About the property
- House1900 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 nights
4 BR, 2 Full BA, Sleeps 8.
Our spacious, fully equipped waterfront beach house in Humacao welcomes you to the Caribbean with the accessibility and security of the U.S. territory of Puerto Rico. Enjoy a unique experience living right on a sandy beach, where the gentle sound of waves lulls you to sleep and will also greet you in the morning as the sun rises over the ocean. You'll love the huge balcony (12 x 50ft.) overlooking the ocean for breakfast, dinner, and watch the clear night sky over the water. When you are ready for activity, take the kayaks to the nearby islet, visit the water park right on the beach or the town pool. The house has A/C in all bedrooms and is located in a quiet, 2-mile sandy beach, yet you will be 10 minutes to world class golf, casino, restaurants; 20 min. from Fajardo for day-sailing to other islands, or take a kayak trip to the Phosphorescent Bay.
Incl.: Laundry, Grill, fully equipped kitchen, towels & linens, 32in. TV with cable and access to Netflix and amazon prime plus , high speed Internet, DVD
Jose & Lorraine Rojas
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few days
- English, Spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- May 21, 2018
About Jose & Lorraine Rojas
We've been married for over 20 years and have 4 lovely children. She is originally from Delaware, US, first generation Italian and Jose is a Puerto Rico native .
Jose & Lorraine Rojas purchased this House in 2005
Why Jose & Lorraine Rojas chose Punta Santiago
We fell in love with the house and the are during the 3 years we lived in Puerto Rico as a family of six. Slghtly off the beaten path but 10 minutes from a major highway. The views are mesmerizing and you will feel stress fall off you in layers as you sit on the balcony listening to and watching the rhythm of the gentle waves. But that takes me 30 minutes, otherwise -we both love to go on long jogs to the south and up a hill to a WWII-era gun position that overlooks the whole area or we love to kayak to Monkey Island.
What makes this House unique
Beach is your back yard. Few other people. Will feel like you have a private beach! Kayaks! The water is calm, shallow, and warm. Great for kids. Outstanding access from the highway and to any shops or grocery needs.
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Great view, Clean, Close to facilities, Safe
This is an excellent beach house---comfortable, breezy, and tranquil. There was plenty of room for our family, with stores and restaurants nearby. The owners were excellent and easy to contact. They made our stay smooth. You should stay in this house
We had an awesome time. The place is a little dated and the furniture doesn't match the pictures. However the location and views make up for anything that was lacking. It was rather odd to have a couple parties in your backyard but by 10 pm the noise was gone. From what I expected I thought the area behind the house belonged with the house, it did not and it is used as a local partying spot. It really did NOT take away from the beauty of the property. I rent several houses a year on VRBO/Homeway, each place has pros and cons. Thanks for sharing your home with my family.
Doesn't Meet Expectations
This house has strong potential but doesn't meet expectations in it's current state.
There is some basic maintenance that could be performed that would get the house up to a better level to meet expectations but currently isn't there.
-Half of the windows in the main room were broken and would not turn without extensive effort.
-The others did not have screens at all.
-One bedroom had no window covering on the window. We found a set of blinds in a closet and were able to duct tape them up to make them work.
-The closet doors were broken and falling down each time they were knocked or if we attempted to open them.
-The sheets did not stay on the bed, as the elastic was worn out.
-There were no matching pots and lids, so when we cooked we had to use a large lid for a small pot.
-Lots of seaweed. Chokes the area for swimming. Not a fun beach for the kids. Great walking beach.
3. The lack of air conditioning in the main room was problematic, especially given the lack of screens on one entire set of windows and the lack of a screen door. With Zika, this is especially problematic.
There were grains of sand on the beds when we arrived. There were balls of dust in the closets. The shower had a pile of sand in the floor. Many of the dishes were in the cabinet and were sticky/dirty.
This has the potential to be a wonderful place to stay. At present, we would not recommend it.
First sorry that you found several items in disrepair. You were right. There were several things that needed attention. So in August 2016, we fixed several things: painted the house completely, fixed window all the window cranks, replaced a ceiling fan, bought some new items for the kitchen, new TV - now has Netflix and other web-based TV access, we bought some new chairs for the outside.
Good secluded and quiet location right on the beach
The house was somewhat as advertised. What I didn’t realize was that the 3rd bath can’t be accessed from the main living area. You have to go down the outside steps from the kitchen, around to the other side of the house, and it’s located inside the area where the beach equipment is stored. I don’t think anyone in our party actually used that bath. It also doesn’t have an oven in the kitchen. Otherwise, the beds and bedding were comfortable and the wrap-around porch/balcony was great…we spent most of our time there. The beach was close and we used the supplied kayak which was fun. The wifi went out three times in our 5-day stay including one day when there was no power at all during the daytime hours. Of course, that was out of the owner’s control but it was a pain.
Nice location to attractions, decent house, security issues
We stayed May 30 - Jun 6th. Upon arrival, we were disappointed to see that the property is not in as good of condition as in the photos. It had been raining & the walkway & back yard were flooded also.
We really enjoyed visiting several nearby attractions: Luquillo beach (nicest), Fajardo beach, El Yunque Rainforest & hiking to the waterfall to swim, old San Juan, eating at local restaurants (el Limon a few blocks from the house & el Makito in Naguabo) & Palmas del Mar.
We had fun & felt very safe walking around the neighborhood and town until the 5th night at the house when someone cut the chain on the back gate to get into the yard, came into the house and stole the TV and some cash from my sister's wallet while we were sleeping (we accidentally left 1 door unlocked that night -- everyday & night prior everything was locked up). We had no issues the 6th night, but the 7th night we went to dinner & came back to the gate on the deck open & saw that someone had been prying on the patio door to try to get it to open. They also stole my husband's shoes off of the porch. We were very uncomfortable that the person came back, so we packed up & went to a guarded hotel nearby to sleep. Jose was very understanding of us wanting to leave & refunded us the cost of the hotel rooms & fees.
-Beach is right out back with Kayaks & monkey island
-Walking distance to pool
-Nice, large, tiled deck with gate
-2 pack n plays & 1 stroller were available for our use - very nice.
-Friendly neighbors & people in town also
-Plenty of space
-beach is not taken care of, so there is a lot of debris & trash & sand fleas
-a river empties in the ocean nearby, so the water here is more brown and murky than other beaches. It had been raining a lot, so this must have made the water more murky.
-A lot of general maintenance needs to be done on the house (two large lights at either end of property do not work (security issue), laminate is peeling off of some cabinets, inside of cabinets dirty, window cranks are not screwed into the walls & some do not work, blinds fell down, etc)
-Scarce hot water & low water pressure
-AC unit in room with twin beds is very loud & spits out water. Property manager came by to fix a few things & it started again after they left.
-There were only 6 towels at the house when we arrived. Property manager brought a few more over a few days later (after we already bought more)
-Took a few days for property manager to show up
Sorry that you had an uncomfortable experience towards the end of your stay. We've since made repairs including repaint the house and doors, new lamps outside, new TV, several new kitchen appliances, also new bed covers.
The perfect beach house in a quite neighborhood
What a great beach house and Jose was very nice to work with. He answered all my calls and emails. I would say if I had any complaints it would be that their be several extra rolls of toilet paper be left in the house we only had less than 4 rolls for 4 grown adults and had to buy more other than this it was the perfect home for us while in Puerto Rico. One day our car was dead and the very nice lady across the street took us down the street to borrow battery cables which was very nice of her to go out of her way to help us. The patio on this home was so big we couldn't get over it. Our group of 4 was outside most of the time enjoying the sound of the ocean. We never got to use the kayaks but I am sure they would have been great. We had several afternoons of rain and from what we heard it rained the entire week before we arrived which many the ocean kinda dirty looking so we never swam in front of the house. I would totally recommend this home to anyone coming to Puerto Rico for vacation.
Located 45 min. from San Juan where Puerto Rico meets the Caribbean Sea. This is a land of contrasts and surprises: You’ll find remote coves and broad stretches of open beach, white coral, cozy guest houses and huge luxury resorts. One of the most dramatic shorelines is near Humacao at Punta Santiago, a promontory that juts into the jade waters of the Caribbean Sea. Off its tip is Santiago Cay, a small islet inhabited only by Rhesus monkeys. Boat rides around the Cay are readily available (or kayak from the house!). The short trip is a great delight for children. Within walking distance: fishing pier, new waterpark, public swimming pool and park, local supermarket, bakery Within 5 min. drive: Nature estuary preserve (hiking, kayak), Mall -JC Penney, Wal-Mart, Sam's Club, Cineplex, Chili's, Fast food 10 minutes to Palmas del Mar a luxury resort: golf, casino, fine restaurants, horseback riding 20 minutes to El Yunque - National Rainforest. Other Activities: Kayaking, scenic-drives, day-sailing