Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Lakefront Retreat on a Quiet Lake

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Built in 2004 with all the amenities. You'll fall in love with the beauty and serenity of this peaceful, quiet 4-season retreat on a pristine 30 acre lake. From the beautiful screen porch overlooking the lake to the over-sized Jacuzzi tub and sauna, this home has it all. Built-in Bose sound system with speakers indoors and out, 8 foot slate pool table, new furniture, wood burning stove, wired and wireless high speed Internet, hand-peeled log siding, professional landscaping, hickory floors, custom cabinets, and LOTS of character.

The main floor features a master bedroom with a king bed and an attached private bath with over-sized Jacuzzi tub. Also on the main floor are a guest bedroom with queen bed and a half bath. The lower level features a guest bedroom with queen bed and a full bath plus a sauna. A hide a bed couch with comfy queen air mattress rounds out the adult sleeping areas. A large loft with ladder stairs is great for older kids. The loft has a twin bed plus two loose-foam (bean bag-type) queen mattresses.

Fish for bass and sunfish from the dock or take the fishing boat, paddle boat or canoe (included) out on the quiet, scenic lake with no public access. Although the beach is moderately sandy, the lake bottom is somewhat soft sand with sparse weeds, so the best swimming is from the swim platform anchored in 20 ft of water. The water quality is excellent and very clear.

If you're interested in a sandy swimming beach, there's a wonderful family-friendly public beach at Shell Lake, 13 miles (20 minutes) away. For more info, Google 'Shell Lake'.

Just over two hours from Minneapolis/St. Paul, this is cabin country with lots of recreational opportunities including river canoeing, kayaking, tubing, hiking, biking, skiing (all kinds), fishing, etc. There are many lakes in the area, including a large recreational lake with a public landing 1/2 mile away.

Linens and towels are provided and a gas grill is available. Boat, motor, canoe & paddle boat are included with rental.

A note for TV lovers...a DVD player and a 50 inch TV is available.

Be sure to click on the link near the bottom of this ad (below the calendar icon) for more photos.

Keywords: Home,cabin

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About The Owner

We have dreamed of owning a cabin in the Spooner area for over 15 years. When we found this place we knew it was special and felt like we had to share it with the world. We hope to retire to this place in the future. Our kids love the outdoors and this cabin allows them to experience the the true beauty of Mother Nature and the wonderful seasons of Wisconsin. We live and work in the Twin Cities so this cabin is our get away from it all place.

The Owner purchased this house in 2007

Why The Owner chose Spooner

We choose Spooner because we have family in the area. As an avid fisherman, this area is outstanding for all types of fish...from trout to musky, they are all nearby. In the winter we have access to some incredible snowmobiling trails.

What makes this house unique

Our property is unique in that it offers great swimming and fishing but has all the comforts you would expect in a luxury home. From the Bose stereo system that plays in every room of the home (even outside), to the sauna. I think the best feature is the fact that it is so peaceful and serene. I like that we don't have jet ski's and loud boats to listen to or worry about when using the lake, but we have lakes very nearby to go it if we want to partake in those activities. You can count on a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at what we call our Bass Lake Retreat.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Great cabin! Decor is new and beautiful. Very clean and cozy. The porch is perfect for a glass of wine and gazing at the lake view. Kids loved the zip line! Thank you!
Aug 2007
  • 1 of 13

Amenities

Spooner House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1) in master bedroom., Queen size Beds (3) One queen bed in each of the two guest bedrooms, plus queen sleeper sofa air filled mattress in the basement, Twin Bed (1) and Queen-sized loose-foam mattresses in loft.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Screen Porch, 12 foot Fishing Boat with trolling motor, Canoe, Dock, Swim Platform, Paddle Boat.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Luxury Lakefront Retreat on a Quiet Lake
average rating of 4.730769 based on 39 reviews
5

Family Vacation 8/17

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time at the cabin. Excellent accommodations. Would definitely come here again. Fun was had by all. Brad's cabin was well supplied and he was very prompt with email correspondence. Place was clean. Lake was very quiet. Well needed rest for our whole family.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plano, Tx.
3

Beautiful house but cleanliness was an issue....

  • 3 of 5

The house was beautiful and our kids had fun with several of the amenities(pool table and basketball hoop). However, the overall cleanliness when we arrived was not to the level we would have expected. Bathrooms had hair in tubs(rust stained tubs), throws rugs in bath were also really dirty. There was no hand soap in either bath or the kitchen(we bought our own and left for next guest). We also had to buy trash bags for kitchen trash can(also disgustingly dirty). There was no water softening here which results in a "camp" feel. That is fine if you are paying "camp rates", but we were not. We bought extra bottled water for toothbrushing, coffee making(coffee maker also required a degree), and cooking. Adding the cleaning fee, while asking us to vacuum, clean the kitchen and remove linens just added insult to injury by the end. We ended up feeling like we left the place better than what we recieved and got charged for it!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi LIsa, I sure wish you would have made those concerns before you rented. There are garbage bags provided with each rental and hand soap. You must have used all of them. There are extras in the linen closet or under the kitchen/bathroom sinks. The water is from a well so it does have a hint of rust to it, which does over time stain the bath tubs a little. We do in fact have a water softener and softened water and filtered water built into the fridge. You are not in the City anymore, this is the woods. The house was left for you spotless, I personally was there to ensure the house was clean. You are expected to leave the cabin as you found it when checking out, except for the laundry or in your case you paid extra to not have to clean the bathrooms. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the cabin and it's amenities. I sure do wish you would have expressed your concerns before or during your stay as I strive to ensure everyone as a peaceful and enjoyable vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Private and Quiet Lake Retreat

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our week on Little Bass Lake. We spent every day either swimming, kayaking (we brought our own), peddle boating, or fishing. The kids enjoyed just watching the fish swim around the dock and loons visited the lake almost daily. The house fit all our needs (4 adults, 4 kids). We loved the screened in porch and spent most of our time there when inside. The kids enjoyed playing pool and the adults enjoyed the sauna after cool dips in the lake. Brad responded to all my questions promptly as needed. This is a great place if you are looking for something less populated and more private.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cabin on perfect little lake

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is as wonderful as it looks in the pictures. We spent a lot of time on the lovely screen porch. I chose the rental for the cabin, but we loved the little lake too. It was great for swimming around the swim platform. The boys caught a lot of bluegill off the dock and bass from the little fishing boat. A couple of bass might have been big enough to keep, but we just did catch and release.

Owner responded right away when we had a question.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is great. We had a lovely time together.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful property!! We completely enjoyed our stay. The cabin, property and lake are wonderful. Wish we could've stayed longer. VERY PEACEFUL!!! :)

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Lipsie Pines
Nearest Point of Interest
What The Heck
Nearest Point of Interest
Lipsett Lake Public Boat Ramp
Nearest Point of Interest
C&R Store

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50 or $125 $50
Tax Rate 5.5%

From $175 per night, $1000 per week. $500 damage deposit due at time of booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties