check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

St. Croix Riverview Home...Walking Distance to Downtown Stillwater

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Beautiful 6 Bdrm Home Overlooking the River and Close to Downtown.

Enjoy the views from 3 decks over looking the St Croix River.

Walk downtown and enjoy Stillwater’s historic main street with fabulous restaurants, boutiques, antiques stores, charming old pubs and beautiful parks.

There are a number of activities in the area to keep you entertained such as golfing, spas, kayaking, boating (rentals), cave tours, winery & brewery tours, historical tours, bike/hiking trails, segway tours and paddle boat cruises.

Our home has 6 bedrooms with 5 that are in the home and 1 is in the bonus room above the garage. This is a late 1800's home restored in 2005 with a modern flare. Some of the house has original flooring where other areas are newer. This home is full of room with a large kitchen and family room. The home is on a quiet corner lot and little traffic.

Bonus room (6th bedroom) is optional and available beyond 10 guests. There is an additional fee for this room and we require a minimum of one adult to occupy.

You will find our home to be very inviting and we take pride in how exceptionally clean we keep the home. As you will notice each room will have its own flair.

Note....

We have parking allowed for up to 5 vehicles only and

No Events Allowed! Our home is for overnight guests only!

More Details

Owner
Barbra and Kirk Ackerman
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Barbra and Kirk Ackerman

We are married with grown children so we call that 'empty nested'. We love St Croix River, Stillwater and the general area. We enjoy boating and usually stay on our boat most of the warm weather season so our house is vacant and available at least 6 months out of the year. We decided to rent out vs. sell until we decide what we would like to do next. It is a big house for just the two of us so we decided to try VRBO since it is a nationally known site and introduces our home to more parties.

Barbra and Kirk Ackerman purchased this house in 1999

Why Barbra and Kirk Ackerman chose Metro

Quiet neighborhood, beautiful home and views.

Our home is known to be very clean and you will

have all the comforts of knowing this at check in.

The home will be all ready for your stay.

We love our location and Stillwater area is home to us.

What makes this house unique

The views of the St Croix, location and peaceful neighborhood.

Our home has been utilized by many groups but most often times families of wedding parties. Our home allows families to be together with having the comforts of home.

We will be happy to assist with any planning during your stay and have a good list of restaurant recommendations. We would be happy to make any or all reservations needed!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

St. Croix Riverview Home...Walking Distance to Downtown Stillwater
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 27 reviews
5

Beautiful home, fantastic view, tons of space!!

  • 5 of 5

Barb and Kirk were GREAT! Very responsive and willing to let us check in early as we were arriving before their normal check in time. Very friendly, offered tons of suggestions. You can't go wrong with this place especially if you have a large group. THANKS AGAIN!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Emily, We loved your group and enjoyed meeting all of you. I am so glad you all decided to visit Stillwater this time. We love our town and happy to share it with all. We are glad our home worked well for your outing and hope you all come back again! Thanks, Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Not Worth the Judgments and Accusations

  • 1 of 5

My group and I were so excited to stay in this beautiful home. We actually did have a fantastic stay and left feeling really good about our weekend trip. Unfortunately, two weeks later we were notified of messes or damages that our group caused. We took full responsibility and were deeply apologetic for a spill on carpet that was not noticed or brought to my attention while we were there. Thankfully it was able to be removed and understandably, $50 was taken from our damage deposit for this. No argument there. There was apparently damage to finish on a mini fridge (which we were notified of two MORE days after we were notified of the spill) that we absolutely do not take responsibility for.

What really irked me is the accusing and judgmental nature of the owner when we were trying to sort things out. I always responded promptly and politely to any communication and did my best to get to the bottom of the issue they brought to us. As anyone can imagine, sometimes with a large group, accidents can happen. Our group of women are respectful adults, professionals and mothers, who would NEVER do anything intentional to damage or leave someone's home in an unacceptable state. The owner called us "dishonest" and said we treated their home with "pure negligence." I can assure you, these statements are not true and I am still very offended by her comments.

It was a clean, beautiful place to stay, but if you are not prepared to be accused and insulted long after you leave, do not stay in this home.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elise, We are glad you had a good stay and enjoyed your group. Sorry if we were going back and fourth but two different staff members did claim one or the other issue on different days. We feel we were more than fair but mainly wanted to find out what stained the carpet to make the clean process successful. We understand accidents are going to happen but many can be avoided if home rules are followed. This is the second review from you group and I think enough said. Damages were done and we tried to get to the bottom of it as quickly as possible and fix for our next guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

comfortable home convenient to downtown Stillwater

  • 5 of 5

For the second year our group of eight girlfriends enjoyed a fall weekend at this home. The spacious kitchen allows working room for those who cook and for just hanging out on the bar stools and high top table nearby. We also enjoyed the quiet neighborhood during our afternoon hor d'oeuvres and wine time on the deck.

The home has always been clean and the customer service is great. The owners make the process easy and have always answered all our questions quickly.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Karen, You have the best group and always great to work with. You all take good care of the home as if it was yours. We are so happy you are considering yet another visit next year. Thank you for all! Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Big Lake, MN
1

Not worth the trouble

  • 1 of 5

I would not recommend. Listed as walking distance to downtown, is misleading. Loft could use a bathroom. Communication after the fact is horrific. Two weeks later we were informed of 'damages' that were found from us.

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sarah, I am sorry you did not find our home suitable walking distance to town and the lack of restrooms. We do have it noted on our site where the restrooms are located is all I can say. I only communicated with Elise after check out with issues and we truly felt we were fair.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Spectacular view of the St Croix river, property was very clean & awesome for entertaining

  • 5 of 5

I would recommend this home to anyone wanting to visit Stillwater. Close to all the shopping, restaurants & all in walking distance. Spectacular Home!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jenny, So glad our home worked for your group. Thank you for taking such good care of our home. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks a ton! Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Family gathering

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at this VRBO home is our second opportunity to use a VRBO home for a family gathering of 4 siblings, spouses, and family members. As we come from 3 different states, we prefer to gather in one location and not have to be spread out throughout hotels. We found this home in Stillwater to be beautiful, extremely comfortable, super clean, and a great opportunity for all of us to be under one roof. We had 8 adults and 1 teen gathering this year and all fit comfortably in the 5 bedroom home. The garage apartment would have provided extra space had we needed it. The neighborhood is quiet. We spent most of our time touring, biking, walking, and just hanging out in the Stillwater and Mpls/St. Paul metro area. This home is comfortable and amenities like hand soap, towels, laundry facilities, etc. were provided. We would recommend this home to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Arthur, Thanks you for your nice review. We are so very happy our home provided you a good space for your family gathering. We love our historic river town and hope many can enjoy. Thank you and glad you liked our home. Barb and Kirk
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
MSP Lindberg and Hubert Humpry Terminals
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 36
Car: recommended

Walking distance to downtown with many shops and resturaunts to enjoy!

Stillwater has a Winery and new Brewery available to visit and tour.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Stillwater House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer rates
May 26 2017 - Oct 22 2017
2 night minimum stay
$550
From
$650
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,750
$5,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$500
From
$600
Fri,Sat,Sun
$2,500
$4,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee-Home $200 + Tax
Clean-Bonus (if applies) $50 + Tax
Bonus room (optional) $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 7.12%

Our home is a seasonal rental but feel free to inquire on off season dates. We will consider all inquiries.
We encourage long term rentals! Parking is limited to 4-5 vehicles and only in our driveway. We discourage all off-street parking due to narrow roads, blocking two way traffic, respecting neighbors and safety of pedestrians/bikers.The bonus room is available for larger groups with one adult minimum. Rates are subject to change until rentals are confirmed. Rentals are confirmed upon receipt of completed rental agreement. No Parties, Events or extra unclaimed guests including visitors! We discourage day visitors due to parking and liabilities. Some considerations are granted but must seek prior approval.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Stillwater House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , private master room bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , upper level bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , main level bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , TV in room with full cable
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Bedroom w/private full bath, TV , DVD player & cable
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , 1 double , Bonus room above the garage w/ 700 add sq ft/No restroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Stillwater is a old historic river town with many things to do and see. This town is very charming and big for wedding destinations.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties