Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'The Captain's Cottage' on Lake Hamilton

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lake Cottage, 2 bedrooms & 1 bath on Lake Hamilton.

This cottage is one of 3 that we offer on vrbo.com for nightly rentals. You can see the other two cottages at vrbo.com and search #314987 or #3934683.

The Captain's Cottage is a quaint fishing cottage that makes the perfect retreat for honeymooners, a couples getaway or a family up to 4. The kitchen, dining and living room are all open to each other creating a bright and sunny atmosphere. There are many large windows which allow a lake view from every room in the house.

Just steps away from the lake, you are sure to enjoy swimming, sunning, fishing, bird and boat watching and all of the activities that lend itself to lake living. The house has a great swim area, a large swim dock and a deck on the front of the house that faces the lake. You don't want to miss the sunrises and sunsets from the deck of the Captain's House. They are truly breathtaking and yes, you can see both from the deck and the dock.

Hot Springs National Park has been known as Arkansas' premiere resort town since Hernando Desoto. (That's a long time!) Attractions to see include: the National Park, Magic Springs Amusement and Water Park, The Belle of Hot Springs Riverboat, Garvan Woodland Gardens, Oaklawn Race Track and Casino, Mid America Science Museum, The 5 Star Theater, Gangster Museum, Pirate Cove Mini Golf, and shopping in our beautiful downtown. Hot Springs is also a great place take a bath and massage, hike, horseback ride, shop, golf, eat--great restaurants, and of course.....relax.

We hope to see you soon at the 'Captain's Cottage'

Sincerely, Captain Mark and Gigi Buhrow

Keywords: Lake House

More Details

Owner
Mark Buhrow
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Mark Buhrow

Mark and Gigi Buhrow have owned the Captain's Cottage for almost 20 years. We also owned and operated the Belle of Hot Springs Riverboat on Lake Hamilton and Gilligan's Lakeside Café from 1983 to 2016. This is where the name 'Captain's Cottage comes from. Mark and Gigi have four children and four grandchildren. They have lived in Hot Springs for over 33 years and love the relaxed lake life atmosphere.

Mark Buhrow purchased this house in 1992

Why Mark Buhrow chose Arkansas

Hot Springs is a great tourist town and buying the Captain's Cottage just seemed like a fun and smart investment. We have been host to long term renters, weekenders and family and friends in our cottage by the lake.

What makes this house unique

We actually live right across the lake from our cottage and haven't really stayed there. Maybe we should try it sometime. Sounds like a good idea.

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a breath taking place and to think I found it on the internet. My son and I have been looking forward to this all summer and it is everything that we had hoped and then some. We will be back again and again!
Jul 2009
  • 1 of 6

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Little Rock International
Nearest Barpub
1.5 Miles
Hwy 7 South, Jose' Mexican Grill & Catina
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Hwy 7
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Belle Riverboat & Gilligan's Lakeside Cafe
Car: necessary

Hot Springs is a charming town nestled in the Ouachita Mountains. It is the smallest national park in the United States and the only one that is engulfed by the city. Be sure to check out the many family attractions, lake activities, Garvan Woodland Gardens, live horse racing, casino and don't miss a scenic lunch or dinner cruise aboard the Belle of Hot Springs Riverboat. (It is only 1 mile away from the cottage.)

Amenities

Hot Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4 ...
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • This bathroom has been renovated and is clean and fresh. Bath towels, hand towels and wash cloths are provided. If you plan on swimming, please bring your own beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • One Queen size bed in each bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Great swimming area and fishing right off of the dock. This neighborhood is safe and quiet. House is right on the waterfront.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

45% Complete
45% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
'The Captain's Cottage' on Lake Hamilton
average rating of 4.375 based on 30 reviews
Fulton, mo
3

Nice location right on the lake.

  • 3 of 5

Enjoyed our stay but the house needs to be updated. TV's are very small which isn't an issue unless it rains and you are stuck inside. Couldn't find wifi network and didn't get response back from owners. Dirty sheets as well as socks under the couch. Enjoyed sitting on the dock during the day and being able to have our dog with us.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were not totally satisfied and wanted to let you know that you were correct about the televisions. We have updated them with flat screen tvs and have been able to freshen up the house a bit with other updates. I am also sorry that you were not able to get in touch with us. I worked an an art festival in Hot Springs that weekend and did have my phone with me. I do not remember having a missed call from you and I check it often because I do use it for business on a daily basis. The wifi connection information is in the guest book at the cottage and should have gotten you to the internet easily. About the sock and the sheets, I think that is terrible and have contacted my cleaning service about this. Thank you for bringing these things to my attention. If you want to come back sometime, please let me know and I will add a free night to your reservation to make up for these inadequacies. Sincerely, Gigi Buhrow 501-276-2546
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

GREAT GETAWAY!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great little place for a nice, peaceful getaway. Couldn't get the wifi to work, but Gigi was trying to help us. The kids were a little disappointed that the canoe/kayak (which was just a row boat) had a hole in it that was covered with duct tape, so I'd suggest removing that amenity from the ad. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Nice place on the water

  • 4 of 5

The Captain's Cottage is a very cute little place to stay if you enjoy being close to the water. The lake is just 30 feet or so from the front door. There is a small porch and dock that you can sit on and watch the boats pass. You are pretty close to your neighbors, which I was not sure if someone lived there or if it was another rental property. The driveway is very steep so if you have a small car, it could be a challenge. The inside of the cabin was clean and there was plenty of space for myself, my two dogs and my friend. The kitchen was stocked nicely with plenty of pots, pans, etc. to cook a nice meal. The queen size beds were very comfortable. Be sure to bring your own toilet paper as we could not find any in the house. Several lamps inside the house did not work and the outside light was out.

The cottage is very close to downtown, shopping, grocery stores, and local/state parks. The owners of the cottage answered emails quickly and I liked that they only had a pet fee for each night and not a large pet deposit. That helped on the trip budget for sure.

The one thing that would have made the stay excellent for me would have been a fenced in area to let the dogs run and be outside. Up the hill it looked like there were private residences so the dogs had to stay on leash since other dogs were roaming around.

Overall the cottage was a nice place to stay, but as with any place you stay, nothing can beat your own home.

  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great quiet retreat steps from the water

  • 4 of 5

Nice, quaint property just steps away from Lake Hamilton. There was a nice dock for fishing or relaxing (suggest bringing your own chairs, the ones provided were a bit rough). Check in and out was a breeze. It was dark when we arrived and the sign at the top of the hill was a little hard to see but the directions provided made it easy to find. I was impressed by the amount of items the house provided, really didn't need much other than coffee and food! Everything was clean and ready to go. Couldn't get the (old) tv to work but that was fine with me, we didn't come to watch tv, lol. Location was great being minutes away from everything Hot Springs has to offer. We even drove to Lake Catherine to rent a pontoon for fishing, rates were much more reasonable than Lake Hamilton although we didn't do any good fishing that day. And it was only about a 20 minute drive. I would definitely recommend this place for a relaxing stay close to the action but far enough away to be relaxing too. Great view, right on the water!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely weekend get away

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I had a last minute get away for our 50th anniversary in the

mist of many on going family projects and work. It was absolutely beautiful

to be so near the water and see so many amazing views, specially the lights

on the water late in the evening and early morning. The geese and ducks were

great fun to watch also. We were quite comfortable, just what we needed for

a relaxing weekend. Gigi answered our questions quickly and we so appreciated

getting to bring our cat Spooky, she enjoyed it too. Thank you, for a lovely weekend, Bruce and Lynda Hume

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway right on the water

  • 5 of 5

The Captain's Cottage on Lake Hamilton was less than 50 feet from the water. The cottage was equipped with basic kitchen supplies. Washer and dryer was accessible - nice! Great view of the water from almost every window in the house. Geese and ducks swam to the pier.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $20 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $75
Tax Rate 10.0%

rates are subject to change.... pet fees are $10 per night per pet

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties