Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Casa Tres Monos- Stunning Garden/Beach Wildlife Viewing

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 7)

Spectacular Jungle Botanical Garden, within five minutes walk to Punta Uva beach. Casa Tres Monos (Three Monkey House) is located within the Gandoca-Manzanillo National Wildlife Refuge, and is ideal for viewing a vast array of wildlife such as monkeys, toucans, iguanas, turtles, frogs, sloths and giant blue butterflies from the comfort of your porch hammock.

Tres Monos is a simple yet comfortable two story home made almost entirely from beautiful gleaming red Níspero wood. It has two large covered viewing decks with plenty of comfortable chairs, lounges and hammocks to enjoy the brilliant garden and warm tropical air, fragrant with the natural perfume of Ylang Ylang trees and white ginger flowers.

The beds all have Orthopedic mattresses and are dressed in deliciously luxurious bamboo sheets and pillows, surrounded by good quality mosquito netting. Plenty of plush, Eco-friendly quick dry bath towels, as well as beach towels.

Full kitchen, with refrigerator, four burner gas stove and oven, glassware, dishware, cutlery, utensils, pot, pans etc. Fresh condiments and some pantry items also provided. Drinking water is delivered weekly.

There is a curiously well stocked grocery at the end of our road where you can get most (if not all) of your supplies, including vegies, fruit, fresh fish, organic fresh eggs and chicken, as well as soda, beer, wine or even rum. We are also close to some truly fantastic restaurants.

The property is nestled by 5000 square meter riverfront, and the garden has giant tropical trees (many fruit trees as well) and tons of brightly colored flowers, all lovingly landscaped for a maximum butterfly and bird-watching experience in mind. There is also a freshwater pond that is just jumping with daily frog and turtle activity that can be easily viewed from the deck.

Over 130 species birds have been counted on property to date; including three species of toucans, several jewel colored hummingbird species, parrots, giant black hawks, and very recently, the green macaw has been successfully reintroduced into the area.

You’ll have a lovely, short 5-8 minute walk or bike ride to one of the most beautiful beaches and pristine live coral reefs in the Caribbean. Perfect for snorkeling, diving, surfing and even horse back riding.

As a guests of Casa Tres Monos, you will find bikes, surfboards, boogie boards and kayaks on site to enjoy. In fact, you can kayak right to Punta Uva beach from the property!

We are close to National Park hiking trails and local guides are easy to book. Easy to use public transportation is just 200 meters from house.

Keywords: jungle lodge, eco lodge, beach house,

river view, bird watcher lodge, Caribbean vacation, sloths, monkeys, tropical wildlife viewing, Gandaco Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge, Punta Uva, Puerta Viejo, Cocles, Talamanca

More Details

Owner
Tracy Moseley
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
30%
Calendar last updated:
March 26, 2017

About Tracy Moseley

We are Tracy and David Moseley. We are American expats, who fell head over heels in love with Costa Rica and the amazing plants and animals that reside there. We are passionate about animals and the environment, and love to share our home with like minded people.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We spent Feb 2010 at Casa Tres Monos & it was beyond anything we could have imagined a dream vacation could be. Accomodations were clean and very comfortable. The gardens were beautiful & attracted every animal/insect/reptile possible. We learned so much by being there. We had no car so rode the bus, bicycled & walked everywhere. The Pulperia on the main road is stocked with everything you need. Everyone we met was so friendly & willing to help if needed. Everything we read before we left led us to believe we were going to paradise, & we did! Coming back to the States after 5 weeks in Costa Rica was a real downer. We will return again. Thanks, Ray & Ron, for sharing your wonder paradise with us.
Jan 2010
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Limón House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Noon / Check-out: 9:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Double Beds (3) 3 double beds with mosquito nets each in own private bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) 1 twin bed/ day bed available downstairs room
Entertainment:
  • Books
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Casa Tres Monos is set privately in an amazing tropical garden bordering a small river, within true tropical rain forest. Sit on the decks and watch and incredible diversity of monkeys (3 species), birds (over 120 species counted on the property, including 3 species of toucans, parrots, hummingbirds), amphibians( lively frog/lilly pond) though out the day and night. Beautiful tropical flower garden with many tropical fruit trees. Seasonal bananas and fruit available to the guests. Nature Lovers Only! An easy few minutes walk to the best beaches of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica. Good snorkeling, surfing, swimming and walking all close by! On site snorkeling masks/fins and boogie boards. Many restaurants within walking/bike riding distance. Grocery store just 200 meters from the house.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
Casa Tres Monos- Stunning Garden/Beach Wildlife Viewing
average rating of 4.285714 based on 12 reviews
Central Florida USA
5

Naturally nice

  • 5 of 5

Tres monos offers a short drive or walk to beaches...plus peace and great privacy. The grounds are phenomenonal. It is the.kind of place I like to rent. The owner was on hand to greet us when we arrived. Tres Monos is naturally nice with gardens, turtles in river, visiting monkeys, birds, etc.. Plan on renting bikes or kayaks if you have need them. Conserving water is appreciated. I enjoyed the large colorful bathhouse. And sitting in hammocks under ceiling fan.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed having you here Linda, and you were really amazing at water conservation, and keeping the house nice. You will always be welcome here at Tres Monos, Tracy and David
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Although the house is surrounded by a beautiful rainforest full of life, the house itself was very disappointing. To start with, the bathroom is separated from the house, which is very inconvenient. Second there were hardly any lights at all, especially upstairs and it was not very easy to move around once night fall. The kitchen was extremely poorly equipped. Only the stove was working. No microwave. it made for a very difficult time cooking. Also once every couple of day, the house ran out of water and the owner had to come fill the tanks back up. It was very inconvenient since we had to use water bottle to brush our teeth or cook, and could not wash dishes.

The property was somewhat clean, but the sheets had stains on them. Also there is no washer/dryer. The owner who lives the house next door offers cleaning service (which you have to pay) but my clothe were all wrinkled and one pants and a bra got ruined. I would rather be able to do my own laundry. The owners were gracious enough to help us find a person to set activities up for us, but you have to pay her a fee. They should provide brochures and ideas of things to do available in the house so people can book them directly. Also it was advertised that the property came with Kayaks and bicicles for people to use. However it is not true. You have to rent them at a local store. There is none on the property.

We did have a fantastic time in Costa Rica, but I would not rent this house again. We left the house clean and picked up, however we never received our deposit back. After emailing the owner several times about it, I received no explanations and no response. It was very disappointing because they seem like very nice people.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WOW! Number one, we don't charge a deposit, so there was none to give back. It should be noted, that had we (we didn't) taken a deposit, it would have been held by VRBO, and released back to them after a period of seven days after they left. Number two, it is advertised as a rustic. It was only after they left that we found out that upstairs lights had blown out. Both were new, so we did not expect it, Had they brought it up, we would have taken care of it immediately. We have rain water only here, the reason for this is because the municipal water system doesn't go further than Play Chiquita, in fact they have digging and piping this past year so that access to municipal water finally will come this far down the coast, and to Manzanillo. Also, for some strange reason, at this time, my responses to inquiries were not being received from me through VRBO,, sol people were not getting my responses to their queries, I lost three reservations due to that, so for that I am very sorry. As to the ruined bra and such, I am sorry for that, I wish you had said something at the time, but, I did two loads of laundry for free when you first got here (5 people mind you) most places charge EVERY time, and they charge twice what I charge. I have NEVER had anyone complain about the kitchen before, Mostly I hear how amazed they are at how well equipped the kitchen is, but you are right, we don't have a microwave in the jungle, we never will. We do have 2 fridges, toaster, coffee maker, oven, stove, coffee grinder, and a blender. People come here to see the wildlife and commune with nature in the jungle, you got to feed white faced monkeys and view sloths on site, sorry to disappoint you. P.S., thank you for sending the lovely pictures of the sloths, they are very nice.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

wildlife, comfort, adventure, hospitality

  • 5 of 5

Thank you, Tracy & Dave for the lovely impromptu stay at tres monos. The house is terrific, the wildlife viewing unparalleled. You went above & beyond at every juncture, even working us through a difficult to book excursion into the jungle. Our favorites - the luxurious beds, the snug dining area with fresh flowers, the night-time viewing of the colorful frogs, the daily visits by toucans and monkeys.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Planning with Tracy

  • 5 of 5

Though my travel plans changed and I will not be traveling to Casa Tres Monos, I wanted to compliment the owner, Tracy, for her very prompt and thorough responses to my many questions. She is very generous with information and her time. A most accommodating host! Thank you, Tracy.

(Disregard arrival date. We were planning a date in the future, which the system does not allow.)

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was my pleasure Amy, have wonderful time wherever you land.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
United States
5

What a great place

  • 5 of 5

Excellent hosts and a really great jungle house. Plenty of room with two balconies. Owners were very accommodating offering us rides to town and to some of the nearby great little restaurants. Very close to the beach and to Puerto Viejo nightlife. Would definitely return. Many thanks for a great vacation!!

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Wisconsin, USA
4

October 2011 Visit

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I stayed for a week at Casa Tres Monos. We saw plenty of the wildlife Costa Rica is famous for without having to leave the front porch. The house is private, yet close enough to walk to the local store, the beach, nice restaurants and a scuba shop. The plantlife is abundant on the grounds as well. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning to the area again.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1

Map

Zip lining, Wildlife viewing, kayaking, surfing, horse back riding, boogie boarding, snorkeling, fishing, diving

Photos

Rates & Availability

Limón House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$115
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 13.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties