Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

ANDES MOUNTAIN ADVENTURE! 3BR RIVERFRONT CHALET, Pool, Hiking, Rafting, 1 hr Sn

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

RUSTIC ROMANTIC CHIC 3 BR, 2 Baths, river beach, hammocks, fireplace, Sleeps 6

Unforgettable Eco Adventure in a gorgeous setting, surrounded by Andes Mountains, overlooking Rio Maipo, in harmony with nature, soul nurturing experience at our 3 acre villa in the foothills of the Andes. Hiking, trekking, rafting, horseback riding while breathing the finest mountain air and enjoying amazing views then have wonderful massages, prepare food in our Chef's Kitchen, enjoy a glass of Chilean wine, and swim in our huge pool, at night StarGaze at the amazing Southern Skies. And all just 50 kilometers from Santiago, in the quaint hamlet of San Alfonso,

Great for family reunions, weddings, honeymoons, special events. Try our new Wine Cellar / Game Room for private wine and food tastings! We can arrange van/driver for private tours of the Valle de Maipo wineries.

Spa Services: Massage, Natural and Organic Chef Services

Beautifully decorated rustic casa with luxury amenities, including Marimekko Linens, Flowers in every room, huge pool, decks and gazebo. BBQ Quincho (our local chef can prepare a typical Chilean Asado), pick fruits from our luscious gardens, picnic or relax in a hammock down by the River. Walk on our garden paths.

Casa #1 - Avid cooks will really enjoy our new Professional Kitchen (with Double Door Frig, DW, Professional Stove, MIcrowave) Living Room w/ Stone Wood- Burning Fireplace, 2 Decks overlooking the Andes, the pool and The Maipo River. 3 Beautiful BR, (one queen, one full, two twins) decorated with high count cotton linens, 2 Full Baths. Casa #2 - HomeAway #3621035 SO ROMANTIC! Fall asleep to the sounds of the River. Full Kitchen, 2BR (one queen, 2 twins), 1 1/2 baths, two decks overlooking the Maipo River and lush gardens.

Experience life in a typical Chilean village surrounded by a wonderland of adventure, spectacular horseback riding, hike to see the condors, whitewater rafting, fishing, kayaking, trekking, sky viewing, natural hot springs, world class restaurants and new Observatory. Van tours of famous Maipo Valley wineries! Skiing is nearby at Laguillas Ski Center.

'A One of a Kind Vacation'

Some comments from our guests:: Villa Tunquen, the beach-front villa , has a sister. Villa Puertazul is actually two beautiful houses, tucked into the mountainous Chilean village of San Alfonso. This is Cajon del Maipo, a Garden of Eden for adventure travelers.

The villas sit on the banks of River Maipo, a Class 4 rafting river, for those whitewater aficionados out there. If you prefer your adrenaline served chilled, you can head to the neighboring Lagunillas Ski Center, or arrange to be dropped by helicopter at some of the more remote ski spots. Nearby are thermal baths, glacial lakes and volcanoes to trek to –

Owner Judy also offers Andes tours on foot or horseback to help their guests learn about the Chilean eco-systems. She says don’t miss riding into the Andes to view the condors. “In Puertazul we love to hike, horseback ride and star-gaze,“The skies are amazingly clear and the southern constellations are outrageous, especially from the Hot Tub!

'After all that adventure, you’re going to want to relax. Good thing Maipo is also known for its wineries. The villas are close to several of Chile’s famous vineyards. Their English Speaking local Manager can help you get familiar with the local wines by arranging tasting tours or private wine parties at the villa.

Like Villa Tunquen, Villa Puertazul was built with sustainability in mind. The stucco is local and made from mud and native plants by local craftspeople, as is most of the furniture. Beautiful stone fireplace and wood burning stove provide lots of romance and 100% cotton linens and towels pamper guests’ bodies and souls.

To pamper our stomachs, Villa Puertazul’s chef brings in organic bread and quiches made from local cheeses and vegetables. (She’s also been known to whip up outrageous cakes and pies or create feasts from local fish and great Chilean BBQ. We enjoyed it all accompanied by a great local guitarist!

Comments: Villa Puertazul! What a great place to stay. A wonderful place to relax and enjoy the

pool, hot tub, views, sounds of the river and wonderful gardens.

Nancy is a great cook and very accommodating. Lemon pie – sweet! Quiche de Verduras delivered fresh, hot & early for breakfast. Also, her empanadas were scrumptious as well. We made our way to Banos Colinas and soaked in the salt water hot springs. What a treat, luxuriating whilst taking in the splendor

of the Andes. Chile – a fabulous place. H&S, BC, Canada

I’m nor sure what refugio means in Chilean Spanish. But Puertazul for us is a Refuge… A retreat into a welcoming luxuriant garden, comfortable home, the Now accustomed sound of rushing water, time to read, dine, reflect, doze…We love the fresh morning air, lazy warm afternoons, evening paseos, flowers, We baked, barbecued, Sauteed, and sauced….And then there is smiling, incomparable NANCY, housekeeper 'extraordinaire'!

PLEASE EMAIL OWNER FOR AVAILABILITY AND MORE INFORMATION.

More Details

Property Manager
Judy
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 28, 2017

About Judy

We fell in love with the magic of the snow capped mountain views, watching the condors soaring, falling asleep to the sounds of the rushing river, the wonderful people in our village who bake their own bread, make the best cheese and honey. You will love our gardens and fruit trees and the jam we make from our own fruit. Come and share our paradise!

Judy purchased this villa in 2003

Guestbook comments from the manager

Hi Judy- I just wanted to let you know how much we loved your house. It was a wonderful 4 days, we were the most relaxed there. And it was lovely having Nancy come over each day to check in and do a bit of cleaning for us. She also made an amazing welcome meal for us, so we felt so taken care of. Amaranta was very proactive and made sure we were all set. We ended up not doing much because we loved just staying put!

We admired the special counter tops in the kitchen and the color of the cabinets, the beds were super comfortable, and the kids (and we) really enjoyed relaxing next to the pool and the hot tub in the beautiful gardens. We would love to stay there again next time we go back to Chile.

Thank you so much for making it available for us to enjoy!
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 48

Amenities

Santiago Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Rustic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - Casa #1
    Bathroom 2 - Casa #1
    Bathroom 3 - Casa #2
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , Casa #2
  • The showers are Great! Guest Comment: I don't know where to begin with your gorgeous home/property Puertazul. First, it was the perfect kind of comfort we needed. And everything from cut flowers in every room was perfect. I discovered San Alfonso twenty years ago when I lived in Chile It was wonderful to come back to the town that hasn't changed much and to stay in such a unique and beautiful place so beautifully landscaped and situated right on the river. We actually spent most of our time on the property with a few hikes up the hills or in to town, but the peace and quiet of the property was just what we were looking for for our retreat. I could go on and on!.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Casa #1
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , Casa #1
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Casa #1
  • Casa #1: Three bedrooms (one queen, one full, and one twin bedded room), library, full kitchen, two full baths, central heating, wood-burning stove, two decks, and a balcony that overlooks the pool and snow-capped mountains. Rustically beautiful, constructed in local design, with exposed beams, large windows, decorated with original hand-crafted furniture and include the best mattresses and linens. Adorned with fresh flowers from our gardens and fabrics from around the world.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Personalized services available!! You may never want to leave! Airport pickup, excursions to wineries, markets, car and driver, gourmet or local chefs, massage and spa services, wine tasting parties, BBQ's, housekeeper, shopping and laundry. Private Large Swimming Pool, Decks, Gorgeous Landscaped Gardens and Uniquely designed Barbecue Area, perfect for Typical Chilean Asados, Star-studded sky viewing, Private BEACH on the Maipo River, a Class IV Rafting River, Our housekeeper makes delicious fruit preserves, (from our own fig, apricot and sour cherry trees), and locally prepared breads and cheeses, There are also many local and international restaurants nearby, Tours to world famous wineries can be arranged, 2 Full Kitchens, Cooking utensils and luxurious linens, Laundry Service available.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
ANDES MOUNTAIN ADVENTURE! 3BR RIVERFRONT CHALET, Pool, Hiking, Rafting, 1 hr Sn
average rating of 4.6 based on 58 reviews
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
5

Guestbook Comment

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful home! Thank you for the perfect setting - my family and I enjoyed the gorgeous roses in the garden, fabulous pool, bubbly hot tub, stocked kitchen, comfortable beds, clean and spacious bathrooms...I could go on and on. We had terrific vacation and enjoyed the village, the people and especially the house and the grounds. The sound of the river lulled us to sleep. We look forward to staying there again!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2007
  • Stayed: Dec 2006
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 3
Wabasha, MN
2

Beautiful private villa in the Andes but.........

  • 2 of 5

Overall, this property is very beautiful and a great location away from busy Santiago. The amenities for the most part are as described. The beach is a muddy area below the villa on the very rocky Maipo. It is a beautiful river, but certainly is not a swimming hole, nor is there really a "beach" to sit and relax. We did have several issues that we felt could have better handled by the manger and property owner. You never know when you book something if it will be as described, especially when it is in another country. Our first impressions were that this was going to be an exceptional stay and my family was really looking forward to using the hot tub while gazing up at the stars as described. Well, the hot tub did not work the entire time we were there (four nights). Each day we were told by Nancy (who doesn't speak any English, btw) that it would be ready for us in the evening. Finally, on our last day of stay we were told it was broken and couldn't be repaired before we left. On top of this our internet service went out within the first 12 hours of arriving. Again, we were told that it would be repaired the next day. This didn't happen for the remainder of our stay. To top it off, we woke up to many of our food items chewed into by mice and mice droppings were left all over the kitchen counters and in the bedrooms. Nancy cleaned this for us one day and bleached the counters but the varmints were back again the next night... gross. Termites (or something) were also eating at the wood in one of the bedrooms. The manager was out of the country and was available only by e-mail (which we didn't have) as well we were not offered to speak with the owner during our stay there. Many of these matters could have been resolved with a simple phone call from the owner, knowing we were having problems. Nancy told us just to submit our issues to Amaranta, the manager, which we did post-stay due to lack of internet. We were told she would call us, but we never received a call from her or the owner or even so much as an e-mail expressing concern over our unresolved issues. I think this type of service is unacceptable, especially for the price that we paid. I asked for compensation for the lack of some of the described amenities and we were offered a free night's stay if we returned to the area. Unlikely we'll be in Chile again any time soon, so basically, tough luck. Aside from all of these issues, we only have nice things to say about Nancy.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Lori, for your feedback regarding your stay at Villa Puertazul. We are so glad that everyone had a good time. We are very sorry about the issues you experienced, and wanted to take this opportunity to address each. Regarding the river, we did want to point out that the Maipo River is a Class IV Whitewater rafting river. We do not advertise the river as a swimming hole, although it is undoubtedly a source of relaxation for our guests, many of whom rave about its rugged beauty. We hope you were able to relax in our riverside hammocks and picnic areas, or simply listen to the river's soothing melodies while enjoying a glass of wine on the balcony. We would like to apologize for the issues you had with the hot tub and Internet. As you mentioned, our home is located in a small Andean village outside of Santiago. Time runs a little slower here, especially on the weekend. While this small-town life is one of our favorite things about our home and the "real" Chile, it does mean that repairs may not be completed over the weekend. This is a cultural norm, out of our control, and does not reflect on our desire to please our guests. During your stay, Nancy did everything possible to secure fast repairs for the hot tub and Internet. Unfortunately, since you were here for a short (four-day) weekend visit, it proved impossible to have those repairs done during your stay. Although we can't rewind time, we do want to assure you that all necessary repairs were completed very soon after your departure. Both the hot tub and Internet are now working well. We also regret that you had a problem with mice. We have never had any issues with mice, and we understand that this occurrence was the result of unprecedented forest fires that had been raging through Chile, and had displaced wildlife. We would like to emphasize how saddened we were to read your feedback. We have rented our home for years, and in that time have received more than 50 glowing and positive reviews. We are so proud of our home and village – a place where people still make their own cheese, bake their own bread, ride horses as everyday transportation, and live surrounded by the Andes Mountains and the majestic Maipo River. We always strive to go the extra mile for our guests, from incorporating luxury touches like a professional kitchen, to offering convenient booking service to local winery tours, activities, and other attractions. Happy guests are our goal, at all times.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Luis Obispo, CA
5

Adventure, Discovery & Reflection in Chile

  • 5 of 5

This was our first trip to Chile and we weren't sure where we wanted to start. We are not city people but we want a good overview of a country when we first go there. We booked our stay at Villa Puertazul after internet research and a telephone call with the owner, Judy. We then contacted her caretaker of the property, Amaranta and were further encouraged about the success of our choice. We were emailed detailed information about the property and activities and offered assistance in a "no-pressure" way as far as booking activities, tours, rental car, or whatever. It was very good for us as first time travelers to Chile as we could pick & choose how much assistance we would need. We also were offered assistance from Nancy, the onsite house cleaner who offered to cook some meals or food. She fixed us a fabulous dinner one evening which was so much food it lasted for two more lunches afterwards and made some yummy bread for breakfast the next day. Amaranta booked some winery tours that were outstanding which we were driven to. That proved to be the best idea. She also booked a horse ride into the Andes which gave us a view overlooking the whole Maipo area - very stunning. Amaranta also provided internet access for us so we could keep in touch back home - a necessity. The last tour she booked was a city tour of Santiago before we left. We loved it as we learned so much about Chile from Amaranta herself. It was the best way to see the city for us.

The information that was provided on outings to go on in the Maipo area led us to drive up to an area where we had an adventure seeing condors high in the Andes having a picnic lunch as they flew high overhead...awesome! We also drove high into an area quite remote and beautiful where a recent land slide had occurred where we had a terrific lunch on a terrace overlooking the river. Other days were spent relaxing by the pool & nights were ended with stargazing in the hot tub with some fine Chilean wine. That's why we rate our stay here with 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Could not imagine a better place to stay in Chile. Beautiful mountain and river views. The roar of the Maipo River lulled everyone to sleep at night. The property manager Amaranta took care of booking all our activities. The chef and housekeepers Nancy and Antonio were a blast. The meals prepared were excellent and they took care of all the clean up. Both villas were clean and modern. We made much use of the pool, hot tub and outside decks. We will definately be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Secluded, Comfortable, Lush River House Retreat

  • 5 of 5

This was our second stay in this charming, little two-story cabana tucked into the hillside just above the rushing Rio Maipo. The convenience to Santiago, immediate access to the Andes, delightful swimming pool and spa make this an ideal sanctuary. We didn't stay in the larger house, but did get a tour, and it is lovely, filled with upscale designer decor, and offers all the amenities of home. Back to the cabana- we nestled into the rustic comfort to finish our book, Travel Well Naturally. Our ventures to the outside world included a unique dinner and incredible new-moon tour of the sky at the nearby observatory (don't miss it!). We drove an hour to the CONAF National Park and took the hiking trail for Monumento Natural El Morado. The views of the glacier-covered mountains and meadows were well worth the trek. Nancy made us a delicious pastel de choclo, homemade whole wheat bread, and empanadas. We enjoyed the fabulous honey from her own hives. Relaxing in the spa under the stars was a special treat!

Amaranta guided us to perhaps the best restaurant we have found in Chile- La Petite France in Guayacan, just 20 minutes away. The steak with green peppercorn sauce, ratatouille, and potatoes au gratin were memorable, salade vinaigrette perfect, and the mousse au chocolat to die for! We are headed back tonight for an encore dinner before we head off tomorrow morning!

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Awesome! 4 stars

  • 4 of 5

Our group was received with open arms and happy hearts. The details and warm-friendly touches that were found all around the rooms of the houses and yard was more than expected. The manager was genuinely caring to ensure that we had everything we needed. The homemade jams were spectacular and the garden was inspirational.

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Santiago
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
many
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Lagunillas
Car: recommended

Our housekeeper makes sure everything is perfect - from cut flowers to setting the fire. Our English-speaking manager guides you from the airport and makes your experience very special! We are located in San Alfonso, a wonderful quaint village surrounded by snow-capped mountains - that hasn't changed much where you can experience the 'real Chile'. Walk to Las Cascadas de las Animas, a nature preserve and sanctuary. A short drive to San Jose de Maipo for supermarkets and internet. Close to Maipo Valley wineries and great restaurants. We can arrange wonderful horseback rides to see the condors,, hikes to San Francisco glacier, You can explore the nearby wonderful hot springs and glacial-fed lakes. Then return home to your villa - a unique and beautiful place, with gorgeous gardens, pool and jacuzzi hot tub, with private beach situated right on the river. Our local chef makes fresh bread, typical Chilean BBQ's, quiches, fantastic desserts from local fruits. What a paradise!

Other Activities: Class III-IV White Water Rafting

Ski: Skiers!! We are minutes from Lagunillas Ski Center for those who enjoy beauty, tranquility and quiet atmosphere. It has a skiable area of 200 hectares with 13 runs. It has 3 ski lifts, ski school, rentals and cafeterias. Helicopter skiing is also available to Valle Nevado, Portillo or La Parva. Or for those that want to chill out for a few days after skiing at Valle Nevado or Portillo, we are the perfect place.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $55
Damage Insurance $59

Longer term rates on request.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties