Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

With bird's eyes and striking sea view

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 258 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Kerheol is a self-catering apartment with an almost 360° sea view

Welcome to Kerheol (House of the sun)! Kerheol is a self-catering apartment for up to three persons with a breath-taking sea view over the Atlantic Ocean. Situated on the very top of Egmont Hill surrounded by nature, you're overlooking Egmont Bay to the East, the Atlantic Ocean to the South and Woburn Bay to the West.

Kerheol is the perfect hideaway for all travelers who enjoy the tranquility off the beaten track, on one level with cruising falcons and frigate birds.

We're only a 10 minutes’ walk from "Le Phare Bleu Marina" - a great location with bar, restaurant, swimming pool, mini market and beach or a 15 minutes drive to famous Grand Anse Beach, the capital St.George's or the secluded La Sagesse Beach.

Kerheol is a brand new apartment built in 2014, creatively decorated, modernly furnished, with kitchen and bathroom. The queen size bed is comfortable for couples or can be separated into two single beds for turbulent sleepers, a third single bed is present. The apartment is fully functional, though requires final touch ups and finishing.

We recommend taking a rental car to experience Grenada and would be happy to assist you with finding the right vehicle. If you choose to discover Grenada by public transport and excursions, we offer airport transfer, individual island tours and are always there to help you organize your perfect day. From your apartment it's a 20 minutes’ walk to the main road where minibuses stop to bring you all around the island. Though your apartment is self catering, we do offer breakfast and dinner for any day you feel like getting spoiled, laundry service is also available. So if you're looking for a home away from home, you just found it-:)

Directions: To get to our place:

First of all - do NOT use google maps, it'll guide you over a very challenging dirt road - Welcome Road - which is an ok road at the beginning, but the last 1/2 Mile is rather bad. Instead you need to approach Welcome Road from the other end - take the main road direction Grenville. After an approx. 20 minutes’ drive from the airport look out for a sign on your right to "Le Phare Bleu Marina" and turn right going downhill. (If you see a sign on your right saying "Fort Jeudy", you're too far and need to turn around). Cross the bridge and follow the numerous signs to “Le Phare Bleu Marina” (you’ll be also crossing two speed bumps) for about 1/2 Mile until the road finally descends to "Le Phare Bleu". Do not continue down, however. You should see a steep concrete road to your left and another one to your right. Drive up right, the concrete road will turn into a dirt road, you'll probably need a proper 4wd to get up that part. The road here is rather bad and during rainy season this part might also be a little intimidating for the very first time. At the top turn right again, after approx. 50m you’ll hit the worst part of the road, drive carefully, and continue for another hundred meters, the house is at the very top on your right, just before the road descends again.

Make sure to rent a proper 4wd, otherwise you are likely to have trouble getting to our place. Indigo Cars, the rental company we always refer to, knows about our location and will assure an appropriate vehicle, just tell them that you’re staying with Kerheol Apartment in Egmont.

Well, we hope you'll be able to find us easily-:)

In any case, we always strongly recommend to benefit of our Shuttle Service upon arrival which we offer for a surcharge. Like this you’ll be sure to arrive relaxed and your rental car could be delivered right to your doorstep the next morning.

More Details

Owner
Geraldine and Carsten
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english, french, german, Notions of Italian and Russian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 16, 2017

About Geraldine and Carsten

Profile: We're a French / German couple. Geraldine is an artist with her own company, specialized in art, decoration and interior design. Carsten used to have his own Dive Center in Grenada and is now working for a travel agent organizing holidays in the Caribbean.

We love animals and nature, and do have two lovely dogs as well as a ginger cat, all adopted from the streets of Grenada. Our most recent travel adventures brought us to Montreal, Québec, Arizona, Nevada, Utah and Colorado. We went whale watching in Tadoussac, visited Niagara, and hiked around Arches National Park, Bryce Canyon and Canyon Land.

Geraldine and Carsten purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Geraldine and Carsten chose Saint George

We had already been living in Grenada for four years when we started to look around for a property. It was a very lucky coincidence which let us find this amazing spot. As it is at the top of Mount Egmont, the property is overlooking the sea at about 300° and with a constant breeze we don't have no need for AC.

What makes this apartment unique

- Stunning View

- Cool Breeze

- Quite And Peaceful

Amenities

Saint George Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 0
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 258 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
General:
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Small bathroom with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bed-/ Livingroom with one queen-size bed and one sofa-bed.
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

87% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
With bird's eyes and striking sea view
average rating of 4.625 based on 8 reviews
5

Perfect location for peace and quiet

  • 5 of 5

I really enjoyed the stay here in Grenada! The room was perfect and communication was great. Thank you!

Rachelle

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A hidden Gem with lovely hosts

  • 5 of 5

This one of my favourite places in Grenada and i try and stay here whenever I am on the island. Most places are geared at being near nightlife and so are more uniform in the way present to the more touristy traveller. I prefer to have a more authentic feeling with incredible views and Kerhol doesn't disappoint !

The layout of the apartment is perfect in its layout and the level of finish is near perfect and makes the best of some of the best views in Grenada.

The option of the airport pick-up is really welcome after a flight and the welcome Rum Punch is a nice touch to welcome you to the Isle of Spice.

Geraldine and Carsten are great hosts who are sensitive to your level of privacy, but always on hand to advise on local trips or venues.

I can't recommend this place highly enough and have visited a few times now on my way to Carriacou.

I'm surprised about the (only) negative review as i have never experienced any of those points and I am regular traveller.

So, go... don't hesitate, just go ...

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Dreamview terrass

  • 5 of 5

A very nice place with top hospitality and kindness. It‘s a really wellfeel Area. If we come back to Grenada we will stay in this place again.

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Christine, Thank you very much for your review! We had a great time with you and you're obviously welcome back at any time! Have fun on your sailing trip-:)
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
2

Beautiful view

  • 2 of 5

The view from the house was beautiful! And the shower was bigger than it seemed in the photos. Thank you for renting the apartment.

During my 2-week stay I felt stressed. First of all, the road leading up to the house was extremely steep, extremely rocky, extremely uneven, so that my jeep 4 wd had big difficulties driving up, at times I even had to back up since it wouldn't pull. Furthermore, the parking at the property was also very difficult. Due to this I damaged my first car by hitting the neighbors concrete block just when you turned. And remember to watch out for the two bamboo sticks which guide the entrance to the parking space - they were very precious...

You have to be very careful not to damage anything in the house, as even a small broken glass is not included in the rental fee and you will have to pay extra for it. It's also a good idea to have your own toilet paper, as for my 2-week stay I only got 1/3 of one roll, and 1/3 of another roll.

I value my privacy and independence, but the owners seemed to be too much interested, as even on my departure, after giving back the keys, I was asked what did I do with my food, since, according to them, "I had so much". Is that the question a person should be asked on departure for a lonely 2-day trip back home?

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Katarzyna, Thank you for having taken the time to review our place. We very much regret that you weren't able to enjoy your vacation as much as all our previous guests in the past 2 1/2 years. We certainly feel the need to reply. Of course you may blame our neighbor or our parking for you damaging your rental car, you could also blame a tree at the side of the road for simply being there if you run into it. The "bamboo sticks", as you call them, are discretely fencing our property and we like to believe that it is common practice, if you run into them and destroy our fence, to ask you to accept your responsibilities when we have the damage taken care of. Regarding the broken glass - this comes as quite a surprise to us. You never told us you had broken a glass in our apartment, so we could not possibly have asked you to pay for one. Nevertheless, once again, we like to believe, if you do break anything, you should be first of all so honest to tell us and then accept taking responsibility to replace it. Guests have broken items in our apartment before, these things just happen, we don't make a big deal about it, we're rather very relaxed. The only thing we ask is to have it replaced, does that appear to you as being an extraordinary request? Coming up next: Toilet paper - The apartment is equipped for all arrivals with a roll of toilet paper (by the way, a new and entire roll), as several other things like coffee, tea, sugar, dish washing liquid,etc. All our guests are very welcome to use this, but wouldn't you think it's common sense, that you take care of your personal needs once it was used, after all, we're advertising a self- catering apartment, not a hotel room. And finally: We did ask indeed what had happened to all your food, certainly not to invade your privacy, but much rather out of surprise. We apologize for having asked, you're absolutely right, your eating and food habits are none of our business nor anybody else's here on VRBO. However, it is certainly our business and concern and probably that of possible future hosts, that you left both the bathroom and kitchen in a desolate state. The toilet bowl had turned from white to brown, the oven looked like food had exploded and you left us some unfinished food in it. All plates, cups, pots and the cutlery had to be soaked and extensively scrubbed to be cleaned. Once again, we're really sorry we couldn't live up to your expectations and wish you a wonderful time on your future adventures.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 4
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful place, beautiful location, owned by wonderful people!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Patrick, Thank you so much for this review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Perfect, Beautiful & Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Omg. I was so happy just to go back home since it been a while. We rented from one of the nicest people I've met. Their offer to pick you up from the airport since it's kinda hard to find their place at first. So we arrived at night 3 hours later than we were supposed to be, due to flight delay.

Went we 1st arrive to this wonderful place the owners welcome us with a "rum punch" yes exactly what I needed after my horrible flight. The 2 story home is just lovely inside and out. The bottom haft is what's rented and it's perfect for couples. The property is clean and well maintained, just as described. The ocean breeze was fanatic, all you needed to do was open the windows and you’re cool and comfy.

This is a place where I'll definitely recommend to friends and family.

Carsten & Géraldine we wish you the best for the future, thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your lovely home...

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Annisha, Thank you very much for your great review, we're glad you liked our apartment and enjoyed your stay! We also very much appreciate that you left our place in a top condition and you're obviously welcome at any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Phare Bleu
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Phare Bleu
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Phare Bleu
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $588.86

Shuttle- and laundry service, breakfast, dinner and island tours are available for a surcharge.
Internet access is free of charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties