check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Beautifully Appointed Georgian House Overlooking the Atlantic.

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
10
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
5
Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Errislannan House, built in 1863, is a beautifully appointed Georgian period home situated at a quiet harbour side. Uniquely overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and located six miles from

Clifden in Co. Galway, Errislannan is the perfect location to explore Connemara which has one of the most spectacularly stunning coastline’s in the world.

The Connemara views can be enjoyed from all the living areas of the house. We have found the sunsets second to none - be sure and be home at evening time.

If you enjoy the combination of an old house, modern amenities and a spectacular setting, Errislannan House is the perfect rental holiday home. Included in our pricing below is a house keeper for two hours every morning.

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 11, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Beautifully Appointed Georgian House Overlooking the Atlantic.
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
5

Breathtaking and Magical

  • 5 of 5

We had the immense pleasure of discovering Errislannan this past week and fell absolutely in love with this home and the stunning surroundings. My husband and I wanted to plan a trip for our family--so we were joined by our parents and siblings for a week in Connemara and this home was absolutely ideal. Everyone had private rooms and bathrooms and plenty of space to "get away" for a little while and we enjoyed several nights in the dining room playing games, reading by the fire in the living room, enjoying breakfast and coffee in the mornings while taking in the gorgeous sea, cliffs and greenery in every direction. We all slept so well every night, enjoyed luxurious baths in the mornings or after a long walk, and the house was geographically so well-situated for our many day trips--to Galway, the Aran Islands, into Clifden, north to Westport, pony rides nearby, rambles on the beach right outside the house. We ate several wonderful meals in Clifden and heard wonderful music many nights--next time we have to make it to Lowry's. Suffice it to say we all fell in love and hope to return many times. Marcus was wonderful--responsive to all of our (many) logistical questions before our arrival and Karen was there each morning to tidy up and answer questions about best local spots, things to do, the house and area, etc. We felt taken care of completely and also like it was a peaceful family retreat to get away from our busy lives and spend quality time together in a gorgeous part of the world. If you are considering a visit to the area, there is no better place to stay than this amazing house and environs.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 3
Somerset, UK
5

We love it so much we go back every year

  • 5 of 5

3 miles on from Clifden, you turn right, and at the top of the hill you pass the Alcock and Brown monument in memory of the first transatlantic flight and after that the Errislanan Riding Stables, and then at the very end of the single track road, as it appears to fall away into the sea, on the left hand side is Errislanan House - we have arrived and the holiday has started. What a great feeling.

There is a little boat harbour immediately below the house - maybe one boat moated up - so the first thing we do is jump off the quay side for a splash and a short swim - it takes me a bit longer to get in if i am honest because the water is quite cold. That is the days activity completed and then into the spacious kitchen/living area for a drink and the chat.

The views from the house are simply wonderful - stretching across the Atlantic with a handful of islands and heather clad headlands in the fore ground - the sunsets are even better - and if you were lucky enough to be passing (by sea most likely) - you would say to yourself - i wonder who owns that - well Marcus is the lucky man - and he is hugely welcoming and immediately contactable - assisted by the wonderful Karen who helps out with the cleaning and all that on a day to day basis.

With 5 double bedrooms there is plenty of room and decorated to a good standard and ideal for a family holiday - but if you are more interested in marble en-suits with white soft carpets maybe consider an alternative in a higher price bracket!

There is lots to do as well - hanging around the cafes and pubs in Clifden, gathering mussels, hill walking, cycling, walking around the headland, fishing off the quayside, swimming, golf, surfing, bbqs on the beach, boat trips - the list goes on ......

Say hello to Errislanan from us and I hope you enjoy your staying as much as we always do .........

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Dublin, Ireland
5

Beautiful house with best sunsets in Ireland

  • 5 of 5

I spent a week in Errislannan in July 2013 with a group of friends and children. It was perfect for us - plenty of room (and bathrooms) for everyone, and an amazing deck where we could enjoy the incredible sunsets over the Atlantic... It has all the facilities you'd expect, but in a beautiful period house that still has the charm and the feel of a real family home rather than the usual holiday rental. The bedrooms were all very tastefully decorated and we had many memorable dinners in the dining room overlooking the pier. The owners Marcus and Olga were very helpful and answered any questions we had. Also, it's a perfect location for exploring nearby Clifden, and the amazing beaches at Dog's Bay, Roundstone and beyond.

I enjoyed it so much that I went back again this summer and found it even more delightful than I remembered (even on a wet Connemara day!) - would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a bit of 'real' Ireland. Without doubt, one of the most characterful houses I have ever stayed in.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
London
5

Hannah

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a little slice of heaven this is it. Beautiful house, breath taking scenery and a place to totally disconnect from busy lives and the kids had a ball. Marcus and his wife could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
5

Exactly what it says on the tin!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with friends for this week, and had the most blissful time. The experience of Errislanin can not be underestimated. The views of the Atlantic are breath taking from the house and the laughter of the children as they jumped off the pier will be a nostalgic memory for ever. The house has amazing character and is a fantastic space, large dinners around lit fire of turf went on late into the evening with stunning sunsets as our back drop. We had everything we needed and more. On the misty day we went for a great walk along Mannin Bay not far from the house and then had a leisurely late lunch in the local village. We will definitely be back regardless of weather. Errislanin is probably the best holiday destination we have ever been to, and we would and have highly recommended it to friends and family.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 5
Dublin Ireland
1

Disappointing and overpriced

  • 1 of 5

Sadly we found this property was not of a 'renting out standard'. We felt it was very much overpriced considering the poor standard of accommodation and lack of comfort. There were numerous issues including basics like dampness downstairs in the bedrooms, no heating and hot water on 2 occasions during our week. In fairness the owner was contactable even though he was abroad and did act quickly to resolve the heating issues. The Housekeeper Karen was lovely but her hands were tied with various issues. Amazing location but not a house i would stay in again.

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Elaine, We are truly sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Errislannan. We enjoyed having you at the house and appreciate you taking care of the property. As you mentioned the two problems with the heating and hot water were rectified within two hours. Our monthly oil delivery was delayed and this did affect you for the Sunday afternoon. Apologies. Murphy's law that a couple of days later the boiler had a technical issue which again we sorted within two hours. As previously mentioned we would still like to offer you a free weekend. Just reach out to us when suits. All the best, Olga & Marcus
Did you find this review helpful?
13 4

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Galway House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
July - August
Jul 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,067
 
 
September
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$313
$2,067
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$286
$1,908
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $530

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Galway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Our House Keeper comes in each morning for two hours - this is included in our price.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties