Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Furnished Lake Front 3 Level House at 'the Hideout'

Bedrooms 6
Space 2,818 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms (sleeps 10-14), 4 baths, private beach, HOT TUB, game room

House with its own PRIVATE BEACH, DOCK, FIRE PIT on the beach, HOT TUB, GAME ROOM, and BASKETBALL court in parking lot. ENJOY the VIEW of the LAKE, and the SUNRISE, from the beach or from one of the decks.

In the last 3 months of 2017, we have done a great deal of renovations, upgrading our kitchen, living room, and now have an additional room for the Hot Tub, an additional bathroom, and 2 new decks. The top deck is about 30 feet long and about half of it has a glass roof. This means that you can be outside while it rains and barbecue.

This house is in the Hideout, a 4 star gated community. They offer activities for adults, teens, and toddlers. During the summer they have swimming and tennis lessons, day camps, and sports camps available.

Our listed prices are for 10 PEOPLE, including infants. An additional $25 per person, per night is to be paid to have up to 14 people, even if those additional 4 people are infants. (During the weekly summer rentals, it's $20 per additional renter per night, up to 14 renters.)

Therefore, the MAXIMUM number of people who can be in the house or on the premises during a rental period is 14.

Check-in is at 3: PM. CHECK-OUT is at 11: AM.

The house has AIR CONDITIONING IN EVERY ROOM, (including the game room), and has a wood burning FIREPLACE.

There are five 55 inch FLAT SCREEN TVs, in the house, plus one 50 inch TV, one 40 inch TVs, and 2 older average size TVs.

The community has 2 beaches, one swimming pool for adults, one for children, fishing, skiing on the premises, (weather and snow availability permitting,) etc. Keep in mind that SWIMMING IS AT YOUR OWN RISK, whether in the lake, or in the pools. (Swimming pools are available for use from Memorial day through Labor day.)

You can RENT A BOAT close to the main pool. (You can also bring a boat no bigger than 17 feet... Final on size and insurance have to be discussed with the Hideout...)

The house offers FREE WIRELESS INTERNET access.

Special Property Features:

1. GAME ROOM. A 23 x 23 foot garage turned into a game room. It's carpeted, heated, has AIR CONDITIONING, ceiling fans, TV, cable, DVD player, full size PING PONG and POOL tables, HOCKEY table, plus bowling and other children games. The game room also has a sofa, at least 14 chairs, and tables. This game room is detached from the house, permitting all night playing without disturbing anyone in the house. - The game room has a small to medium size refrigerator.

2. PRIVATE BEACH. There is a private sandy beach on the property with its own DOCK, a FIRE PIT, and an adult 2-3 sitter WOODEN SWING. Swimming is allowed in the lake, as well as fishing. Keep in mind that swimming in the lake, or pools is at your own risk. Diving is not allowed. Any fish you catch, you must release back in the lake (or you get a fine). Ask the Hideout about the required permit for fishing, or for boats. - A pole light on the beach permits its use at night. Please do not leave children alone on the dock, or on the beach. Even if they are with you, ensure that children, or anyone who does not know how to swim, has a life vest on. This floating dock shakes, (due to the motion of the water). The dock extends 16 feet into the water.

HOUSE LAYOUT: Top level has 2 bedrooms with A/C, queen bed in one room, & a bunk bed with full size mattress on top and bottom. A bathroom is in the center of these 2 rooms.

Main floor has a master bedroom with a king size bed and A/C, a bathroom, kitchen, dining room, living room with A/C, and one wood burning fire place. An additional dining room with large windows facing the lake, allows full view of the lake, and also allows 14 people to eat together.

Third level (basement) has a 4th bedroom with a queen size bed, A/C, TV, and a DVD player. In addition, the third level has a family room with a futon with a full size mattress at bottom, and twin mattress on top. This family room used as a 5th bedroom also has a bar, TV, DVD player, a bathroom, and a laundry room with a washer and dryer.

As one exits the family room through the sliding glass doors, there is a sun room turned into a 6th bedroom with a futon with a full size mattress at bottom, and twin on top. This 6th bedroom has a TV, DVD player, and A/C. That room has 3 large uncovered windows that face the lake.

The newly built room on the third level, has the HOT TUB, and the fourth and new bathroom.

We provide pillows and blankets, please bring your own sheets, towels and pillow cases.

LAKE WALLENPAUPACK is about 15... minutes from the house, and provides water activities and waterfront restaurants. For skiing, SNOW and ELK mountain are about 25 minutes away, CAMELBACK mountain is about 40-45 minutes away.

NO PETS ALLOWED. (The Hideout issues FINES for any pet seen in the community without being registered at the Hideout.)

Keep in mind that besides our rental fee, the Hideout charges a registration fee of $100 for up to 3 nights. (We do not charge you the $125 for 4 to 7 nights' rental that they charge. We charge $100 for all length of stays.)

We charge $150 for cleaning. ( Cleaning crews have to clean 3 levels, and the game room.)

There is a $245 SECURITY DEPOSIT required, IN ADDITION TO the required $79 RENTER'S INSURANCE, that's offered by HOMEAWAY/VRBO. The reason for the security deposit is because your renter's insurance will not pay for every charge you cause. For example, if anyone in your party gets a speeding ticket, a littering ticket, etc at the Hideout, your renter's insurance will not pay for it. (Inside the Hideout, this gated community, the speed limit is 15 to 25 mph.) Therefore, if someone in your party gets a speeding ticket, or any other ticket at the Hideout, your security deposit will be used to pay for that ticket. The security deposit will also be used to cover anything else the renter's insurance will not pay for.

The Hideout charges a late fee of $40 if given less than 2 working days to process your registration paperwork.

Pennsylvania charges a 6% state sales tax for short term rentals, meaning rentals less than 30 days, and a 3% rental tax for Wayne County. (That's why we charge you those taxes.)

Renters cannot be substituted, and take the place of another in the middle of a rental. Renters can leave anytime, but others cannot come in to take their place.

We request a list of the FULL NAME of everyone staying at the house, INCLUDING INFANTS. Copy of a picture ID of the main renter is required.


MAXIMUM 5 CARS are allowed during any rental period.

A MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS rental is required ON HOLIDAYS. Year round at least 2 nights' rental is required. Summer weekly rentals start on .June 23, 2018.

NEW YEARS EVE requires 3 nights' rental. Any of the 3 nights including New Year's Eve is at $450.00 per night, for a total of $1350 plus fees, for those 3 nights for 10 people.

Summer WEEKLY RENTALS refer to arrival Saturday, to departure the following Saturday. (We were just able to get cleaners for Saturdays, as most seem to prefer Saturday arrivals.)

RENTERS - Main renter must be at least 26 years old, have photo ID with age available for us, and to show the Hideout. Main renter must reside with the group during the entire rental. WHEN IN DOUBT about age, available dates, etc. PLEASE CONTACT US by E-mail or phone.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 10, 2018

Guestbook comments from the manager

A couple of years ago I had the opportunity to stay at this property. When I returned, I was impressed with the 2 rooms upgrade that enable one to have a better view of the lake while inside. The weekend we arrived the carpeting downstairs had been changed, and the decks were just painted. We totally enjoyed our stay as we grilled part of the day, roasted marshmallows and partied at night! This beautiful lake is really the icing on the cake, and makes it such a memorable experience. I recommend this house to anyone who appreciates the calm that a lake can trigger in one.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2


Lake Ariel House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2818 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom (Upper Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper Level
    Bathroom (Man Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Level
    Bathroom (Lower Level) - toilet , shower , Lower Level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Upper Level to the left room 1
    Guest Bedroom - 1 bunk bed , Upper level to the right, bunk bed with 2 full mattresses
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Main floor - Master bedroom
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Lower Level - bottom right of stairs
    Guest Bedroom - 1 bunk bed , Lower Level, futon bunk bed, with full & twin mattresses
    Guest Bedroom - 1 bunk bed , Lower Level sun room Bunk Bed with full & twin mattresses
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Furnished Lake Front 3 Level House at 'the Hideout'
average rating of 4.642857 based on 44 reviews

Amazing. Can't wait for my next trip

  • 5 of 5

Abosuletly beautiful. The best home in the hideout (my opinion). I had an amazing time with my family. We can not wait to go back this summer.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Home!

  • 5 of 5

Great property. Had a wonderful weekend! Owner was very helpful!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

All my friends loved the house, we cannot wait to come back in the summer this time & actually use the lake. Carole was extremely helpful & responded back right away with any questions we had. She was a wonderful host. Game room & Hot tub room was just a cherry on the top with all the amenities this house has to offer. Picture perfect scenery even in the winter. Loved every bit of it. We are definitely coming back for a longer stay in summer! :)

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic home with brand new upgrades and a wonderful owner

  • 5 of 5

Booked this lovely home with a few friends to celebrate the new year. Prior to the time of our booking, we received a call from Carole who gave us detailed instructions on how to find the house, unlock, receive guest passes, and access the amenities in the community. In addition, we got some surprise news that many parts of the house had been upgraded/built/remodeled.

The kitchen was beautiful with new granite counters, fully supplied with cooking ware, and a very handy automatic/touch-free sink. The new hardwood floors were a nice finishing touch to the renovations on the ground level. We were also pleasantly to hear and enjoy a brand new room built especially for the hot tub with an attached bathroom. The hot tub is surrounded by two large windows, which was perfect for enjoying the winter scenery by the lake while staying warm.

The house was very clean and comfortable during our stay. Carole was very responsive any time we had questions and very accommodating to our needs. We really enjoyed our stay here and would love to come back in the summer to truly take advantage of the expansive deck space, grills, and lake front access.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent home with wonderful amenities

  • 5 of 5

Had an absolute blast with friends and family. Made wonderful memories, fishing, sitting by the fire lakeside and enjoying the outdoors. The house is very homey and has all the needed amenities. Can't wait to come back

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location but not as advertised

  • 2 of 5


I gave this rental 2 Stars, one for the lakefront location and one for the game room in the garage. The lake front area is fabulous. There are lots of chairs, a swing and fire pit. The dock, bulkhead and sandy beach areas were our favorites. The game room was our grandson's " go to" space to play. This was a definite plus during our stay.

Owner called maybe 2 months before our stay to say the hot tub and upstairs outside deck would be unusable. Apparently an inspector deemed both areas unsafe. Owner said she would refund $200 for the inconvenience. We were very disappointed not to have these advertised amenities and were unable to book another home due to the close timing of our trip.

The house is just adequate. The living room seats 6 people on two futon sofas. That's it. No other upholstered seating available. We pulled several dining chairs in but they weren't comfortable for television watching.

House is advertised as 6 bedrooms: NOT. There are 4 true bedrooms. The other 2 sleeping spaces are a cement-floored basement area and a porch. There are no closets in the basement, just one cheap, small, plastic clothing rack.

The futon beds were very uncomfortable; the owner has "doubled up" on mattresses but that does nothing for comfort and made sheets hard to stay in place.

The basement area was damp and serviced by a dehumidifier which constantly ran and made considerable noise and heat.

One major safety concern was large television sets perched on dressers without anchors to hold them in place. Anyone traveling with children or the elderly should avoid this rental as the television sets sit precariously on dressers. One bump or pull and the tv could come crashing down.

Another safety alert in downstairs bathroom. You must step up on a platform step and then step up and over the shower frame. The other two bathrooms are nice and up to date.

We did enjoy family meals all together in the upstairs enclosed dining area. With seating for 14 comfortably out there we just couldn't figure out why the living room only seats 6!

We enjoyed the amenities at the Hideout and will be back for vacation next summer only not at this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry. We always work at improving our house. We built 2 rooms for better view of the lake. (One of them being the one that sits at least 14 people.) We are building a 3rd room for the hot tub, and are also upgrading the living room and kitchen. We take your suggestions or concerns seriously. We will continue to do all we can to make everyone's rental a positive and safe experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Roller Blading, Ice-Skating




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $245
Hideout Registration $100
Cleaning $150
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 9.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties