check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Recently Remodeled North End 3 Bd, 2 Bath home - 1 mile from downtown

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Veterans Park House Rental Photos and Description

Walk to downtown, greenbelt from the North End Cape Cod charmer

Welcome to the Black Dog House, a 1937 Cape Cod-style home in Boise's premier North End. The old world charm extends front and back with a very large Trex deck and huge park-like backyard ensconced with 75 year old trees. The house has all hardwood floors with the baths and kitchen remodeled by top Boise contractors. The baths were completed in Oct. 2012, and EVERYTHING was replaced. The kitchen is alder, stainless and granite, and filled with top cooking utensils such as Calphalon pots and Henckel knives. The downstairs features a living room, with a 42-inch flat screen HDTV (Direct TV with 175 channels) and a large sectional sofa. The Pottery Barn style dining table can seat 6. The first floor bedrooom has a queen pillowtop mattress. In fact, all the bedrooms have high-end pillowtop mattresses with soft high thread count 100% cotton sheets, pillows and down duvets. The full bath downstairs, was recently remodeled in 1930's Art Deco style in a cool black and white design. Upstairs, you will find the huge master bedroom with a comfy king bed, and another flat screen TV. The 3rd bedroom has a luxurious queen bed. The upstairs full bath was redone with Italian travertine in the shower and on the floors, with all new fixtures as well.

Outside of the french doors, you will find a huge Trex deck, with gas grille and teak outdoor dining area and umbrella. The back patio has 2 lounge chairs for relaxing in the sun.

The house is located within a 5 minute walk to Starbucks, and another 5 minutes to the Albertson's grocery store. A 15 minute walk will get you to the heart of downtown Boise's vibrant core of restaurants, shopping, or the BSU shuttle if you are heading to a game. The greenbelt entrance is less than a mile and Camelsback park, the trail access point, is about 2 miles north. This is one of the few Boise homes that offers true walking distance for those not renting a car.

The house is owner managed locally, so if there is anything needed, a quick phone call can get you the information you seek. Having lived here for 20 years, I know Boise like the back of my hand, and am here to help!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Owner/Manager - Susan
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2016
Call Owner

About Owner/Manager - Susan

I moved here to Boise in 1992 from the East Coast, and fell in love with this town almost immediately. My favorite things are running on the trails with my Lab, riding my bike, and hanging out with friends in one of Boise's many restaurants on a summer night with a glass of wine. I also ski, both downhill and XC in the winter. Other hobbies include food, wine and travel.

Owner/Manager - Susan purchased this house in 1999

Why Owner/Manager - Susan chose Boise

Location, location, location.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

Recently Remodeled North End 3 Bd, 2 Bath home - 1 mile from downtown
average rating of 4.576923 based on 26 reviews
5

The Perfect Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My two girlfriends and I had a lovely time at Black Dog House in Boise. The home is beautiful--tastefully appointed and inviting, from top to bottom. As you walk in, you feel like you've come home. The basket with wine, chocolates, and coffee was a lovely touch to our weekend, as well. Beds were incredibly comfortable, as was the sofa and chairs for long visits. The house is a gem, and immaculately kept. The charm oozes from the hardwood floors and tasteful window coverings. The three bedrooms and two baths were perfect for what we needed. We will be return!

  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Gatos, CA
5

Very nice stay!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Black Dog home while we were in town visiting family over the Thanksgiving holiday. We rent homes frequently when we travel, so I've got lots to compare with. Here are the things that set this property apart from others: (1) The home was clean & cozy with all appliances and home items/features in working order; (2) Beds were newer & comfortable with nice linens; (3) The towel closet was very well-stocked, so we didn't run out; (4) Little extras like the welcome basket with coffee & chocolate were much appreciated; (5) The home was in a nice quiet, clean neighborhood that was very well situated to Boise, nearby Eagle, as well as Whole Foods, shopping, etc. The owner takes good care of the home and it shows - thank you!

  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Such a disappointment - worst VRBO experience ever

  • 1 of 5

We were so excited to be in Boise for the first time and when we saw the pic of this charming house, we loved it. Before arriving, Susan was very kind. Boy, did things change.

The house smelled VERY badly of smoke. I am allergic to smoke, as is my daughter, so we immediately started sneezing nonstop. It was late, so I emailed Susan to tell her about the smell, but also to ask where the cleaning supplies were because the fans (which were all on full blast) were covered in dust along with the window units. She responded in the morning saying the house had a strict no-smoking rule, but that the maids had told her they smelled it, too. She did not mention the filthy fans nor did she apologize for the smell.

She said she stopped by in the morning, but we didn't hear her. She came later that evening and we did not hear back from her. She called the next day and said she was accidentally texting the wrong person about the smell. She promised the previous renter did not smoke and said she found mold on the air conditioning filter. MOLD. That is a 4 letter word I did not want to hear, especially with little ones in the house with us.

The technician came the next day and she accompanied him. She finally apologized (for the first time), to my husband and said she would refund our cleaning fee for the inconvenience. We returned to the house late that night and it was extremely hot- it had been 100 degrees outside that day. We tried turning the temperature down, but that did not help. It was late, so we just went to sleep. In the morning, I called to tell her the air wasn’t working. She came over and said they must have accidentally shut it off when they looked at the unit.

It has been almost a month since we stayed there. We did not receive the cleaning fee in the mail. I emailed Susan to ask if it was coming. She denied there ever being mold. She wrote that they fixed the problem and have not had a problem since. Then she wrote that, while vacuuming, they found a gun bullet on the floor and it ruined their vacuum, which cost them $130 to fix, so we would not be refunded. We didn't bring guns or bullets, just babies.

We were treated rudely and never saw that check she promised in the mail.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, the house had a peculiar odor when this guest checked in late on Sunday (11:30) pm, via her text message complaining of smoke. Normally I clean my houses by myself, but I was at a wedding in Bend, OR. I verfied with the guests (family of 6 from Utah) who checked out that morning who said there was no smoke smell. However, the cleaners did tell me that they smelled it Sunday afternoon while cleaning. As a 10-time Ironman triathlete, I have a zero tolerance policy on cigarette smoke. Monday at 9AM, I went by the house on my way to work. It was clear Jessica and her 3 children under 5, were stil asleep, so I didn't.disturb them. I made arrangements to come by as soon as I could, which was 4PM (i have a job). My husband and I went to the house, and immediately smelled this odor, which did not smell of smoke to us. We changed the filters in the AC unit, which did have a slight mildew smell to them, NOT MOLD, and threw them out. After running the AC for a bit, the smell was still present, so I called Service Experts, local AC company. Because it was summer and they were busy, they could not come until Wed. 8AM. I called Jessica and apologized PROFUSELY, and confirmed the 8AM appt. 36 hours later, I returned to the house with AC guy. We noticed the air was still not 100% right. We spent 4 hours and $250 going over the entire HVAC system and found nothing. During this time, nor at any time, Jessica did speak to me in person, in fact she only texted or called with her demands and rude responses. Apparently the AC guy forgot to turn the system back on after we left, and this is somehow my fault too. In short, I don't know what caused the smell. I did apologize profusely MULTIPLE times to Jessica / husband. However, upon checkout, they were not out of the house on time. The cleaners and I had to wait 40 minutes for them to leave. I have same day turnovers and failed to be done when the new guests arrived. I said nothing about charging her for her late checkout (she fails to acknoweldge). While vacuuming the master, the power head sucked up a gold object. This object, which I later found out was a gun bullet, ruined the carpet power attachement. She denied that it came from her or her guests, but she was in the house for a week. New vac was $130.00 When her demanding and threatening emails started, I knew this review was coming no matter WHAT I did. Yes, there was a dirty window fan. 24 5-star reviews vs. this one you judge.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Chapel Hill, NC
5

Family time

  • 5 of 5

We came to Boise for a visit with our daughter and family. Since they live in a small house, we decided to rent a home that we could all stay in together. The Black Dog House was perfect. We had plenty of room, a great kitchen, and beautiful back yard for the two young children to play in. We could walk downtown to enjoy all Boise has to offer. The owner was very responsive, even when we lost the keys! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming home, great location, lovely backyard!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying here! The house is so clean, comfortable, and quiet. The owner was very friendly and accomodating. You can tell she loves this home. The upgraded appliances were appreciated. The backyard was a special treat: wonderful big deck with a table and chairs for relaxing outside. The fenced yard is shaded by a canopy of trees-- perfect for our beagle. He loved running around in the grass. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location, huge backyard and clean

  • 5 of 5

If you're looking for a great affordable place to stay while visiting Boise don't overlook this place. We stayed while on a recent work trip and we found just about everything we needed within a 7 minute radius.

House Highlights:

Clean, AC worked well, huge relaxing backyard and located on a quiet street with alley parking.

Rooms:

Two of the rooms are more masters, while the third is a bit small and more or less just includes the bed. It's an older house so the bathrooms are a bit small as well, but nothing was uncomfortable.

Coffee:

Skip the Starbucks and head across State street to Janjou Patisserie in the morning. Fantastic espresso and pastries and close enough for a morning walk.

Owner:

Susan was quick to respond, professional and easily accessible if we needed anything during our stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Boise Airport
Nearest Ski
17 Miles
Bogus Basin
Car: not necessary

Welcome to Boise, an outdoor lover's paradise. In the summer, enjoy the 120 miles of trails for hiking, biking and running, a refreshing float on the Boise river or an exciting day on the class 4 rapids of the Payette river. Or simply relax in one of the many outdoor cafes downtown. In the winter, a short drive to Bogus Basin provides skiing, boarding, or tubing. You will never be bored here with outstanding weather and our hip, vibrant, and friendly city.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Veterans Park House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
$700
$2,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $18 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Fees above do not include city and state taxes, which are 13% for all rentals under 30 days, and 8% for all stays longer than 30 days. Breakout of 13% is as follows: State of ID tax - 6% Great Boise Auditorium Tax - 5% Conventional Center Hotel Tax - 2%

I accept Paypal/VISA/MC but there is a 4% transaction fee. I prefer checks.
50% of balance due at booking, final 50% due 2 weeks prior to arrival. Security deposit due at 2 weeks before arrival.
$120 cleaning fee due in final bill
Primary renters must be at least 23 years of age / valid ID and credit card

Pets are at the sole discretion of the owner

No more than 6 people permitted at any time

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Veterans Park House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Upstairs bedroom - 1 queen
    Downstairs bedroom - 1 queen
    Master - 1 king
  • 17 x 20 master bedroom with flat screen HDTV and Direct TV. large closets and hardwood floors. 400 ct. cotton sheets with duvet. the queen bedrooms 2 and 3 feature pillowtop mattresses with high quality sheets, linens and pillows
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties