Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Reunion Retreat and Playhouse

Sleeps46
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms6
Space 9,140 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 9 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 6 Baths, (Sleeps 33-46)

HOLY SMOKES... Don't miss the chance to stay in the coolest place in Bear Lake. This place is simply awesome. You and your family will love it.

Call now to reserve! 801-918-4357

This house was built with kids' dreams in mind!

This 9140 square foot house has it all! A huge kitchen, two huge family rooms, Indoor playground, spiral slides by stairs for the kids, three huge decks with panoramic views of the lake.

Indoor Playground:

* Indoor Buried Trampoline

* Indoor Swing Set, Slide, Playhouse

* Indoor Basketball Court

* Indoor Putting Green

Spiral Slides next to stairs for all floors

Kids' perch above slide on top floor

Huge Deck with Gas barbecue

6 car garage

Big screen TV's

Home Theater (With Stadium Seating)

X-boxes linked for multi-player games

Movie selections available

Pool Table

Ping Pong

Air hockey

Satellite TV/DVR (HBO, Showtime, Starz, Encore, Cinemax, Etc.)

Sleeping Arrangements: City Permit is 46 (not everyone would have a bed)

Top Level: 2 Bedrooms

Bedroom 1:

King Bed - 2 Bunks (full on bottom, twin on top)

Bedroom 2:

1 Queen

Family Room:

Several couches, Pull outs

Mid Level:

Bedroom 3:

Queen - Toddler bed

Bedroom 4:

Queen

Bedroom 5:

2 Bunks (twin over twin)

Bedroom 6:

Queen

Family Room:

2 sleeper sofas

Basement Level:

Bedroom 7:

2 bunks (twin over twin)

Bedroom 8:

Queen

Bedroom 9:

Queen - Bunk (twin over twin)

Activities and attractions in Bear Lake, Utah - Everything you can think of :)

2 Golf Courses, Bicycling, Boating, four wheeling, hiking, skiing, snowmobiling, Cave Tours, Hunting, Fishing, Restaurants, Gift Shops

If you have a large group, don't rent two or three places, here is the answer.

Is it hard to keep the kids happy and contained? The indoor amenities we have will make their vacation fun and memorable.

The fun never stops, but you can, as the entire playground is on its own floor, and has observation

windows to supervise the kids. You owe it to yourself and your group to never have to look to find a

place large enough to comfortably accommodate you ever again. We hope you enjoy your stay with us.

Keywords: House, Mansion, Lodge, villa, playground, reunion, family reunion, retreat

More Details

Owner
Tyson
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 21, 2018

About Tyson

We believe that sharing awesome experiences makes the world an amazing place!

Tyson purchased this house in 2009

Why Tyson chose Garden City

I chose to build this home because I have a large and close extended family and a great deal of friends that that all travel together. We absolutely love the Bear Lake area, and our issue was that there was nothing that existed that would comfortably house all of us, allow us to have entertainment, have room to cook a meal, and keep the kids occupied and happy. This house does it all. The indoor playground is absolutely great, because it keeps the kids happy and occupied, especially when we go up in the winter for skiing, and snowmobiling. The kids are able to enjoy things they would normally do outside, all inside the house. I also have the middle floor of the house with six observation windows and a railing so the adults have their space, but have a good idea of what the kids are up to.

What makes this house unique

Benefits you will enjoy while staying here is simply that a large family can be comfortable, have a great time, and relax, knowing the kids have tons of things to do, and they are safely within the walls of the house.

Amenities

Garden City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 9140 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 46
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 28 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 46
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (6), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (9), Child Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (5), Bunk Beds (9)
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
This home is awesome. We also take great pride in making this such an incredible vacation destination, so, if you have any suggestions, please share them with us.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
25% Complete
5% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
Reunion Retreat and Playhouse
average rating of 4.3142858 based on 35 reviews
3

Lots of room to run around

  • 3 of 5

The good: Overall, our large extended family (13 adults and 12 young children) enjoyed our stay at "The Playhouse." The spacious layout allowed room for everyone to have private sleeping quarters with plenty of mingling space in the daytime. Our young children (the oldest was 6), especially enjoyed the basement floor playground. The unit is well stocked and included a Christmas tree for our celebrations. The view is fabulous - the room temperatures were adjustable and comfortable. The location in Garden City is easily accessible - even in the winter.

The not-so-good: The Playhouse is showing its age. Aside from litter and candy in the unvacuumed carpet, we found one of the microwaves was broken, one washing machine caused some flooding, and the A/V equipment in the theater room was in disarray, missing batteries in the controllers and lacking an HDMI cord. One TV didn't work at all. Neither did the gas fireplace in the living room. We were also put off by the stiff feeling of the carpeting - the owner told us he recently had it cleaned, so perhaps it was residue in the carpets? If you do notice problems, be sure to contact the owner during your stay; he was not willing to adjust the cost after our stay.

We really wanted to give it a full 3.5 stars, but the system didn't allow that.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: One thing in particular on this review is... ABSOLUTELY call me while you're there if you have any issues. Calling weeks after your stay and requesting a large refund, based on these issues, is something that is challenging for me to agree to accommodate. That said, I really appreciate any feedback when things need to be repaired, or anything could be improved. * Apparently there were a few candy wrappers in the theater room. There were also a few under the couch. Thank you for telling me, I have notified the cleaning staff about being more thorough. One of my policies with the cleaners is that they send me photos of the house before and after each clean. The after photos looked really good, and if it was a big deal, I could have sent the cleaners back in for any missed details. * "Un-Vacuumed carpet" is a not what the photos reflected. I would have been happy to send the cleaners back in to correct any mistake. As a result of your feedback, I bought and delivered 3 brand new vacuums to make sure that our vacuuming quality is excellent. Thank you for the feedback, and hopefully that remedies any future challenge. * One of the microwaves was broken, thank you for telling me that. Luckily I have 2 of everything in the kitchen in order to have a redundancy of available equipment so that there isn't an undue burden for our customers if something breaks. I do appreciate the feedback. Two new, over the range microwaves, have been delivered to the house for maintenance to install. * One of the TVs in the bedroom didn't work. Thank you for notifying me. It is an older TV, the bulb went out, we keep bulbs on site, it could have been fixed by maintenance had I known. That said, we have discarded that TV and had a 4K TV delivered. * Washer flooded? I sent an appliance repairman to investigate the washer you mentioned. It should not be an issue moving forward, and we still have 5 sets of washers and and dryers available. * I was unaware of a missing HDMI cord. We would have been happy to have maintenance address that. * The gas fireplaces work, but the gas line is turned off. We would have been happy to have maintenance turn the fireplace on. We intentionally don't leave pilot lights on due to safety reasons. * I know carpet cleaning can make the carpet fibers feel a bit stiff after the cleaning. I apologize. * The discount on a future stay with us is still a valid offer. We do appreciate your business and feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Tha play house met every ones needs.

  • 5 of 5

Every one was so happy to be able to stay together, play together, eat together and sleep in our own beds. We enjoyed a day on the lake and a day in the caves and hiking. Being there Raspberry days made it a little extra hectic with so many people down town, but this was our first time and we were glad to be there. Thank you Tyson for calling and helping us. The boys were disappointed the x-box wouldn't work for them but the basketball made up for it.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

It was wonderful. There were a few problems with appliances but it did not dampen the fun we had! Hope to do it again!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We will return

  • 5 of 5

This was one of the very best places my family has ever stayed. Comments: It was nice to have many, many soft clean towels. There were plenty of dishes, glasses, cups and silverware for everyone. Plenty of room for food preparation, a huge refrigerator and freezer, two sinks in two different locations in the kitchen, and lots of cupboard space. Dining area was very large, fed a lot of people and was easy to clean up. Two dishwashers. There were many washers/dryers to wash clothes for little ones. Kids had a wonderful time in the indoor playroom with a trampoline and playhouse, not to mention the two slides that went from floor to floor. Lots of toys and a basketball court. Two large family rooms to gather and talk. A theater room that doubled as a performance center for the kids talent show. Didn't have to worry about kids because they were inside and didn't have to go out in the cold weather. A great sledding hill was just a few miles up the road. The view of the lake from the front window of the cabin was spectacular.

Tyson contacted me on the first day of our stay to see if we needed maintenance to come by to fix anything. What more could one ask.

We had a wonderful time and will probably return again soon.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for writing such a kind review. It seems that when people have an awesome experience, they don't even think to write a review (I know I personally don't think of it very often). I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. You guys were awesome, and it warms my heart to know you and your family had such a wonderful time. Using the theater room as a talent show stage is an AWESOME idea. I am going to borrow that one buddy. My daughter will love that idea, she always wants to perform in one way or another. ♡ To you and your family. I gladly welcome you back any time. It was a pleasure. I value and appreciate your business. Thanks, Tyson
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
San Clemente, Ca. So. California... Orange County
5

Family Reunion

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this exceptional mansion for a family reunion with members ranging in age from 4 years old to 85 years old. Our grandparents had various physical challenges and the 12 kids were ages 4-13. We loved the fact the kids had so much fun together, we were able to have quality adult time visiting. We really didn't venture outside much as we we were all enjoying ourselves within the house and all there was to do!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Beautiful Home

  • 4 of 5

This was a very lovely home. All 16 kids had such a blast in this home. Kitchen was amazing. We had 28 people with enough beds and bathrooms. Would definitely rent this property again. Tyson was very helpful as well!

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. I am glad you had a great trip. I appreciate you choosing our home for your trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
125 Miles
SLC Salt Lake International
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Sweet Water
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Bear Lake Pizza
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Beaver Mountain
Car: recommended

There are some fun places that are terrific:

Pickleville Playhouse has a fun atmosphere and great comedic plays.

Minitonka cave is just over the Idaho border about 15 minutes to the north. It is an amazing cave to see.

There are 2 golf courses. Bear Lake West to the north, and Sweetwater to the south.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $500 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.55%

Here are some important things to know:
* Bookings need to be back to back or to leave 3 nights between bookings
* No Minimum Night Stay
* No pets
* No Smoking

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties