Located in Salida, this holiday home is in a rural area and on a lake. Hancock Ghost Town and Browns Canyon National Monument are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Arkansas Headwaters Recreation Area and San Isabel National Forest. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling and sledging.
Poncha Springs Disc Golf Course - 16 min drive - 20.6 km
SteamPlant Theater and Event Center - 22 min drive - 27.3 km
Riverside Park - 22 min drive - 27.3 km
Getting around
Gunnison, CO (GUC-Gunnison-Crested Butte Regional) - 57 min drive
Restaurants
Gunbarrel Cafeteria - 12 min drive
Sidewinder Saloon - 12 min drive
Barkett and Barkett - 11 min drive
Cliffhangers - 6 min drive
Mountain Spirit Winery - 11 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly pet-friendly?
Yes, pets are allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly?
As of 28 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly on 1 Nov 2026 start from £965, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly?
Checkout is at 10:30 AM.
Where is Monarch Retreat ~ Fishing & Hiking • Pet Friendly located?
Situated on a lake, this holiday home is steps from San Isabel National Forest and within 9 mi (15 km) of Mountain Spirit Winery and Monarch Ski Area. Geno's Meadow and Monarch Crest Scenic Tram are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Excellent property. Location is amazing. Views from the property are amazing. Check in and check out process were clear and easy. Would love to stay here again.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Oct 2025
Thank you for the great feedback! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we'd love to host you in the future!
We enjoyed the location and found the home very clean and comfortable with lots of room to spread out. The kitchen is well-appointed. We also enjoyed having coffee in the morning on the upstairs deck.
Absolutely one of the best places to stay! So comfortable for all 7 of us! Loved the seclusion and quiet atmosphere! We had a couple questions and the property management responded within 5 minutes! We will stay there again!
This home is fantastic for a group to relax, have group meals, have space, etc It is close to a lot of activities and Salida is a great little town to stroll and enjoy. I'll stay here again, if I'm in the area.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Aug 2023
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon! Pinon Vacation Rentals Team
We had a wonderful time at the property and were able to take a few hikes and strolls around the area. It was stunning in the fall with the aspens just after their peak foliage. Everyone had a wonderful time and we look forward to getting to explore this area again another time.
Perfect size for our family ski trip! Plenty of room for the kids to play and for the adults to sit and relax! Quick, easy access to the ski hill in a beautiful setting. Access does require AWD if it snows as mentioned, but we knew that going into it. Amazing place that was well kept!
This was the perfect house for our family getaway! The teenagers loved the loft area with video games. The toddler loved all of the toys. The adults loved the well-equipped kitchen, large seating areas, outdoor patio and comfortable beds. The en-suite bedrooms made room assignments so easy. We had a great time! Thanks much!
Me and my group had a fantastic time! The location was great (less than 15 minutes) from Monarch Ski Area and still close to town for groceries and such. Hike and showshoe directly from the house too! There are 4 bathrooms as listed but all must be accessed through a bedroom which was slightly inconvenient for guests staying in the loft. Otherwise the property was amazing! I would definitely come back!
Stayed 7 nights in Feb 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Aug 2023
Kyle, so glad that you enjoyed Monarch Retreat. Please come back and see us again soon!
Pinon Vacation Rentals
Verified review
8/10 Good
Leslie J.
6 Feb 2024
Liked: Location, listing accuracy
Great layout, not great management company
House itself was well laid out for an extended family. Beds were comfortable and the living area had enough room for everyone to sit. Check in was weird. We arrived a little after 4p check in and there was someone walking around the house. We waited just sitting in the car for 20m before coming up to the door. Turns out it was a solo cleaner that was running behind but rather than running out to ask us to come back, he just showed avoided eye contact and kept running around. We went to the door to ask him if we should come back and he said no. The rest of check in was fine but once unloaded we noticed the floors hadn't been cleaned. There was leftover popcorn on the main rug, hair balls on the stairs to the loft etc. We called the management company and they said the last folks had left the house in a mess, which I guess we inherited, and that we would be refunded our cleaning fee. Didn't think any more of it, but three weeks after trip, still hadn't seen a cleaning fee refund so emailed in. They didn't respond but an autogenerated email confirmed they provided a $50 credit. Overall I'd stay again because the location and layout are great, but the management company leaves something to be desired.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Feb 2024
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience during check-in and the cleanliness issues. We appreciate you contacting the management company and are glad a $50 credit was provided. We will work to improve our services based on your feedback. We hope you had a comfortable stay overall and value your understanding. If you have any further concerns, please reach out to us. We hope to host you again in the future.
My family decided to get away for Thanksgiving and we found the perfect house to accommodate all of us. We had a wonderful relaxing no fuss stay. The house is beautiful and has all the upgrades. I only wish there was a hot tub, to relax and view the bright stars at night. Overall would definitely stay again!
This property is perfect for multiple families to stay. Each bedroom has its own bathroom. The views are incredible. You can hike up the road to the lake. Easy access to Monarch and Salida. We will be staying here again next year!
The house is better in person than in the pictures and very clean. Plenty of room, everything you need for the kitchen including spices, Tupperware, etc. a few key things missing like dishwasher detergent and dish soap. All bathrooms are off the four bedrooms so there isn’t a common bath. Tons of DVDs, but DVD player not hooked up. Nice outdoor fire pit, but didn’t use because we didn’t like the idea of being on camera. Internet is almost non existent. It was close enough to Mt Princeton hot springs and rafting on the Arkansas so it was ideal for a quick two night stay to be near these adventures.
I would and already have recommended this beautiful home to anyone who wants beautiful mountain quietness. It is close to monarch mountain to ski and Mt. Princeton to soak in the Hot springs. The 4 master bedrooms are unlike so many other rentals and I give this place a 10 out of 10. We will definitely go back
The house was very warm and inviting! Plenty of room for 6 adults and a 17-year-old. The check in and out process was simple and efficient. We were less than 10 minutes away from the ski resort which gave us extra time to enjoy the property. Would definitely recommend and will stay again next year!
///
There were 6 adults, 3 kids, and 2 dogs there for our stay. There was plenty of room for everyone. There was almost 50" of snow over the 6 days we were there. It was beautiful. There was a very nice neighbor who plowed the road and driveway with his bobcat and shoveled our porch every day. Definitely needed AWD to get in and out of the property (CR 225 was plowed everyday, but sometimes it wasn't until later in the morning). We loved the house and the location. 15 mins to skiing and 20 mins to town. We even saw a Moose family on our last morning (young bull, cow and calf) about 20 yards from the front porch!
Highly recommend this house for your vacay
We loved the entire property -- wonderful outdoor space and wonderful indoor space! There are 4 master bedrooms in the home which worked well for us, our adult children, and grandchildren. The kitchen was well stocked, and we grilled many of our meals there. (There is a newer gas grill which worked well.) There is a huge fire pit in the backyard with plenty of wood. We really enjoyed creating campfires each night and enjoying the beautiful night sky. We also spent time in Salida, a very cute town, and Great Sand Dunes National Park, about 1 1/2 hours from the property. We celebrated four birthdays as well!