Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Romantic Over Water Cottage W/ Screened in Porch.

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Screened in Porch, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 2-4)

Property Name - Bayside Cottage

A romantic get away is waiting for you on the waters edge. Come and enjoy this unique 1 bedroom that is perfect for couples or a small family. The cottage is located down on the edge of the lake and you will need to walk down the stairs to get there. It is not too bad, but if you have trouble managing stairs, you may want to rethink this location. Once your there you can tuck your self into your cozy double bed while the kids are sleeping on the pull out sofa in the living room. The beautifully appointed deck over hangs the water and is the perfect spot to enjoy your morning coffee or relax in the evening while the sun goes down. Fish from the deck or just watch the bobbers bounce from the sofa and then just reel them in! You will enjoy the BBQ grill that sits near by and can cook that meal right there. If you get too hot, just wade into the water on the stone steps that lead you right into the lake.

The new screened in porch outfitted with a wood burning fireplace and 50' monitor will provide a private place for you or the kids to watch that football game. The porch has its own separate entrance and is not connected to the doorway of the main little cottage, but is only two steps away. Enjoy the outdoor speakers as they play from your iPod over the lake while you dance under the stars. Wash the lake away in the Japanese shower room before settling down for dinner. It is all there and a perfect romantic spot right on the water.

If you ever decide to leave, there is always historic Hot Springs with the bathhouses, spas and live music at the Arlington Hotel downtown. The casino is open year round and the horse racing season starts in January. There are rivers all around and canoe rental trips are always a family favorite. Party barges can be rented on the lake and there are many float up restaurants that are wonderful.

For larger groups we have a larger property available at VRBO #312624.

Keywords: Cottage, house, guest house, lakefront, waters edge, romantic

More Details

Owner
Cheryl Bryson
Member since: 2010
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2018

Amenities

Hot Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Bath towels provided
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Double size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), all linens provided
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
security system

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)

61% Complete
22% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
4% Complete
Romantic Over Water Cottage W/ Screened in Porch.
average rating of 4.2985077 based on 67 reviews
5

It was everything we expected! Wonderful!

  • 5 of 5

My 92 y/o mom and my sister stayed at the cottage for our family 7/4 reunion and the family swam and would come out and chat and then fish and when we did the fireworks, she enjoyed being right in the middle of everything. The small A/C in kitchen was having trouble and the property manager was right on it and replaced the unit! Thanks so much for letting us rent this sweet cottage! Barb and Dave Oberste 7/4/18

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved being right on the water

  • 5 of 5

.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Filthy!!!

  • 1 of 5

Absolutely not worth the money! Don’t listen to others comments specially about the stairs, they are awful going up and down getting your luggage. Lack Of cleanliness, very dusty specially the blinds, dead bugs in window seals, white dog hair all over the couch and floor. I had to mop up dried dog Pee in the floor where you could clearly see paw prints coming out of the puddle. I contacted the owner 1st day and she said “the last renters had a dog two weeks ago” but yet there was still Pee in the floor 2 weeks later. The bottom of the walk-in shower had nasty clumps of dirt and hair at the bottom. We stayed there for 4 days with a family of four and was only provided with 4 towels, they were mildewed and stunk so bad we had to go to Walmart and buy our own. There was a gap under the front door from the outside where I placed a towel so bugs, spiders or snakes couldn’t get in. Also there were large holes in the wall in the bedroom. At night we could not enjoy the porch because the deck was infested with spiders. This is NOT a kid friendly place. I had my 1 and 5 year old and they kept falling off the porch steps also house is not baby proof. I had to move everything in his reach on top of tv. TV and VCR in living room does not work. First day on arrival I called the owner to complain about the filth asked for a refund she refused at first because she said she “don’t give refunds due to it being high season”. Then called the next day about the dog Pee she said “it’s now a finger-pointing game” then offered my refund which half was given. I will NOT be returning!!!! DO NOT recommend to anyone, this place was a joke, waste of money and very poor management. I will say one good thing about the place and it was how comfy the bed was. But there was no extra blankets or pillows for the futon in the living room for my kids, luckily I brought extra but honestly after seeing how dirty the house was we were worried about bedbugs. Vacations are to relax and Not have to worry about these things. I have pictures showing how filthy this place was wish I could upload.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that there were some issues during your stay. We tried to listen to your concerns, but realized that we were not going to be able to please you no matter what we offered. We have decided to pull the trigger this year on removing the pop corn ceiling texture and do some additional upgrades. We take our guests satisfaction very seriously and I can assure you that there was no pee left on the floor at the cottage. We have since hired a new property manager and cleaning staff. We are striving to never have a customer leave a poor review again, but we also realize that you can never please everyone all the time. It is a delicate balancing act.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good bang for your buck

  • 4 of 5

Good price nice location.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great little get away

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful setting on the lake and still close to down town. Very peaceful and quiet! Bed is super comfy and kitchen is stocked with cooking supplies as well as coffee and some condiments. There's fishing gear available in the porch. It rained a couple of the days I was there which was nice. The owner is super nice and easy to reach. On the down side, the satellite only worked intermittently and I couldn't get the DVR to work at all. Not a big deal except when it was raining and I was stuck inside. There truly are 50 steps so plan your packing accordingly if this bothers you lugging stuff back up. I believe the property manager can get groceries for you if needed before you arrive. Also, not a biggie, but something to keep in mind.... The oven knobs are worn enough that you can't really see the numbers. I was pretty sure I had it on 400 degrees one night but apparently I was wrong as I burned my pizza. Overall a cozy little place to stay and pretty easy to get to. Will definitely go back again!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Little Things Add Up

  • 2 of 5

First impression was not good. Cigarette butts left in planters outside, inside of refrigerator had dog hairs in it, freezer needs to be wiped out, microwave had not been wiped down on outside (could see dried food around controls and door), inside of microwave had crumbs and dried food, the soap dispensers for both bathroom sinks were only a quarter full, there was not soap or shower gel at all for either shower, no wash cloths at all for bathrooms, no firewood at all (I had read reviews and went to the upper house and got some each night), no blankets for lounging (only for bed), and no hair dryer at a lake cottage. Two bowls had standing oil in them, but had been put away as clean. Most of this I would attribute to housekeeping/property management. Lack of attention to detail and cleanliness was a turnoff. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay for 3 nights with our 11-year-old son and had a good time fishing, exploring, and relaxing.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $50

Thanksgiving week and Christmas Week are $175.00 a night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties