Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

West Arm Tracadie - Waterfront Cottage, Antigonish County

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 1 bathroom, sleeps 4

Serene, private, 2.2 acre waterfront property located on Benoit Island. Fully accessible by car. Close to the Town of Antigonish - “The Highland Heart of Nova Scotia” - and a great base to explore Cape Breton Island and P.E.I. Two and a half hours from Halifax. Nearby golfing, fine dining, hiking, birding or just relax and enjoy the tranquility.

https://www.google.ca/maps/place/65+Pauls+Cove+Rd,+Afton+Station,+NS+B0H+1A0/@45.632548,-61.682457,2578m/data=!3m1!1e3!4m2!3m1!1s0x4b5c561746981287:0xeca216179c1e1415

*Please note. Our tap water has a high mineral content. As such, we provide bottled water for drinking purposes.

** Please click on 'About Paul' for additional guest reviews.

More Details

Owner
Paul
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our week in Nova Scotia started wet and ended hot! Beautiful location - scenic and serene!



This was our first visit to N.S. We managed to focus on the Northumberland Shore and Cape Breton. Louisbourg was worth the drive and the Cabot Trail was all everyone said it would be. Thanks to Paul, Anthony, Barbara and Shawn!
Jul 2013
  • 1 of 24

Map

Nearest Airport
225 Kilometres
Halifax
Nearest Ferry
100 Kilometres
Prince Edward Island
Car: necessary

Known as the Heart of the Highlands. Antigonish the town (population +/- 4,800) and the county services approximately 20,000. It sits on the northeastern shore of the province, bordered by the Northumberland Strait, St. George’s Bay and the Strait of Canso.

Halfway between Halifax and Sydney, Antigonish is a gateway to Cape Breton Island. Antigonish is home to St. Francis Xavier University, founded in 1855 and once famed for its Antigonish Movement (Cody International Institute), a program of adult education and self-help. Antigonish is also home to the Highland Games, the oldest celebration of Scottish sport and dance in North America.

Amenities

Afton Station Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Main Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Small Cooler
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
West Arm Tracadie - Waterfront Cottage, Antigonish County
average rating of 4.125 based on 32 reviews
4

Home away from home

  • 4 of 5

This was our second stay and we would definitely return again. The cottage is spotless with all the conveniences of home. The property is beautiful and the view is spectacular. Quiet and serene. It’s approx 30 min from town so plan ahead for food and entertainment.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A perfect spot

  • 5 of 5

This well set up cabin is in a stunning location, with all that you need for a laid back holiday. We booked for 10 days and it was really hard to leave, the kids had a great time outside, canoeing, trying to fish, beach combing and skimming pebbles, we relaxed and enjoyed the tranquility of these beautiful surroundings. there was a great town nearby for shopping and restaurants, a couple of pubs, or just to walk around, there is a delicious ice cream place 10 minutes away with a lovely beach (and life guards). we did a day trip to Cape Breton to see the whales (which was a bit grueling to do in a day, advice stay overnight incase the weather is rough and you need postpone!) and we walked a few trails in the surrounding area, and learned the local history, everywhere has beautiful scenic views, and the people are friendly and laid back. If your looking of an idyllic place to stay, a little away from it all but accessible ... this is the place, can't recommended it enough.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely private cottage walking distance from swimming in the Northumberland Strait.

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful, quiet, and peaceful area. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. Wonderful spacious sitting areas inside and out. Lots of windows to take in the wonderful sunrises and sunsets. It is walking distance from the Northumberland Strait with it's miles of beach and warm waters. Lots of places to walk and enjoy the peaceful countryside. There was a canoe available but we didn't make use of it this time. It would have been amazing to go for a long paddle along the shore of the strait. I would stay there again!

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great views

  • 5 of 5

Lovely location and great contact

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Denver, CO USA
1

Tracadie

  • 1 of 5

This is a small cottage located on a very scenic small body of water - not the ocean - although the Gulf of St. Lawrence is nearby. The two bedrooms are very small and relatively airless. The one bathroom has a small vanity and a poor shower. The water is not drinkable due to exceedingly high mineral content which I assume to be mostly iron. The water in the sink stained 2 of my wife's white T-shirts a sickly orange! The owner provides bottled water which we ran out of.

The owner and his local representative were quite nice, but I certainly would not recommend this property to anyone.

I think that leaving out the fact that tap water is non-potable is inexcusable.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2010
  • Stayed: July 2010
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear that our guests did not enjoy their 4 day stay at our cottage. We only wish that they would have contacted us during their stay. We would have responded to their concerns to the best of our ability. With regard to the actual review, I would like to respond to a few points. First, we never represent our cottage as being a 5 Star Property. I had several conversations by phone with our guests before they booked their stay, and I did explain to them that the the main bedroom had a double bed, a closet, night table, etc - and that it was not an overly spacious room. It does have a window and, fans are provided, so I am not sure that relatively airless is a fair comment - although it can get warm in Nova Scotia during the summer. In terms of overall size, although the cottage is not huge, I would like to point out that it is still around 1000 square feet. Yes, it is true that our cottage has one bathroom. It is also true that the vanity is rather modest, - it is basically a sink with a mirror and drawers underneath. Again, I think this goes back to the cottage not being a 5 Star Property. The comment on the water is fair and I will include it in the property description moving forward. This has never been an issue before, but I agree with the general point. Our guests note that they ran out of the provided supply of water bottles. If there are ever any issues with supplies, we respond quickly - but if we are not made aware of any issues, there is not much that we can do. Again, If we would have had some indication of our guests unhappiness during their stay, we would have done our best to resolve any issues as best we could.
Did you find this review helpful?
14 8
4

Wunderschön gelegen

  • 4 of 5

Das Haus ist komplett ausgestattet und wunderschön am Wasser gelegen. Leider wohnen auch Mäuse im Haus, die nachts umherlaufen.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties