Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beachfront Two-Villa Estate

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms; 2 Villas; 1 Magical Experience

Check out our new video walkthrough of our 1 br villa - 2 br villa coming soon!

https://youtu.be/jIKPc5lmWTM

Step out of your bedroom right onto your very own patio on a white sandy beach, Savaneta's most romantic hide-away. This secure gated property is one of 39 homes in Aruba built right on the water (not across the street from the beach).

There are two villas on the property. This listing allows you to rent both. For info on renting any individual villa, click 'More Details' and scroll to the bottom of the "About the Property' section.

Our one-bedroom villa is ideal for a romantic couple or up to three people with a cot. It offers a queen size bed, kitchen, renovated modern bathroom with warm water shower, outdoor bar, and Zen seating area under patio cover overlooking a palm garden and the ocean.

Our two-bedroom villa boasts a master bedroom with a king sized bed, and a second bedroom with one full/ double bed, and one twin(single) bed which can be put together for a super-king size bed. Cots can be provided upon request. The kitchenette is perfect for light meal preparation. It has a new full size refrigerator, a microwave oven, a toaster oven, a coffee brewing machine, an electric stove, and of course, a blender for those spectacular sunset drinks. Our living room is perfect for taking a breezy break from the hot sun and our modern bathroom with large walk in shower has just been upgraded to offer warm water, which is considered special in Aruba.

Outdoor Patio and Beach:

* Covered patio Zen decorated living space

* Unique outdoor kitchen area with sink in a marble mosaic countertop, and charcoal Bar-B-Q

* Outdoor patio seating, including dining tables and chairs, chaise lounges, Adirondack chairs and folding, portable beach chairs

The villas are perfect for 1, 2 or 3 romantic couples seeking a connection with nature in all of it's beauty.

Fishing & Boating:

Fishing is available right off of the dock near our villa but if you want a real adventure, you can charter a small boat from the fishermen who dock by the restaurants down the street (Zeerover), or head to port to charter a fully-equipped deep sea fishing boat or even a beautiful sailboat to take you snorkeling around the island, catch the sunset, and enjoy the views.

Scuba & Snorkeling:

Scuba diving is recommended right off our beach. Put on your tank and swim directly to a picturesque 100 foot wall reef teaming with colorful fish and a family of turtles. It is also one of the best snorkeling sites in the Caribbean. Experienced English speaking dive masters and are a phone call away, available for private dives right off our beach or elsewhere on the island.

Restaurants:

Two of Aruba's most exceptional restaurants are within walking distance along our stretch of beach. One is Zeerover, the local's fishing station serving the "catch of the day." It provides fresh seafood to the restaurants in Aruba, and serves the 'catch of the morning' for lunch or sunset-viewing in a truly local and down-to-Earth wharf setting. When feeling adventurous, there is an opportunity to charter a fishing excursion there as well. The other is the romantic Flying Fishbone where you can sit at a transporting white-tablecloth restaurateur and have a Michelin-worthy meal with your feet in the ocean. Also near by are the restaurants Arubaville, Barefoot and Marina Pirata which require a short drive. There are also quite a few delicious local restaurants in the neighborhood.

Groceries:

There is a local supermarket a 5 minute walk away and several others within short driving distance.

Away form the crowds of hotel bustle, in a paradise garden right on the beach, among the chirping of birds and parrots, and in the constant rhythm of the surf. Share your lunch with hummingbirds in the garden or with pelicans on the beach.

Escape to Robinson Cruso's world!

The house is in the fishing village of Savaneta, ancient port city and old capital of Aruba. It is situated half way between Orangestad and Baby beach, about a 7 minutes' drive from the airport.

Other Options:

Are two villas too much? You can rent either one as well :

- Our One-Bedroom Villa (sleeps up to 3):

https://www.vrbo.com/1179262?unitId=1729999

- Our Two-Bedroom Villa (sleeps up to 7):

https://www.vrbo.com/1180855?unitId=1731593

Note: As of 9/26/2017, we have updated this listing to reflect the renting of both villas. Bookings made before this date are not necessarily reflected by the current listing.

More Details

Property Manager
Brit
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2018

About Brit

We fell in love with Aruba 20 years ago when we first visited as tourists escaping the cold of a New York City winter. But out of curiosity, seeking a variety of experiences, and wishing to learn about other cultures, we continued to explore other destinations in the Caribbean and Central America. No matter where we went, we always felt it was not quite as wonderful as being in Aruba. Aruba offered perfect hot weather, whereas in many other destinations we had to spend some days waiting for the rain to pass. In many other islands, we felt sorry for the native population, whereas in Aruba, we made friends with many of them. Aruba does not have shanty towns, it provides employment for most of the population who pride themselves as 'one happy island'. Most Arubeans speak English, Dutch, and Spanish so there is never a problem communicating.

The white beaches are gorgeous, considered some of the most beautiful in the world, the water is clear and warm at 80 degrees most of the year. As far as water sports, there is everything available: incredible snorkeling and diving, world class windsurfing and kite surfing with steady trade winds, deep sea fishing, sunset cruises, jet skiing and tubing. Sunsets are breathtaking with many viewing sites (other than our own back yard...) serving drinks of your choice. At night, we love visiting our favorite restaurants. There are quite a few great restaurants serving gourmet food in transporting settings, and Casinos stay open through the night. The more we had seen in the Caribbeans, the more we missed Aruba. Then on September 11, 2001 we were in New York City when it was under attack. Soon after that traumatic experience, we decided we wanted to find a home away from conflict. Now, we ventured on a hunt for a peaceful land where we could feel safe. After much research and exploration, we were lucky to find a property right on the beach in our favorite island. The property has an additional guest house which we are proud to share

Brit purchased this villa in 2004

Why Brit chose De Bruynewijk

For many years, whenever we visited Aruba, we stayed at the big hotels on the island. But as a personal treat, as the icing on the cake, we made a tradition of ending our vacation dining at our favorite restaurant The Flying Fishbone in the remote fisherman's village of Savaneta.

The taxi ride to the restaurant made us feel we were getting to see the real country-side. At the hotels' section, it was busy, crowded, and hectic. But as we drove away from there, we met a sense of quiet, a down to earth sensibility. So when we looked for a house in Aruba, we were insistent to find a house right on the beach. Very few (less than 40)of Aruba's homes are built on the beach-most are across the street so we were thrilled when we found an ancient house on the beach in Savaneta, the village of our best memories.

We have since worked tirelessly to renovate, update, and modernize the home while keeping its traditional structure preserved. We cherish every moment we spend at our home. We hope you do the same.

What makes this villa unique

No words can describe the beauty of being on the water better than the pictures taken from our back yard/beach.

When we arrive at the house, there is a realization that we have landed in paradise. There is a different beauty to every hour of the day: The calm breeze of the early morning, the bright yellow heat of mid day, the pink hues that glide on the ocean, and paint the sand in the afternoon. It is constantly changing and trasforming until the sun finally kisses the horizon, and the sky goes on fire. The perfect viewing spot is in the hammock under the Divi tree on the beach. We try to spend all of our time outdoor in nature. As there are so few homes on the water in Aruba, it was a treasure for us to find. In addition, the main house is a typical 'kunuku' house traditional to the country side of Aruba. it was built more than 100 years ago of coral. We have tried to preserve its heritage while modernizing and improving its ammenities.

Amenities

De Bruynewijk Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Air conditioners must be turned off when rooms are not in use. Your specific use of water and electricity will be deducted from your security deposit.
  • For your safety, please lock all gates and doors when away from the house, and at night.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , warm water heater for shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Modern Second bathroom is in the one bedroom guesthouse
  • Modern bathroom with a large walk in shower. Unlike most private properties in Aruba, we have warm water as well.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Option to use a one bedroom guest house or a 2 bedrooms guesthouse, or to combine them both into 3 bedroom set up. One bedroom has a king size bed, one with two beds: a double and a twin size beds. A separate guest house on the same property has a queen size bed, its own bathroom and kitchenette as well as a covered patio living room. please see photos.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our guest house offers an opportunity to run away from the modern world. It does not offer hotel crowds, elevators or amenities, but to us that is its' beauty: We awaken to the sound of birds, waves and wind, wear a bathing suit, and pretend we are on a deserted island with no obligations at all. We swim along the shore or to the reef across the way, snorkel, dive, sunbathe, read, listen to music, or have a massage in afternoon. Sunset offers "sacred" restorative moments of beauty (there is no nicer sunset anywhere on the island). At night we dress up pretty, and walk or drive over to one of the restaurants in the vicinity, or we bring in food from the various take-out establishments. After dinner, we star gaze or watch a lightening show in the distance over the ocean. This house is all about an immersion in nature. It is set up for minor food preparation with light grilling and salads (not for heavy cooking).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Beachfront Two-Villa Estate
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
5

Private beachfront property in Aruba

  • 5 of 5

This cute villa-style accommodation includes its own private beachfront property. I was able to wake up early and go for a swim in our little private section of the ocean, or go for late-night swims after dinner. There are several dive-shops close by for those who like to scuba dive. The property is also in walking distance of my favorite restaurant on the island, Zeerover, a simple restaurant that only serves shrimp or the "catch of the day". We bought fresh fish and grilled it back at the house for lunch several days. The property includes two separate houses, ideal for multiple couples who come as a group but would like privacy. My favorite part is that the house is on the South side of the island, giving it an authentic feel, distant from the more touristy North side of the island. We drove over to the North side of the island several nights for more action and nightlife, but spent most of the vacation relaxing away from that.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Connor! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We had a great time hosting you. Zeerover is asking about when you're coming back for more fish! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Mission VIejo, CA
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Our family of 5 did not have the same experience as other reviewers. Many issues with property being not as expected including:

Broken refrigerator (old and in poor repair, yet owner accused me for not closing door properly) this resulted in food spoilage.

overwhelming smell in one of the "villas" (rotten shrimp had been left in freezer)

sewer smell emerging from drain in bathroom was unbearable

limited access to beach due to popular location for local beachgoers (all public beaches in Aruba and that was totally understood!) However, loud parties, music, drinking and trash (including broken beer bottles) being left each day was literally right outside the back door and our family found this quite intrusive. In other words, I would not suggest that you book this property for the beach access.

Nice location out of the way of busy tourist area which is just what we wanted! Our family did not find this property to be a nice place to relax and connect as a family. Much time spent texting property manager and dealing with drama. Not restful at all

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Emma, We’re sorry that you did not have the same 5-star experience enjoyed by our other guests. The best response to your review would be to share the review left by the guests who immediately followed your stay. They were overjoyed by their experience, and had even written a beautiful poem about it. Here’s their 5-star review (posted on our other listing): “After a bad experience on another island we were a little leary, but this place could not have been any better. It was a dream come true for us. It was right on the beach and we could hear the waves crashing in the night lulling us to sleep. Bert, the caregiver of the place, was extremely nice and accommodating. We loved having our own private beach. We will definitely recommend to our friends and hopefully be back sometime. A+!“ In response to your specific concerns: The refrigerator was working properly before your stay, as well as after your checkout. None of our other guests have ever mentioned a problem with the refrigerator. We would never accuse you of closing the door improperly, but of course the refrigerator won’t function properly if the door is left open by you or your children. The “overwhelming smell” was likely related to spoiled food due to improper usage of the refrigerator. As you are aware, all beaches in Aruba are public. Most of our guests appreciate the opportunity to interact with the friendly local population; some even end up making friends and remain in touch for years. It’s unfortunate that you were disinterested in making the same rewarding connections. While discarded items left behind on the beach are very rare, we don’t offer beach maintenance staff. We care for the beach ourselves and hope that others feel the same desire to maintain its natural beauty. As for our texting, most of our guests express appreciation that we make the time to remain in communication and assist in whatever way possible throughout their stay. In addition, our friend Bert is our property manager in Aruba. He was available and tended to your every complaint at all times. Service and support was our goal. We hope this was not misconstrued. In our description of our property, we try to make it clear that it is an opportunity for simply relaxing and enjoying the sand and sea in a setting shared with the local community. We recognize not everyone is a perfect fit for our humble home but for us it is as close to a paradise as we can imagine. We are happy to share it with others who understand it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A quiet Aruban paradise

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place away from the crowded commercial tourist areas. This quiet ocean-front property located in the fishing village of Savaneta was a perfect choice. Our hosts were friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. With a rental car we were just a short drive to other parts of the island.

One of this property’s best attributes is direct access to the ocean from a small beach leading into calm waters protected by a coral reef. We spent a lot of time in the water snorkeling and floating and in the evenings sat on our little beach watching fishing boats come in to a backdrop of a beautiful Aruban sunset.

The accommodations were perfect for a beach house, though we really spent all of our time outside. From the nicely landscaped sitting areas we gazed out at the ocean watching the frigate birds dive for fish. The property is also frequented by a variety of colorful birds and lizards. Everything needed for simple meal prep was available and there are several small markets just down the street for groceries and supplies. We took the opportunity to dine at some of the island’s best restaurants that were merely minutes away.

Though we enjoyed our outings to other parts of the island we kept thinking how lucky we were to be returning to our private Aruban oasis away from the crowds. We hope to come back again some day!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Antonio, Texas
5

Healing Oasis

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I lost our son June 2017 so we needed to get away from reality and attempt to start the healing process. We could have never imagined that we would find such a perfect paradise.

We stayed for 10 nights and it wasn’t enough.

This property is not only beyond beautiful, it is also so comfortable & relaxing. Brit & Bert go out of their way to make your stay everything you can dream of.

We were so sad to leave the island and this property. We will stay here over & over again, in fact I am already planning a second trip.🏝?

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful setting on the water in a small fishing village in Aruba.

  • 5 of 5

Our visit to Aruba was amazing, and we enjoyed the villas. We wanted a place away from the crowded tourist resort areas, and this was perfect. If you want luxury resort accommodations, this is not the place for you. It is private, relaxing, and away from the hustle and tourist traffic. A rental car is necessary here, and navigating the island was easy.

The small beach on the property was nice, though it has a few rocky steps, so for those with handicaps, it was a little tough.

The villas were nice. Small, and as advertised, had limited cooking options, with no oven, but we used the grill, hot plate, microwave, and toaster oven. The owner was helpful with any issues, and had someone meet us on check in and for other maintenance issues.

The living area in the village could use a more comfortable couch, but was adequate, as most of our time was spent in the beautiful outside area.

No washer/dryer on site, but there is a nearby laundromat that was helpful since we had an extended stay. Grocery stores were close, and several restaurants nearby.

Overall, a peaceful, beautiful visit to an amazing island.

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stayed in both! Coming back for more!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this beautiful Caribbean property twice, once in the winter and then again in the summer, once in the larger two- bedroom house and the other in the Romantic one -bedroom casa. Each house is air conditioned and has a kitchen, and I loved them both.

On our first visit in February, we shared the larger house with friends we had not seen in a while, and we loved the fact that it felt like we were in our very own home with privacy and also a shared living room/kitchen area. We loved our visit so much that we took a chance in returning in what we feared might be the too-hot summer season. To our delight, we found the weather not noticeably different from what it had been in the winter.

I am a writer, and I was generally very happy sitting outside on the porch of whichever house I was staying in, writing. Sometimes, I took my computer and sat on the beach where there is wifi as well to continue my research, write and enjoy the music (my choice classical!) that is piped throughout the property. I loved the fact that it took just a few seconds to take a break to sway in the hammock overlooking the beach and shimmering Caribbean waters and watch the fishing boats come in.

While My companion was off snorkeling at the nearby reef, I was ecstatic just plunging into the turquoise waters that glimmered only a few feet away from the property’s charming beach. I really felt that I was part of the scenery and part of the surroundings….that I belonged there. Civilization was not too far away (grocery stores, pizza, fabulous restaurants….the nearby Flying Fishbone, an elegant ocean-side milieu where diners can watch the cruise boats pass by while running their toes through the sand…. is my all-time favorite!). Best of all though, is enjoying a cool drink on “your own” porch, watching the sun go down.

I should mention that the second time we visited, the hosts were there, and they made us feel so welcome, as if we were part of the family. We look forward to seeing them again on our next visit.

Before discovering Savaneta, we had spent three summers in the Hotel District enjoying the “hustle and bustle.” But truth be told, we craved something different. We found it at this retreat, and I could not recommend it more highly! Just stay away from “my” hammock! : )

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Queen Beatrix Airport, AUA (aruba)
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
The Flying Fishbone
Nearest Beach
Our own beach at our doorstep
Car: recommended

The house is in Savaneta, away from the maddening crowds.

Savaneta is an authentic caribbean fishing village. It is an ancient port city, and it was the old capital of Aruba. It is currently also the home of the Dutch marine base. There are supermarkets and public transportation along the main road a short walk away from the house. However, the house sits on a side street that meanders along the shoreline. The little town which feels more like a neighborhood has a mixture of local flishermans' homes and weekend homes for the vacationing local 'elite'. Everybody seems to interact with the friendly disposition typical to Aruba.

Savaneta is a quick 7 minutes drive from the airport. It is mid way between the capital Orangestad and the Eastern most town of Saint Nicholas.

Baby Beach, considered by many one of the most beautiful beaches in the world, is located in Seroe Colorado near Saint Nicholas at a short driving distance from the house.

Another point of interest nearby is Mangel Alto, the beach in Pos chiquito, our neighboring town. There is a public access beach with areas organized for picnics and gatherings. Driving along the ocean in Pos chiquito always takes my breath away. And snorkeling in the pool like lagoon is an experience of a lifetime.

The Arikok National Park is a desert park typical of Aruba's wild and arrid terrain. It extends north to the rugged coastline where huge waves crash against the steep rocks in rhythmic thump and salt spray. Few explore that part of the island, but the entrance into the park is very close by, and the drive well worth it. There are horseback riding tours and ATV rides to the park, and to the Natural Pool in it.

Most importantly, the house is on the beach. It is a pristine white sandy beach with direct access to the warm clear water below. There is natural shade provided by the Divi-divi tree on shore where one can relax and rejeuvenate

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee weekly $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $800

Utilities are charged per use after checkout
Electric $0.5/ kWh
Water $6/m3 up to 6M3. (1m3=264.2 gallons=35.3 ft3) and deducted from security deposit. It is usually less than $100 per villa per week's conservative use.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties