Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms1
Half Baths2
Space 2,368 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bedroom (incl one guesthouse), 3 bathrooms, sleeps 10.

Grund is a modern luxury house 220 sqm. only 45 minutes drive from Reykjavik with hot tub, steam bath, washer & dryer, Internet wi-fi, TV. Perfect property for anyone who wants to see some of the most beautiful sights of Iceland and relax with all the comfort you can imagine. Small soccerfield w goals if you want to play and several golf courses in close range. Located in the heart of 'the Golden Circle' the famous sight seeing route.


Owner
Thorsteinn and Bjargey
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, swedish, danish, Icelandic, Danish, Swedish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

About Thorsteinn and Bjargey

We have been involved in tourism for more than 20 years.

Thorsteinn and Bjargey purchased this house in 2008

Why Thorsteinn and Bjargey chose Iceland

We built this house 2008. Since we now live in Sweden because of work, we wanted travelers to Iceland to have the opportunity to stay. Grund is located in the heart of the popular Golden Circle. Close to Reykjavik, the capital and very short to get service at Selfoss and Hveragerdi. A lot of things to see and do in the neighborhood but also an excellent place to do just nothing but relax and enjoy the nature.

What makes this house unique

The size and quality of Grund and the location makes it unique.

Amenities

Southern Region House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2368 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm System
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Paper Towels
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 mini spa - toilet , shower , double shower / mini spa
    Bathroom 2 2nd floor - toilet
    Outdoor shower - outdoor shower , outdoor shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , guesthouse
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , Guest house
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV room
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Modern luxury house in the heart of the Golden Circle - Winter and Summer!
average rating of 4.72 based on 25 reviews
5

Delightful, peaceful - quintessential Iceland

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED Grund! It was the perfect home base for our multi-generational Icelandic adventure (2 parents, 3 children, 3 grandparents). It is a beautiful space for relaxing after being outside all day. We enjoyed the hot tub and beautiful views. The house layout gave everyone space at night, but a comfortable common area to visit. The kids had their own large space to spread out and play upstairs which was quite nice.

We chose the location because it placed us closer to more places we wanted to visit and explore in the Golden Circle, to reduce travel time and Grund was great for this. You will want to rent your own car.

The Owner is responsive and flexible - a great person to work with. We found the house to be clean, high quality, and well prepared for making meals and a great night's sleep. Enjoy your visit to Iceland - the country is amazing!

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great house, not clean

  • 3 of 5

The house is a great size for a large group, especially with the open floor plan allowing for large family meals. We had 6 adults and 2 kids in the four bedrooms in the house, we didn't use the fifth bedroom outside and still had plenty of room. We were able to see the northern lights several nights from the patios and were centrally located to everything we wanted to see that week.

A couple of negatives:

- The hot tub cover was broken and it wasn't fully covered when we arrived. We never used it because we weren't sure about the cleanliness, more about that below.

- The house was dirty when we arrived. We had to spend the first part of our visit cleaning - sweeping up old food off the kitchen floor and dining room, sanitizing down surfaces in the living areas that clearly had not been cleaned before we arrived (old food, smears, etc.), and sweeping excessive dust off the stairs and floors.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sarah, I'm sorry to hear that the cleaning was not up to your standard. Of course we do our very best to keep all in order and clean when our guests arrive. Regarding the hot tub. The water is always fresh, clean since the hot water runs constantly into it. Usually we do have the cover on in order to protect it from leaves and more, but does not have a lot to do with how clean it is in general. I wished you had been in contact so I could have explained this to you when you arrived and you could have enjoyed the tub like our guests do. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Warm, cozy and beautiful!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our group of 9. We had 2 grandparents, 4 kids from ages 5-9 and three parents. Because we were traveling with children, we asked the owner if we could come straight to the home after our flight landed at 5am and they had no problems with this request. This made life so much easier, as we could all get some sleep right away and still have a full day to see some sights close by like Gullfoss. There was plenty of space for all of us. The house was very warm and all the amenities worked well. The kids loved the hot tub and exploring the area around the house. We also got to see an amazing display of the Northern Lights simply by walking outside! Everything was wonderful, and we hope that we are able to return to this beautiful spot again one day!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Central location to south coast sites, easy to find, and a hot tub

  • 5 of 5

Nice place just outside Selfoss, only a short drive to the local grocery or apothecary if you need anything. Easy to access and park at the house, after you arrive. To get to the house at arrival and leave at departure, I did need international calling to have Thorrstein or his son open a gate. After arrival though, I had all the codes and remotes necessary to come and go whenever. Great location for splitting day trips between sites around the south coast (e.g Gulfoss one day, Vik a different day). The hot tub is awesome and was used a lot by our group of travelers.

  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Iceland is amazing

  • 2 of 5

Iceland was amazing and beautiful. The house was great size for all of us and amazing location but it was dirty, dust everywhere, pee stains on the mattress, dirty towel under one of the beds covered in dust. Someone pants that stayed there before us was in the garden frozen. Wasn't cleared away. Hot tub was great but bubbles don't work but still relaxing under the stars. For the price the house needs to be a lot cleaner. Plus you agree with the price and pay deposit. Soon as you get there he adds more money to the bill due the currency changing which is not right!!!!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Stacey, Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that you experienced Grund the way you described. We always do our very best to make our guests happy. I was there when you arrived and I walked with you around the house. I only got very positive feedback so this surprises my. As you know there was snow all over therefore impossible to see if last guests had left something in the garden. This is a hot tub and does not have bubbles. Regarding the payment, I usually quote in USD like in this instance. When people pay in different currency it might fluctuate a little like might have been in this instance. I would never add to the amount quoted. The contact person from the group taking care of the booking had no complaints nor made any comments about the payment. Best regards, Thorsteinn
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Great house and flawless process...no complaints!

  • 5 of 5

The house and renting experience was amazing. Not only was Thorstein responsive but he was available to answer any questions and concerns we had. Iceland was amazing because of the comfort and location of this home. The group of 11 friends enjoyed every amenity- hottub, kitchen, sound system, heated floors, cards and games, laundry equipment and sauna. Thank you and hope to stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
95 Kilometres
Keflavik airport
Nearest Ferry
60 Kilometres
Ferry to Vestman Islands
Nearest Golf
7 Kilometres
Öndverdanes golf club
Nearest Restaurant
7 Kilometres
Thrastarlundur
Car: necessary

The house is located only 50 minutes drive from Reykjavik in a quiet area close to lake Thingvallavatn, a part of the golden circle (one of the must see places in Iceland). Its closest village Selfoss is appox 15 min driving with all services needed. Excellent hiking all around and only 20 min drive from lake Laugarvatn. Geysir and Gullfoss two of most visited sights are not far. Two good 18 hole golf courses 7 km (Öndverdarnes) and 13 km (Kidjaberg) away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Southern Region House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
$7,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jul 4 2017 - Jul 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
$395
$3,200
$7,000
 
 
Summer 2017
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
$7,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 21 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$420
$3,200
$7,000
 
 
Summer 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 20 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,200
$7,000
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 10 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$355
From
$355
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Mar 16 2018 - Apr 9 2018
3 night minimum stay
$495
From
$495
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$490
From
$490
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 31 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
From
$500
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
Nightly Rate
Aug 1 2018 - Aug 19 2018
3 night minimum stay
$480
From
$480
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$390
From
$429
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,900
$6,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 14.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable