Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Location! Location! Short stroll to beach and village!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Whether you're looking to spend time with your family, friends or by yourself, this cottage is for you. We are located one block west of the Crab Trap, Crabdaddy's and the Saltwater Cowboy, 2 blocks from the beach with access through the King & Prince Resort and about a 10 minute walk to mini golf, the brand new public pool, lighthouse and the downtown village.

Recently renovated and decorated, this cottage is comfortable and cozy with 3 bedrooms, 2 with queen-size beds and the bunk room with 2 sets of bunk beds. The master bedroom has a private bath. The hall bathroom has a huge shower. The kitchen is open with a large island and living room with a fireplace. There is also a game room in the back with a stackable washer and dryer for your convenience. Enjoy your morning coffee on the front porch swing as walkers and bikers wave 'hello' as they pass.

Please see photos to get a better idea of this wonderful, charming, easy little cottage.

Google the address, 1137 Ocean Blvd, St. Simon's Island, GA 31522!

Keywords: Cottage, Beach house, home, beach home,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 19, 2017

About The Owner

We have always loved coming to St. Simons to visit family and have dreamed of owning a home here. In the spring 2010 we stumbled upon a little cottage that needed help. After months of renovations and collecting furniture we moved in! It has become a retreat from our crazy everyday lives. Jim's Grandmother, Nannie, used to look around at a family gathering and say, 'Look, we're making memories.' We hope to spend many happy years 'Making Memories' here. We hope to to share it with others as well.

The Owner purchased this house in 2010

Why The Owner chose Coastal

We have always loved the simplicity of this sweet island, the ablity to walk to the beach, ride bikes, eat wonderful seafood and just hang out.

Amenities

Saint Simons Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Private Master
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Hall bath
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 bunk bed
  • Queen size Beds (2), Bunk Beds (2 sets-4 beds)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

Location! Location! Short stroll to beach and village!
average rating of 4.861111 based on 36 reviews
2

Mold and mildew

  • 2 of 5

The house was adorable. It is centrally located and we were able to walk downtown and to the beach. It was tastefully decorated and the beds were comfortable. Unfortunately, I noticed the smell before we even opened the door: mold and mildew. People with mold sensitivity beware.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry! I wish you had told us. Since we do not live on the island we are not there and do not know of problems unless someone alerts us. Mildew is a problem with beach properties, especially ones that were built in the 1940s. I will send the house manager/cleaning crew today to remedy the situation. Again, we are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming home in a fabulous location

  • 5 of 5

We would rent again - great for a family with easy access to beach and Village.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to enjoyed your visit and would like to return. We'd love to have you stay with us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The cottage was a perfect beach getaway! The decorating was incredible and it was very clean!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the cottage and loved the island. We took a trolley tour, went to eat at the local delicious restaurants and spent plenty of time at the beach and walking around. Although downtown was about a mile away, there are a few restaurants and a great restaurant at the King and Prince within a quick walk. The kitchen was great, living room was comfortable and the beds were comfortable. The owner was great to work with and quick to respond. We would definitely recommend this property and may visit there again ourselves!

  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect vacation home for a small family

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 3 loved this house. It's a quick hop to the beach and some of the best island dining, plus a 10-minute bike ride (if that!) to the village. The kitchen is well-provisioned, as are the bathrooms. The furniture and beds are comfortable and cozy. When we noticed some minor issues, the host was very responsive. We will stay here again!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Smyrna
5

Cute cottage with plenty of space in great location

  • 5 of 5

We booked our stay for a week at the Making Memories Cottage from August 6-August 13, 2016. My boyfriend and I brought my teenage son and his friend and selected the cottage based on the location and property description. It was our first time on the island and at 7 days we had plenty to do and see.

Check in and out was a breeze and all went smoothly. The location was great. 5 minutes to the beach and close to town and there was plenty of parking in front. We were able to get around the island easily and it definitely felt safe giving the boys some freedom to come and go.

The cottage was adorable - clean and well maintained and lovingly remodeled in the style of Fixer Upper (my fave). The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of space. The kitchen was well stocked and everything was easy to find. You can tell the owners take great care of this property.

It would be perfect for 2 families as it has 2 queen beds and essentially bunk space for 4 kids. Plus there was a cute sunroom where they could play. My boys hooked up their PS4 and were away from everyone else, which was great. And the front porch swing was awesome to watch folks ride by on their bikes.

Recommendations: Southern Soul BBQ, Crabdaddy's (right down the street), Del Sur (for a great Argentinian steak) and Sandcastle Cafe for breakfast. We enjoyed the trolley tour on our first full day to get a lay of the land and it was only 2 hours so a perfect morning activity. We also loved the day trip to Little St. Simons island (book in advance as its only one day a week) The boys LOVED charter fishing with Captain Greg at Georgia Charter Fishing. They caught some sharks and thought that was the best thing ever! We also went to Jekyll Island for the day and loved Great Dunes Beach, the Turtle Sanctuary and photo opportunities at Driftwood Beach (a must see!). We went to East Beach several times and also to the beach next to the King and Prince (closest to property). The pier and village was fun for people watching, shopping and enjoying the restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking to come to the island and would happily stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect relaxing stay!

  • 5 of 5

We loved the house because it was clean, was a perfect location and decorated very nicely. Loved how the house was able to expand with having bunk beds but still had the small house feel. We would definitely recommend it and will be back again :)

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
St. Simons Island Airport
Nearest Beach
0.3 Miles
King and Prince Resort Beach Access

Photos

Rates & Availability

Saint Simons Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
May 27 2017 - Aug 5 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
From
$250
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,500
$5,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $105
Tax Rate 11.0%

***The summer is our busiest time of the year. In order to accommodate all our guests, we only book the cottage on a weekly basis from the Saturday before Memorial Day until the beginning of August.***

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties