Apartment

Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway

Photo gallery for Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway

A row of townhouses with individual front gardens, white facades, and black railings.
A modern kitchen with white cabinets, a stainless steel sink, and a Bosch appliance.
A modern living room with two blue sofas and a coffee table, a kitchen in the background, and a large window providing natural light.
A modern living room with a blue sofa set, a wooden coffee table, and a flat-screen TV on a wooden stand.
A hotel room with two beds, a window with a view of buildings, a radiator, and a bedside table with a lamp.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Room to spread out
    Enjoy spacious layout that give everyone more room to relax.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Whitby Harbour

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Refrigerator
  • Dryer
  • Off-street parking available
  • Non-smoking
  • Microwave

Explore the area

View in a map
Whitby, England
  • Place, Whitby Pavilion
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Whitby Beach
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Whitby Harbour
    ‪12 min walk‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 5)

Bedroom 1

3 Single Beds

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Office
Balcony
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Whitby

Located in Whitby, this apartment is by the sea. Whitby Pavilion and Whitby Museum are cultural highlights, and some of the area's landmarks include Whalebone Arch and Captain Cook Monument. Whitby Leisure Centre and Museum of Victorian Science are also worth visiting.
Map
Whitby, England

What's nearby

  • Whitby Pavilion - 1 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Whitby Beach - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Whalebone Arch - 4 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Whitby Abbey - 12 min walk - 1.0 km
  • Whitby Harbour - 12 min walk - 1.0 km

Getting around

  • Whitby Station - 12 min walk
  • Durham (MME-Teesside Intl.) - 69 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Magpie Cafe - ‬7 min walk
  • ‪The Fat Badger - ‬3 min walk
  • ‪The Fisherman's Wife - ‬6 min walk
  • ‪Abbey Wharf - ‬11 min walk
  • ‪Java - ‬8 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway pet-friendly?

No, only service animals are welcome at the property.

How much is parking at Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Host & Stay | The Royal Hideaway located?

Situated by the sea, this apartment building is within a 15-minute walk of Whitby Leisure Centre and Whitby Harbour. Whitby Pavilion and Whalebone Arch are also within 5 minutes. Whitby Station is 12 minutes by foot.

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 2 out of 3 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 3 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 3 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 3 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 3 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

10/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lovely large apartment in great location

The place was brilliant, the only down side was the children in the apartment above who 'ran a lot and played ball at other times'
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Aug, 2023
We can’t thank you enough for taking the time to write this lovely review! We hope you had an amazing time at The Royal Hideaway! Thank you for your feedback, we have logged this in the hope for better future stays!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Exceptional Stay in a Peaceful SpotWe had an excellent stay at this property and couldn’t have been happier with the experience. The house was spotless, incredibly tidy, and fully equipped with everything we needed for a stress-free break.Space & ComfortThere was plenty of room for our family of five to spread out. The master bedroom was a highlight—it’s very spacious and fitted with heavy curtains that did a fantastic job of blocking out the early morning light. Having a private ensuite in addition to the main family bathroom was a huge practical bonus for a group of our size.Location & AmenitiesThe property is tucked away in a quieter area of Whitby, meaning we weren't disturbed by any external noise. The inclusion of private parking was a massive plus for the area. We also really appreciated the "little things":Generous Supplies: Plenty of toilet roll, kitchen roll, and dishwasher tablets provided.High Quality: The towels were large, fluffy, and felt very luxurious.One Minor NoteThe only downside worth mentioning is the low-speed Wi-Fi. It struggled a bit with multiple teenagers trying to use their devices at once, so keep that in mind if you have heavy data users in the family.Overall Verdict: An excellent choice for families. We would definitely stay here again!
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Apr, 2026
Thank you so much for your detailed and kind review! I’m delighted to hear that you and your family had an excellent stay and enjoyed the space, comfort, and little touches we provide. I really appreciate your feedback about the Wi-Fi—we’ll keep this in mind as we look for ways to improve. It means a lot to know that you would choose to stay with us again, and we would be thrilled to welcome you all back anytime!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good on the surface

The property flattered to deceive. Furniture and fittings were fine but soon discovered underlying problems: cupboards were not clean and crumbs found inside Mould in store cupboard , mould on ironing board making it unusable , shower smelled musty and there was stagnant water. The outside area was not cleaned and there was bird muck on the table and chairs. We were not advised that this was a basement flat and there was also limited views outside. The mould and sewer issues have been identified previously but have not been addressed. Photos are available on request!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Jul, 2023
Thank you for your review. First of all apologies for the inconvenience that has cause you during your stay specially the cleanliness of the the property. This is not something that we in Host & Stay wants you to experience. We will make sure to inform our relevant department to address this issues accordingly so that it would happen again. This is not that way we want you to leave the property with a heavy heart. Once again thank you for taking time to leave a feedback.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback