Located in Hudson, this holiday home is in a rural area. Mississippi River and Kinnickinnic State Park reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Knoke's Chocolates and Phipps Center for the Arts. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling and ice skating.
University of Wisconsin River Falls - 11 min drive - 16.1 km
Willow River State Park - 14 min drive - 21.3 km
Getting around
Saint Paul Union Depot - 27 min drive
St. Paul, MN (STP-St. Paul Downtown) - 31 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 7 min drive
Taco Bell - 7 min drive
Starbucks - 8 min drive
Buffalo Wild Wings - 7 min drive
Milwaukee Burger Company - 7 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Does Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property have a pool?
Yes, this property has a pool. Pool types include heated pools.
How much does it cost to stay at Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property on 2 Nov 2026 start from £430, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
Is Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much is parking at Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Large Recreational Group Gathering & Getaway Retreat Property located?
This family-friendly Hudson holiday home is located in a rural location, within 2 mi (3 km) of Saint Croix River and Troy Burne Golf Club. Kinnickinnic State Park and Hudson Hospital & Clinic are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
This was a great place for our annual family gathering since it had many outdoor activities that we could enjoy, including a wiffle ball field! It had a large kitchen and an excellent surround sound music system. The owner and property manager were quick to respond to messages.
It was very nice having so many amenities. All the pool and yard games were so much fun. Great location. We didn't need to worry about neighbors being close. Would definitely recommend to others.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Aug 2022
Thank you for the great review. We are happy you enjoyed the property and your stay with us. You are welcome back anytime!
Stayed her for my sister’s bachelorette party. We had a great time! The pool was a amazing, outdoor bar area was perfect and we were close enough to Stillwater to be able to get a bus down there for a night! Jason was great to work with! Highly recommend!
My husband and I along with our wedding party stayed in Jason’s home for our wedding weekend and it was the best choice we could have made for our group. We had a blast, everything was perfect for a large group and Jason was awesome to deal with. Thanks so much, we’ll be back again!
Property was filled with activities! Worked great for our large group. Pool, hot tub and outdoor cooking area are where we spent the majority of our time. Garage game room was an added bonus. Owner was responsive.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 13 Jul 2022
Thank you for such a great review. We enjoyed having you and your group. You are always welcome back, as you took care of the property and were so easy to work with!
We had an awesome stay at the house for a Bachelor party of 15 people. We had a great time using the pool, hot tub, grills, and other amenities, and were able to play a round of golf at Troy Burne golf course only a two minute drive away. We also took advantage of the Hudson Gun Club for some trap shooting, and explored a few bars and breweries in downtown Hudson before getting a game of wiffle ball in.
Overall, this is a fantastic spot for a fun weekend with friends or family and I would recommend it to anyone.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Jan 2025
Thanks Roan...................We take pride in hosting events and groups like yours. You were a great group and very respectful of the property.
Jason was very accommodating! Starting with check-in, Jason was very flexible and gave us a full tour upon arrival. Although the master bathroom was under construction, Jason was upfront in letting us know the status of the construction and helped to make the construction a nonissue. This house is perfect for a large group to play foosball, ping-pong, cards, among many other games. Our stay was in Winter so we could not utilize the pool and grill area but we did still take advantage of the hot tub! I would recommend this house to anyone who is looking for a great party weekend or just a relaxing weekend around a great pool and yard.
Thanks Jason!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Apr 2020
Thank you Zach. Your group was great. The house was was left in perfect order after your stay. Thanks with working with me and I am glad you guys had a good time and enjoyed the property!
Our group had THE BEST time staying at Jason’s property. It is such an amazing place for a large group to gather and is even better in person than it looks in the pictures. The backyard where the pool is has such a cool ambiance with lights at night and our group played an epic game of whiffle ball on the field. The house has Sonos speakers that you can control by zone for music. There is a huge grill and a Blackstone that make meals for a large group super easy to prepare. Jason went out of his way to make sure our group had everything that we needed. Vacation properties can be difficult to find for larger groups but this one knocks it out of the park (or you could say over the gray monster in left field). We hope to come back!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Jan 2025
Thanks Brian........You were a great group and very respectful of the property. You are welcome back anytime.
We rented the place out for the weekend surrounding our wedding and stayed there with our bridal party and had such an incredible time. First of all the space is phenomenal. It was perfectly clean and tidy, very spacious indoors, the outdoor kitchen and pool area was great, and the grounds had so much to offer. Pictures truly don’t do it justice. Second, Jason’s hospitality was unprecedented. He reached out to us multiple times beforehand to try to understand our needs and accommodate any special requests. He met us there on our arrival and walked us around, showing us how everything worked. They made a special welcome and congratulatory sign for us on the wall in the kitchen. I could go on and on, and if I could give this VRBO 27 stars I would. Basically if you’re looking for a weekend getaway with family/friends of any age group, look no further!
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jun 2021
Congrats on a great wedding weekend. We hope you come back and celebrate an anniversary, as you were a great group! You are welcome back anytime.
Thank you for the great review. We have made even more updates since your stay. we are excited to open back up this week and get our new pictures and updates posted!
Vrbo had to step in and escalate to get me a refund as the host went silent after first telling me the property was listed incorrectly and that it was not the price and the property was not available. I was told by the host that the booking couldn't continue and I had to cancel on my side, Thankfully I contacted Vrbo who were amazing and told me not to cancel on my side as this was the host's issue. If I had canceled I would have had to pay 100% cancelation fee due to the short notice of the booking. Host is not to be trusted.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Jan 2025
Simon, You are the only person I have ever had any issues with and you didn't even stay here.. As I explained you booked an already reserved date that was through AirBnB for another group. I still don't know how you think we would rent a property this size for $200 a night. It cost that much to heat the pool alone.
I informed you within 12 hours of you booking it was a mistake, and you were fighting me from the start. I offered other dates and even provided a discount at first, but you were very disrespectful the entire time.
We work with great people and customize stays of all our guest and as a host we do not receive any money until after the stay. You have only proven we need to continue to make sure we have good good communication, with our groups You were a nightmare to deal with even though you never stayed at our fun property and it is people like you that cause problems for others.
I would never stay here again. It started out with the host not answering me about a week before check in. I had sent him a nice message, expressing our excitement for our trip, making sure he got our last payment and a couple other things that the website said we needed to request in advance if we needed it. I had to get Vrbo involved several times to have him answer me. Once we got there, he was there to go over things with us. His maintenance guy was there with him also.We got all situated, our family started arriving. All ages from newborn to 85. My in- laws rented this for all of their kids and grandkids so we could all be together. They paid 4000.00 a night and it turned into a nightmare. The first morning after we had slept there one night, my niece said there were mice droppings on her bed. So I started looking under sinks and in drawers and they were everywhere. We reached out to the host and he said that they have Orkin come and they are the best exterminators around and that he removed all mouse traps right before we got there. These comments didn’t go together as you don’t need mouse traps (from the store) if you are getting an exterminator. We did find one mouse trap from the store that he forgot to remove so we went and got more traps. We caught 3 mice within 3 hours. Needless to say our family vacation was cut short as we all checked out. Kids were crying. And to this point Vrbo had done nothing and the host had ghosted. Filthy place, and host can’t be trusted
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Aug 2025
Thank you for the great review, This guest and review has provided us with proof of exactly why we no longer accept immediate bookings, without screening our request for our unique property.
This review displays exactly who we do not want on our Large Recreational and Spiritual Retreat Property. We did not think there were actually people like this who are overly rude and demanding, and who would try anything and everything to extort a host.
NOTE FOR FUTURE GUEST: We are unique, as we customize each groups stay and we will connect multiple times prior to your reservation and arrival. Bring this review (The Julib Review) up when we connect and customize your stay. We will provide you with Julib Discount Offer(s) and gift(s) for your customized group/event/stay.
IN SHORT RESPONSE TO HER REVIEW:
We warned VRBO before this guest arrived that they were going to find any reason possible to complain and try and get free stay. This guest who wasn't the reservation holder didn't write or disclose all the information about the group in her reservation.
The below is just a small sample size of her actions and what she left out.
She didn't write or disclose how we communicated 2 weeks prior to her stay in multiple connections, including an hour long phone call, to customize her group stay. We work close with all all our guest, as we customize each groups property set-up with sleeping arrangements and beds (we have over 20 beds/mattresses, along with cots, couches and airbeds we can also set up), games, cooking style and the overall atmosphere our guest are looking for. We even offered a video walk through and or an on site visit before her stay, which she didn't respond to.
She didn't write or disclose she had over 10 demands/request during our call and she tried to use every angle she could to complain. She was very hard to work with and impossible to please.
She didn't write or disclose how she was claiming and threatening to cancel 5 days before her arrival
She didn't write or disclose that we offered her money back multiple times, as we did not want to deal with her or her on our property.
She didn't write or disclose that we learned through VRBO that she decided not to cancel 2 days prior to her check in. She refused to cancel, therefore we were not able to offer to other parties.
She didn't write or disclose that once we learned her group was coming, that we would not deal directly with her. We informed her we would only deal with, the name on the reservation and her father-in-law (who were paying for the stay), due to her rude, inconsiderate manners, threats and demands.
She refused to have them call or work with us during their stay, as the maintenance team provided their contact information to handle and deal with any issues on site.
She didn't write or disclose that she complained that the Pool was to Cool and The Hot Tub was to Hot, even though they both have temp controls, and they were shown upon check in.
She didn't write or disclose she tried to extort us with threats of SM post and a bad reviews, before, during and after her stay.
She didn't write or disclose that all communications went through VRBO after her demands. We worked with VRBO closely, and they informed us we did everything possible to try and accommodate her, and all our professional property maintenance teams (pool, yard, pest control, handy man and cleaning crews) are up to all health and safety measures.
We want to thank you VRBO for making our procedures more clear and up to date. We also thank them for assisting us in working with this extortionist, and preventing others from doing the same in the future.
We greatly appreciate this bad review and SM post, as we will use this and all this Julib's complaints to make sure we work even closer with our guest. Please use this review to get your groups "Julibs Discount Offers" when you customize your stay at our Large Recreational & Spiritual Retreat Property. Book your event or group today!
This property is great for a large gathering. There were 25 of us altogether. The bedroom/bathroom configuration is a bit unusual, but we adapted. The varied activities available on the property were exceptional - pool, hot tub, putting greens, volleyball, trampoline, playground, fields and large patio and grill area. The inside spaces were also ample for a group. We appreciated the quietness of the area, yet not far from grocery stores and any needed items. The owner was very attentive!
Jason and Sam were excellent hosts. I would definitely recommend booking with them. The property provides plenty of activities as well as a great location, close to Troy Burne golf course and downtown Hudson. Thank you again!!!
We had a week vacation with 17 people. The owner was very responsive to questions prior to and during our stay. He met us when we checked in to orient us to the house. We enjoyed our stay and there was a variety of things for children to do. The pool and hot tub were very nice and the kids loved the trampoline, golf, and baseball. We appreciated having a nice kitchen to cook in and the owner provided Internet and streaming services which was a bonus. There are five bedrooms and several other rooms with beds in them with a mixture of regular and air mattresses. We did feel the house could have been cleaner when we checked in including refrigerators that needed to be wiped out before use and grills needing to be cleaned before use . We found many things to do in the area and the house was great for our large group. We enjoyed our week .
Jason is a fantastic host and his spot is great for getting a group of people together. The house has everything you need and the location is great for people who are looking to get some golf in and or enjoy the downtown Hudson area. 5/5 highly recommend!
We had a wedding party event and this was the perfect place to be! Very spacious, tons of fun activities to keep us busy throughout the day. Communication with Jason was easy and he was very helpful in setting up the house for the occasion. I'd highly recommend this house for any type of group setting!
Had an absolute blast at this very fun, all ages, big house! The pool and hot tub were clean, the perfect temperature and outfitted with all the pool accessories we needed. The kitchen is very beautiful and great for big groups. There were plenty of beds and space for our big group. Could not have wished for a better host and house. Thanks Jason!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Jun 2021
Thank you Addie! You were great to work with. I am happy you enjoyed our property and stay.