Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front,Outer Banks, Rodanthe, Pet-Friendly,4BR, 3BA,Beach front

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

PLEASE VISIT OUR OTHER TWO OCEAN FRONT PROPERTIES IN RODANTHE: VRBO # 584841 AND 403480.

We grew up in central North Carolina, but we've called Hatteras Island our second home. Mermaid's Tears (another name for seaglass which is found naturally along the North Carolina coast) is just steps away from the sandy beach. One of our favorite things is sitting on the deck watching the dolphin (yes, we see them just about every day) and, of course, the wonderful sunrises and sunsets. Using our binoculars we are even able to identify the fish caught at the Rodanthe Fishing Pier, only 100 yards away.

Mermaid's Tears encompasses a reversed house plan which is very common to many homes along the Outer Banks. This simple means that the living area, ie, kitchen, dining and living room are located on the highest level.

Our second floor level of Mermaid's Tears includes a very large living open area (great for entertaining) with flat screen TV and DVD player. A large floral sectional couch and two chairs face the two 8' sliders for a magnificent view of the ocean. The dining area, open to the living area and kitchen, has seating for ten. The modern kitchen has all cooking needs should one decide never to venture out to any of the great restaurants in the area. There is also counter seating for four. There is a very nice king bedroom upstairs with connecting bath and shower. This bedroom has its own slider to the outside oceanfront deck. A flat screen TV and DVD are also in this bedroom.

Three of our bedrooms are downstairs, the master has a king bed with a large bathroom with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The slider leads to a covered deck which is virtually on top of the ocean. This bedroom has a flat screen TV and DVD. Another bedroom downstairs, very spacious with a king bed, has a large window and a slider to a covered deck over-looking the ocean. This bed and breakfast style bedroom has a flat screen TV and DVD. The third bedroom has two pyramid bunk beds. Both have a double bed; one with a pullout trundle. This bedroom has two windows; one with a view of the ocean, the other a view of the sound in the distance. This is truly a unique bedroom as it invites an aquarium decor. This bedroom also has a flat screen TV and DVD. This bedroom and the second bedroom share a full bathroom. Also, downstairs is a nice welcoming foyer and a full washer and dryer closet. While staying in Mermaid's Tears, exploring is a must. Hatteras Island is simply the most beautiful place on earth - where the Atlantic Ocean and Pamlico Sound is separated by a thin, fragile slice of land. Hatteras Lighthouse, Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, small villages of Avon, Buxton, Waves, Frisco and Salvo are all within a short drive.

In Rodanthe, explore the Chicamacomico Life-Saving Station Museum, Civil War Battle of Chicmacomico Races, and try to identify each of the over 400 species of birds. Or simple lay back and enjoy reading and watching the surf.

FREE Wireless Internet access via Silicon Travel for this property (computer not provided, bring your laptop).

PROPERTY DAMAGE PROTECTION: No security deposit is collected. Over years of renting our property, we have found guests prefer to pay a Property Damage Protection fee ($69) which covers all accidental damages to the vacation rental up to $1,000.

WE DO NOT ADVERTISE ON CRAIG'S LIST

More Details

Owner
Frank Henson
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Frank Henson

Frank and Beverly are the proud owners of 'Mermaid's Tears' as well as two other properties closeby. We have been vacationing/living on the outer banks for years and will retire in Rodanthe someday. It is the perfect place to be. Both Frank and Beverly are NC licensed builders. Frank retired from the United States Marine Corps as a Lieutenant Colonel. We have three Brussels Griffons, Frankie, Annie Rose and Scout, and they always travel with us to the Outer Banks.

Frank Henson purchased this house in 2011

Why Frank Henson chose Rodanthe

The Outer Banks has been our favorite vacation spot for years. This is the third, and most recent, property we have bought in this area. The other is VRBO #403480 and is located a short walk down the beach) It's easy driving from our home in Greensboro, NC. It's close to great restaurants, shopping, golf, sightseeing yet very remote and very casual. Also, the Outer Banks is routinely rated in the top five US beaches by US News, National Geographic, ABC News and CBS News. 'Mermaid's Tears' is an exceptional rental property with all the amenities for a perfect family vacation.

What makes this house unique

Sitting on the front porch in the evening while enjoying a glass of wine or ice tea, feeling the ocean breeze while watching late surfers and swimmers has become our most treasured time. Early in the morning, we'll catch up on news and sports via wifi while sipping coffee and snacking on delicious pastries. Great early morning and late evening walks on the beach fulfill perfect days in Rodanthe.

Amenities

Rodanthe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (3), Double Beds (2) Twin Beds (3), Bunk Beds pyramid bunk beds one with a trundle
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fish cleaning station, enclosed outside shower (hot & cold water), deck furniture, sundeck, 2 baby gates, DVD players, shaded deck, high chair, separate foot wash as you come in from the beach

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ocean Front,Outer Banks, Rodanthe, Pet-Friendly,4BR, 3BA,Beach front
average rating of 4.86 based on 50 reviews
5

September and October visits

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in Rodanthe at least 25 times. This home by far was the nicest! There was absolutely everything we needed in this home. It was truly a pleasure to stay in this ocean front home.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very kind and wonderful review of Mermaid's Tears during your recent visit to the Outer Banks. We prepare so hard for all of our guests and getting positive feedback is so fulfilling to us. We are very proud of this area, and we want visitors to receive a great feeling about their vacation and that they made the right choice for their destination. It was a pleasure to have you folks as guests and hope you can return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Akron, Ohio
3

Beautiful Views

  • 3 of 5

We have stayed at Mermaids Tears before each time for two weeks, this time we were disappointed because there was no beach between the house and the ocean. We understand that Mother Nature has been very hard on the Rodanthe area of Hatteras Island, just lately Jose and Maria paid a visit as the ocean we a little angry while we were there. The house is wonderful, the views of the ocean from the main floor is breathtaking. Two things about the inside of the house, when we arrived we noticed a dog smell, I know the owner allow dogs, however the house cleaning company should be able to eliminate that smell. Second, the mattress in the master suite area is not very good, we never had a good nights sleeps. Maybe the owner can look into a new mattress.

The outside of the house is another story. The main storm door would not close properly, the sand from Jose and Maria was in the driveway (someone did come and remove the sand), the main entrance stairs were very hard to get to as the area was filled with sand. We slipped and slided as we were trying to unload our car with luggage because the sand had filled the entrance area, this could have been very dangerous if we had fallen, I called the management company four times before someone came out to remove the sand, which happened three day before our departure. The owners placed a small water shower to rinse the sand from your feet before entering the house, we could not use this as it was buried in the sand.

All in all we had a good time, just some set backs.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review albeit our only 3-star rating we have received...our previous 48 guest reviews were 43 5-star and 5 4-star. We are most sorry we did not meet your expectations, and we will certainly put a better effort forward for all of our future guests and for you, should you return some day. Your visit is so important to us and especially your review. Unfortunately, timing could not have come at a worse time for your visit to the Outer Banks as Hurricanes Jose and Maria certainly made their presence felt. There was just too much sand to be removed (we had sand removed from the driveway twice and it was hardly noticed) and of course, about 30' feet of the beach was shortened....but the good news is the winter and spring months usually brings the sand back! We have also already replaced the carpet in the master bedroom downstairs and the mattress has been taken care of as well....we have also removed the storm door which represents another casualty of the storms and so sorry you folks had to deal with those inconveniences....we always hope for the best weather and no issues but as we have learned over the years, ocean front properties always deals with many challenges....thank you for letting us know about this as it is important to us to hear areas where we can improve and make matters the best for our guests. We are happy to hear that your family did have a good time at Mermaid's Tears.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Really nice home with great ocean front.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I totally loved our week at Mermaid Tears. The location was great for what we wanted to do, a few lighthouse tours and visiting other areas nearby. The beach was right there so swimming and sitting out relaxing was great. The weather was awesome except for the last few days where we had high winds and surf but with the outside deck we still were able enjoy the outdoors and be together. Amenity wise we had everything we needed. Overall, I loved the place and hope to return next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review and another 5 star! Thank you for mentioning your list of favorite things to do.....lighthouses, beach swimming, relaxing, family...hey, that's our short list of favorite things to do on the Outer Banks and at Mermaid's Tears. Glad weather cooperated for you; although there is so much to do in this area even if it's rainy! We hope you will come back soon and enjoy this area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great week at the beach. Beautiful house.

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house and well equipped. Right next to the pier. The decks provide beautiful views of the entire coast line!

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to submit a 5 star review. We appreciate your response and most of all, happy that your family enjoyed your vacation at Mermaid's Tears. We also enjoyed the "very close to the ocean" decks and you you will return to the Outer Banks soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

The most perfect family vacation experience. We'll be back next year!

  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful

  • 4 of 5

My family and I had an amazing stay at Mermaids Tears. Being able to open the door and be directly on the beach is priceless! The house had everything we needed and more! Beds were a bit uncomfortable but that is to be expected when you're not in your own home. Other than that we had no complaints. In fact we were quite disappointed when we went to rebook and it was already full. Highly recommend this home. It's worth every penny!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of Mermaid's Tears. We also appreciate the very nice comments and that you highly recommend this home. We are very sorry the weeks for 2018 were not available for you; we always book on a first come, first serve basis and 2018 has been unusually high in bookings already! Please keep us in mind for future travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Protection $69 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

SATURDAY TO SATURDAY RENTAL.

A $500.00 deposit plus the VRBO Service Fee is required to book. The remaining two payments are due at 90 and 30 days prior. If cancelled 60 days prior to vacation, full deposit is refunded (less $25 credit card fee).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.