Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Wooded Coastal Retreat (Near Charleston Harbor)

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,550 sq ft
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 0 - 3 nights


About the property

Chateau/Country House, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, Sleeps 6-10, see description

It’s the perfect place for the family vacation, writers/artist hangout, lounging on the deck, quad or horse back riding, beach combing, fishing/crabbing/clamming, golf, Sports fishing for spring/fall salmon or business trip. Home is nestled in 5 wooded acres between Joe Ney and South Slough, 2 miles to the Charleston Harbor. Sounds of seals or the fog bouy can be heard certain times of the year. Pop open the French doors and listen to the birds or roast a marshmallow on the fire pit. The home has a wrap around deck for entertainment and a BBQ. Circular drive for easy access with carport, along with a barn/ fenced pasture for horse lovers.

Short drive to a day playing on several beaches (watch the surfers at lighthouse beach), step into the Old World Harbor of Charleston for crabbing, clamming, resturants or enjoying the gift shops. Charter a boat for deep sea fishing trip or throw a line off the jetty rocks to catch a Ling Cod. Visit the famous Shore Acres Botanical Gardens ( known for the Holiday Lights from Nov – Jan, beautiful landscaping and history). Great place for a wedding! How about a visit to the South Slough for Kayaking, nature hike or bird watching.

Whale watching is a popular sport here…. Speaking of sports – for the quad enthusiast. Jump on the dunes in 20 minutes north at Horse falls. Dunes run up the coast to Winchester Bay, were Dunefest is held each year in August. Tour the Umpqua Lighthouse.

Less than 15 minute drive in either direction is Coos Bay or North Bend. Stroll downtown Coos Bay for their shops and restaurants. Enjoy the Wine Walk stroll the 1st Friday of each month until October, farmers market every Wednesday, or join the locals for the spectacular 4th of July fireworks at the Mill Casino. North Bend has a Mall, Bowling Alley and movie theater. Mill Casino is located between Coos Bay and North Bend on hwy 101. They have wonderful resturants, bar with live band entertainment and much more.

Go up the Coos/Millicoma River on an all day adventure to hike Golden/Silver falls, enjoy playing in a stream and maybe venture over to the fish hatchery.

Just past Charleston is Sunset 9 Whole Golf Coarse for the golfer in you. Travel 25 minutes south to to the lovely dowtown of Bandon for stroll through the shops or play a round of golf at the world renouned Bandon Golf Coarse.

Check out the link to upcoming special events and festivals such as the Charleston Seafood festival, Cruz the Coos, Blackberry Festival, Music On The Bay (Free Concerts), 8th Anual Mill-luck Salmon Celebration, Cranberry Festival and Street Rod Show, 25th Annual Shorebird Festival, Oregon Tuna Classic Tournament, South Slough Canoe Trip and much more.

Keywords: 3BR/2BA, 1500sq. ft. House, country location, private

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About The Owner

We were drawn to the Coos Bay area because of the beauty of the varying landscape from the wooded hillsides to the beautiful tree lined dunes and beaches and for the vast amount of outdoor activities available that put you in the middle of all that beauty. Our family enjoys the beaches, quad riding, horseback riding, fishing and hunting, boating, and relaxed atmosphere that the Coos Bay area offers. We purchased this home as a primary residence so that our family could live in the area that they loved to play in.

The Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 2005

Why The Owner chose Coos Bay

As a result of a career change, we moved away from the area. We thought that people would enjoy this peacefull location as much as we do and decided to turn it into a vacation rental. By doing this we would also be able to return and enjoy our house for family vacations.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Wild birds, chipmonks and deer that visit. Sounds of the seals and fog bouy.


Coos Bay Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1550 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23 ...
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Master Bedroom with private bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Very Large Bedroom: approx. 11' x 18' with large closet
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Spacious Bedroom: Approx. 11' x 18' with large closet
  • Queen size Beds (2) Queen bed in Master bedroom and in Spare Bedroom No. 2, Double Beds (2) Two double beds in Spare Bedroom No. 1. The bedroom is very large and easily accomodates the two beds with plenty of space to feel comfortable. It also has a very large closet to store your belongings out of the way., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Spare Bedroom No. 2 also has a futon that will sleep one. The Spare bedroom is large and easily accomodates the queen bed and futon with plenty of room to feel comfortable. It also has a very large closet to store your belongings out of the way.
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 beach chairs
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
1400 sq ft. of covered walk around deck, Fire Pit in back yard, RV Hookup for Power and Water, large front yard for volleyball and games, Lots of room for family reunions. Upon request we can set out Crabbing rings, clamming rake, clamming shovels, Crab pot and cooker, and make the deep freeze available for your catch. We can also set out upon request beach chairs and skim boards for fun at the beach and we also have a WII game for the kids and adults.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Wooded Coastal Retreat (Near Charleston Harbor)
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 15 reviews
Clatskanie, OR

The House was everything we hoped it would be.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice home, with everything we needed for a weekend getaway. The location was in a beautiful area, and we even had 7 deer waiting for us to arrive. The house, itself, was clean and had an unlimited supply of things a rental home should have. We thoroughly enjoyed this home. If we are ever in the area again and need a place to stay, we would definitely stay here again if it is available. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This property was beautiful. Well kept. An overall enjoyable stay.

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely rent again. Very beautiful surroundings. The house was fabulous.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Nampa, idaho

The house was very clean and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

The house was cozy and can sleep up to 10 people. We had had everything you could need for a great vacation. It was secluded in the forest so it was a peaceful retreat. We had a few minor hiccups but overall it was great!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC

What a gem! Just fabulous!

  • 5 of 5

This house was fantastic! It was very clean, had so many amenities, such as games, grill, foosball, basketball hoop, fire pit (perfect for s'mores and night time gatherings) and all the kitchen necessities you need. It is located on a quiet wooded lot, perfect for sitting out on the amazing fully wrapped-around porch and taking secluded walks. It is definitely the perfect “get away from it all” retreat for families or couples. Russ, the owner was very responsive to our phone calls and emails, prior to and throughout our stay. This is a hidden gem….so much better than staying in a hotel! We were beyond impressed with the quality of the rental and will definitely book again!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Central Point, OR

Great Coastal Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Shhhhh. Don't tell anyone about this Gem. But seriously, we have enjoyed staying here multiple times and will continue to enjoy this great place for future retreats. There is plenty of room for boats, cars, etc... It's very private and peaceful and only minutes away from the Charleston harbor. We put the boat in the huge garage until we are ready to fish or crab. We always go with friends as this home would easily accommodate 3 couples (families) or more. Everything you need is there, the kitchen is fully stocked and they even offer up the use of their crab pots, cooker and clamming shovels/rakes. Russell and Janeen have always made the stay very welcoming.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Salem, OR


  • 1 of 5

Property owner was very hard to get a hold of once he had my payment. The home is located just down the street from a closed dump station. The master bathroom shower/tub is not solid underneath - the floor sinks when you move. There are posted notes and signs EVERYWHERE that state all of the things they don't want you to do (repeatedly), it makes it very hard to relax. Internet only worked during certain hours. The worst part was that the owner was a crook - he retained part of my deposit because I left the comforters off the beds after I stripped the sheets to put the sheets in the laundry room (per instruction - I even started a couple of loads for them). He stated that it took his house cleaner 9 hours to iron the comforters. He also claimed that there was sand in the bed (which was stripped - go figure) and on the kitchen floor when we never went to the beach. I was livid about the entire situation and debated about taking him to court over the principle of the matter but decided that he wasn't worth any more of my time. I was very disappointed in my experience, especially after reading the previous reviews - all I can think is that due to the time period between the last review and mine is that the owner has changed. I could go on and on about my frustration regarding the situation but I will instead finish with a warning - the owner seemed very pleasant (even told me a negative story about the previous renter in a way to make the owner seem tolerant) until he had my money. BEWARE of using this rental!!! The owner has no integrity.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is the only negative review that we have received in the 4 ½ years we have offered our home for the enjoyment of our guests and only the 4th time that we have had to retain any of the security deposit because guests have disrespected our home. In response to this review: My wife and I worked diligently to accommodate these guests on their last minute inquiry so they could enjoy their time in our home and their daughters swim meet. Even agreeing to her request to waive our additional guest fees of $40 for adding her mother and daughter after the rental agreement was issued. Once they booked our home there was no attempt made by our guests to contact us until after we retained $40 of their security deposit to cover excessive cleaning fees that were incurred by the condition they left our house in after only 2 days in our home. It took our house cleaner 9 hrs to clean our home after these guests left to wash 8 loads of laundry, steam the pillows that were thrown on the dirty floor, fluff comforters left on the floor and wrinkled, move furniture back in place, and clean the house. It normally takes 5 to 6 hrs for a similar booking. We remodeled and added onto our home in 2010 extensively updating most of the home. Did not get to replacing the master bathtub which does squeak a little. The master bath is very clean and presentable just not up to the same standard as the rest of the remodeled home. Our home is on a septic tank and not on public sewer system. Signs are posted on the kitchen sink and on both toilets for those that are not familiar with septic tanks and their restrictions. There is a closed construction debris dump about a half mile up the road. It is not a garbage dump and has been closed since 2009. All debris has been covered with soil and planted with native seeds. It is not visible from our home and there is absolutely no smell since only construction debris was allowed to be dumped. We are the same owners that started this vacation rental, same standards and integrity, same quality home and accommodations, as the owners that received all 10 five star reviews next to this one. All reviews have been submitted by the guests without any prompting. We do have two books located in the Wooded Coastal Retreat full of many very touching comments written by our guests and their precious children of great family memories made while vacationing in our home. We cherish these comments and the families that shared them.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
north Bend, OR
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
High Tide Cafe or Portside Resturant
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
High Tide Cafe, Portside Resturant and more
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
1st-Bastendorff, Next Sunset Beach & several more
Car: necessary

Clamming, Crabbing, fishing and Charter boats in Charleston Harbor 2.5 miles; Fishing in local rivers for Spring and Summer Steelhead and Salmon; Jump on the Oregon Dunes ATV Riding and Rentals as close as 20 minutes; Beaches, whale watching, Shore Acres Botanical Gardens State Park start at just 3 miles down the road. South Slough National Estuary for Kayaking, nature hikes, bird watching 5 miles away. Golfing at world renowned Bandon Dunes Golf Coarse 25 minutes away and local 9 hole Sunset Golf Coarse just 4 miles down the road. Horseback riding on trails and beaches with miles of beach and trail access at Horsfall Recreation Area within 20 minutes.




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 3.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Holiday rates may be higher.
Discounts may be provided for monthly rates. Please contact the owner for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties