Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Ocean View, 400 Yards from Beach! Wi Fi

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Charming Ocean view home only 400 yards from the beach! Only 2 Miles North of Todos Santos in Las Tunas, one of the most desirable parts of Todos Santos. A quiet, private, relaxing setting for the ones who want to get away without being completely isolated.

The house is situated on a hill overlooking the ocean and mountains. It is surrounded by a lush garden that provides cool shade during the summer months. I have sat on the porch and watched over 20 varieties of birds including many different types of hummingbirds (see facebook page). The Ejido, which is a fresh water channel of spring water coming from the mountains, runs right through the property providing water for this little oasis. The garden and patio area is a gated, private, warm and cozy setting. This makes it a perfect area to barbecue and relax in. There is also a charming outdoor shower with views of the ocean and mountains. A staircase leads to the top of the house with a full deck and sweeping 360 degree views. Recently we added a shaded area to hang in hammocks and lawn chairs for tanning in the private setting. We also have added optional Air Conditioning in both bedroom for our summer visitors wanting a break from the heat.

The kitchen is fully equipped, I live here part time and enjoy the amenities because I like to cook. Our house manager will provide the service of going grocery shopping for guests who want to find food in the refrigerator at their arrival, just give us a grocery list. In the bedrooms all the linens are provided. There are two main bedrooms with a king bed, and a queen, we also have the option of separating the king into two twins for families with kids or guest who don't like to get too cozy :) The master bedroom has private bathroom and the second bedroom uses an other bathroom.

The house is in a very safe neighborhood, which was an important factor for me as a professional photographer who has an extended amount of valuable gear. I feel assured and safe enough to leave my truck open with surfboards and gear in it while it is outside of the house. For the ones with boats or RVs there is a large gated area to keep everything contained in the property.

This is a great place to relax. The setting is beautiful and only 2 miles away from Todos Santos with all the amenities and the activities the town has to offer. A well stocked grocery store is a mile away and the beach is short walk down the hill. For surfers, La Pastora surf break is 2 miles north of the house and it can be seen from the roof top. This is my early morning ritual with a cup of coffee at hand. Always want to check the surf before starting the day.

Keywords: Surfing, fishing, beach, Ocean view, Todos Santos vacation, Baja, Mexico Vacations, casita, ocean rental

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About The Owner

I am Italian (born and raised) and work as a commercial/editorial photographer (if interested google Paolo Marchesi) I have been splitting my life between Montana and Baja. I love the outdoors and both locations allow me to experience nature at its best.

The Owner purchased this house in 2008

Why The Owner chose Todos Santos

I fell in love with Baja many years ago when I moved to the states from Italy. I did a 500 miles mountain bike trip off road from the Sea of Cortez to the mountains around Loreto. Many miles of dirt and dust that introduced me to the beauty of Baja. 3 years ago, tired of the long Montana winters I decided it was time to buy a house in Baja and spend more time surfing. My most recent passion. Todos Santos is a great location as it has all the amenities but still gives you access to remote parts of Baja.

What makes this house unique

I fell in love with the house as soon as I saw it. It's charming and warm situated in such a nice location. Being able to see La Pastora surf break is a plus. The garden is to die for. Baja can be so dry and harsh and having such a lush garden is a treat. I love watching all the varieties of birds, I can sit on the porch for hours.

I can walk Tobi (my trusty German Short Haired pointer) down to the beach and I can hear the Ocean while I sleep. What else could I ask for?


Todos Santos House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1). Air conditioning available in both bedrooms $30 a day fee for AC.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair accessible
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
9% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Ocean View, 400 Yards from Beach! Wi Fi
average rating of 4.769231 based on 65 reviews

Great place, great location, great views!!!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay at casa las olas! The place was really clean and very pretty. The views from the house are really beautiful! And the garden surrounding the house is very nice. Great location close to todos santos and the beach. The house was very spacious! We had a great time there I definitely recommend staying there.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review Shanti! Was great meeting you guys. Glad you enjoyed the Casita!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful spot!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for winter break and had a wonderful time. If you like bird watching there is plenty right on the property. Bring binoculars!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

To many roaches and street traffic for the price.

  • 2 of 5

Several days before travel, we had to ask about instructions to, and into, the property. Almost as an afterthought 2 pdfs were emailed with lockbox instructions, directions...we eventually found the property upon arrival to discover a locked metal gate to get into the lot that was not mentioned. Luckily the combination was the same as the door combo. Unfortunately in the dark one of us got a puncture wound getting it open. It took awhile to get into the house to discover several cockroaches that needed to be killed. Not a first good impression overall . After some research we discovered there were proactive organic measures that could be taken, such as bay leaves in entryways, but the instructions were that cockroaches were commonplace and we should spray insecticide when we saw them. In one week we manually killed six and saw many more in each room. There was some ant spray that we saw under the kitchen sink but we did not use. The power went out for many hours the first two days. There was one flashlight that we found with no good batteries; we used our cell phone to find candles and had to configure candles holders. The instructions said that there was a cell phone provided to contact the manager but we could not find one. We contacted the owner and he said the cell phone was discontinued and he forgot to change the instructions. We went up to the roof patio; we saw there was a hammock but it was so old that it fell apart when we tried to put it up, so we just put it away again in the box it was in. The view of the sunset was obscured by the buildings in the way anyway, deep sigh. Water for showers was lukewarm at best. This property was overpriced for the disappointment. We were never sure if the instructions were accurate or not. No attention to detail here. Would not come back.

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Basia, We work hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay at Casa Las Olas. I am sorry is not what you expected. Roaches is a delicate issue. We make sure we don't over fumigate not to intoxicate our guests but we also want to make sure they don't take over. It's a fine balance. Yes, in the instruction we mention that finding the occasional roach is part of being in Mexico but we also say that finding more than a few is not normal and to let us know so we can remedy. We didn't get any complains from any guests. After receiving your review, I contacted the guests who stayed right after you asking about it and they said they found none during their stay. As far as the afterthought instructions pdf I sent you I spent three years putting it together. To make sure I had a package that gives all the information necessary for our guests to find the house, check in, have all the passwords and codes necessary to get in. We give a map with written directions and street photos of every turn. So guest can have a visual of the streets they turn into. There is also a photo of the gate. We give advice on where to get cash, telephones and so forth. I also mention in the instructions that if you prefer having my house manager meet you at the house or in town we can arrange that. All this information (including the code for the gate) was in the many pages that this instruction package includes but it has to be read and it doesn't look like you did. The package was emailed to you right after you made the last payment but sometimes they get spammed. I sent it to you again within an hour of receiving your email stating you hadn't received it. As I mentioned to you we have discontinued the use of the MX cell phone because now US cell phones work better and are cheaper to use. My house manager offered to bring you one anyway. We didn't hear back from you so we assumed everything was ok. Had you communicated with us we could have amended your many issues. I also let you know that the electricity shortage was do to some work the city was doing in town, I am sorry about that. The traffic comes from the turtle sanctuary at the beach and people go see the turtle release in the evenings, especially during the big holidays. Yes, bummer. As far as the obstructed view of the sunset I don't really have a way to reply to that. You would be hard press finding a more private and better view in Todos Santos. That's really the best part of my casita. Best Paolo
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for us. Near surf, tranquilo. All you need

  • 5 of 5

House is situated in a great spot, nice views, quiet road. Thanks.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Santa Fe, NM

Loved this Todos Santos Gem!

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for our stay. We loved sitting on the roof top deck at night watching the shooting stars. We also walked to the beach every day and enjoyed the crashing waves and beautiful beaches. The house was well appointed and we didn't lack for a thing. Looking forward to staying there again!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved it.

  • 5 of 5

Casa Las Olas was a great place to spend our holiday in Todos Santos. House is clean and well kept. Owner and property manager are very responsive and helpful. The garden is beautiful and rooftop a real treat. Thank you for sharing this beautiful house with us.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $70
Damage Deposit $500

Air Conditioning optional at $30 a night. Recommended for the months of July, August, September.
Payments are made through HomeAway payment system. Safest way to book VRBO rentals which offers optional insurance. Through HomeAway you can choose to pay by Echeck if booking at least a week in advance at no charge (our prefered method) or by credit card with a 3% fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties