amy had the bathroom stocked with a curling iron, straightener, blow dryer, q-tips, shampoo/conditioner, body wash and on and on!! So....if you forgot anything, it was there!

Thanks so much Amy!!

Would definitely stay again and recommend!!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind words - so happy that you ladies enjoyed the loft! Come back and visit again any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful and Historic!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at the loft! We were in town for a wedding, and it was perfect. It is incredibly well decorated, and the kitchen and bathroom have lots of supplies. We loved the back patio as well as the drinks and food in the brewery downstairs. I would just recommend adding a full length mirror to the space somewhere. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay & your time in Petersburg! We usually keep the full length mirror in the closet, but we’ll get that replaced if it has gone missing. Thanks for pointing that out. Come back and stay again any time! Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mt Laurel, NJ
5

Loved this place!

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful Loft in the middle of quaint little

Town. Well furnished with antiques along

With modern appliances. Would love to

Return and stay here again

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Come back and visit any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Loved the place!!

  • 4 of 5

This was a unique accommodation and we loved it! Wish we had more than one night! Just a bit pricey with all the fees.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amber - So happy to hear you loved the loft! We do keep our rates very low so that lots of people can experience Petersburg and the loft. We charge a flat rate of $100, $3 in lodging tax, and a $25 housekeeping fee (our actual cost). Unfortunately, we can't control any additional fees that you may have been charged since you used a booking site to make your reservation. We think $103/night is a great deal for a brand new space that accommodates a good sized group and is very well stocked & we hope you'll consider visiting again! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Very nice place to stay, the kitchen had all supplies to make dinner, was very comfortable for my family.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you enjoyed the loft - come back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place...

  • 5 of 5

Based on the reviews, we had pretty high expectations of The Loft. Our expectations were met and exceeded. What a cool place! We are already planning to stay here again in the future. We couldn’t recommend this property any higher. It’s fantastic!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Jason! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the loft. Come back any time! Take Care! Amy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Capitol Airport, Springfield, Illinois
Nearest Barpub
Hand of Fate Brewing Company, Petersburg
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Shambolee Golf Course, Petersburg
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Amtrak, Springfield, Illinois
Car: not necessary

-Next door to Hand of Fate Brewing Company and Dr. Ugs Drugstore Cafe and within walking distance to several local restaurants, antique and craft shops and nice women's clothing boutiques.

-Two miles to Lincoln's New Salem State Historic Site

-Twelve miles to Jim Edgar Panther Creek State Fish & Wildlife Area

-Two miles to West of Wise Winery

-Ten miles to Hill Prairie Winery

-Twenty miles to historic sites in Springfield including Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library & Museum, Lincoln's Home, Lincoln's Tomb, Dana-Thomas House, and Old State Capitol

-Twenty-five miles to Knight's Action Park (water and adventure park)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $30
Cleaning Fee $25

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties