Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Waterfront Pet Friendly Home with Hot Tub! (Mitchell Bay Shores)

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

WATERFRONT! HOT TUB! PET FRIENDLY! (Mitchell Bay Shores)

Enjoy a quiet getaway on Mitchell Bay. Curl up around the wood-burning stove with enchanting views offered by the picture windows, gaze out to the protected waters with your morning tea, or relax with a dip in the hot tub. Mitchell Bay Shores offers various outlets for relaxation and is located within minutes to British Camp National Park, walking trails on Mount Young, and Roche Harbor Resort, Marina and Spa.

The home has a comfortable living room with wood stove, a family room equipped with a flat screen television with satellite service, DVD player, and stereo along with a sofa sleeper. The dining area is conveniently located between the kitchen and family room with easy access to the outdoor deck and patio. The dining room has a dining room table comfortable for 6. The fully equipped kitchen, dining and family room have tile flooring adding to the enchanting nature of the home. The property is also equipped with DSL and fax machine making it a perfect spot for those on a working vacation.

The master suite offers double doors that open to a private balcony and is furnished with a queen size bed. The spacious master bath includes an oversize tiled shower. The guest bedroom is furnished with a queen size bed as well.

This no bank waterfront home (formally known as the Mitchell Bay Haven) lends itself to clamming and crabbing, kayak launching (no boats or kayaks included or dock access), and the ability to access the water without leaving the property. The spacious yard is perfect for enjoying the outdoors! And of course the hot tub is perfect after a long day of hiking, biking, or kayaking!

**Well behaved pets are welcome with an additional fee**

**Firewood is NOT provided**

This house does not have cell phone reception, but there is a landline (no long distance).

More Details

Property Manager
San Juan Property Management
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2018

Amenities

Friday Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 Queen beds, 1 Sofa Bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(67 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
20% Complete
11% Complete
1% Complete
2% Complete
Waterfront Pet Friendly Home with Hot Tub! (Mitchell Bay Shores)
average rating of 4.3880596 based on 67 reviews
El Dorado Hills, CA
4

Nice Place But Needs Some TLC

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We enjoyed this home for five days but found it a little tired. The location and view were great, but there were signs of deferred maintenance and a pet irritant - no reading lights in the second bedroom. The property management company was very responsive - five stars for them.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay at Mitchell Bay Shores. As advertised, this home is pet-friendly which I believe would account for the pet irritant you described. This is a cozy and quiet home with the advantage of water access, which also made it very popular as a rental home in 2018. Sorry to hear there were things that put a damper on your stay. We hope to host you again in the future on San Juan Island!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
1

Beautiful location - home desperately needs repairs

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We were quite surprised by the broken/worn out/neglected nature of this rental property. Upon arrival the toilet was broken, the oven would not work and one stove burner would not heat. The working burners would not sit flat on the stove top- so we had to cook with pans at an angle. The back deck and deck furniture are peeling/falling apart. The neighbors' dogs regularly used the back yard to go to the bathroom and no one came over to pick up after them. Generally - the house is not very clean, window treatments are dirty and trim and molding is missing randomly thoughout the house.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Mitchell Bay Shores. That is an extensive list of items you found fault with during your stay. To address a few: the toilet, oven and stove are all things that have been repaired. Unfortunately when previous guests misuse items it can be the next guests that discover them. We as the management company do our very best to remedy broken or malfunctioning things as soon as we are alerted of them. We are very sorry the cooking situation was not to the regular kitchen standards. The back deck and furniture are usable and functioning. They might not be brand new pieces of furniture but we, and the homeowner, have determined they are not in need of replacement. This house is a pet-friendly home, as advertised, and unfortunately associated pet situations are somewhat expected. It is annoying that the neighbors don't feel the need to clean up after their own pets, but we are unable to force neighbors or people to do that. Generally, this is a very popular vacation home on San Juan Island with it's pet-friendly status, hot tub, large yard, and water-access. We hope next time to be able to assist you in finding a home more suitable for your needs.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, WA
1

Mitchell Bay Shores

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This house was in poor shape. Many items were broken Back doorknob, box fan, toilet. The yard was filled with dog poop. 4 dogs are using this house as a place to go the bathroom. One of the dogs is vicious and attacked and bit our dog. The neighbors told us he bites people too. There were very few towels and there was a dead rat in the yard when we arrived. We couldn't leave the doors open because there were no screens, but had to close them because of the dog. It was very hot.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear of these issues at Mitchell Bay Shores. This house is very popular for it's pet-friendly status and close proximity to the water from the yard. It is unfortunate that the neighborhood dogs were causing annoyances during your stay. We wish we were able to control other's pets so as to disrupt our guests. When you called to let us know about the dog mess and the dead rat in the yard we sent our property manager over to take care of those things for you that day. This house has a laundry cupboard stocked with many towels, so I'm sorry if that was not found during your stay. We are very sorry to hear about your dog getting bit during your vacation, and I hope the neighbor you spoke with extended their apologies as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chattahoochee Hills, GA
5

Wonderfully relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We are a family of five - two couples and a toddler. This was our first trip to the San Juan Islands and we had a wonderful experience. The house was well located on the west side with easy access to all of the island's amenities. The quiet bay was pretty, peaceful and proved a great spot for rest and relaxation. The sofa bed is not really made for an adult so keep that in mind if you book for more than 4 people. It's really meant for a child to stay comfortably. But the small yard and easy access to a shallow bay and low tide gave us great space to play safely. The home itself is simple but comfortable and has everything you need. The beds are comfortable and rooms well appointed. There is nice lounge space with an informal living room/TV area and a second living space with fireplace. We took advantage of the hot tub (which is very hot, as other renters have described, so be careful). If we're being picky, we'd recommend new pots and pans and a new stove - both of which are quite outdated, teflon scratches, burners not working or uneven, etc. We cooked every night so having a decent supply of cooking utensils was important to us - may not be for someone looking to eat out most of their trip. The back door also needs a new door knob and lock - it's very difficult to get the door opened from either side. Finally, the cleaning team left the sheets and towels in the dryer for us to fold and asked that we put towels in the wash when we checked out, which we found to be a strange request (have never been asked to do laundry when renting a house previously). Finally, a small rowboat would be incredible to cruise around the bay but we can understand why perhaps that wasn't something offered. All of those are minor items or nice to have items and didn't diminish our stay but would turn this from a great property to an incredible property. Overall we were very happy to stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lynnwood, WA
5

Peaceful paradise getaway

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved staying at this homeon Mitchell Bay. We stayed for 10 days and were so bummed when we had to leave. The house was so spacious and open with lots of natural light, and such a quiet area. Definitely a great escape from th hustle and bustle of city life. We loved the yard and playing in the bay was exciting for our children. Even our dog enjoyed the area. We had an issue with the septic system and the maintenance guy, Chris, arrived within 15 minutes to repair everything. And he checked in a few days later to make sure everything was going well and to see if we needed anything else. Great service, beautiful home. We hope to return again next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington
4

Beautiful Views

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall we had a great stay at this home! The views were beautiful and there was lots of room for us to hang out. We did have a couple problems, one was that there was a lot of dog poop throughout the yard, from the neighbor dogs that would come and visit and use the yard as their bathroom. The hot tub also needed to be cleaned, but had a lot of chlorine in it. The thermostat lead us to believe there was AC, which there actually wasn't. This is fine, we just spent a lot of time messing with it with nothing happening. Lastly, the beach wasn't one you could really use because it is so muddy, but it was a beautiful view. We had a great time on our vacation, but I would not stay at this property again.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: San Juan Property Management
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

You might like these similar properties