Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Fisherman & Nature Lovers Paradise Over the Water Boathouse

Bedrooms 1
Space 900 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Large loft sleeps 8, inside boatslips

Nice property on Lake Winneconne with fishing and boating right outside the door.

Winter wonderland! It's cold out and there is ice to play on. Bring your ice fishing gear, snowmobiles, or a good book to snuggle up with in front of the gas fireplace and relax. There are plenty of snowmobile trails and the network of trails can be accessed from the lake or at the end of the road. Trails go from eatery to eatery so you'll have plenty of places to warm up. Don't forget to try your luck at ice fishing. The local bait shop will help you out with tips on what's working and then serve up a great sandwich to fill you up before you head on out. During sturgeon spearing a virtual city materializes on the lake. Tour from shack to shack taking a look at this prehistoric fish. Lake Winneconne is perhaps the premier lake in the US to spear these fish.

This building is a pole barn type structure that has two sections to it. One section consists of the living quarters, and the other section is an area with two boat slips. It is located over the water so you should expect there to be the smell of water. The living area has central air so within minutes of turning it on the humidity will be removed from the air.

The living quarters has a loft bedroom that sleeps 6 plus an additional two on the queen size sofa sleeper in the living room. There is a fully stocked kitchen with a snack bar. There is a small pub table to enjoy meals at if the snack bar is not your style. The living room has a pull out leather sleeper sofa and a small flat screen tv. Only local channels are available - there is no satellite or cable tv. There is also no internet. Patio table, umbrella and chairs as well as propane grill included. There are toys for the little ones. There is a side yard with a fire pit as well as a log swing and chairs along the side dock area. You will need to provide your own firewood. There is a large parking area with plenty of room to park your boat trailer.

The boathouse portion of the building consists of a large dock area with two boat slips. There is plenty of room to stock your boat, clean fish, or even fish if it is raining outside. There is also space to tie boats to along the side yard. There is a set of patio doors between the living area and the boathouse area so you are able to access each area directly from the other without going outside. If you choose to leave those patio doors open there is a screen to keep out the bugs. You will hear the sounds of the water and smell the water if it is hot and humid and you do this.

This property is on the water so you will have the sounds of the water as well as the smell of the water. If you do not enjoy that type of atmosphere this is not the place for you. Depending on the time of year you will hear catfish rolling in the boathouse while they spawn, especially in the early morning hours and around sunset. This may awaken you in the early morning if you leave the windows open. You may see ducks floating by or even catch sight of an owl fishing in the channel. You are right on top of the action being that this house sits over the water.

This lake is not a deep lake and is known for its fishing. The many weed beds are great fishing habitat. During a fishing tournament you will see boats in the channel the property is on as it is a great spot to fish. The Wolf river runs through the lake and that is where you will find the deeper water. You can even boat up the river for many miles beginning at the cottage and going through Lake Poygan to the river mouth and then stopping at quaint pubs, cafe's and restaurants along the way. If you choose to go down river you can boat from Winneconne Lake, to Lake Butte de Morts to Lake Winnebago .

Folks, this is not a luxury resort. It is a very clean, quaint boathouse. Please don't think you are going to be staying in some high class motel with room service. Between each guest it is professionally cleaned by a cleaning service. A new state of the art heat pump providing central air and heat has been installed. There is a water filtration system that is upgraded every two to three years but it is an artesian well so if you are not accustomed to the taste of well water it may taste different to you. The property is tested for mold annually and has always come back clear.

More Details

Ro Rohlfs
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2018

About Ro Rohlfs

My husband and I always wanted a lake property to relax at. We farmed so were not able to go far to get away and rarely were able to take a vacation. We found this "boathouse" and it was only about 45 minutes from our farm so we purchased it. It has brought us many relaxing nights and countless happy memories.

Unfortunately, my husband passed away unexpectedly so I am renting this special place out in order to be able to afford to keep it. I'm certain you and your family will enjoy it as much as we have.

Ro Rohlfs purchased this house in 2013

Why Ro Rohlfs chose Winneconne

Being on the channel instead of the main lake means it is quiet with less boat traffic. Since the main lake can get choppy, it is nice on the channel where it is always calm and makes it easy to keep a line out to fish. Rarely have we fished off the deck without catching dinner.

Ducks and geese frequent the channel and we have even watched owls grabbing fish - one attached to the end of my husband's pole on the deck as he went to get a pliers to remove the fish with.

Access to the indoor boathouse from the living area makes packing your boat for trips easy and allows you to keep items in your boat.

What makes this house unique

The ability to fish right off the deck where you can go in and out of the house for supplies has been a great benefit for us. With the deck railing and patio doors to the house it is easy to keep the little ones safe. They have free run of the house and can go in and out with no fear of them falling into the lake. Being able to access your boat by simply walking out a set of patio doors into the docking area makes it easy to pack the boat for the day.


Winneconne House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
  • You may use the patio furniture and cushions but all of it must be put back where you found it. This goes for the fire pit accessories as well.
  • The property should be left in the same condition you found it meaning no dirty dishes left, trash put out in the bins, linens put in provided tub.
  • You may use the spices and condiments but the wine is not for your use. You may use the cleaning station for your fish but it must be left clean.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , The sofa pulls out into a queen size sleeper.
    Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 murphy bed
  • Large loft bedroom with two queen size beds as well as a day bed with a pull out trundle.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • limited accessibility
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Good! 3.9/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

52% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
17% Complete
Fisherman & Nature Lovers Paradise Over the Water Boathouse
average rating of 3.8823528 based on 17 reviews

Quiet and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

The house was fantastic, a perfect size for vacation, with a nice dock and access to the lakes. The owner answered all the questions I had and was quick to answer them. I had no problems while I was there, and the binder in the house has all the answers to lighting, heat/air, and dock operation. A great city and great lakes, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Everything you need for a relaxing stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family LOVED this boathouse! We loved being able to spend a few days in the area and only launching the boat once and parking it indoors. We fished from the deck off the back of the house and in the boathouse itself. The surrounding lakes are beautiful! We went all the way to Lake Winnebago with our 20 foot Glastron. The space was awesome for our family - plenty of room for young kids to play indoors and outdoors. The house was super clean, and having a full kitchen is a bonus. We loved swimming at Marble Park and eating at Fin & Feather (if not making food at the boathouse). My husband said "I knocked this out of the park" with my decision to rent this place. We were able to meet the owner, as there was an issue with a door lock and we couldn't solve without her. She was extremely responsive and immediately available to assist us. We definitely will go back, and I highly recommend to you!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great experience great location very clean

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay it had everything you needed very clean and comfortable. Recommend to anyone for a getaway

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unbearable smell

  • 1 of 5

Arrived at midnight and the cottage was 82 degrees with an unbearable smell. After inspection the shower door wouldn't open. When opening the sliding door to the boathouse we were knocked out by the overly musty smell. We had to leave and get a hotel room and then scramble to complete plans for the rest of our vacation week. Contacted owner in morning about a refund minus one day and she declined. We've stayed all over the USA through VRBO and was not a good experience.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize that you believe your experience was unpleasant, however if it is raining and 86 degrees outside it will get hot in the closed up home. Typically I recommend turning the central air system on which is capable of cooling the home 10 degrees in 15 minutes. In the future we will be setting the unit to maintain the home at 75 degrees to avoid circumstances of excessive heat due to the hot and muggy summer. There is a remote control that you use to activate the cooling system. It's pretty easy - all you need to do is hit the "on" button and then arrow up or down until the temp you desire shows on the screen. If you have trouble figuring it out I am always happy to assist. I only wish you would have allowed me the opportunity to resolve your issue as I did arrive at the property within an hour of your initial text - by 1am - and you had already departed. The shower door is magnetic so you do need to pull on it somewhat. I tried it and it worked fine. Again, if you have any issues I am more than happy to assist you. There is a sliding patio door between the living area and the boathouse section so you can keep it closed. If you do arrive when it has been raining and it is a humid 86 degrees outside it will be stuffy and humid in that area as it sits over the water due to the boat slips. I suggest you open the two small doors to allow cross ventilation and then during the day open the two large overhead doors. In no time at all it will cool down. I cannot keep this area open without someone being there so you will need to open it up once you arrive.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 6

Stinky place that's years behind in maintenance.

  • 1 of 5

Well water has an awful sulfur smell and place is permeated with a rotting wood odor. Located on an algae filled offshoot of a pretty nice lake.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, I always appreciate the opportunity to improve my property as well as the experience of my guests. Additionally, thank you for the email correspondence. I was happy to answer your questions and would like to be sure I offer the same clarity to your review. Well water can absolutely be an acquired taste, especially to those that are not familiar with it. I do have a new filtration system that is being installed to help bridge that gap for those that may not favor that type of water. As for the smell that you may have experienced, the lake water will on occasion emit a musty smell as it becomes stagnant due to lack of current continuously moving through the boat house. I can guarantee it is not rotting wood, as I get my property checked regularly as required for renting and safety, as it sits directly over the water, however the odor is typically water that has been sitting in the boat slip area that just requires a nice current to refresh and replace it. This paired with the hot and humid days we have been experiencing can be far from a match made in heaven! I would imagine anyone who camps or fishes regularly would understand this uncontrollable effect. We do have a new state-of-the-art air filtration and cooling system installed at the property that once activated will quickly resolve and diminish this issue. In the future, I will ensure this is set to cool the property a few days leading up to the arrival of a guest in case we do continue to experience excessive heat and humidity. Lastly, as you stated, my property is located on a channel that flows into Lake Winneconne. I always ask, and suggest, that my guests research the lake prior to booking with me to ensure they are familiar with the lake’s characteristics. As I previously mentioned, we have experienced several hot and humid days which is the direct cause of the growth of algae. If I were able to prevent this from happening, I am sure I would become very popular with fisherman and recreationalists alike, however as you are aware that is not possible. I would ask out of fairness you refrain from focusing on changes that only Mother Nature herself can control. Again, thank you for the feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2

Comfortable beds, great outdoor seating

  • 4 of 5

I was a very relaxing, enjoyable stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
in Winneconne
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
in Winneconne
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: necessary

There are numerous festivals in the town of Winneconne during the summer months as well as parties on the lake. During sturgeon spearing season the lake is very popular and highly sought after for spearing permits.

There is a launch at the end of the road as well as a large public launch in town. The public launch has a beach and much parking.

Oshkosh outlet mall is 15 minutes away.

This property has a nice side yard for kids to play in, a fire pit, and dock area to tie up boats or fish from.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $50
Property Damage Insurance $59
Refundable Damage Deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties