Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large Home in Downtown Halifax Near Waterfront, Citadel, Universities/Hospitals

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This character home in the heart of Trendy Central Halifax has the perfect location for those seeking convenient access to all that Halifax has to offer. North Park Street runs along the east side of the Halifax Commons, home of the Skating Oval being introduced this winter! It’s a five-minute walk to downtown, close to shopping, bus stops, the MacDonald Bridge to Dartmouth, and much more. The layout offers 2 spacious living rooms; one of which opens into dining room, one of which can be the fourth (very large) bedroom. The kitchen was recently renovated with beautiful cabinetry with spacious cupboards. There is a 3 piece bath located on the main level as well as washer and dryer units. The second floor features 3 bedrooms and a 4-piece bath. Other features include wide planked pine flooring, high ceilings, back yard, and a dry basement for storage. Utilities, cable and phone are all included in the rent. This home is FULLY FURNISHED!

Keywords: 3 or 4 BEDROOMS, 2 BATHROOMS, LARGE LIVING AREA, YARD, NEAR DOWNTOWN, NEAR HOSPITALS, NEAR UNIVERSITIES, DOWNTOWN, WALK TO EVERYTHING, PET FRIENDLY

More Details

Owner
John or Jennifer
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About John or Jennifer

This home is owned and managed by John and Jennifer Gillis. We live nearby and take pride in providing local knowledge and necessities to our guests. We have 2 children and 2 dogs and are happy to help with travel arrangements, sight-seeing, and any special needs that you may have.

Why John or Jennifer chose South End

location, charm, great yard, spacious, and welcoming. The best spot for anyone visiting on vacation, business, or for events like weddings or sports competitions. You will not find a more central location to enjoy everything Halifax has to offer.

What makes this house unique

In the wintertime we enjoy living across from the skating oval. It's free of charge and skates are provided. In summer, enjoy the green of the Halifax Common and the Citadel across the street and just to the left respectively. We are able to walk everywhere we go and love the close proximity to downtown signts, bars and restaurants, and the beautiful Halifax waterfront.

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Halifax International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Seahorse Tavern
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
VIA Rail Station
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Kilometres
Dee Dee's
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Chocolate Lake

THIS HOME IS LOCATED ACROSS THE STREET FROM THE HALIFAX COMMONS, HOME OF THE BRAND NEW WINTER SKATING OVAL. DURING THE SUMMER, THIS IS AN EXCELLENT PLACE TO WALK A DOG AND PLAY SPORTS LIKE SOCCER, BASEBALL, RUGBY, AND FOOTBALL. THERE IS A PUBLIC TENNIS COURT AND A PLAYGROUND LOCATED ACROSS THE STREET AS WELL.

Amenities

South End House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • downstairs bathroom has a standup shower, while the upstairs bathroom has a tub with a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double
  • 1 Queen size Bed in 3 bedrooms, 1 Double Bed in 1bedroom, Baby Cribs (1), air mattresses on request
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
INCLUDED ARE ALL UTILITIES, CABLE, AND INTERNET. ON STREET PARKING AVAILABLE. HOME IS FULLY FURNISHED AND SPECIAL REQUESTS CAN BE MADE. THIS HOME IS CENTRALLY LOCATED AND CLOSE TO UNIVERSITIES, HOSPITALS, DOWNTOWN, BUS STOPS, AND BRIDGES AND FERRIES TO DARTMOUTH.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
28% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Large Home in Downtown Halifax Near Waterfront, Citadel, Universities/Hospitals
average rating of 4.48 based on 25 reviews
5

Short and Sweet Stay

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for a short family trip to Halifax. It is right downtown and in the middle of everything. We enjoyed visiting the nearby craft breweries and restaurants. The weather was very warm for fall and we spent evenings on the deck which looks new. The house is historic and has a lot of character which we liked. We texted back and forth with the owners alot to get advice on different things and this was much appreciated. When we return to Halifax, we will be back.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Easily accessible to downtown. Walking or driving.

  • 4 of 5

Very clean.Plenty of room.. would definitely rent again.

Reason didn't give 5 star..There were 6 of us with 2 cars,.1 dedicated parking spot . When not using 2nd car, it had to be moved every 2 hrs on street during day .

Only 4 chairs to sit at table for meals.. Owner did offer to bring over some old steel chairs when we inquired,.Would have been nice to have had these in place upon arrival.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Molly, thanks for the feedback. Parking is a challenge in central Halifax and we strive to help people manage a second car. New chairs have been placed (after a few antique one died) to make sure we have adequate seating. Safe travels always! John
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

This was the worst holiday ever.

  • 1 of 5

My husband & I spent 4 weeks in the green house. It was a complete nightmare. The house was not what we had expected. It was old & run down. I would not recommend this house to anyone. It was not what was advertised. Badly in need of repair. There were no wardrobes only cubby holes. Paint peeling off the ceiling & walls. The front door was down to the bare wood & looked appalling. I could go on and be here for ever . I hope this review is seen by everyone who visits this site. Don't be fooled the pictures do not tell the whole story. The whole experience ruined our holiday and we could not wait to get home. PS. For the 4 weeks we were there were did not see John or Jennifer. I thought this was a bad show on their part. It would have been nice if either one had called and introduced themselves. But after seeing the place I think I know why they did not show. Pat &Patrick. Dublin.

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is very troubling/inaccurate. It doesn’t reflect the reviews of many happy travelers. Our house is 150+ yrs old with many original parts. It is a challenge to maintain, but we do so with great care yearly. We also have great concern 4 our guests: we are available 24/7 for any problems or advice. Simply, if these guests were so unhappy, why did we hear nothing? We did not get a single complaint, or asked 4 a refund/to move. People do have different expectations: as host, the customer is always right. All correspondence w guests: 1 week in: Hi John & Jennifer, As you know we have been staying at the above property for just over a week now, with 3 more weeks of our stay yet to go. There is no change of bed linen (sheets pillow cases) provided at the premises which would allow us to wash and change the existing bed linen. In these circumstances we assumed clean linens would be provided during the course of our stay, but to date no fresh linens have been provided, With the weather having been so hot and humid the bed clothes are now badly in need of change. In these circumstances I would ask if you could provide us with a fresh set of bed linen at your earliest convenience. Thanking you” Response: “Of course. Will have some dropped over. I hope you are enjoying your stay.” Then: “___ do u have a phone? How many beds do u need sheets for and which one (s)?’ We received no response + sheets were sent same day +: “Hi John & Jennifer, Thank you for your quick response re. our bed linen request. Much appreciated,” Hardly the words of the enraged guest. To be clear, we don’t “drop around” as some people prefer to be private. For the rest of the stay, silence, and we assumed all was well. At check out: “Hi Folks,. We will be finishing our vacation at the above premises between 10 and 11am. tomorrow. if you want to inspect the property before we depart it is no problem just let us know. If this is not the case we will clean and hover the property also strip the bed linen from the 3 beds that we used, while here, and leave the bed linen in the washing machine. You might please let us know your preference in addition to how you propose to return the damage deposit. Thanking you,” Once again, not 1 negative word + a thank you. I am saddened by this, + apologize to these guests 4 their bad time in our city/home. For prospective guests, please read the other reviews/call us, +be sure that we care very much about your visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Large town house in downtown Halifax. Close to all attractions, bars and restaurants.

  • 4 of 5

.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location, lots of character - a few improvements would make it even better

  • 4 of 5

The green house was a great place for us to stay - lots of room for 6 adults and within walking distance of downtown and the harbour front. The house is very rustic and lots of character, but could do with a couple of repairs. We tried to use the deck, but it was falling apart. We were advised that it was being replaced in the coming week, but unfortunately not in time for our visit. We experienced a glitch when we arrived and could not gain access to the home. The owner was able to rectify within about an hour, but we sat outside waiting on the street. We were advised that outdated access information was provided to us. Overall a good visit with a few glitches, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Rose. Brand new deck in place, right after you left. We held out with the antique one as long as possible but it was time. We did change our notification process to advise guests of check-in info right before you came and there was a glitch, fixed, and it's smooth as silk now, but I do apologize for the wait.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Perfect!

  • 5 of 5

I was just at the" Green House" for a 3 day weekend with my three sisters.

Perfect location, a short walk to Spring Garden Road shopping and restaurtants.

Kitchen well equipped.

4 bedroom's with very comfy beds. We ** highly recommend**

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $58.76
Refundable damage deposit $195.88

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund