Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A Hidden Gem In Golden

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,880 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6 to 10

This spacious three-bedroom penthouse suite occupies 2880 sq. ft. on the top floor of a unique two story building in the town of Golden. Each of two large bedrooms have two XL twin beds that can be joined to make a king, plus a twin sofa bed.The third bedroom has two XL twin beds, which can be joined to make a king. The living room has a queen Murphy wall-bed.

The suite, which can accommodate up to ten people in comfort, and is priced well below comparable accommodation located on the ski hill, is a mere twelve-minute drive to Kicking Horse Mountain Resort, with some of the best downhill skiing in North America.

It is also central for three other ski areas: Revelstoke is one and three-quarter hours further west along the Trans-Canada Highway; world-renown Lake Louise is one hour to the east; and Panorama is two hours south along Highway 95.

For cross-country ski lovers, Dawn Mountain hosted the 2012 Canadian Masters Championships and has over 30 kilometers of groomed trails ranging from beginner to advanced. Cross-country trails can also be found at the golf club.

If you need a day to rest aching muscles then the Radium Hot Springs are one hour away, or you can book a massage right here in Golden.

Golden is also a great location to base your snowmobiling adventure with 240 kilometers of groomed trails, 13 distinct zones and 4 maintained areas. Snowmobile rentals and tours can be arranged with Golden-based companies. Staying in Golden will transform a simple ski-vacation into a winter adventure.

For summer and fall hiking, Yoho National Park is only forty minutes away. We may be biased, but in all our travels we've never found scenery more majestic and beautiful. Golden's incredibly scenic golf course is only a few minutes' drive away.

The Columbia Valley is a major bird migratory route. Bring your binoculars and walk to the bird watching platform at Reflection Lake, just south of town. For history lovers, an hour or two will be enough to learn something of Golden's history in the small museum. Book lovers will enjoy browsing the new and used selections at Bacchus Books perhaps along with a coffee or bowl of home-made soup.

Golden is nestled in the Columbia Valley at the confluence of the Columbia and Kicking Horse Rivers. Surrounded by mountains, peaks of the Purcells are visible from the suite's living/dining room. Staying in-town means you are only a short walk from several good restaurants (so no worries about drinking and driving), burger joints and convenience food, a five-pin bowling alley, an outdoor swimming pool, outdoor tennis courts, a summer farmer's market, the cinema, grocery stores, an indoor skating rink, a skate board park and more.

Being in town also makes it possible to have catered dinners served in the Hidden Gem, or to order in pizza, if you are simply too tired after rafting the Kicking Horse whitewater, paragliding from Mount 7, floating through the Columbia wetlands, or strolling the Rotary Trail or alongside the Kicking Horse River.

Relax in this quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the ski resort. Avoid the noise of grooming machines, of ski lifts starting up first thing in the morning, of rowdy drinkers and loud music from special on-hill events.

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 23, 2018

About Claire

Born and schooled in the UK. My wife and I moved to Calgary in 1973, and raised our 3 children there, before retiring to Golden in 2002. We chose Golden because we love skiing, and the outdoors, and wanted to retire to a small ski town in the Rockies. Golden fit the bill perfectly.

Claire purchased this apartment in 2013

Why Claire chose Golden

Living in Calgary for close to 30 years, we would often vacation in the Columbia valley. When it came time to retire, we chose Golden as it is a small authentic town surrounded by six national parks, and central to the best skiing in North America. Kicking Horse Mountain Resort is only a 10 minute drive, Lake Louise Ski Resort only 60 minutes, Revelstoke an hour and a half and Panorama 1hr 45min.

Golden has several good restaurants, and other amenities, including a cinema and bowling alley, outdoor pool in the summer, and indoor skating rink in the winter.


Golden Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2880 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master ensuite - toilet , tub , shower , Heated floors
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Heated slate floors
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 3 twin/ single , 2 XL twin beds can be combine, to form a king.
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , Two XL twin can be combined, to form a king.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Two XL twin beds can be combined, to form a king
    Living Room - 1 murphy bed , Queen Murphy wall bed, sleeps two in comfort
  • Both the Master Bedroom, and the Second Bedroom, contain a twin sofa bed. For larger groups, these beds can be used to accommodate a third guest, in both the Master Bedroom, and the Second Bedroom.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
25% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
A Hidden Gem In Golden
average rating of 4.677419 based on 31 reviews

Holy smokes this place is large

  • 5 of 5

The pictures don't do this space justice. All the beds are very comfortable, just be aware that the murphy bed is in the middle of the living area. This place is more than capable of housing 10 people. Location is perfect for going to Kicking Horse and Historic Downtown Golden. Beware of the sliding doors in the master bath, you may get stuck for a bit!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Evan: Glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. Thank-you, for letting us know, about the shower doors, we will look in to, trying to make the doors, easier to move. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It's really hidden Gem in Golden!

  • 5 of 5

It's really hidden Gem in Golden!

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi There: Glad to hear that you, and your tour group members, enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay.. but some small things could be better like the bbq and a.c.

  • 4 of 5

Enjoyed the stay. Clean rooms, beds and blankets. The kitchen was good and stocked with all utensils you would need. It's not a far walk from downtown either. If you want to do some BBQing be careful as the bbq provided was terrible. Also the a.c. was just a small window a.c. in the main area that is not nearly large enough for the house. Other than those two issues it was great.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Anton: Glad to hear that you, and your family/friends, enjoyed your stay. Thank-you for alerting us, to a potential problem with the BBQ. We will look into that situation, right away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect for our needs

  • 4 of 5

Nice and spacious. Our work crews thought it was comfortable and gave them enough space to spread out. Could have used some fans in the bedrooms as only the main area has A/C

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Maggie: We were glad to hear, that the first group, of your workers, enjoyed their stay, at the Hidden Gem.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our stay at Hidden Gem

  • 3 of 5

The upstairs apartment in which we stayed is a beautiful apartment. Very large, very bright, very modern. A great place if you want to stay inside. The exterior of the building and the surroundings are not that nice at all. The building is in a very rough part of town - industrial and surrounded by trailer park. The property is vey poorly maintained or not maintained at all. Grass (what little there is) is overgrown and there are no flowers nor any signs of groundskeeping maintenance whatsoever. The long view from the balcony is great - looking out to the mountains and ski hill. The short view is rough - looking down onto the trailer park. As well, it is a very noisy sleep because of the main-line CP tracks directly behind the building. It was impossible to keep bedroom windows open as they faced the very busy tracks which are active 24/7. Overall I would not use that location in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Patrick: We were sorry to hear, that you did not enjoy your stay at the Hidden Gem. Subsequent to your visit (July 9th), we had the company in charge of our yard work, visit the Hidden Gem, to take care of the over grown plants.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful suite

  • 5 of 5

My friends and I were a big group of 10 people. They were plenty of space for everyone to sleep. The place was clean and spacious. The pictures do not do this place justice. There is a lot of natural sunlight that brightens the place up and is a lot more spacey than what you see in the pictures. It is in a nice quiet location, good if you're here away from the city life and want to be surrounded by nature. Damage deposit was refunded quickly.

Some cons: There were some burnt light bulbs when we were there. Netflix kept disconnecting from the internet. There was an incident where the keypad for the front door wasn't working. We called Claire and she was very happy to assist us even though it was almost 11pm at night. It so happened that one of the batteries had fell out so we just had to put it back in. Also, some of us had trouble sleeping as the suite is very close to the train tracks so you could hear everything at night. All in all, very beautiful place to stay and spend some time with friends!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Emily: Glad to hear that you, and your friends, enjoyed your stay. Thank-you, for letting us know, about the light bulbs, we will get those replaced, right away. We hope to see you again, on your next trip to Golden.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Golf
5 Kilometres
Golden & District Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
1 Kilometres
Transcanada #1 Hwy
Nearest Ski
12 Kilometres
Kicking Horse Mountain Resort
Car: necessary

If you like the outdoors you will love Golden. Winter and summer you will enjoy this outdoor adventure hub. I moved to Golden as it has the best skiing in North America on par with Jackson Hole, Wyoming. Visit, and you too can enjoy this outdoor paradise.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200.75
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.