Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach On A Budget! *Shop*Fish*Beach*Sport Shoot*Antique*Swim*Grill*Picnic*Bike

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Best of Both Worlds...Beach and Budget. Come relax in premier accomodcations.

Sand and Spurs has been thoughtfully appointed and decorated with high end, comfortable furniture. You don't have to spend all of your vacation money on a beach house. Come stay with us and enjoy being at the beaches of Destin in 35 minutes yet having many more options of how to spend your days, nights and your money. No restrictions on check in days, number of vehicles, parking passes and fussy neighbors. Maybe part of your party wants to hit the beach and some of you might enjoy shooting at the shooting range or fishing at Lake Jackson. At the end of the day, you can come back together for back yard grilling and enjoy the serenity of a horse farm setting. The back yard is large and fenced overlooking the beautiful three board black fences and roaming horses. You have the option to picnic next door at the covered pavilion areas and hiking trails. Inside Sand and Spurs you have a very high end kitchen with stainless appliances, granite counter tops and a window overlooking the beautiful country scene. The dining/living room combination comes complete with ample and comfortable seating and Direct TV for all of your favorite programs. This home has three bedrooms (one with an attached bath) and two full baths. All rooms have ceiling fans with two queen size beds and one king. There is ample closet space and the whole house is tiled! Come stay with us at Sand and Spurs and truly relax on your hard earned vacation. There are no traffic jams and no lines to wait in while you stay in Laurel Hill, Florida. This is truly God's country! Close by are great country cooking restaurants, golf courses, river rafting, lake boating and fishing, paddle boarding, hiking, country road biking, antiquing, outlet shopping, and all the excitement of Destin, Florida without all the confusion. We are truly the best of both worlds and we want to share our slice of heaven with you. Over zealous partiers need not come! This is a safe, quiet, family oriented property to be shared with those that appreciate the country lifestyle.

Jean Brooks
Member since: 2000
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Jean Brooks

This is not our first rental! We have been in the property management business for 25 years. In addition to Real Estate Sales and Management, our family raises top quality Quarter Horses to compete in Western Pleasure and Reining disciplines. We lived in Destin and in Niceville but once we got to Laurel Hill, we never left! We still short term rent in Destin and we know what that is like. We love Destin but we enjoy our quiet life in Laurel Hill where people are genuine and true to their word, we never have to wait in line and we know everyone's name. We have decided to give short term rentals a shot in the north end of Okaloosa County and we invite you to come enjoy the life we have grown to deeply appreciate.

Jean Brooks purchased this house in 2007

Why Jean Brooks chose Laurel Hill

If you have some folks that enjoy the excitement of the beach and others that would prefer a quiet setting or country activities (fishing, lake swimming, shooting etc), and if you prefer to spend your hard earned vacation money on something other than a beach house, come stay at Sand and Spurs. This is not your average rental. This home is furnished with million dollar home furnishings, brand new linens, free wifi and Direct TV as well as a fully equipped kitchen to cook until your hearts desire.

What makes this house unique

Located on a horse farm and right next door to a county park where you can hike and picnic under covered pavilions.


Laurel Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Two full baths
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • Three nice sized bedrooms; one king and two queens.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Beach On A Budget! *Shop*Fish*Beach*Sport Shoot*Antique*Swim*Grill*Picnic*Bike
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews

On our own and loved it!

  • 5 of 5

This lovely home is off a county road with a huge front yard and enclosed back yard that our dogs just loved. Some blooming daffodils (or narcissus?) magnolia tree, and others in the yard were lovely! House, kitchen utensils and the like, we’re CLEAN, not just wiped off—like someone really cared. It might seem trivial and you may laugh, but I hate/fear/scream and cry at spiders and it was a fear coming deep south from the “stories” I’d heard. We didn’t see a single one. Phew!! TV channel choice could be better, but with the Emerald Coast an hour away, that’s minor. Jean and her team answered and solved our minor questions extremely quickly. Aside from being available, we were left peacefully alone...a good thing. You’ll love the solitude and having all the Crestview or Destin amenities not far away.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wedding weekend

  • 5 of 5

My son and groomsmen stayed for 3 nights for his wedding in Laurel Hill. Very convenient, very clean, and so very relaxing. Everything we needed was there. Relaxed outside with a fire. Played with the horses next door. I can't say enough how quiet and relaxing it was. If you're having a wedding in Laurel Hill, you should stay here and just relax. 5 Miles to the venue....

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful & relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely loved our stay. House was great! Very clean and comfortable. Loved sitting on the back porch of a morning with a cup of coffee the first few days and watching the horses. Jean was very accommodating and on top of any question we had. Would definitely recommend this home to anyone staying in this area wanting a nice, quiet, peaceful home away from home. Will definitely stay again next time we are in this area. Thanks Jean.

  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Nice modern style home with some beach/ decor. Nice views around with all the horses. It's a nice getaway.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very disappointed

  • 1 of 5

A very nice home, beautiful grounds, but as one who is allergic to bees, I was very scared when I walked in the back yard by the out building and much to my surprise I was chased by bees. I had no choice but to leave the leave the propert immediately. When reaching out to the owner, I offered to forfeit 25% thinking that was fair ad I didn't so much as bring my bags in. Much to my amazement, the owner refused and is only returning the cleaning fee of a property that was never used....shameful

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter never contacted me about a problem. Via email, his secretary told me he was swarmed by bees when he arrived. As soon as I saw this email I sent our handyman and I happened to have our pest control person on the property and he went to the house as well. We were on the spot within two hours of this email and as soon as I saw it. There were no bees to be found in the house or in the surrounding areas but he sprayed anyway as a precaution at the house, in the back yard and in the surrounding areas. I personally had been at the house the two prior days cleaning and working in the yard. I never saw a bee and had no indication that we had any issues with pests. At the time of the first email, the renters secretary did not tell us that he had booked another property. I found out on Monday, via email again, that he had booked somewhere else which gave us no opportunity to rent to another party. When staying in a home, there can be problems that are unforeseen by guests and owners. Giving the owner a phone call and a chance to correct any problem is a necessary protocol. We have a strict cancellation policy and in this case, we stuck to it because this renter did not give us a chance to remedy nor did he release the property to rent to another party. We pride ourselves on clean, very well maintained homes as well as caring about our tenants. As soon as we were notified, we were on the spot and handled this in the best way we could. In an emergency, don't you think it is necessary to make a phone call? Give an owner a chance to responde? We were not told that he booked somewhere else until the following Monday. We did refund his security deposit and cleaning fee but he paid for a stay he chose to stay somewhere else. We hate that his review did not reveal the whole truth.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Where do you live?

Beautiful, quiet, comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at Sand and Spur! It was a great setup for our family. They had all the amenities we could need (central air, satellite TV, washer and dryer, dishwasher, carport). The yard was good for running around with my kiddos. And who doesn't love watching beautiful horses!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Blackstone Golf Resort
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Laurel Hill Grill
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Car: necessary

Lake Jackson, AL is 8 miles from this home in the town of Florala, AL.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Pet Fee $100

Clean fee $125 on short term stays. Rentals one month or longer, a deep clean fee of $200 will be charged. Pets are at the discretion of the owner and an additional $100 charge will apply if approved. No smoking, no students or student groups under the age of 25.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties