Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A River Runs thru it! The Beautiful Eagle River that is! Save $250, no clean fee

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths2
Space 4,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 7 Baths, (Sleeps up to 12)

River Ranch is a single family home with nearly 4500 square feet of beautiful living nestled next to the Eagle River! Located in the 'Ultimate Mountain Playground' of the Vail Valley!

Imagine fly fishing right out your back door! The slopes of Arrowhead can be seen while enjoying the view from your huge deck. Beaver Creek is within five minutes, Vail 15 minutes, and Arrowhead 3 minutes. You will need a car.

You will want to sleep with the doors open at night to hear the river in the summertime. Summer visitors will find yourselves at the heart of biking trails and close to Beaver Creek and Vail's many summertime festivals and events. The lovely town of Edwards is within 5 minutes and has many restaurants and upscale shopping.

Our smoke-free home was built in 2000 and includes two gas fireplaces, carpet in all the bedrooms and lower level. Hard wood floors line the entire main level. 4 bedrooms are upstairs and 1 in lower level. Main level is all for living.

There is an additional partial kitchen on the lower level with sink, cabinets and kitchen table. The pool table and hot tub will entertain everyone after a tough day on the slopes, bike path or river!

Perfect setting for family reunions, scrapbooking parties, and ski get-aways! The Avon rec center is nearby which includes an indoor pool and workout facility!

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
Kathy Humphrey, Homeowner
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Kathy Humphrey, Homeowner

Our family loves to spend time in the Vail Valley every season of the year. Initially the winter skiing was the huge draw. Now we have learned to love all 4 seasons. Summertime fly fishing and biking are family favorites along with shopping and dining out. Art festivals and farmers markets scatter the valley all year long. We have traveled throughout the US and always love returning to Colorado. My husband grew up in southern Minnesota and I grew up in northern Ohio in a small town called Vermilion, right on Lake Erie. Our midwestern roots make us all the more appreciative of the moderate Colorado weather.

Kathy Humphrey, Homeowner purchased this house in 2005

Why Kathy Humphrey, Homeowner chose Northwest

We love the town of Edwards. There is so much to offer,world class skiing, golfing and world class shopping and dining! What more could one ask for? The Eagle River allows for kayaking and white water rafting and fly fishing, not to mention the sound of the river that lulls you to sleep in the spring and summertime.

What makes this house unique

We love the river of course and we also love the layout of our home. We have 2 separate living areas on 2 different levels. This is ideal for groups with teenagers that want to play pool or ping pong on the lower level while the adults can entertain on the main level. All our bedrooms have their own baths along with 2 extra half baths! This is key in maintaining some privacy amongst family/friends gatherings.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The house was great! It was one of the most comfortable houses we have stayed and have been doing this group for years. We had kids from a college junior to two kindergartners so the mix and spread of living areas was very advantageous for us.



We had the master room and the weather was so nice we were even able to enjoy the river. The little ones like your path and after skiing wanted to go down and skip rocks.
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 5

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Our Vail Valley Home
Car: recommended

World class Hiking, Outdoor Laser tag, ice skating & tubing are located within minutes at Vail, Avon, Arrowhead and Beaver Creek. Family fun for all ages! Spas are located within minutes. New alpine slide/coaster at the top of Lionshead in Vail is a blast! Adventure Ridge is new in 2016 with zip lining, ropes course tubing.

Amenities

Edwards House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath w/2 sinks & 1 walk-in closet & make-up mirror.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Make up mirror & hair dryer!
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hair dryer
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower , This is for upper queen bdrm & has access off hallway.
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , This bath on main level.
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , combination tub/shower , This is for lower level king bedroom.
    Bathroom 7 - toilet , This is separate half bath for lower level game/TV room
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Large Master w/deck overlooking River, 5 pc bath-2 walk ins
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Upper level w/River View, walk-in closet & full bath.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Upper Level w/mountain view, walk-in, full bath & TV!
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Upper Level, mountain view & 3/4 bath.
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , Lower Level w/full bath.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 double , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull-out sleeper sofa in lower level & porta-crib if needed.
  • King size beds (4) 4 king beds, Queen size Beds (1) 1 queen bed, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) 1 pull out queen sleeper in lower level, Bunk Beds (1) 1 king bedroom also has a bunk bed w/twin on top and double on the bottom.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player ...
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 9 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A River Runs thru it! The Beautiful Eagle River that is! Save $250, no clean fee
average rating of 4.9142857 based on 40 reviews
5

Mountain getaway.

  • 5 of 5

This is a large spacious house that allowed our large family to spread out and everyone have the space that they needed. It's a great location on the eagle river, with a nice shaded backyard.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

superb location and amenities

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at 278 River Ranch Rd. The sound of the river lulled us to sleep every night, the spacious hot tub was a huge hit, and the seven bathrooms came in handy. We just wish we had booked more time to do everything on our list. If the opportunity presents, we will return.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic property!

  • 5 of 5

I have rented a number of VRBO properties and this definitely was one of my favorites! We had my 60th Birthday party with our family and friends and the house was very well suited for 5 couples. The house has all the amenities one could ask for and is far more lovely than the photos show. I would recommend this house to anyone and I would love to return during the fall.... Thank you for sharing your lovely home, Kathy! We enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and all the area had to offer.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Denver, CO
5

Blew away our expectations!!

  • 5 of 5

Honestly, my group was blown away by the size of this rental for the price. We had 6 adults, and feel as if we could have easily doubled it without any problems. We even had spare beds!

The location was perfectly situated between the town of Edwards / restaurants and Beaver Creek Ski Resort. And the house is located at the end of the street so it feels more secluded.

There were plenty of activities at the house for when we weren't skiing. Hottub, poker chips, a guitar, several big screen TV's to watch games on, and best of all... a pool table (with ping-pong topper)!

After staying at this location, we will not consider other rentals. This is clearly the nicest in the area. And the owner was very easy to communicate with.

Thank you for the amazing week!

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

August in CO

  • 3 of 5

Pros:

This house is beautiful, located in a wonderful part of Colorado

Being on the river was fantastic

The space was perfect for accommodating 3 families with children comfortably

The neighborhood had smaller options and several other families were able to book in the same neighborhood

Kitchen was well appointed - stocked much better than many other rentals on this site

The owner was kind and polite in advance of our stay answering questions to help

The kids loved the small park just a few doors down, there were a lot of other kids in the neighborhood and they had a great time playing

Convenient access to bike/walking trails and a large park

Cons:

We left the house in as good or better shape than when we found it - discarded a few expired items from the refrigerator and pantry that we ran across. We left sodas, non-perishable items, and some fishing poles we purchased with the owners permission. During our stay, one of the bicycles malfunctioned and had the adult riding with her 9 year old not been an experienced rider it could have resulted in an injury. We notified the owner about the bike the day it happened. She didn't request we take the bike to be repaired, but later deducted $ from our security deposit. My issue isn't with the money it is with the fact that the bike malfunctioned during a normal ride with a mother and her daughter and I don't agree with a deduction. We took great care with the items on the property and there were no other issues noted upon check out. I was very put off by the way the owner handled it. The owner's response was the damage happened when we were in the rental so therefore it was our responsibility. She also stated we should have gotten it repaired before we checked out which wasn't the instruction on the phone when I called to notify her what happened. I believe that we should have been given the benefit of the doubt and even offered to split the cost of the repair. The owner requested time to think about it and let me know. I never received any follow up from her, but rather a check in the mail with the deduction taken out. When you rent a car, if you wreck it you would be held liable and that makes sense. If the car has a flat tire or malfunctions the rental agency would take care of it. I believe this should have, and could have, been handled differently. I am just grateful that it was a bicycle that was in need of maintenance that broke while we were the renters and not something bigger.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I state in our agreement that there are 9 mountain bikes for our guests' use. I also state, "please leave in working order." This bike had to have the rear wheel replaced since it was bent. I deducted $70 from guest's security deposit (which was our charge from bike repair shop.) Seems straight forward to me.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Broomfield, CO
5

Big Home - Big Family

  • 5 of 5

Our family converged on this home from 5 cities in 3 states. The 5 bedrooms accommodated us perfectly. The sound of the Eagle River flowing can be heard all night long, but the well insulated windows and doors can silence any outside noise. The steps to the river give you easy access for recreation and relaxation. Minutes from the ski resorts of Beaver Creek, Vail, Arrowhead and even the grocery store.

I would highly recommend this VRBO to anyone seeking mountain adventure, skiing or just relaxing and enjoying each others company.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Additional Guest Fee $25 per person per night
Damage Deposit $500

Cleaning fee is included in rental rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund