Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Furnished Lake Front 3 Level House at 'the Hideout'

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms (sleeps 10-12), 4 baths, private beach, game room

House with its own PRIVATE BEACH, DOCK, FIRE PIT on the beach, GAME ROOM, and BASKETBALL court in parking lot. ENJOY the VIEW of the LAKE, and the SUNRISE, from the beach or one of the decks.

By the way, sorry about not renting lately. The renovations we had been contemplating in the spring are almost all complete. We hope ...to be able to start rentals again by December 16, (2017). We now have an additional room, an additional bathroom, and 2 new decks. The top deck is about 30 feet long and about half of it has a glass roof. This means that you can be outside under the rain and grill.

This house is in the Hideout, a 4 star gated community. They offer activities for adults, teens, and toddlers. During the summer they have swimming and tennis lessons, day camps, and sports camps available.

Our listed weekend or weekly prices are for 10 PEOPLE, including infants. An additional $25 per person, per night is to be paid to have up to 12 people, even if those additional 2 people are infants.

Therefore, the MAXIMUM number of people who can be in the house or on the premises during a rental period is 12.

The house has AIR CONDITIONING IN EVERY ROOM, (including the game room), and has 2 wood burning FIREPLACES.

Check-in is at 3:PM, and CHECK-OUT is at 11:AM.

The community has 2 beaches, one swimming pool for adults, one for children, fishing, skiing on the premises, etc. Keep in mind that SWIMMING IS AT YOUR OWN RISK, whether in the lake, or in the pools. (Swimming pools are available for use from Memorial day through Labor day.)

You can RENT A BOAT about a minute away from the main pool.

The house offers FREE WIRELESS INTERNET access.

Special Property Features:

1. GAME ROOM. A 23 x 23 foot garage turned into a game room. It's carpeted, heated, has AIR CONDITIONING, ceiling fans, TV, cable, DVD player, full size PING PONG and POOL tables, HOCKEY table, plus bowling and other children games. The game room also has a sofa, at least 12 chairs, and tables. This game room is detached from the house, permitting all night playing without disturbing anyone in the house. - The game room has a 10.5 cu. ft. refrigerator.

2. PRIVATE BEACH. There is a private sandy beach on the property with its own DOCK, a FIRE PIT, and an adult 2-3 sitter WOODEN SWING. Swimming is allowed in the lake, as well as fishing. Keep in mind that swimming in the lake, or pools is at your own risk. Diving is not allowed. Any fish you catch, you must release back in the lake (or you get a fine). Ask the Hideout about the required permit for fishing, or for boats. - A pole light on the beach permits its use at night. Please do not leave children alone on the dock, or on the beach. Even if they are with you, ensure that children, or anyone who does not know how to swim, has a life vest on. This floating dock shakes, (due to the motion of the water). The dock extends 16 feet into the water.

HOUSE LAYOUT: Top level has 2 bedrooms with A/C, queen bed in one room, & a bunk bed with a full size bed. A bathroom is in the center of these 2 rooms.

Main floor has a master bedroom with a king size bed and A/C, a bathroom, kitchen, dining room, living room with A/C, and one wood burning fire place. An additional dining room with large windows facing the lake, allows full view of the lake, and also allows 12 people to eat together.

Third level (basement) has a 4th bedroom with a queen size bed, A/C, TV, and a DVD player. In addition, the third level has a family room with a futon with a full size bed. Next to that futon is a twin day bed. This family room/5th bedroom also has a bar, TV, DVD player, a bathroom, and a laundry room with a washer and dryer.

As one exits the family room through the sliding glass doors, there is a sun room turned into a 6th bedroom with a futon with a full size bed. This 6th bedroom has a TV, DVD player, and A/C. That room has 3 large uncovered windows that face the lake.

(The new room built mainly for the hot tub, has the fourth and new bathroom. We will let you know when all renovations are completed and the hot tub is hooked up, and available for use.)

We provide pillows and blankets, please bring your own sheets, towels and pillow cases.

LAKE WALLENPAUPACK is about 15... minutes from the house, and provides water activities and waterfront restaurants. For skiing, SNOW and ELK mountain are about 25 minutes away, CAMELBACK mountain is about 40-45 minutes away.

NO PETS ALLOWED. (The Hideout issues fines for any pet seen in the community without being registered at the Hideout.)

Keep in mind that besides our rental fee, the Hideout charges a registration fee of $100 for up to 3 nights. (We do not charge you the $125 for 4 to 7 nights' rental that they charge. We charge $100 for all length of stays.)

We charge $150 for cleaning. ( Cleaning crews have to clean 3 levels, and the game room.)

There is a $265 SECURITY DEPOSIT required, IN ADDITION TO the required $79 RENTER'S INSURANCE, that's offered by HOMEAWAY/VRBO. The reason for the security deposit is because your renter's insurance will not pay for every charge you cause. For example, if anyone in your party gets a speeding ticket, a littering ticket, etc at the Hideout, your renter's insurance will not pay for it. (Inside the Hideout, this gated community, the speed limit is 15 to 25 mph.) Therefore, if someone in your party gets a speeding ticket, or any other ticket at the Hideout, your security deposit will be used to pay for that ticket. The security deposit will also be used to cover anything else the renter's insurance will not pay for.

The Hideout charges a late fee of $40 if given less than 2 working days to process your registration paperwork.

Pennsylvania charges a 6% state sales tax for short term rentals, meaning rentals less than 30 days, and a 3% rental tax for Wayne County. (That's why we charge you those taxes.)

Renters cannot be substituted, and take the place of another in the middle of a rental. Renters can leave anytime, but others cannot come in to take their place.

We request a list of the full name of everyone staying at the house, including infants. Copy of a picture ID of the main renter is required.

KEEP IN MIND THAT PRICES ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE ESPECIALLY AROUND HOLIDAYS.

MAXIMUM 5 CARS are allowed during any rental period.

A MINIMUM 3 NIGHTS rental is required ON HOLIDAYS. Year round at least 2 nights' rental is required. Summer weekly rentals start on .June 22, 2018.

NEW YEARS EVE requires 3 nights' rental. Any of the 3 nights including New Year's Eve is at $500.00 per night, for a total of $1500 for those 3 nights for 10 people.

Summer WEEKLY RENTALS refer to arrival Friday, to departure the following Friday.

RENTERS - Main renter must be at least 27 years old, have photo ID with age available for us, and to show the Hideout. Main renter must reside with the group during the entire rental. All renters' full names must be provided. WHEN IN DOUBT about age, available dates, etc. PLEASE CONTACT US by E-mail or phone.

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

A couple of years ago I had the opportunity to stay at this property. When I returned, I was impressed with the 2 rooms upgrade that enable one to have a better view of the lake while inside. The weekend we arrived the carpeting downstairs had been changed, and the decks were just painted. We totally enjoyed our stay as we grilled part of the day, roasted marshmallows and partied at night! This beautiful lake is really the icing on the cake, and makes it such a memorable experience. I recommend this house to anyone who appreciates the calm that a lake can trigger in one.
Aug 2014
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Lake Ariel House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 27
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom (Upper Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Upper Level
    Bathroom (Man Level) - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Level
    Bathroom (Lower Level) - toilet , shower , Lower Level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Upper Level w/ Ceiling Fan & A/C
    Guest Bedroom - 1 queen , Lower Level
    Master Bedroom - 1 king , Main Level
    Guest Bedroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Lower Level, one futon bunkbed with a full-size matress
    Guest Bedroom - 1 bunk bed , Upper Level (Bunk Bed) with full-size mattress
    Guest Bedroom - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed , Lower Level
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
OWN PRIVATE BEACH

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Furnished Lake Front 3 Level House at 'the Hideout'
average rating of 4.605263 based on 40 reviews
5

Excellent home with wonderful amenities

  • 5 of 5

Had an absolute blast with friends and family. Made wonderful memories, fishing, sitting by the fire lakeside and enjoying the outdoors. The house is very homey and has all the needed amenities. Can't wait to come back

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Smithsburg,Maryland
2

Great location but not as advertised

  • 2 of 5

Potential renters beware: HOT TUB and UPSTAIRS OUTSIDE DINING DECK CANNOT BE USED. PICTURES STILL SHOW IN HOUSE DESCRIPTION.

I gave this rental 2 Stars, one for the lakefront location and one for the game room in the garage. The lake front area is fabulous. There are lots of chairs, a swing and fire pit. The dock, bulkhead and sandy beach areas were our favorites. The game room was our grandson's " go to" space to play. This was a definite plus during our stay.

Owner called maybe 2 months before our stay to say the hot tub and upstairs outside deck would be unusable. Apparently an inspector deemed both areas unsafe. Owner said she would refund $200 for the inconvenience. We were very disappointed not to have these advertised amenities and were unable to book another home due to the close timing of our trip.

The house is just adequate. The living room seats 6 people on two futon sofas. That's it. No other upholstered seating available. We pulled several dining chairs in but they weren't comfortable for television watching.

House is advertised as 6 bedrooms: NOT. There are 4 true bedrooms. The other 2 sleeping spaces are a cement-floored basement area and a porch. There are no closets in the basement, just one cheap, small, plastic clothing rack.

The futon beds were very uncomfortable; the owner has "doubled up" on mattresses but that does nothing for comfort and made sheets hard to stay in place.

The basement area was damp and serviced by a dehumidifier which constantly ran and made considerable noise and heat.

One major safety concern was large television sets perched on dressers without anchors to hold them in place. Anyone traveling with children or the elderly should avoid this rental as the television sets sit precariously on dressers. One bump or pull and the tv could come crashing down.

Another safety alert in downstairs bathroom. You must step up on a platform step and then step up and over the shower frame. The other two bathrooms are nice and up to date.

We did enjoy family meals all together in the upstairs enclosed dining area. With seating for 14 comfortably out there we just couldn't figure out why the living room only seats 6!

We enjoyed the amenities at the Hideout and will be back for vacation next summer only not at this home.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So sorry. We always work at improving our house. We built 2 rooms for better view of the lake. (One of them being the one that sits at least 14 people.) We are building a 3rd room for the hot tub, and are also upgrading the living room and kitchen. We take your suggestions or concerns seriously. We will continue to do all we can to make everyone's rental a positive and safe experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

terrici week at the lake

  • 4 of 5

Thank you Carole we enjoyed our week !

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great home!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful house, loved the beach!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Trumbull, CT, USA
5

A Perfect Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Let me begin by saying that this property was absolutely perfect for our family. We were six adults (grandparents, and two sets of parents) and five children ages 7 and younger. The house was great - plenty of bedrooms and beds for everyone. The gathering spaces were terrific and comfortable. The separate game room was well outfitted and newly air conditioned . The best part, for us, was the lake and it's easy access. The private sandy beach was a huge hit, especially with the kids. Access to the water was especially nice as it was three steps that even the littlest ones could maneuver. The property owner, Carole, was attentive and helpful and even called to tell us about the community fire works! The Hideout community is a terrific setting - pools, beaches, golf, etc. I would absolutely recommend this house! My family and I had a terrific vacation!!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best time away a place I would book again and again

  • 5 of 5

I love the house beautiful house and size great view of the lake and beach and game room was great to would definitely book it again and if I could give it 10 stars I would

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Roller Blading, Ice-Skating

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Hideout Registration $100
Security deposit $265
Cleaning $150
Tax Rate 9.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.