Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Prime Rut! Now available! Nov 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th OPEN Call Today!

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3-Level House! 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Escape to your own luxury hideaway...everyone Loves The Sanctuary! Secluded roomy three-level house to spread out in - not just a cabin! Price includes up to 10 People!! Inexpensive--there are no extra charges for extra people. Call us and ask about our Discounted price, (Stay 2 week days and get the 3rd HALF-PRICE!)

With this private location, you can enjoy nature in luxury. Treat yourself to The Sanctuary of Adams County--just a short drive from Cincinnati, Columbus and Dayton. This is a 3-FLOOR, FULL-SIZED CUSTOM HOME situated on 8+ acres of total privacy. Explore the Serenity of Brush Creek Forest, from right off your porch. Located near Amish Country, Scenic Brush Creek Forest is just 60 feet off your front porch!! Watch for World Class Whitetail Deer!

With over 2800 sq. ft., The Sanctuary is your own private paradise, unlike any other! All for as low as $21 per person per day! Now that is cheap. NOTHING compares to "The Sanctuary" for price, location, and accommodations. Great for family gatherings. WE PROVIDE ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING you need, except for your food and drink--no need to pack paper towels, coffee, tea, spices, toilet paper, garbage bags, linens, soap, shampoo, body wash, etc.!

The main floor features a full kitchen, hardwood floors, a floor-to-ceiling stone fireplace and arched windows, and has a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV & DVD player. A private rear deck stretches the length of the home, overlooks the winding creek, and features both charcoal and gas grills. (Propane and Charcoal Provided! )

The loft, with its Amish-made king-sized bed, features its own full bathroom with Jacuzzi tub.

The lower level features two bedrooms (1 queen and 1 full) both with Custom Built Amish Log Beds, a full bathroom, washer and dryer, and lounge area with TV/DVD/Wii gaming system, a wide selection of books and board games, plus a remote controlled electric stove for chilly nights.

Sit around the awesome fire-pit in the woods and roast marshmallows for smores!

Bring the entire family or just a friend for your home-away-from-home vacation, or a private, romantic weekend escape! You can stay in touch with hi-speed internet/free Wi-fi/free long-distance telephone.

You'll feel hundreds of miles away but you're really only minutes away. Just a short drive leads you to Amish Country...Home of Buggies, Covered Bridges & Miller's Amish Market. Slow down and enjoy homemade doughnuts and mouth-watering turnovers, and other handmade sweet treats await you. Enjoy them there or bring some back with you, and re-connect with nature. Or, visit famous 3000+ yr old Serpent Mound or Ft. Hill Indian Earth Works, then head back to your home in the hardwoods and relax on the covered front porch. Welcome to the great outdoors! You are surrounded by the sounds of nature--what a breath of fresh air! Or simply stay in, light a fire, or turn on the central air, relax and do nothing! But don't forget fishing..the big catfish await...20lbs, 40lbs, 60lbs and better. We provide 2 catfishing poles & tackle so you can try your luck at Dailey's Fishing Lake (May thru September). Trout are stocked at Adams Lake each year in West Union. (Check ODNR for dates). Bring your canoe or kayak and explore the scenic Brush Creek! Try the new access points (st. rt. 73 by Serpent Mound, and st .rt. 41 South of st. rt. 32) or wade into the unknown at the entrance of Coffee Hollow Rd. for small mouths...but you can't beat taking a picnic lunch or grilling out, and renting a boat to fish or just paddle around at (close by) Shawnee State Forest...a pristine lake surrounded by a beautiful forest setting. One of Adams County's finest.

Got Kids? Take them to Long's Resort for swimming and lots of fun! If it's hot out go to Mineral Springs Lake--it's a COOL swim year-round with the spring-fed lake., then take the back roads home to find Davis Memorial Forest for a great hike in the trees by the stream, and keep an eye out for beavers and deer. We are close enough to plenty of activities if you so wish. Kings Island (one of the best roller coaster parks anywhere) and the Zip Line over the Little Miami River Gorge are day trips for the unafraid. (Good Luck!) Then just head back to your home nestled in woods with mother nature for a campfire, dinner and drinks, and some smores....It's the GOOD LIFE.

We are priced right so you can afford to come back time and time again. You are always welcome here!

Keywords: private secluded! , large Ohio custom home not a cabin, nestled in woods, Near Cincinnati, Near Columbus, Near Dayton, large home, large house, acreage, secluded, romantic, unique, inexpensive, amish country, king-size bed, queen-size bed, central air conditioning, firepit, fireplace, campfire, fishing, Serpent Mound, Shawnee Forest, mountain, swimming, boat, boating, parks, Amish, Amish country, log, wood stove, WiFi, covered bridges, catfish, Adams County, Ohio, loft, vacation, staycation, full kitchen, decks, porch, patio, Wii, DVD, grills, corn hole, horseshoes, serpent mound, winery,covered bridges, retreat, forest, getaway, staycation, private, mother nature, One of Adams County's finest,Scenic, hiking, family gatherings,girl freind getaways, re-connect with nature.Amish made.Welcome to the great outdoors! A short walk leads you into the forest. Enjoy nature in luxury. Watch for World Class Whitetail Deer! Explore the Serenity of Brush Creek Forest! Come escape the hustle and bustle of the city. Or just snuggle up by the fire.Inexpensive.Cheap. Discounted Price.

More Details

Deb & Lee Giles
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

Why Deb & Lee Giles chose Ohio

We chose this place because it was the most beautiful place we'd seen. This secluded property in the forest is absolutely awesome! We can hike right off this property into the beautiful forest.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

This is a one of a kind location with not another house in sight. Nestled up to your own private forest, you can watch deer and wild turkey while you sip coffee on your covered porches. Or if you choose, from the end of your driveway take a walk through the forest on level ground that leads you a quarter of a mile into this pristine Ohio forest land located at the base of Tener mountain. Your retreat in the forest is close enough to plenty of activities if you wish & the hiking is unbelievable!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Awesome place - we will DEFINITELY be back! Private, beautiful, everything you could ask for!!
May 2010
  • 1 of 1


Peebles Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • No fireworks allowed (house is in middle of forest)
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , jetted tub , in loft
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , lower level
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , separate sink area; on main floor
  • 3 - one on every level of home (see details above)
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , on main floor; with flat screen TV & DVD player
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , on lower level
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , on lower level; with walkout to rear patio
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 twin/ single , single rollaway bed on lower level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Amish-made log bed in loft; adjacent bathrm with jacuzzi tub
  • King size beds (2) King Bed on main floor, King Bed in Loft, Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed on lower level, Double Beds (1) 1 Double Bed on lower level, Twin or Single Beds (1) 1 rollaway twin bed on lower level, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 1 double futon in Loft
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
  • churches
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • swimming
FULL 3-LEVEL HOUSE (not just a cabin!), Forest setting, completely secluded, creek, 8+ private acres adjoining 12,000+ acres of Brush Creek State Forest (literally the last house residing on the forest border). Hike through forest, view wildlife from porches. Or simply relax indoors and do nothing! Free long-distance so you can stay in touch with family and friends! Treat yourself and get away from it all!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Prime Rut! Now available! Nov 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th OPEN Call Today!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 25 reviews

Great property! Just as described.

  • 5 of 5

Our family went to The Sanctuary recently and had a very relaxing time. Great location, edge of a forest, away from traffic and wonderful home to "live" in for a few days. We saw deer and wild turkeys several days! The home is well kept and has everything you need for a great stay. We are considering going back again! Deb and Lee gave clear directions to the home and once at the property. It was like a home away from home.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fabulously relaxing stay

  • 4 of 5

We had the most amazing stay!! Everything was nice and clean. Of course any house will have little things that need fixed,and we ran into this,but nothing that hindered us from enjoying our time!! It was such a relaxing time for all of us! Lee and Deb were always pleasant and helpful when we spoke to them. We will definitely recommend this property to our friends and family!! We would also like to come back visit again!! Thank you for the lovely stay and your amazing hospitality!! Maybe we will meet next time we are out!!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! Thank you for renting out your property! My kids loved it and didn't want to leave! it was beautiful, nice and clean, and very spacious! Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

From Florida

  • 5 of 5

The Sanctuary truly is a beautiful and spacious home with many wonderful amenities. We gathered there to enjoy a very special family Thanksgiving. The den on the lower level with the 55" TV, the many Wii programs, games, guitar, and comfortable seating was a big hit with the adults, as well as the children. The fire pit on the patio area provided extra fun for toasting marshmallows, making s'mores and just enjoying the fireside chats and songs. The porch off the kitchen dining area was super for the children. Walking in the wooded area and up the road into the state forest gave us an opportunity to chat and enjoy the outdoors. It was a super way to spend treasured family time surrounded by the beauty of nature, and we would love to make a return visit. A huge thank you to Lee and Deb for sharing their home with us.

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cleveland, Ohio


  • 5 of 5

My sisters and I chose the Santuary because of the seclusion and it really lived up to the expectation. There were only five of us on our annual sisters vacation. When we arrived, it really lived up to what we saw in the pictures. The house is awesome and roomy enough for all of us. We really enjoyed the patio and the porches, being able to be outside. Unfortunately the rain had left the wood in the fire pit damp, but we managed to get around that, we drove into town and purchased some wood and we were able to make a fire and enjoy making smores.

We really enjoyed our stay, it was sooooooooo relaxing. My only disappointment which has nothing to do with the property was that the only wild thing got to see was a family of wild turkeys. I really wanted to see something that would scare me and make me scream and run back in the house.

There were a few things we noticed, nothing major, but as anoter visitor wrote, the hot water in the hot tub did not work. I managed to get around that, I ran the tub with the hot water and let it sit until I was able to get in. I guess I should have contacted the owners, but I did not want to have to bother them for getting in the tub just once. Also, the sconces, the light fixtures and the window ledges housed a great deal of dead insects. Also, some of the edible items in the kitchen were very outdated and should be tossed. It was great to have the reading material for things to do, but some of the drawers in the desk could be cleaned out.

Lee and Deb, we really enjoyed your vacation rental very much and we really enjoyed our time there. Should we decide to take another sister vacation and want the seclusion and privacy, we would definitely come back. I agree with the other reviewers, this is the Awesome House.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancy - We're so glad you loved our house and the seclusion! There is no better place for privacy and a truly relaxing getaway. We do apologize about the cold water in the jacuzzi; we fixed it immediately upon learning of it. We try to keep our property in very good condition so everyone can have the most enjoyable experience possible. We are highly upset to hear about the dead insects. We apologize for that and rest assured, we will get on the cleaning crew as that is not acceptable. We don't leave edible food items there so can only think other renters left items, but again our cleaning people should have thrown them away, so we take responsibility for that too and will have that discussion with them as well. We do appreciate all the feedback; without it we wouldn't know the things that need to be addressed. We're happy to note you still felt it is a 5-star vacation spot, and we will continue to stive to keep it that way! Thanks and we hope to see you again! Lee and Deb
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Akron, ohio

Greta Meyer

  • 4 of 5

This place is totally awesome!!! Lee & Deb are great hosts!!! However, we went to use the hot tub, & no cold H2O, only scolding HOT!!! Ice Maker does not work. I'd replace front & back deck w/ a pressure treated flooring that would look AWESOME!! Get rid of the 2 x 4's!!! The decking you have now depreciates your beautiful property!!!! Mark & Greta

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Greta, We are glad you think our place is totally awesome! We do also! We do our best to be accommodate everyone. Your phone call however, made no mention of the broken Jacuzzi tub cold water handle that spun around, just that you had no cold water there. Upon inspection it was found and replaced the next day. I emptied the frozen ice and fine. If things get broken, it's best just to let us know so we can replace them. Thanks, Lee and Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1


Serpent Mound
Hopewell Culture National Historical Park
Dakota's Roadhouse
"Great food, service & atmosphere!"
Old Canal Smokehouse
"Awesome food!"
Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Nearest Barpub
20 Miles
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
Waverly, OH
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
St. Rt. 73
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Peebles, OH
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Mineral Springs
Car: necessary

Enjoy hiking through the forest. Also nearby the Highland Nature Preserve you can rent fishing boats and pontoons at Paint Creek State Park. Or drive south to Shawnee State Forest where you can also rent fishing boats and catch the elusive trout. If you're the adventurous type, take a drive through the Shawnee State Forest Wilderness area, and if you're lucky, you might catch a glimpse of a bobcat, black bear, wild boar or bald eagle. Or take a cool dip in the spring-fed waters that stay a constant temperature all summer long at Mineral Springs Resort. If you're into Indian culture, we're very close to Serpent Mound and Ft. Hill Indian Earth Works--both of which are one-of-a-kind in Ohio.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 3.0%

Holidays - $259.00/night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties