Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 minutes from Conley Bottom Marina

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedroom 2 bath Handicapped Accessible Cottage

Our home is a beautiful cottage in a peaceful area of Monticello Kentucky near Lake Cumberland. Our home has both steps, and ramps to get into the house. When you enter the house you see the warm living room , kitchen with all the appliances, dishes, and silverware. There is washer & dryer for your use. Each bedroom was decorated by my Mom, and they all have closets. There are two full bathrooms on each side of the house. The larger Master Bedroom has a large bathroom. All of the bedrooms have lots of drawer space for your clothes.

We have all kinds of utensils, and a propane grill to enjoy any fish you might catch or any steak you might buy. We also have a propane fireplace in the living room. We also have a screened in porch with a hot tub, and a table and chairs sit and relax. We have a propane grill, a fire pit, and a corn hole set. And we have both indoor, and outdoor games for both kids and adults.

We also have an old time stereo that plays records, tapes, and cd's. We also have a small collection of old time radio programs to listen to, and a few records, and some books on tape. That you can listen to while you are fixing dinner or while relaxing after a long day on the lake.

My Mom and I hope you enjoy our Cottage that God has so graciously given us. And that you will pass on your stories of your stay with us with your family, and friends. Thank you for considering to stay in our beautiful cottage near Lake Cumberland. In the beautiful state of Kentucky.

More Details

Owner
Renee Gayheart
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 30, 2018

About Renee Gayheart

My Mom and I live near the University of Cincinnati Ohio. We have a beautiful house with a beautiful garden. I graduated from St. Bernard Elmwood Place High School, and The University of Cincinnati. My Mom graduated from Our Lady of Angels.

Renee Gayheart purchased this cottage in 2000

Why Renee Gayheart chose Monticello

We stayed in a friends house for Mother's day, and our friend said 'He was building a handicapped accessible house that would be perfect for me. We stayed in the house one time, and I said 'If you ever decide to sell the house let me know.' He called two weeks later and asked me if I would like the house. My Mom and I were so excited and we bought it and have been so happy ever since.

What makes this cottage unique

I am in a wheelchair and the house is truly made for people in wheelchairs. The house is very open so I can get around very easy. We have a handicapped bench seat for the shower for your use. The master bedroom, and bathroom have pocket doors for easy access for anyone with a disability.

Amenities

Monticello Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Handicap Accessible Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Memory Foam
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • We also have a pull out full size coach that sleeps 2 people.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
There is a water park close park called Somersplash, a beautiful marina Conley Bottom is within 5 minutes. There is also a old fashioned drive in theater in Somerset on the weekends.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

41% Complete
32% Complete
9% Complete
3% Complete
12% Complete
5 minutes from Conley Bottom Marina
average rating of 3.8709676 based on 31 reviews
4

The Blessed Cottage was comfortable for our family & in a lovely area.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the Blessed Cottage and really enjoyed the lake and the area. The house was charming and comfortable, except for the 90 degree day the AC did not work, likely due to a lightening strike. Renee had the repair made within 24 hours. The neighborhood is friendly and walkable. We would highly recommend dining at the Black Stallion restaurant in Monticello. Most nights we had dinner at the cottage after a day on the lake. Jessica the caretaker was helpful and professional, and offered to provide us with anything we needed. We are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am deeply sorry about the air conditioning, but by God's grace we were able to get it fixed right away. I will tell Jessica the kind words you said about her. And I do have wonderful friendly neighbors. I look forward to having you back again next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Location, location, location!

  • 5 of 5

We love staying here because of the location is so close to Conley Bottom & Monticello. Renee is quick to respond if you have any questions and easy to get along with. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mark, Thank you for staying at my cottage again. I am glad you and your family keep coming back every year. Please tell your family and friends about my little cottage in the country.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great layout, Great Lake Access

  • 4 of 5

The property was lovely and had access to great amenities. Nice yard and very responsive owner. So glad she was fine with our dog joining us. Good access to Conley Bottom. House had a good layout and nice extras. I would recommend it!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kate for the nice review. I hope you will come back again. And please tell your friends about my cottage near the Lake.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

COULD NOT GET AHOLD OF OWNER! POOR COMMUNICATION!

  • 1 of 5

We booked the house for August 3-5 we came from North of Columbus, OH about a 5 hour drive for the Lake Cumberland raft up event. I had not hear anything from the owner prior to arriving to the house other than she will be in contact with me before we arrive and that was in April. I sent her a message through VRBO asking if there was a code to get into the house, I texted her also, still hadn't heard anything from her. We got to the house and I had called her 51 times and it kept going to voicemail we waited until 4:30pm before trying to get into the house. Finally walking to the back, the screen door was unlocked and the back door was unlocked so we made our way inside since I paid in full for this house. I DID NOT HEAR FROM THE OWNER ALL WEEKEND! I finally got the code from a previous renter who also stated the owner is a hard person to get ahold of. It is a nice house to stay in, but it needs updated, the door to the master bedroom is hard to shut, the beds are uncomfortable, and the hot tub can only fit 3 people. For the money I paid for just the weekend I will not be staying here again. Nor do I recommend this house to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter will not stay at my house ever again. I did try to get a hold of her, and she did not answer me. My beautiful house was trashed. They broke the combination lock where the keys were. The broke tiles in front of the file place that have to be replaced. They pulled out a curtain rod out of the wall in the master bathroom. They left behind dirty personal clothes on the floor in the living room. Trash was left in the house with large garbage cans over flowing with trash. My house keeper took pictures of how this group left my house. As far as the hot tub they left it with dirty water in it. I truly hope no one rents to these people because you will have your property trashed like mine.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Lots of Space, needs a deep clean

  • 2 of 5

This home had lots of space and all of the necessities. It needs some upgrades, such as a new grill (bring a handyman if you plan on using it), and needs a better cleaning service. I addressed these issues with Renee, the homeowner, so hopefully she will correct them. Renee is very quick at responding to emails, so that is nice. Lake Cumberland is a lot of fun, but if you want to do anything besides nature hikes/boating/or an outdoor swim park this is not the place for you. We left a day early so we could hit some museums on our way home. If you rent this place, you will not be able to use the nice new play set or the sand volleyball pit directly in your front yard, or the swimming pool that you will look at everyday or the tennis/basketball court either...these belong to Golden Ponds not to the Blessed Cottage.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I spoke with Jessica about the grill and bought a brand new one as soon as she let me know she had trouble with it. As far as the cleaning I have a house keeper that takes pictures of her work, and how the house looks when she comes in after a guest leaves. And I have come in after her, and the house is perfect. As far as not having access to the resort amenities I have that posted in the rental agreement that guest have to read before they book the reservation. My house has it's own amenities such as a swing set/ play set right outside the house. And a fire pit, corn hole, and a new grill. Jessica doesn't understand that this area is for outdoor activities. Such as boating, fishing,hiking trails. I do send out a list of all of the local attractions. So I am sorry Jessica and her family did not enjoy her time. But I also think this not a good place for her to vacation if she is not an outdoor person. I wish her and her family well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cincinnati
3

Place was ok, not the cleanest. Did not like the carpet in bathroom.

  • 3 of 5

The surrounding owners of other property were not nice because the owner of this property does not belong with golden pond and all the amenities. Its kind of deceiving were property is located right in front of the pool and volleyball etc. So you assume its included but it is not. Should have read the listing better. Owner was easy to work with and responded to calls.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have a professional housekeeper and she cleans the house very well. So I am unsure why this guest was unhappy with the cleanliness of the house. We have 2 bathrooms one does have carpet, and the other one does not. This is the first time I have had a complaint about the carpet in the bathroom. As far as the issue about the resort around me. I post it in my listing that I am not part of the resort. And that is why I charge a much lower price per night. The owner of the resort charges $65.00 more per night than I do. I try very hard to do everything I can to make my guests as happy as I can. And I take all reviews to heart, because I want people to have a great vacation. And I really appreciate anyone who chooses to rent my cottage for their vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

The most beautiful marina is less than a quarter of a mile away from our home. Conley Bottom Marina and resturant, you can rent any boating equiptment needed to make your stay really enjoyable.

Also in the area is a guided stryper fishing expert, and the fish is great!

There is also a golf course at the Burnside State Park. We will have all the information for all of these attractions at the house for your convience.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $65
Property Damage Insurance $59

We ask for at least 1 weeks notice on reservation requests.
We charge a $59 non-refundable Property Damage Protection deposit. For anyone interested in renting the house in the off season for a month or longer their will be a $350.00 refundable deposit due immediately to hold the dates. The monthly fee will be due at the beginning of the month.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties