Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Top Choice: "Smith Lake Retreat"

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Welcome to Smith Lake Retreat in beautiful Cullman County. This spacious, non-smoking home, available for rent, will help you get away from city life and enjoy the easy-going pace of the Northern Alabama countryside. You and your family will long remember this Smith Lake rental. Whether you choose to stay in Spring, Summer, Winter or Fall, you will feel at home while only an hour away from Birmingham and Huntsville.

This retreat hide-away overlooking Smith Lake includes a rear porch that leads to a multi-level dock made just for sunbathing. Tie down your motor boat or pontoon after a day of swimming, water-skiing or fishing for largemouth bass, spotted bass, striped bass, bream, and crappie, and enjoy the beautiful sunset over the lake.

This beautiful cedar-finished home has four bedrooms and three baths on two floors spread over 2400 square feet. The home was built in 1994, has 145 feet of water frontage, with deep, year-round water access from Smith Lake (Pigeon Roost Creek).

From both the upper-level living room, as well as the master bedrooms, and from the lower-level den, you can access decks leading to the two-story dock.

Lewis Smith Lake on the Sipsey fork of the Warrior River has over 500 miles of shoreline and 21,000 acres of clear water for sport fishing, skiing, and boating. Smith Lake draws campers, fishermen and recreational boaters from all over the Southeast. It is located midway between Birmingham and Huntsville, and is nestled among the pastures and rolling hills of northern Alabama. Smith Lake serves as a perfect get away for individuals in both metro areas. This website's Top Choice of Smith Lake rentals.

The owner has made this exceptional home available to you for weekend or week long vacations. Take all the time you need to soothe your soul and relax your spirit. Please contact David either by phone or e-mail to discuss rentals of this beautiful home.

Keywords: Smith Lake Rental

3 night stays or longer preferred

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 17, 2018

About The Owner

Hi, I'm David Philpot and am the owner of Smith Lake Retreat. I've always enjoyed travelling whether across town or over the ocean to unfamiliar countries. Still, I've always relished returning to a familiar spot away from home that was also home to me. At the lake I'm amazed at the clarity and relaxed frame of mind I can achieve, yet also be energized at the same time. I hope you can "Come to Your Best Senses" at Smith Lake Retreat, as many others have before you.

The Owner purchased this house in 1997

Why The Owner chose Crane Hill

My home is in Birmingham but grew up on the Gulf Coast and have always enjoyed the water, whether fresh or salt. Since Smith Lake is more convenient and one of the cleanest lakes in the U.S. I opted for a lakehome rather than the beach. I realized I couldn't use the house as much as I'd like so I decided to rent and share on a short term basis; with no regrets.

I hope you enjoy Smith Lake Retreat and the lake as much as I do with all it has to offer. The house is not a rental but a second home to me, so, welcome to my home. -David Philpot


Crane Hill House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) The two rooms with King Size beds each have access to the balcony., Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) In downstairs den for the sleepless., Bunk Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Top Choice: "Smith Lake Retreat"
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews

How do you spell lake life?: Smith Lake Retreat

  • 5 of 5

Smith Lake Retreat is a gem, a true diamond in the rough! Secluded and quiet lake life extraordinaire. Like most homes around the lake there are a few steps to get you down to the water and the double decked dock, one of which is two stories providing shade for parents watching children or even grandchildren swimming. David is very easy to communicate with and will go out of his way to help with anything that you may need assistance with while at his lake house. You can rent pontoon boats or skidoos at nearby Trident Marina, which also has 24/7 fuel and a restaurant, or you can launch your own boat at Lewis Smith Lake Dam or Smith Lake Park, both are only about a thirty minute boat ride away. The water is so clean and deep that you will be amazed. The lake house has all the kitchen utensils you will need and down stairs you will find a Foosball table and an extensive video selection for your use. You will be surprised at how convenient the location is, how roomy the two story lake house is, how friendly and helpful David is and how much fun, excitement, and all the lake life memories you will make at David's "Smith Lake Retreat"!

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Tons of beds and great dock. Perfect for what we needed

  • 4 of 5

Tons of beds and great dock. Perfect for what we needed

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Huntsville, AL

Needs professionals exterminator on a regular basis

  • 2 of 5

I was disappointed. I read reviews that were fairly recent and all were good. I'm not sure if it was just that it hadn't been rented out in a while or what, but there were lots of spiders and ants, and a few roaches (and cobwebs, so the spider problem isn't new). In the kitchen, I found a big cannister of Home Defense with a spray nazzle. I spent one morning spraying the whole house (which I'd rather not have to do on vacation). I rented from Wed-Sun. My son & his friend wanted to leave the 2nd day. We ended up leaving a day early. The house overall could use some TLC but I could overlook that. The bug/insect situation pretty much ruined my vacation. Sealing the doors better, using professional exterminator regularly, and cutting back some of the overgrowth around the outside of the house would probably fix the problem.

I don't usually leave reviews at all and hate having to leave a bad one, but others should beware until this problem is fixed.

Also - double check the house #. When I clicked "Directions" it very accurately got me there except it took me to 2 doors down.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms Renee W***, I am very sorry that your experience at Smith Lake Retreat was unacceptable to you, your 16 year old son and his girlfriend. I have contacted VRBO to correct the issue with directions they gave to my house. I am sure that when you were sent to the wrong house and couldn't get in you were upset and already so when you arrived two doors down at Smith Lake Retreat. (I do have a large visible sign along with street number that you passed) Your rental was back to back with other renters. Renters left the morning you arrived and my housekeeper was there cleaning right before you got there. Other renters came after your scheduled time. I've contacted both groups and my housekeeper and none experienced an insect problem. I have been renting the house for 14 years, 13 with VRBO, and the comfort and happiness of my renters is a priority. I can assure you that I take your comments to heart. -David Philpot
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

close to 5 stars

  • 4 of 5

When the futon mattress on the couch and seat cushions (worn and stained) in the living room are replace I would have given it 5 stars for the price of the rental. The TVs in the pictures have been upgraded.

The views from every room are great. The top deck has a table with 4 chairs. The middle deck also has a table with 4 chairs. They are in the shade most of the day, which is a nice break from the sun on the lake. The dock is about 3 stories from the top of the house, which isn't that bad for Smith Lake.

The dock is two swim platforms put together. This is where we spent most of the day. One has a sun deck top which you can jump into the lake from. The basement closet has swim toys and chairs for the dock. A great bonus.

Trident Marina is very close where you can rent a boat or Sea-Doo. We rented a Sea-Doo for the day and it was well worth it. We saw fish around dock but it was very hot and they weren't biting.

Yes we would rent it again. It is a great place at the price point.

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Girls Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Smith Lake Retreat was a perfect locale for our Girls Getaway during Labor Day weekend. The price was right and the location of the home was perfectly convenient to our friends' places near Big Bridge. Our group loved the decks and dock, and David was extremely helpful with the questions that we had. Thanks for a memorable time!

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Louisville, AL

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a very relaxing and fun vacation at "Smith Lake Retreat". We had everything we needed. Our son-in-law loves to cook and the kitchen was supplied with everything he needed. The home was very spacious and the dock was the favorite of our grandson and his friend. David was very easy to work with and was available to communicate when we had questions. Before, we left the family was talking about next year's vacation. There is a GREAT selection of movies and books. The boys liked being downstairs and watching movies and playing fuse ball. My mom is 82 and she enjoyed watching the water activities from the deck. God has created a beautiful world for us to enjoy and Smith Lake Retreat is definitely a place to see God's creation. Thanks, for sharing your vacation home with us! Everyone in the family recommends this place to everyone, young and old. Bev

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0





Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $100
Tax Rate 10.0%

Please call with any questions: David @ 205.902.6185
I prefer stays of 3 nights or more.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties