Entire home

Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040

Photo gallery for Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040

A spacious living area with a view of the beach, white furniture, and a ceiling fan.
A modern kitchen with a large island, white cabinetry, and a view of the ocean.
A coastal residential area with houses adjacent to a beach and a railway track.
A modern kitchen with a large island, bar stools, and a view of the ocean.
A beachfront property with a clear view of the ocean, palm trees, and a street leading to the beach.

Reviews

9.0 out of 10
Wonderful

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Patio
  • Barbecue grill
  • Internet
  • Onsite parking available
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View in a map
Dana Point, CA
  • Place, Poche Beach
    ‪8 min walk‬
  • Place, Pines Park
    ‪1 min drive‬
  • Place, Capistrano Beach Park
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Airport, Orange County, CA (SNA-John Wayne)
    ‪35 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bunk Bed, 1 Double Bed and 1 Single Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Bathroom 2

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo · Hair dryer

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Dana Point

Located on the beach, this holiday home is in Capistrano Beach, a neighbourhood in Dana Point. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Mission San Juan Capistrano, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Doheny State Beach and Thousand Steps Beach. Ready for a night out? Consider La Ventura Event Center and Montage Laguna Beach.
Map
Dana Point, CA

What's nearby

  • Poche Beach - 8 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Pines Park - 1 min drive - 1.5 km
  • Capistrano Beach Park - 2 min drive - 1.9 km
  • Shorecliffs Golf Club - 3 min drive - 2.3 km
  • San Clemente Pier - 7 min drive - 5.2 km

Getting around

  • San Juan Capistrano Depot - 19 min drive
  • Orange County, CA (SNA-John Wayne) - 39 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Chick-fil-A - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Better Buzz - ‬8 min drive
  • ‪Ruby's Diner - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Asada Cantina + Kitchen - ‬9 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040 pet-friendly?

No, only service animals are welcome at the property.

How much does it cost to stay at Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040?

As of 28 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040 on 7 Dec 2026 start from £881, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Oceanfront Retreat: 2BR Home with Private Beach Access, Firepit STR24-0040 located?

Nestled on the beach, this Capistrano Beach holiday home is 1 mi (1.7 km) from Capistrano Beach Park and 3.1 mi (4.9 km) from Dana Point Harbor. North Beach and South Day Use Beach are also within 2 miles (3 km).

Reviews

9.0

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 20 out of 27 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 27 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 27 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 27 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 27 reviews

9.6/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Amenities

10/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.4/10

Check-in

9.4/10

Communication

9.2/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The location is great.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Jan 2026
We always try and provide a 5 star experience. If you had any issues during your stay we wouldnt have known as there was no communication during or after your stay.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very clean, the view was amazing.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Wonderful stay! Great location!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful house and location. Check in and everything super smooth and easy.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location! Great communications!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Disliked: Check-in, communication
- two car limit was problematic, as there wasn't an option to even drop off or pick up guests, no close by overnight parking - split AC units don't work - balcony railing was not safely secured to the deck upon arrival, possibly putting an unsuspecting guest at risk of falling onto rocks below or being swept out to the ocean
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful location right on the ocean! The house was clean, larger than expected, and had everything we needed. We enjoyed hanging on the beach during low tide.
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The deck and views are incredible. Chris was easy to work with and we arrived early from out of state and we got to check in a little early. It's a beautiful home and close to great shopping, restaurants and the San Clemente Pier. You can't go wrong with this home.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was wonderful, very clean and new, comfy warm beds, great showers, all amenities that we needed were there, of course the incredible view and access to beach were fantastic. Good communication with host. Looking forward to staying again in future!
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Awesome experience. We had everything we needed here. Communication with the host was great as well. Loved the fact that you had to enter with the security guard at the front gate. Of course being right on the water was great as well. Everything worked fine and we had no issues. Can’t wait to stay again!
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Jan 2026
Happy you enjoyed it, see you next time!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Communication, location
The property had a great location and great amenities such as e-bikes. There was some issues that we didn’t expect and I’m sure didn’t exist when we booked the property. The weather and climate change didn’t allow us to access any beach from the property because the stairs were washed away. Also the A/C wall units didn’t work which would be ok if we could have had the garage doors open to the back deck. But based on the intense ocean waves which we weren’t aware of prior to check-in which required us to close the “garage doors” in the early evening and have no air flow to the main bedroom in the house and the living room. I think the description of the current situation should be listed so people know the changes. We talked to a neighbor who was boarding up his windows during our stay which made it clear that conditions have been changing over the past few months. Transparency would have been appreciated going into our stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The property was just as described. Great location on the beach. Fast and friendly communication with the host. The property was clean and the furniture was comfortable. Plenty of towels. We would stay here again.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
A beautiful cozy beach house. We spent most of the time on the deck since there is not much of the actual beach space. The water is nice and swim-able!
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great property. Great view. Host was super helpful. The house fit our family of 4 perfectly. We slept in, hung out at the beach, BBQed, watched the sunsets and enjoyed sleeping to the sound of the waves.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing rental

Awesome rental! Beautiful location, pretty much a private beach. Great communication with managers. Looks just like the photos
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

The home is a little jewel box in a gated area. It’s been renovated and everything is clean and new. The casita is in the front area and doesn’t have an ocean view but the ocean waves can be heard in every room.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location

Amazing view

Can’t beat the view ! Perfect for a couple and kids but not 4 adults. Back bedroom is small with bunks. Also got very warm back there even with windows open
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul 2025
Thanks for staying Teresa, the photos are accurate as are the description so I'm not sure how your experience differed from expectations.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Staycation

Impressed. We loved the hospitality and ease to access home and amenities. Chris the hose is awesome. We enjoy are staycation very much celebrating my husbands 40th birthday. The home is exactly as described and would book again. We are so happy with our stay. The kids enjoyed their time as well. Just what we needed.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
Excellent house on the beach among multi million dollar homes. Very clean with high end finishes. Exceeded my expectations.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Amazing location, clean modern house, great host

Amazing location - unobstructed view of the ocean and a beautiful deck. We lived out there. The house is renovated with lovely modern finishes and beautifully decorated. A perfect beach escape! The outdoor blinds are a great added touch if you are worried about ocean sound being loud (for light sleepers) The property is in gated community and the house right on the water. And the gate attendants are very helpful. The parking is right behind the house.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very beautiful ocean-front property - relaxing while listening to the waves. The balcony provides panoramic views. The house is cozy yet spacious for 3 to 4 people. Beautifully furnished with contemporary design. Heat/coo pumps for living/dining, and two more for each bedrooms. Master bedroom faces ocean with access to the huge balcony. 2nd bedroom has 2 single bunk beds, where you need to step outside for couple steps to get to - there is a nice en suite bathroom for the 2nd bedroom. We found the stay private and relaxing - very much enjoyed and hope to stay again. Finally, Chris, our host was very responsive and friendly. Highly recommend!!
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
This property is in a very quiet and secluded, gated neighborhood. It has been wonderfully upgraded and has everything you would expect. There is even a sound bar to Bluetooth your phone to listen to music. Having a washer and dryer was a huge plus. Check in and out was easy and hassle free. If you bring a dog, there isn’t anywhere for them to relieve themselves so come prepared. The deck is stunning and we spent most of the time out there. The only surprise was that this property is adjacent to the railroad tracks and it’s quite busy. However, if the ocean side doors are open, the crashing waves will drown out the noise.
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Oct 2025
Thanks for the feedback Scott. Yes the entire community as well as every beach community in South Dana Point and San Clemente is adjacent to the train. Most people dont mind or notice but I'm sorry if that was a surprise for you. Pets are not allowed at this property outside of service animals. Happy you enjoyed your stay
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
1-Star ReviewUnfortunately, this property was not a good fit for our family, and our vacation was significantly impacted by several issues.Although the listing is described as a two-bedroom home, the bedrooms are not under the same roof. For families with young children, this layout was neither practical nor something we felt comfortable with.The biggest concern was the condition of the deck. It had missing railings, missing stair railings, a missing deck plank, and areas that were buckling, making parts of it feel unsafe to use. The outdoor space was one of the primary reasons we chose this property, but we were unable to enjoy it.Before and during our stay, we were informed that the deck would be repaired while we were there. The contractor did not arrive on the day we were told, and when he did arrive the following day, he advised us the repairs would take several days,not the one-day repair we had been led to expect. We also experienced an excessively hot bedroom that remained uncomfortable during our stay.Because these issues were never resolved, we made the difficult decision to leave two nights early. We communicated our concerns throughout our stay and hoped to reach a fair resolution afterward. Unfortunately, despite multiple attempts to resolve the matter, we have not received a response from the owner.Every traveler has different priorities, but we believe future guests should be aware of these conditions when deciding whether this property is the right
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 27 Jul 2026
Appreciate the feedback, you attempted to extort us for a full refund when all of that info was relayed and in the listing. You and your family “partied” all weekend on the deck. Smoked cigars, drank excessively… all of that is provable and I will be reporting this review and account for extortion. You even attempted to lie and say your child fell and hurt themselves and that was lie. Gross behavior and I hope you never get to stay at a rental again. For potential future renters.. the home and listing are accurate and great, our communication is professional and respectful. Nobody likes to be extorted like the details are false and slanderous. The contractor repairs the deck by 430 on day of arrival due to big swells and tides. We offered and allowed an early check in which in retrospect we shouldn’t have
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great beach house, and very clean. The view was spectacular.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
house was very clean very old - no air conditioning 2nd bedroom was so hot couldn't sleep - ocean side patio barely usable
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 9 Aug 2026
Thanks for the feedback Clark. No AC as listed in the description, be sure to read the listings thoroughly before booking so you have the right expectations. The detached guest suite can get a bit warm in the summer if you keep the windows closed. The home is not old at all, in fact it was remodeled a couple of years ago. Beachfront homes take a lot of wear and tear the marine air and salt spray, it is not listed or expected to be luxury, just a nice comfortable beachfront home. During your stay we had large waves and tides and so the patio does get ocean spray during those times.. unfortunately we cannot control the weather or the ocean. All the best
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback