Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Private lower level suite with fireplace and a feeling of home

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Our meticulously maintained lower level suite has a cozy, comfortable and tastefully furnished bedrooms for your stay. Welcoming entry to our home leads directly to the suite situated on a separate lower floor of our bi-level house. You will have access to a large living room with fireplace, kitchen as well as heated bathroom and laundry room (for longer stays). You will enjoy as much privacy as you need, however, we are always happy to hear and share the stories too.

The house is conveniently located in Southwest quadrant of the city, bus stop is 5 min away, LRT station is 10 min away, parks, bike paths, fitness and leisure centre as well as restaurants and shops are within arms reach. There is plenty of parking space in front of the house. This is a very quiet matured neighbourhood with a playground and walking paths just a half a block away.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, russian, Lithuanian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 11, 2017

About Dalia

Friendly, easy going, welcoming and respectful family of four. We love meeting new people and welcoming them to our beautiful house. We are environmentally friendly, enjoy nature and try to have minimum impact on it no matter what we do. Our main interests are outdoors, skiing, biking, hiking, travelling, doing crafts, reading and sometimes watching a fun movie together.

Dalia purchased this house in 2013

Why Dalia chose Southwest Calgary

It is an extremely well kept house in a matured property. It has lovely backyard, lots of privacy and quietness in the middle of the city. Our neighbours are wonderful people and we are so close to everything we need from shopping centres to parks and gyms.

What makes this house unique

Many updates and upgrades throughout the property and it never ends:) Beautiful lifetime and environmentally friendly natural clay roof, cozy fireplace inside, lots of wood work and natural wood/material furniture inside. Interior decor is very tasty, not too much and not too little - just what you need.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house is in a wonderful neighborhood and has been perfectly suited for travelers like me and my daughter. We could walk or use public transport where we needed. Of course, to have a car is much more convenient in a city like Calgary. The hosts have been wonderful throughout our stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable. We found everything we needed and more. We will definitely come back again!
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 2


Southwest Calgary House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom is private to guests on the floor. Has a walk in shower, heat lamp.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , please, note this is a fold out queen size bed
  • Comfortable beds, large closets/wardrobes and high end furniture.
  • Books
  • Games
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Private lower level suite with fireplace and a feeling of home
average rating of 4.769231 based on 15 reviews

Very elegant, bright space

  • 5 of 5

The place is very well taken care of. We felt at home right after we stepped in. Dalai was very prompt in her responses and thorough with all the instructions. The suite is cool and nice which was great to relax after long hot days of walk in Calgary. The hosts are very respectful and we felt very secure in their house. Thank you for having us!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA

Welcoming and nice hosts

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed staying at Dalia's house. The family is very nice and welcoming. We had everything we needed. The suite is pretty spacious. I loved the little kitchen! So bright and fully equipped. The heat lamp in the shower was great. We are definitely staying here again during the next visit.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We had everything we could need for a short visit

  • 5 of 5

Dalia's place is very welcoming and cozy. We enjoyed meeting the family and really felt cared for. The suite gets a bit chilly if the temperature outside drops to drastic 5C - this was unexpected given the time of the year. Dalia was quick enough to bring in the space heaters to keep us warm. The beds were comfy, everything clean and tidy. We did not lack a thing and having host's care and attention is something that would definitely bring us back to this place next time we are in Calgary.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Did not live up to my expectations.

  • 3 of 5

Parking was on the street in front of the house which could be a problem if the neighbors had visitors. The only thing seperating us from upstairs home owner was curtains hanging at the bottom of the stairs. We were asked to remove shoes just inside the front door. The kitchen is very very small. The bathroom had one hanging towel which looked like it had been used. No extras to be seen. We were asked to be very quiet after 8 pm and there wasn't a TV. If you wanted to use the fireplace you had to ask permission and there was no thermostat downstairs. Maybe my expectations were too high but we were very uncomfortable and disappointed. We left after just one night. We were scheduled for 6.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Diana, Thank you for your comments. We made every effort to communicate the description of the suite as it is. I encourage guests to ask any questions before arrival, however, I received none from you. As you mentioned you did not check out our photos that are on the website and did not know where you were going until you arrived. I understood that the main reason for your departure was not knowing this was a house and not a completely separate rental unit. This is clearly shown in the listing. I also understand you were disappointed of not being able to receive the refund, however, I did make an exception and refunded extra guest stay fee. All of the things you mention have been clearly stated in the rental agreement, which you accepted before booking. Fireplace requires permission for your own safety - it is gas operated and I would not want any of our guests to end up causing themselves injuries. Thermostat is not necessary at +25C, however, thank you for pointing this out. I do appreciate your remarks and again sorry for not ending up to be a place of your vacation. Sincerely, Dalia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very welcoming place

  • 5 of 5

I had one of the best experiences staying in this suite. It is clean, tidy and has provided me with everything I needed for the stay. Dalia and the family are so welcoming and caring. The girls were just adoring. I enjoyed parking in front of the house which did not get busy except one evening due to a gathering in the neighborhood. I know I have a favourite place to stay when I come back to Calgary.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay!

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here during my business trip. Very discrete and welcoming hosts. Enjoyed my stay. It was close to everything I needed. Will be looking forward to staying again.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Nearest Train
5 Kilometres
Nearest Motorway
5 Kilometres
Trans Canada Highway
Nearest Ski
10 Kilometres
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $156.1
Cleaning fee $39.03

Our check in time on weekdays is 6:00 pm, weekends and holidays - 2:00pm. Check out is 11am.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties