Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front,Outer Banks, Rodanthe, Pet-Friendly,4BR, 3BA,Beach front

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

PLEASE VISIT OUR OTHER TWO OCEAN FRONT PROPERTIES IN RODANTHE: VRBO # 584841 AND 403480.

We grew up in central North Carolina, but we've called Hatteras Island our second home. Mermaid's Tears (another name for seaglass which is found naturally along the North Carolina coast) is just steps away from the sandy beach. One of our favorite things is sitting on the deck watching the dolphin (yes, we see them just about every day) and, of course, the wonderful sunrises and sunsets. Using our binoculars we are even able to identify the fish caught at the Rodanthe Fishing Pier, only 100 yards away.

Mermaid's Tears encompasses a reversed house plan which is very common to many homes along the Outer Banks. This simple means that the living area, ie, kitchen, dining and living room are located on the highest level.

Our second floor level of Mermaid's Tears includes a very large living open area (great for entertaining) with flat screen TV and DVD player. A large floral sectional couch and two chairs face the two 8' sliders for a magnificent view of the ocean. The dining area, open to the living area and kitchen, has seating for ten. The modern kitchen has all cooking needs should one decide never to venture out to any of the great restaurants in the area. There is also counter seating for four. There is a very nice king bedroom upstairs with connecting bath and shower. This bedroom has its own slider to the outside oceanfront deck. A flat screen TV and DVD are also in this bedroom.

Three of our bedrooms are downstairs, the master has a king bed with a large bathroom with a separate shower and jacuzzi tub. The slider leads to a covered deck which is virtually on top of the ocean. This bedroom has a flat screen TV and DVD. Another bedroom downstairs, very spacious with a king bed, has a large window and a slider to a covered deck over-looking the ocean. This bed and breakfast style bedroom has a flat screen TV and DVD. The third bedroom has two pyramid bunk beds. Both have a double bed; one with a pullout trundle. This bedroom has two windows; one with a view of the ocean, the other a view of the sound in the distance. This is truly a unique bedroom as it invites an aquarium decor. This bedroom also has a flat screen TV and DVD. This bedroom and the second bedroom share a full bathroom. Also, downstairs is a nice welcoming foyer and a full washer and dryer closet. While staying in Mermaid's Tears, exploring is a must. Hatteras Island is simply the most beautiful place on earth - where the Atlantic Ocean and Pamlico Sound is separated by a thin, fragile slice of land. Hatteras Lighthouse, Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, the Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum, small villages of Avon, Buxton, Waves, Frisco and Salvo are all within a short drive.

In Rodanthe, explore the Chicamacomico Life-Saving Station Museum, Civil War Battle of Chicmacomico Races, and try to identify each of the over 400 species of birds. Or simple lay back and enjoy reading and watching the surf.

FREE Wireless Internet access via Silicon Travel for this property (computer not provided, bring your laptop).

PROPERTY DAMAGE PROTECTION: No security deposit is collected. Over years of renting our property, we have found guests prefer to pay a Property Damage Protection fee ($69) which covers all accidental damages to the vacation rental up to $2,500.

More Details

Owner
Frank Henson
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 21, 2017

About Frank Henson

Frank and Beverly are the proud owners of 'Mermaid's Tears' as well as two other properties closeby. We have been vacationing/living on the outer banks for years and will retire in Rodanthe someday. It is the perfect place to be. Both Frank and Beverly are NC licensed builders. Frank retired from the United States Marine Corps as a Lieutenant Colonel. We have three Brussels Griffons, Frankie, Annie Rose and Scout, and they always travel with us to the Outer Banks.

Frank Henson purchased this house in 2011

Why Frank Henson chose Hatteras Island

The Outer Banks has been our favorite vacation spot for years. This is the third, and most recent, property we have bought in this area. The other is VRBO #403480 and is located a short walk down the beach) It's easy driving from our home in Greensboro, NC. It's close to great restaurants, shopping, golf, sightseeing yet very remote and very casual. Also, the Outer Banks is routinely rated in the top five US beaches by US News, National Geographic, ABC News and CBS News. 'Mermaid's Tears' is an exceptional rental property with all the amenities for a perfect family vacation.

What makes this house unique

Sitting on the front porch in the evening while enjoying a glass of wine or ice tea, feeling the ocean breeze while watching late surfers and swimmers has become our most treasured time. Early in the morning, we'll catch up on news and sports via wifi while sipping coffee and snacking on delicious pastries. Great early morning and late evening walks on the beach fulfill perfect days in Rodanthe.

Amenities

Rodanthe House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (3), Double Beds (2), Child Beds (1) Day bed in master bedroom, Bunk Beds (2) two pyramid bunk beds with a trundle
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fish cleaning station, enclosed outside shower (hot & cold water), deck furniture, sundeck, 2 baby gates, stereo with CD player, shaded deck, high chair, separate foot wash as you come in from the beach

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

Ocean Front,Outer Banks, Rodanthe, Pet-Friendly,4BR, 3BA,Beach front
average rating of 4.904762 based on 42 reviews
5

Great place looking forward to staying again

  • 5 of 5

Only complaint would be ants. And AC not being able to go below 72.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the FIVE Star review. We are very sorry about the ants and have already contacted our Pest Control Service. We constantly spray and do the very best in making Mermaid's Tears the very best. We hope you can return to Mermaid;s Tears and the Outer Banks.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Huntersville, NC
5

First trip to OBX, won't be the last

  • 5 of 5

Wife, four kids, and I spent a week here for our first ever trip to OBX and had an absolutely wonderful week. On the first morning, we saw pods of dolphins and two whales. Couldn't believe it. Mermaid's Tears is perfectly situated so that we could send our two sons to the pier to fish, while our girls played in the ocean. The house is so close to the ocean that when you're eating at the table, you feel like you're IN the ocean. Wonderful sounds at night by which to sleep. Kitchen is better equipped than a commercial kitchen. Rooms are well appointed. My kids loved the popcorn popper. We took our bikes and rode the sidewalks of Rodanthe, as well as a day trip up to Duck. Highly recommend taking the ferry to Ocracoke Island. At the end of the week, we all were cranky that we had to leave. One very minor issue regarding no bath towels was solved with a quick call to the property manager, who showed up in less than 10 minutes with a giant bag of towels. Will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking time to write a very lengthy and complete review of Mermaid's Tears. Thank you for also indicating you will return! thank you also for giving credit to our Property Manager....they maintain over 100 properties and yes, things do go wrong from time to time. BUT what do they do....Shore Details has always excelled in getting things done without excuses. They have lots of responsibilities and they do their best because they know guests are only on the "island" for one week....guests need to be pampered and spend their time with family and friends and not worrying about towels or this or that. So glad your family experienced Rodanthe, Duck, Ocracoke and more. So much to do. Mermaid's Tears will always be waiting for your return someday. Best!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Im writing this review from the deck overlooking the ocean on my family's last night here. This week has been wonderful. Peaceful mornings with coffee in hand watching the sunrise. The sound of the surf at night. The weather was beautiful all week.

This was our first trip to the Outer Banks and I hope it will not be our last. My Desert Storm veteran husband has avoided sand for 25 years. To see him eagerly walking on the beach looking for shells with our kids was wonderful. This home was the perfect location. As close to the beach as you could ever hope to be and close to the fishing pier.

My parents were celebrating their 50th anniversary and it was a relaxing get away for them. We definitely want to come back!!

We enjoyed eating at the Black Pelican in Kitty Hawk, howards Pub on Ocracoke Island, Miller's Waterfront Restaurant in Nags Head, Wacky Jacs (incredible burgers), and Watermen's Bar and Grill. Food and service top notch!

The only flies in the ointment were some ants im the kitchen and the popcorn popper. Whoever used it last did not clean it out, so we were reluctant to use it.

I cannot say enough about this home. Its obvious that the owners thought of everything to make the stay comfortable.

Thank you so much for providing a wonderful place for our family to make memories.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful and well thought out review of mermaid's Tears! Thank you so much. You mentioned everything we suggest to folks interested in the Outer Banks...which, of course, is a peace of paradise and heaven mixed together. We do exactly the things you did while in Rodanthe....coffee & watching the sunrise, eating out, relaxing, listening to the ocean/surf at night, etc. so very sorry about the ants in the kitchen....called our Pest Control to investigate and treat...please plan a return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our week at this beautiful house! Beautiful views and fantastic location! Can't get any closer to the beach than this! Thank you for sharing your house for a family vacation!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very nice review, and we are so glad you found Mermaid's Tears to be as expected...beautiful views and location. Hoping your family can return someday to the Outer Banks, Rodanthe and Mermaid's Tears.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Memories made Thanksgiving Week

  • 5 of 5

We have always wanted to spend Thanksgiving with just our immediate family and this was it! Mermaid Tears is a beautiful Cottage: the best views of the ocean and pier. The decor and furnishings are the best I have seen yet in the OBX area (we have been visiting OBX for 40+ years). The cottage has a great fishing spot right in front of the cottage. The cottage was very clean and welcoming. What thanks we gave for such a gorgeous place and week.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the very powerful review...we do try very hard with making Mermaid's Tears special as we want guests to return but most of all, have a great vacation with lots of memories...we've had lots of comments of great fishing right in front of the house....we're not much for fishing but do like watching folks fish...thanks again for taking time to write your review and please return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great place to stay. House is right on the beach.

  • 4 of 5

House was very clean when we arrived. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed to cook. If you like being close to the beach this is the house. The ocean at high tide came right up to the house. We stayed the first week in October when there was an nor'easter and hurricane Matthew. The pictures are accurate for the inside but are a little dated for the outside. The parking area has a concert pad. Looking forward to renting again next year.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the nice review of Mermaid's Tears. We appreciate your time in preparing this review and we know it will help potential guests make up their mind. We try very hard to make our property pleasing and enjoyable and exactly what you would expect an ocean front house to be like upon arrival. Thank you for mentioning our kitchen, our favorite spot to create great meals, gather and plan our days. BTW, we plan to put tile down on the kitchen floor in time for the 2017 season. We plan several other updates throughout the house as well. Thank you again, and we hope to see you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rodanthe House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Silver
May 13 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,570
 
 
Gold
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 23 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,050
 
 
Platium
Jun 24 2017 - Aug 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,350
 
 
Gold
Aug 5 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,050
 
 
Silver
Aug 19 2017 - Sep 1 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,570
 
 
Opal
Sep 2 2017 - Oct 27 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,740
 
 
Ruby
Oct 28 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,535
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Damage Protection $69 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.0%

SATURDAY TO SATURDAY RENTAL.

A $500.00 deposit plus the VRBO Service Fee is required to book. The remaining two payments are due at 90 and 30 days prior. If cancelled 60 days prior to vacation, full deposit is refunded (less $25 credit card fee).

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable