Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

In The Heart Of Ohio's Wine Country

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath Retreat 4 miles S. of the Spire Institute and I-90

Take a break from it all and stay at our fun and funky, newly renovated Wine Hop-Inn in the heart of Ohio's wine country! The Wine Hop features a cozy den with a five person leather sectional, a walk out deck that centers around a gourmet kitchen, raised breakfast bar and a very comfie dining room. Tour the covered bridges or hop around to the local wineries. PLEASE NOTE - the Wine Hop does NOT have Wi-Fi or central air! (bedroom units only!)

Located 11 miles to the north is Ohio's oldest summer resort at Geneva-on-the Lake where you can choose from arcades, putt-putt, batting cages, water slides and much more. It's a great day out.

For the outdoor enthusiast, the Wine Hop is conveniently located near Hemlock Hills golf course, the Grand River and Greenway bike trail.

If you are drawn to the world class Spire Institute the Wine Hop is just 4 miles south on SR 534 located on a secluded quiet street. A sure thing for a peaceful nights sleep.

Dine at the area's favorites: Virant's Family Winery, Grand River Cellars, Chops Sports Bar and Grill, Cornerstone Brewery, Joey's Bar and Grill, Young's Sushi restaurant (my favorite), Eddie's Grill, and many more. Finish the evening sitting around the campfire sipping wine from any of the local wineries located with in 5 - 10 minutes of the Wine Hop. Take the time to visit the Red Eagle Distillery - Ashtabula's only bourbon maker.

If you like bowling check out Sonny Lanes just a mile and half from the house - they have excellent pizza and wings and a full bar!

Whatever you choose to do, the Wine Hop-Inn will give you the break you need.

(Sleeps 8) additional charges applied for extra people, $40.00 per person/night - maximum 10.

No pets allowed, smoking is NOT permitted inside the home and absolutely NO glitter bombs!

More Details

Property Manager
Tammy Wigren
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

About Tammy Wigren

This vacation rental was renovated by two ambitious women at the direction and advise of an incredibly talented brother, Tate Hedrick of Hedrick Homes. It started as an old farm house that the neighbors said was rolled to the property with horses in 1926. It needed a lot of work but the end result was well worth the investment.

Tammy Wigren purchased this house in 2011

Why Tammy Wigren chose Ohio

Surrounded by vineyards on two sides, this rental is quiet, tucked away from it all yet easily accessible to all the area attractions.

What makes this house unique

Surrounded by wildlife, you'll awaken to the sounds of morning doves and song birds. The home is warm with radiant floor heating in the winter and cooled by the shade of the mammoth maple tree in the summer. Sit on the adirondack chairs and enjoy the summer breeze.

Amenities

Geneva House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • DO NOT SMOKE INSIDE AND DO NOT USE GLITTER BOMBS!
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , second floor bath
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , enter from the kitchen or the den for your convienence
  • Two baths one down stairs one upstairs. The one downstairs has a double sink.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , eclipse blind for room darkening
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , bunk bed with full on bottom and twin up top
    Bedroom 1 - 2 queen , Huge bedroom w/ TV, reading chair and large walk-in closet
  • All three bedrooms are located on the second floor away from the noise of the down stairs. Alarm clocks provided. Air conditioning units in all bedrooms during the summer months. (Window units only)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • swimming
Notes:
Group massage's available with bookings 3 weeks prior to arrival. Call Mindy @ (440) 466-4453, (440) 466-2785 with any questions.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

In The Heart Of Ohio's Wine Country
average rating of 4.9302325 based on 43 reviews
5

Inviting

  • 5 of 5

We booked the Wine Hop for our annual ladies get away this year. This cute home was truly a home away from home. So cute and inviting when we pulled into the driveway. Plenty of space for us four women to spread out. We used the kitchen table to play some cards and some dice games, but truly spent the majority of our time at the house in the backyard. We listened to music, played bags, golfed a little bit, dabbled with the horseshoes and sat around the fire pit enjoying each other's company, laughing and relaxing.

The Wine Hop is in a great location, so close to so many wineries, and such beautiful drives.

Thank you, Tammy! This is on our list to return to!

Kim, Deanna, Julie & Kim from Chicago

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, ladies! I'm so glad to hear you had such an awesome stay and enjoyed the house. Come back anytime and thanks for leaving the place so clean. Enjoy the rest of the summer. Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Our Favorite Getaway!!!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 2nd trip to The Wine Hop Inn. Once again it was awesome. We're already making plans to return next year. If you're looking for a really nice, quiet, and very comfortable place to unwind and relax this is your place. The pictures online don't do it justice. The house is exceptionally clean and comfortable. The outside area is a great place to sit and enjoy nature and no other noise! If you like wine, you're right in the middle of a bunch of nice wineries. Check it out! You won't be disappointed! Kim & Mindy.....

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Kim and Mindy - it was so great finally getting to meet you both! Glad you had a relaxing week and hope to see you next June. Have a great summer! Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A great house with an awesome yard!

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I had a wonderful time. After starting our Geneva girls weekend 3 years ago, we've definitely found a keeper with this house!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks girls, glad to hear the weekend went well and you enjoyed the house. See ya next year! Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough about how great our girls/bachelorette weekend was. The house was beautiful and perfect for our needs. We had a fire the first night around the great fire pit outside. I wish we had another day to play Some of the outside games that were available too. The second day we did a wine tour with barrels and bridges, also amazing! I will definitely be coming back for a couples weekend in the future. You honestly can't go wrong with this house and Tammy. She was so kind and accommodating throughout the entire process.

  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the awesome review and kind words! It's great to hear when groups have memorable weekends and plan to return - Come back anytime!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we had expected and more. The new barn and fire pit were key elements as the weather took a turn on us (typical NE Ohio). Great owners too

  • Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review - hope you can make it back when the weather is better!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy Winers

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for a much needed long weekend couples get-away. The Fall colors were beautiful. We have stayed here several times before and love it more each time - the new additions are great. Tammy is so wonderful to work with on everything. We love to visit our favorite wineries - great friends and great wine equal great times. We went to GOTL to watch the sunset on Sweetest Day with wine on the beach - perfection. We would definitely recommend this house to all (but would also love to keep it our little secret) and we will be back very soon!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It's always nice reading reviews and seeing how much fun everyone had! This is a beautiful time of year and I'm so happy you decided to come back for more! Hope to talk to you soon - Stay warm!! Tammy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Red Eagle Distillery
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Hemlock Spring Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Interstate 90
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Deer Leap Winery / Chops Bar and Grill
Nearest Ski
28 Miles
Alpine Valley Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Geneva State Park

This property is located in the heart of Ohio's wine region, within 10 minutes of 12 award winning wineries and the area's only bourbon distillery 'Red Eagle Distillery'. Self-driving tours of the area's wineries and the historic covered bridges are a must see. The grand river is a designated state scenic river worth a trip in a canoe or kayak especially during fall foliage. The fresh water steel head trout found west of the Harpersfield dam and record catching muskie found near the tote road boat launch are a must for any fisherman. Just 15 minutes down the road you will find Ohio's oldest summer resort at Geneva-on-the-lake. Gotl offers tons of family fun; arcade games, putt-putt, water slides, batting cages, night clubs and of course Madsen Donuts (a must for anybody - tourist or local alike). Geneva State Park offers a beach, bike path and marina with a public boat launch and sport fishing charters available. The sports enthusiast will enjoy the 43 mile Western Reserve Greenway Trail located only 15 minutes away where you can walk, run, bike, or roller blade. If you are in town for events at the world class Spire Institute, we are conveniently located a mere 4 miles South of the complex off of sr 534. End your day with fine dining at the Vault restaurant or Cornerstone brewery found across the street from each other in downtown Madison, Ohio located only 10 miles away.

The first weekend in June is the perfect time to visit. Debonne Winery hosts their annual Hot Air Balloon Festival. The beauty of the balloons rising over the grape vineyards is a must see event! If your lucky and the wind is right you can see them without leaving the Wine Hop!

(Tethered rides are also available)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Geneva House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
New Years Eve weekend
Dec 29 2017 - Jan 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$275
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 3 2018 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jan 4 2018 - May 25 2018
2 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
Nightly Rate
May 26 2018 - May 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Nightly Rate
May 29 2018 - Jun 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 4 2018 - Jun 7 2018
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 8 2018 - Jun 8 2018
2 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 9 2018 - Jun 10 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Nightly Rate
Jun 11 2018 - Aug 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 1 2018 - Sep 3 2018
2 night minimum stay
$250
 
 
Nightly Rate
Sep 4 2018 - Dec 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$230
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$230
$1,250
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 6.75%

We require a $250 weekend/$500 weekly/750.00 monthly deposit to confirm reservation. The balance due no later than 4 weeks prior to your stay. Accommodations/pricing is for 8 people. A fee will be applied for any additional people of $40.00 per night. Maximum 10.
ABSOLUTELY NO GLITTER BOMBS!!!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties