Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Houseboat In Old Center

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 538 sq. ft.
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 2 Sleeps

Your houseboat is moored with its South view on one of the most romantic and peaceful canals, surrounded by a 17th Century architecture and the Carillon of Zuiderkerk painted by Claude Monet.

One bedroom with king size bed 2m/1m80 and overhead window for watching stars.

Flat screen cable TV, WiFi, cable Internet and Windows PC.

You will appreciate being located in the historical area of Nieuwmarkt, 5 minutes walking distance from Central Station or 50 meters from the metro station 'Nieuwmarkt'.

LGBT and all origin welcome ;-)

More Details

Owner
Your host
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Your host

As your host, my dearest wish is for you to enjoy your stay and feel at home in your houseboat.

Why Your host chose Old Center

To live in a houseboat in the 'Old Center' of Amsterdam but in the residential part : 'East side'.

Why Live In A houseboat ? : I understood that a flat is too noisy, as the walls are too thin with buildings on pilotis in Amsterdam. A barge is too steep-sided.

What makes this house boat unique

You are tucked away on your own island in the middle of town.

Only renting the houseboat when I’m in the countryside, a 'polder', which is very closeby.

Your houseboat is not merely an impersonal and soulless rental property, as I prefer to welcome my friends and guests in a friendly spirit rather than dealing with business customers.

Amenities

Grachtengordel House Boat Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house boat
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 538 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Noon / Check-out: 3:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Bathroom with 'douche à l'italienne'
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • One bedroom with king size bed 2m/1m80 and overhead ceiling window for watching the stars.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(82 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
17% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Houseboat In Old Center
average rating of 4.6829267 based on 82 reviews
3

houseboat stay

  • 3 of 5

stayed 3 nights. owner very nice. met us at prescribed time and showed us around.

had problems with toilet not working..apparently a common issue. had to contact him a few times until he came to fix and showed us how to refix ourselves which we had to do multiple times. not to bad once we got the hang of it.

The boat is very cluttered. large furniture in a small boat. little room to walk. there is a livin cat, but he did remove the cat and fortunately no allergic attacks but i would not recommend if you have cat allergies and specify NO CAT.

Location very good and they idea was fun to be on the canal, but the boat is quite dated, does not look as good as the pictures, and overpriced for what we got.

It was nice to see the other tour boats go by and the ducks and swans hanging out by our windows.

Not a disaster, but certainly not the best . a hotel certainly would have been cleaner , nicer and cheaper IMHO

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Andrew, Thank you for your kind review and if you appreciated location ''very good, to be on the canal''. Of course, it was not a hotel but a houseboat like written by Rob, review (The pictures say it all! with 5 stars) and stay just after yours. Rob ''loved it and would definitely stay again''. About toilet, ''apparently'', you have had a problem with flushing and I came for to support you with pleasure. I can understand you after a long overnight flight from USA with a stop at Zurich. If you have allergies, let me know and I can help you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
La Mesa
5

The pictures say it all!

  • 5 of 5

Everything was as expected, great location, friendly host..... even the swans showed up..... every day.

That being said, keep in mind, it is an older houseboat, not a hotel. I loved it and would definitely stay again.

Rob

P.S. Lionel has a first class collection of Bossa Nova CD's and a nice stereo.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One more time...

  • 5 of 5

After spending a full week at Lionel's lovely houseboat in 2016, we decided to book it again for our two weeks 2017 trip in Amsterdam.. Lionel and Laurent are the kindest hosts. The canal is quiet and located in the center so it's close to everything by walk or bike. One minute to the metro station too.

Equipment is conform to the ad and kitchen is well equiped.

We had a wonderful time again and never wanted to leave.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Eclectic/Fun Houseboat Near Everything

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing trip we had ! This Houseboat is centrally located- the owner is amazing !! Would highly recommend staying here. It completely adds ambiance to your stay in Amsterdam. Loved watching all the boats go by!

KR

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Regretful

  • 1 of 5

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels and vacation rentals and this is my first negative review.

As mentioned by others the place was cluttered, so cluttered that evidently the owner and previous renters had not noticed the dead decomposed frog under the desk tangled in computer cables. As also stated by others there is no place to unpack and you are forced to live out of suitcases that only fit on living room chairs.

The exterior foliage was overgrown with so much debris that the gutters were full. The water had so much debris at the entrance I dropped the keys in the water and they did not sink (luckily). As you would imagine this created a flying bug infestation right at the entranceway. It was so bad a local knocked on the door asking if he could clean the area for payment. In hindsight I wish I would have paid him, we then could have opened the windows in front to get a breeze.

On the positive side, Amsterdam was fun, the location was great and you really do get ducks swimming up to the windows.

I would not recommend this place. I do not like having to provide a negative review as I do not to wish to impact someone's income, however, I feel I owe this to fellow travelers.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: RESPECTFUL Dear David, Your stay and our relationship were perfect. You never expressed your disafection from your arrival until your leaving. The proof is in 5 stars review I addressed to you and which is totally positive: RESPECTFUL. Now when I read yours, I see either an error or an anger or panic following the fall of your keys that you could easily recover. Now you are right : the location is great, floating on water, with an animal life (ducks, etc), some flower beds with bugs and trees around the boat. The City Hall of Amsterdam gave us the price of the most beautifull houseboat garden of the Old Center.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ventura, California
3

Unique Experience and Challenges

  • 3 of 5

My wife was excited that our stay in Amsterdam would require no moving. One week, one place made sense. First of all, Lionel and Hans were great hosts. Lionel was responsive and responsible. When my Garmin watch fell out of the suitcase, he located it and mailed it back to me. As others have said, this is a very good location which is within walking distance of just about everything that you might want to see. Try the little Thai restaurant just down the street. Very good Thai food and non touristy. There is a market about a five minute walk away with beer, wine and sushi! We did find some challenges, however, which are mentioned in other reviews but not as much as I would have expected. Staying for a week, we were hoping to unpack our clothes and put our suitcases away. But, there are no dressers to put your stuff away in. You will pretty much have to live out of your suitcase. And, since the bed takes up almost all of the bedroom, you're grabbing your clothes from the suitcase which is in the living room. Second, as others have mentioned, there is furniture especially chairs everywhere. So the rooms seem cluttered and overloaded with "stuff". The ambience and feel was fine and I enjoyed waving to passing boats. Most of all, we loved Amsterdam!

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Edward, Thank you very much for your warm review recalling you were on a boat . Glad to read you much appreciated your host, the very good location and ambience in the boat. After 77 nice reviews, I appreciate to get your feed back . About dressers, there are and I found your lost Garmin watch in one of dressers ;-) I was very happy to support you after your stay and to send to you your lost Garmin watch by postmail. About stars, there are more than 3 stars, visible through the zenithal window of the bedroom for the night ;-) Warm regards, Lionel.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6 Kilometres
Schiphol
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Amsterdamse Golf Club
Nearest Train
800 Metres
Centraal Station
Nearest Motorway
4 Kilometres
A10 Exit : Amsterdam Centrum
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
6 restaurants within 100 meters
Nearest Beach
9 Kilometres
Bloemendaal aan Zee
Car: not necessary

You will appreciate being located in the historical area of Nieuwmarkt with its great sightseeing spots. The houseboat is just 5 minutes walking distance from Central Station or 50 meters from the metro station 'Nieuwmarkt,' the first station after Central Station with all lines: 51, 54 and 53.

1 minute walking distance from 5 Supermarkets (open 7 days - from 8 to 22), bicycle rental (open 7 days - from 9 to 17:45), the Flea Market, Museums (Rembrandt House, Hermitage, Joods Historisch, Willet-Holthuysen and Allard Pierson) and the Dutch Royal Opera.

Many great sightseeing spots and 12 restaurants are within 200 meters.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $70.56

For your reservations to be considered reserved, 50% must be paid upfront (Via Vrbo with a vrbo service fee of 9% based on total rental price or by Paypal (*) or banking transfer (*), with the balance, paid upon your arrival.

(*) The price quoted is the price charged : No deposit, service fee, hidden charges or bad surprises.

Beyond 3 nights, decreasing rate :

Do not hesitate to ask all information you need before to book. It will be a pleasure to reply and to support you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.